View Full Version : Steve Finnan
Pages :
[
2]
DolansWaistcoat
11/08/2004, 1:50 PM
Finnan did well last night and he did put in a good few decent crosses into the box from play and set pieces.I think he will have to play RM for l'pool because the new manager will play josemi at RB all season just because he signed him.Fiinan needs to work on getting past players all right though because he didn't manage it last night.If he got a regular place there for pool then he should have no problem playing there for Ireland though,imo.
Good to see Potter come on also.I was shocked to even see him on the bench.I'd say Partridge wishs that Houllier was sacked years ago.
brine3
11/08/2004, 8:33 PM
Finnan got the assist against Holland, a fairly convincing run up the right wing and a cross to pick out McAteer.
His runs forward galvanised Ireland in the second half against Cameroon, and it was his pin point long-ball that landed bounced off Niall Quinn's head so that Robbie Keane could score in the last minute against Germany.
Steve Finnan at right half? Worth a try, we could do worse.
12/08/2004, 9:27 AM
Steve Finnan at right half? Worth a try, we could do worse.
We could do better!
We've already tried him there.
Miller looks like a better prospect for that position since he's naturally an attacking player.
Condex
14/08/2004, 6:39 PM
Watched both matches today.
Finnan played fairly well on the right side of midfield but seems to be a bit one paced.
Carr had an excellent game I think he'll prove to be a real bargain, he is as far better player than Finnan faster, stronger and has better stamina.
14/08/2004, 8:56 PM
Carr had an excellent game and let the goal go through his legs
14/08/2004, 9:04 PM
and let the goal go through his legs
He must have be bigger than I thought if he can fit a goal through is legs. :p
Closed Account 2
15/08/2004, 1:13 AM
My thoughts (watched games on Match of the Day):-
Both played above average, maybe 7/10. Finnan put in a good cross for Liverpool's goal, Carr looked decent a really gritty player always tries hard.
Other thoughts on our players this weekend:-
The Doc came on for Spurs (70th min) for the defender Norine Naybet, poor lads not even 30 and has hardly any hair left. Played average.
Delap came on for Soton (at H/T) didnt notice him, most of their players had real Stinkers tho.
Kevin Nolan (who's been touted for us) played for Bolton but was subbed (77th min), I only remember him missing a fairly decent chance. Holland picked up an ankle injury (12th min) and was taken off - no idea how serious. Kiely had a bit of a stinker but thats neither here nor there now.
Dunne played for Man City, seemed ok. Macken came on (77th min) didnt do much.
Morrison played a couple of mins for Birmingham, remember him having a decent effort which Hislóp saved well.
Other stuff I didnt see:-
Barrett played full match for Cov. Soccernet report suggests he played a blinder.
Andy Reid played full match for Forest. Described as "impressive".
Alan Quinn (is he one of ours?) played about 30mins for Sheff Utd. Had an "impact" on the game.
Elliot and Thornton came on very late for Sunderland. No major mentions.
Rowlands SCORED with a "wonderful strike" for QPR.
Lee played the full match for Cardiff on Friday, anyone watch it (think it was on Sky ?).
Barrett and Reid both seem to have played well, I hope they get a decent run out in the match v Bulgaria.
15/08/2004, 2:27 AM
Yea and you would have blocked it :p
It was at point blank range and a dead cert for a half decent striker.
The keeper (Given) who had more time to react actually got
a hand to it but could not stop it and the ball, infact did not go though
Carr's legs at all, although it does look like that from one (or two) angle(s), but I have watched it several times in slow-mo and it definately didn't.
Even if it had gone through his legs I would not fault him.
He seemed to have a pretty good game to me as did Finnan from what
I saw on the highlights of match of the day.
Given made an excellent save too, top draw.
So please stop the negativity rodger and be more jolly. :p
My thanks to cfdh_edmundo for his 'round up'.
Reid had a 'good un' according to most NFFC forum reports, although
some mug rated him 5, but 7-9 was more typical. Barret impressed me
when he played for Ireland (Brazil?).
The mere sight of the Doc being brought on lead to a goal, obviously
fear of the 'ginger maradonna' unsettled the opposition, it is statistically
proveable that Spurs get better results when he plays.
Condex
15/08/2004, 3:30 AM
Christ I d'int know that was an offence.
Obviously you know F*** all about football
15/08/2004, 8:51 AM
Christ I d'int know that was an offence.
Obviously you know F*** all about football
letting in goals not an offence, go figure, obviously you dont know a FÚCK about football :rolleyes:
Time will tell about Carr and his newcastle adventures!! ;)
15/08/2004, 10:21 AM
Calm down ladies. In case you'd forgotten, we're all supporting the same side here.
Back to the point, Martin Rowlands did indeed score a wonderful goal yesterday. Well worth a second look.
:) PP
1MickCollins
15/08/2004, 5:16 PM
thejollyrodger - if it went through Given's legs then it would be a story :)
15/08/2004, 6:03 PM
Not everybody is Carr's number 1 fan ;)
carnstien
15/08/2004, 6:33 PM
he is as far better player than Finnan faster, stronger and has better stamina.
I have no idea what you are basing any of that on. Personally don't think which one of them is better is even an issue as Finnan should play at left back and Carr right back.
As it happens I don't think there is really anything between them. I think Carr is slightly better going forward and Finnan is possibly slightly more solid defensivly. I also think that Finnan is a slightly neater passer.
There is no doubt however that they are both top drawer and need to both be accomadated in the team.
Condex
15/08/2004, 6:38 PM
I think Carr is slightly better going forward and Finnan is possibly slightly more solid defensivly.
What are you talking about, Finnan is just ahead of Harte in the defensive stakes.
15/08/2004, 6:58 PM
What are you talking about, Finnan is just ahead of Harte in the defensive stakes.
Since he rarely ever goes forward I wonder why he was in the premiership team of the year a few seasons ago. :rolleyes:
carnstien
16/08/2004, 8:40 AM
Oh my god, what the hell are you talking about? Have you ever actually seen Finnan play? When has he ever made a defensive mistake? I have seen the guy play upwards of 50 times at this stage and can't recall one single error. WOULD YOU CARE TO POINT ONE OUT?
Finnan is one of the most solid full backs in the premiership, just behind Wayne Bridge in my opinion.
tarzan_bray
16/08/2004, 12:06 PM
Barret impressed me
when he played for Ireland (Brazil?).
Think you are mixing him up with Graham Kavanagh, anyone hear how he got on at the weekend?
16/08/2004, 1:04 PM
Was that the year after both Kelly and Harte made it on that team? Come to think of it, Harte made that team on two consecutive years, which must make him one of the greatest defenders in the past 10 years...
Harte was one of the best attacking full backs in the premiership a few seasons ago and also in the top 3 dead ball specialists. That is why he was in the team of the year. We all know Finnan rarely goes forward and Condex says he's is a terrible defender so you would have to wonder how he was named in the PFA team of the season.
16/08/2004, 4:24 PM
Think you are mixing him up with Graham Kavanagh, anyone hear how he got on at the weekend?
Yes Kav was good against Brazil, I think maybe it was the Czech Repuplic
I was thinking of, or Holland or......
(memory not good these days)
16/08/2004, 4:28 PM
Was that the year after both Kelly and Harte made it on that team? Come to think of it, Harte made that team on two consecutive years, which must make him one of the greatest defenders in the past 10 years...
That is probably why we dropped him. :p
17/08/2004, 9:28 AM
according to football365....
".....it seems certain that right-back Steve Finnan will join Tottenham for £2m as a replacement for his Irish international teammate Stephen Carr."
17/08/2004, 10:09 AM
yeah this has been reported in the london standard, and lot of other news outlets. I think it woudl be a good move for spurs and finnan too, if he does not figure in benitez plans
17/08/2004, 10:18 AM
yeah this has been reported in the london standard, and lot of other news outlets. I think it woudl be a good move for spurs and finnan too, if he does not figure in benitez plans
But not for Stephen Kelly. I've been hoping that he'll establish himself this season now that Carr has gone to Newcastle. I'd rather see Finnan move elsewhere tbh.
:) PP
17/08/2004, 10:38 AM
The only other club supposed to be interested in him (that I've heard of anyway) is Blackburn, I'd rather he was at Spurs, than under Graeme "let's wreck as many Irish careers as I can" Souness
17/08/2004, 1:54 PM
according to football365....
".....it seems certain that right-back Steve Finnan will join Tottenham for £2m as a replacement for his Irish international teammate Stephen Carr."
Seems like they wanted a player which spoke the same language :p
Graeme "let's wreck as many Irish careers as I can" Souness
Noticed Douglas wasn't in Blackburn squad. Injured or surplus?
17/08/2004, 2:47 PM
Noticed Douglas wasn't in Blackburn squad. Injured or surplus?
surplus I'd imagine, he was supposed to be looking for a loan before Ferguson, Flitcroft and Tugay got injured, so made the jump into the first team late in the season and impressed enough to earn a new contract.
Hither green
13/09/2004, 3:31 PM
Finnan’s first league goal for Liverpool… and what a goal! Where the hell did that come from? He’s looked pretty good for them since the start of the season, so I was a bit disturbed at the rumours of a possible move to Spurs. Thankfully the transfer window’s now closed so he’s got time to impress at Liverpool.
As much as I’ve rated Carr over the years, on the basis of current form shouldn’t Finnan be the clear choice for right back?
13/09/2004, 3:40 PM
As much as I’ve rated Carr over the years, on the basis of current form shouldn’t Finnan be the clear choice for right back?
We'll have to wait and see what Souness does at United but you may be right about Finnan taking the place of Carr.
Andy O'Brien scored at the weekend as well.
You'd take a few goals from them two in the Qualifiers.
13/09/2004, 4:10 PM
O'Brien has scored more than all the Irish in the prem with 2. :D He's also the joint highest scoring premeirship defender. :)
Hither green
13/09/2004, 4:14 PM
Andy O'Brien scored at the weekend as well.
You'd take a few goals from them two in the Qualifiers.
I saw that, I wonder what odds you'd have got on Newcastle keeping a clean sheet AND O'Brien scoring? Nah nobody would have been daft enough to take that bet.
Would be good to have O'Brien scoring for Ireland, or any centre back able to impose himself at corners, can't remember the last time we had that, obviously not including Breen's sublime finish at the world cup.
jofyisgod
13/09/2004, 5:31 PM
It was some finish, had to watch it a few times to appreciate it. Finnan has to stay in the Irish team now, if there is any justice in this world.
Looking forward to the France game now... :D
13/09/2004, 8:22 PM
O'Brien has scored more than all the Irish in the prem with 2. :D He's also the joint highest scoring premeirship defender. :)
He also got an own goal I believe, which makes 3 and makes him
clear top goal scorer :D
13/09/2004, 8:47 PM
He didn't score an og this season...
ken foree
14/09/2004, 12:16 PM
two nice goals, the first touch for each was impressive, although both goals had a little luck
14/09/2004, 2:00 PM
He didn't score an og this season...
I believe he did but I could be wrong, on the day he scored his first
goal, a deflection I think, but I am not 100% sure now.
It might not have been classed as an own goal.
DolansWaistcoat
14/09/2004, 2:35 PM
Finnan has been playing well for liverpool and Benetiz seems to rate him on the right wing.
Lovely goal on saturday,although I think he was a bit shocked himself because he didn't seem to know what to do when it went in,just stood there for a couple of seconds and then put his arm in the air and ran to the fans.Over four years without a goal,I suppose. :D
Beanie
16/09/2004, 9:26 AM
O'Shea had another stinker last night for Utd in the Champs league, looked lazy and half-arsed, on the the other hand Finnan looked the business for Liverpool on the right side of midfield, his touch passing and movement was first rate as was his preformance in premiership on saturday , he is a new player Raf Benitez.
Junior
16/09/2004, 9:49 AM
O'shea is certainly no right back!! Heinze looked the biz at LB incidently - so not sure how O'shea will fit in now, Fergie doesn't seem to trust him in the centre, looks like he's being replaced at LB and RB is Gary Nevilles spot when he is back from injury. I know he's played midfiled a few times this year for Man U - but I'm not sure he's going to get many games there either. Looks a bit onimous for our John???
Finnan, certainly has had a good start to the season. I'd have him in ahead of Carr at Right Back for the France game.
Terry Phelan
16/09/2004, 10:04 AM
I think ye are all coming down on o'shea a bit harsh.Few bad games doesnt mean hes sh*t.He always performs when pulls on the irish jersey.The lads just lacking in a bit of confidence.Can ye all remember the o'shea that played against newcastle at st.james park last season.Give the lad a chance!!!!
If he got a few good games under his belt,we'd soon see the real o'shea back
16/09/2004, 10:13 AM
I think ye are all coming down on o'shea a bit harsh.Few bad games doesnt mean hes sh*t.He always performs when pulls on the irish jersey.
Aah ha ha ha, woo hoo hoo, ha ha haaaaa ha ha, oh deary me, ha haa haaa ha ha, oooh hoo hoo hoo hooooo. I love a good laugh on a Thursday morning.
Let me compose myself as I ask you when has O'Shea ever performed when he pulls on the Irish shirt?
If part of his performance is to trick us into thinking he's crap then he has succeeded.
Did anyone see him last night about 25 mins into the game putting his hand up for offside from a throw in? Hard to believe! Maybe he'd have some chance of playing half a decent game if he learned the rules.
16/09/2004, 10:15 AM
If he got a few good games under his belt,we'd soon see the real o'shea back
That's it though,
Gary Neville is guaranteed the rb slot
Fergie's praised Heinze in the two games he's played.
O'shea is unlikely to feature for united much this season, unless it's down to injuries, as it was last night.
liamon
16/09/2004, 10:33 AM
With Rio Ferdinand returning this weekend, and Gary Neville back in a few weeks, it would seem unlikely that O'Shea will get a settled run in defence. I guess Heinze will get dragged back to S. America to play for the national team again? That will give O'Shea an odd game at LB. Also, Ferguson is fond of resting players from time to time, and that could open opportunities, especially given the tough summer Heinze has had.
Gary Neville is out injured at the moment. Silvestre is struggling and Wes Brown will almost certainly hurt himself somehow. So I do see O'Shea getting games. But not in a settled position.
That could be the problem.
16/09/2004, 12:02 PM
O'shea is certainly no right back!!
He's a much better RB than LB. If Gary Neville was a left back, O'Shea would have been playing at right back for the last 2 season. He's also a natural right footer.
Littlest Hobo
16/09/2004, 12:47 PM
John's a bit dopey....he needs a good clout to waken him up. Wouldn't put him anywhere near the french. Carr and Finnan should take up the full back berths for the game.
ken foree
16/09/2004, 1:51 PM
really love to see o'shea succeed but seems he's at a bit of a loss now, i've read he started the game as a midfielder and has of course been deployed across the back four for united/ireland with mixed results since his energetic emergence at LB - seems like a decade ago now. i think his stated preference is central defence and ferguson has even had him in midfield this season. a bit like harte in that he's talented but for a 'lost' position - he's no natural defender anyway. the boy glides when carrying the ball well, that run and shot for giggs's goal vs. newcastle mentioned above was a highlight and what i hoped a glimpse of things to come from him. nutmegging figo weren't bad either
16/09/2004, 1:59 PM
Duff, being a dangerman on the left, will surely be man marked by the French. If we play O'Shea the French will know that he's not going to overlap Duff when Duff moves infield. The right full-back has an easier job then because he can just stick to Duff. O'Shea is more of a threat to us than Duff is to the opposition!
dynamo kerry
16/09/2004, 3:13 PM
o'shea has now been average for longer than when he was 'good'. flash in the pan anyone? it's not a sin to suggest he just had his really good season early in a powerful united team.
Littlest Hobo
16/09/2004, 3:27 PM
Duff, being a dangerman on the left, will surely be man marked by the French. If we play O'Shea the French will know that he's not going to overlap Duff when Duff moves infield. The right full-back has an easier job then because he can just stick to Duff. O'Shea is more of a threat to us than Duff is to the opposition!
Yep...Dozy O Shea will find it hard to overlap Duff on the outside.
Finnan can move like grease lightening, so he'll link up well with Duff.