View Full Version : Steve Finnan

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

17/06/2005, 6:43 PM
Cant believe you said that, fled the scene and leave them to die. Have you any morals? Drinking and driving first of all is one of the most irresponsible things to do. And as they say if you do the crime etc etc

Well I said if I *had* killed some one, if they are already dead you cannot
leave them to die.

If they were injured it would almost be in my best interests to insure they
did not die, never mind the interests of the injured party.

If they are dead you have nothing to lose by fleeing apart from 10 years in
jail.

onenilgameover
18/06/2005, 7:38 PM
I do drive. Yes, cars can't stop straight away, and if (if) yer man was suicidal and walked straight out, fair enough. But if you're talking on a mobile, your reaction times are increased. Which means you're less likely to stop in time. Which means you're more likely to kill someone. Which means if you're talking on a mobile and driving, you're an idiot.

I have throughout this thread tried to shy away from making a judgement because I don't know the facts here, but it's undeniable that people on their mobiles and driving are a bigger risk. That's my entire point (and it's one which you didn't even mention in your post). That's all.

There's nothing about suicidal that's beside the point...Somebody can just walk about and not be aware of themselves...or their surroundings.. It may not be the drivers fault...However anyone driving while on their mobile should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law..They are indeed idiots...I didn't want to talk about mobile's cos it sounds like a bad rumour in the Finnan case and didn't want to indulge it...

18/06/2005, 8:32 PM
There's nothing about suicidal that's beside the point...
Hence the two "if"s to ensure the hypothetical implication! ;)

onenilgameover
18/06/2005, 9:40 PM
Hence the two "if"s to ensure the hypothetical implication! ;)

sure my point is that its not only the suicidal that walk out in front of traffic...you can't automatically blame drivers...

KK77
29/06/2005, 11:17 AM
apparently the old boy who walked out in front of him died of pneumomia after surgery and not the injuries caused from the accident

4tothefloor
29/06/2005, 1:37 PM
tricky_colour, are you on about Lee Hughes being drunk or Steve Finnan being drunk? Because Steve Finnan wasn't drunk and stayed at the scene. Lee Hughes on the other hand is in jail because he was\did the opposite to both of those.

jimbob117
30/06/2005, 12:04 AM
anyone know what the story with him now is?? is he back in preseason training , or still being questioned??

30/06/2005, 2:07 AM
tricky_colour, are you on about Lee Hughes being drunk or Steve Finnan being drunk? Because Steve Finnan wasn't drunk and stayed at the scene. Lee Hughes on the other hand is in jail because he was\did the opposite to both of those.

Lee Hughs, sorry for any confusion.

As for being in Jail, Finnan's case has not came up yet and that might
be a possibility although I sincerely hope not. (Assuming I have my facts right
and I can't remember the exact charge etc...).

30/06/2005, 2:12 AM
apparently the old boy who walked out in front of him died of pneumomia after surgery and not the injuries caused from the accident

You had me thinking Richard Whitely there for a moment.
Apparently pneumonia is known as "the old mans friend" because it is
as relatively painless way to go.

That is the thing about some driving laws, as your fate may depend on the
relative health of the person you hit, although I assume such things are
taken into acount to some extent.

30/06/2005, 2:14 AM
anyone know what the story with him now is?? is he back in preseason training , or still being questioned??

I believe he is on bail, either awaiting trial or awaiting a decision as
whether to prosecute, I will have to re-google the story later.

"He was bailed pending further inquiries to appear at a police station on Wednesday June 29."

That was today so I assume thats what your were referring to, but
I don't what the outcome was/will be, nothing in the google news.

04/07/2005, 3:10 PM
http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0100news/0100regionalnews/tm_objectid=15696561&method=full&siteid=50061&headline=finnan-may-still-face-death-drive-charges-name_page.html

Just says date has been pushed back to 11th July.

Also
http://u.tv/newsroom/indepth.asp?id=24242&pt=s

Benitez ensuring he has cover in that position?

jimbob117
04/07/2005, 5:57 PM
http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0100news/0100regionalnews/tm_objectid=15696561&method=full&siteid=50061&headline=finnan-may-still-face-death-drive-charges-name_page.html

Just says date has been pushed back to 11th July.

Thanks for that, nice work, hopefully it works out for him if he is innocent.

05/07/2005, 10:44 AM
Benitez ensuring he has cover in that position?
Josemi hasn't really worked out (has he left the club?), while Carragher is now garuanteed to start in the centre.

05/07/2005, 10:59 AM
Josemi hasn't really worked out (has he left the club?), while Carragher is now garuanteed to start in the centre.

I heard some Spanish side were looking to take Josemi on. Dunno if it was on loan or a permanent deal

<EDIT>

Just checked www.footballrumours.info, it was Villareal

05/10/2005, 10:24 AM
Heard the fat boy on TV3, Aidan Cooney, say that Finnan and Breen are doubts for the Cyprus game. Anyone hear anything more about this ?

Not sure either would be getting a start but we can do with having everyone available at this stage.

05/10/2005, 10:53 AM
BBC have mentioned the Finnan injury, he should train tomorrow though. Only 16 players turned up for training......not good.

05/10/2005, 11:01 AM
BBC have mentioned the Finnan injury, he should train tomorrow though. Only 16 players turned up for training......not good.
No big deal I reckon. Carr was at a funeral, Given, Kilbane and Colgan all allowed to arrive late. Finnan & Breen injury doubts. Breen was hardly likely to figure anyway.

I like Finnan a lot but he's been in poor form lately. Carr ought to play RB and injury to Finnan could force Kerr into playing Steven Reid RHM. Carr is great against the good teams though I've felt he's been poor against the mid-ranking and low-ranking sides.

Dublin12
05/10/2005, 11:06 AM
Carr,or Podge as me bird calls him:D ,might lose a couple of stone in that heat over there,might see a leaner meaner version come kick off time on Saturday.

05/10/2005, 11:36 AM
Heard the fat boy on TV3, Aidan Cooney, That diet must be working for Trevor.;)

05/10/2005, 12:47 PM
That diet must be working for Trevor.;)

No sign of Trevor this morning. It was Mr Jowels himself, Aidan no neck Cooney who only comes alive when there is a hint of food or wine tasting in the air. He also made some glib comment about Kevin Doyle and Cork/Reading and that there had to be a message there but I didn't pick up on it.

If Finnan is out it may well herald the return of Stephen Reid - will add a bit of much needed height to the team.

Tipp Townie
05/10/2005, 12:59 PM
I like Finnan a lot but he's been in poor form lately. Carr ought to play RB and injury to Finnan could force Kerr into playing Steven Reid RHM. Carr is great against the good teams though I've felt he's been poor against the mid-ranking and low-ranking sides.

I just cant get my head around Carr and Finnan at the moment. Time was in a green shirt that they were among our most consistent performers (imo), and i was relieved to see them both on the pitch. But during this campaign its just seemed to be one mistake after another for both. I actually thought that Finnan has been more reliable in the last 12 months, although it seems like i'm alone in that :confused:

05/10/2005, 1:08 PM
I actually thought that Finnan has been more reliable in the last 12 months, although it seems like i'm alone in that :confused: Not at all. I agree.

I do think Carr was good against France (both games). Finnan's only really poor game was away in Tel Aviv at RHM. He was good at left-back in Basle I thought.

Carr was poor in Basle, Tel Aviv & Faroes though. His stupid yellow cards have also been expensive. I really think we'd have kept our lead against Israel at home if he was playing.

05/10/2005, 1:11 PM
Carr is only 80% of the player he was before the serious injury which almost threatened his career. Finnan I think is a sound but no more than that but our problems are more at left back than right. Hopefully the games O'Shea has had for Man U this season will see him produce a big one for us on Saturday.

mjpcc
05/10/2005, 1:12 PM
Carr is only coming back to his old self this seasn. He is one of the best players at Newcastle now. Let's hope he shows that form over the next two games for us.

05/10/2005, 1:19 PM
Aidan no neck Cooney who only comes alive when there is a hint of food or wine tasting in the air. He also made some glib comment about Kevin Doyle and Cork/Reading and that there had to be a message there but I didn't pick up on it.

I think he likes his food alright. He asked question whether Doyle would have been called up if he was still playing for Cork City - fair play to him as the rest of the media haven't grasped that idea yet. I think hes a Shels fan?

05/10/2005, 2:30 PM
That diet must be working for Trevor.;)
If TV 3 do a remake of Miami Vice which one will be Tubbs?:D

05/10/2005, 2:32 PM
By the way Breen missed taking the plane through being injured and is gone back to Sunderland for treatment hoping to be OK for Wednesday.
Anybody likely to get called up if he is not available by Saturday?

05/10/2005, 2:41 PM
If TV 3 do a remake of Miami Vice which one will be Tubbs?:D

Too late! They've taken up a career in pop!!

http://dangerhere.com/issues/190301/

wallis
05/10/2005, 2:42 PM
Finnan is fit , but Breen is out

redgav
10/10/2005, 11:09 AM
IRELAND AND LIVERPOOL FC star Steve Finnan will not be charged over the death of a pedestrian, hit by his car.

Lawyers have decided the 29-year-old should not face any action over the collision which killed Henry Nelson.

Mr Nelson, 81, died in March, five weeks after suffering head and leg injuries when he was struck by the full-back's black Range Rover in Tuebrook.

Earlier this week Liverpool coroner Andre Rebello announced that the footballer would have to appear at an inquest into Mr Nelson's death - even being summoned if he refused to appear voluntarily.

Police were still waiting to hear from the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) whether the footballer should face any charges and be put before the courts.

But the CPS has now decided there is not enough evidence to prosecute Finnan over any offence.

Mr Nelson, a retired merchant seaman, was knocked down by the Republic of Ireland international as he crossed West Derby Road near the junction with Boundary Lane on January 27.

The pensioner, from Elm Park, was taken to the Royal Liverpool Hospital but developed pneumonia and died on March 3.

The footballer stopped at the scene of the accident and spoke to police when they arrived.

He was allowed to go home but a month after Mr Nelson died he was arrested on suspicion of causing death by dangerous driving and taken to a police station for questioning.

Finnan was released on bail while a file was prepared for the CPS to decide if the Irishman should be prosecuted.

A spokeswoman for the CPS said: "In every case where a matter is referred to the CPS consideration is given to all the evidence.

"This is to ascertain if it is in the public interest to proceed and there is a reasonable prospect of conviction.

"Only if there is sufficient evidence can we proceed."

An inquest into Mr Nelson's death will be held at Liverpool on November 24.

as_i_say
10/10/2005, 11:30 AM
must be a contributing factor to his general sh it-ness at the moment if hes got something like that hanging over him. guess it must have been the old geezers own fault in the end,presumably

10/10/2005, 11:40 AM
Or just an unfortunate accident!

redgav
10/10/2005, 11:45 AM
Or just an unfortunate accident!

Thats about the gist of it really , must have been something terrible to have on the mind tho
Old lad walked out on front of him apparently ,but survived and was in hospital where he got pnuemonia and died .

robbie_B
12/10/2005, 12:38 AM
From the bbc

No crash charges for footballer

Steve Finnan moved to Liverpool FC ahead of the 2003/04 season
Liverpool footballer Steve Finnan will not face charges after the death of a pensioner who was involved in a collision with his car.
Henry Nelson, 81, from Liverpool, died five weeks after an accident with the Republic of Ireland international's black Range Rover on 27 January.

Mr Finnan, 29, was held on suspicion of dangerous driving three months later.

A spokeswoman for the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) said he would not be charged due to insufficient evidence.

"In every case where a matter is referred to the CPS consideration is given to all the evidence," she said.

"This is to ascertain if it is in the public interest to proceed and there is a reasonable prospect of conviction.

"Only if there is sufficient evidence can we proceed."

An inquest into Mr Nelson's death is due to take place on 24 November.

Mr Finnan will be called as a witness.

The defender originally comes from Limerick and is a regular in the Republic of Ireland team.

He started his career at non-league Welling before moving into league football with Birmingham and Notts County and then signing for Liverpool from Fulham for £3.5m in 2003. He was in the Liverpool team which won the Champions League final against AC Milan in May.

01/03/2006, 7:35 AM
Anyone hear the news on Stevie this morning? Accussed by deaf Man Ure fans of racially abusing Patrice Evra. Apparently they lip read him saying it. Could have been in real trouble if they lip read him asking for a bowl of "elephant stew".

FarBeag
01/03/2006, 8:07 AM
Heard about that but I think it's a case of mistaken identity or an inability to lip read.There is no way Finnan would resort to this kind of stuff,he just does not appear to be that type of bloke.

Den Perry
01/03/2006, 8:29 AM
Its probably a load of b*******. How many times have players resorted to this sort of accusation If somebody is racially abused it is downright scandalaous, but at the end of the day we are all big boys so get on with it. "STICKS AND STONES .......

Reality Bites
01/03/2006, 8:49 AM
Tabloid Crap.. Finnan top pro and in my opinion the best Irish performer in the premiership this year!

01/03/2006, 8:56 AM
From the Sun. Police Spokesman: "Investigations are continuing". Could they not just ask Evra? :)

01/03/2006, 9:29 AM
I think the most shocking part of this is that Finnan is alleged to have made comments. Never mind any false accusations of racism I think it's very encouraging that he's decided to finally open his mouth on the pitch!

01/03/2006, 9:32 AM
I think the most shocking part of this is that Finnan is alleged to have made comments. Never mind any false accusations of racism I think it's very encouraging that he's decided to finally open his mouth on the pitch!
hehe :D

green army
01/03/2006, 9:34 AM
maybe he was reading the off topic section of this forum. the thread about working in an office and saying "elephant stew" to someone near him!!!!

01/03/2006, 10:49 AM
Today's Guardian are running with a story that police investigations into alleged racial remarks made by a Liverpool player to a Man Utd one are focusing on Steve Finnan and Patrice Evra.

01/03/2006, 10:51 AM
Today's Guardian are running with a story So too is foot.ie :)
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=34066

joema
01/03/2006, 10:55 AM
I really doubt Steve would say these alleged comments. Hes a top pro and a nice man.
Important to give him a big cheer tonight to show our support for him
Its probobly just tabloid crap

01/03/2006, 11:16 AM
He's back in Liverpool with a slight injury.

joema
01/03/2006, 11:17 AM
Just take a look at some of the s**t been said on an other forum - absaloutly disgracefull:mad: :mad:

http://corkcityfc.ie/forums/index.php?showtopic=8775&st=0&p=149678&

joema
01/03/2006, 11:19 AM
Dont mean to tar all those city fans with the one brush - its just one IDIOT

jockser
01/03/2006, 11:22 AM
yeah i read that the 2 deaf people RANG the police to complain!!! LOL can someone explain how that works to me?:confused: :D
If its from that sheiterag the s*n then that would say it all i suppose!

joema
01/03/2006, 11:44 AM
I really doubt Steve would say these alleged comments. Hes a top pro and a nice man.
Its probobly just tabloid crap

Just remembered he went home from the squad yesterday, didnt he?