View Full Version : Spurs/Arsenal Champions League Spot?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

Karlos
15/04/2006, 4:08 PM
Why did he give Bergkamp an extension to this contract this season if Wenger is omnicient :p ? Do you have a list of his appearances and goals this season ?

The great man Dennis didn't need me to defend him, he answered this himself for you today Owlsfan.

1-1 less than 30 seconds after coming on and then Dennis changes the game with a ultimate cool experienced head to find Pires for the equaliser and a stunning finish for the third goal. Worth every penny of the wages Wenger has spent on him in my opinion. :)

15/04/2006, 5:29 PM
if spurs get a point at the library next week, i think that shud be enough! but i dont think they will and i think aresenal will just edge the race unfortunately!
can anyone tell me if arsenal win the champs lge and spurs get 4th.....do arsenal qualify for next year and spurs get uefa cup?

15/04/2006, 5:59 PM
presumably they will just do what liverpool did last year although i think i recall uefa saying something about how such a situation will be handled in future

Docboy
16/04/2006, 3:03 PM
Arsenal will get the place if they finish 5th as the rules were tightened after last year. It would be typical as a Spurs fan if we did finish 4th only for the gooners to snatch it!

16/04/2006, 7:26 PM
what do spurs need to get 4th position?

16/04/2006, 11:08 PM
Spurs need 8 points, but most importantly avoid defeat against Arsenal.

17/04/2006, 6:15 PM
The great man Dennis didn't need me to defend him, he answered this himself for you today Owlsfan.
1-1 less than 30 seconds after coming on and then Dennis changes the game with a ultimate cool experienced head to find Pires for the equaliser and a stunning finish for the third goal. Worth every penny of the wages Wenger has spent on him in my opinion. :)
Of what I have (sporadically) seen Arsenal play over the last 10 years if I had to pick one player it would be Bergkamp.

18/04/2006, 9:07 AM
I was over in Liverpool on Saturday for the game and I have to say I was very impressed with the Spurs performance. It was a real away performance in a European Stylpe. Spurs passed the ball well and defended well and cut Everton open time and time again. Everton were reduced to kicking the ball long and only looked like scoring when Ferguson came on. Great 3 points by Spurs and a great performance. David Moyes said it was the best performance at Goodison this season.

Yesterdays game was a fantastic match and it continued the great tradition of games between Man Utd and Spurs. As Gary Neville said both clubs like to play football in the right way and it made for a top class game. I felt Spurs were unlucky not to get a point as they have numerous chances but Utd were awsome on the counter attack. However Utds second goal was a gift. I am not sure what Lee Young Pyo was up to but I am sure he is as gutted as anybody. Keanes touch was not as good as it has been in the last few games but his effort never stopped and he was tracking back time and time again.

To be honest the weekend went the way I thought it would with 3 points against Everton and a narrow defeat having played well against Utd. At this stage of the season its better than 2 draws as its all about points. Spurs are going in to the game against Arsenal knowing that a point will be enough so thats as good a way to go into it as expect in my view.

Roadend
18/04/2006, 9:26 AM
I am not sure what Lee Young Pyo was up to

Trying to outdo and outshine Park, to disastrous effect.

21/04/2006, 11:03 AM
What a big game tomorrows Derby is going to be and it has worked out exactly as I said it would. The smaller club such as Bolton and Blackburn have fallen away leaving this to be a two horse race between Arsenal and Spurs. Spurs are going in to the game knowing that a draw will do them which is the best I think any spurs fan could have hoped for at this stage. The results have gone pretty much as expect since I posted up on this and its a 50/50 game with the odds slightly in Spurs favour as they just need a draw. I think the game will be a 1-1 draw but it could go either way. No King is a big blow for spurs and it will be interesting to see if he plays Davids or not on the left. Lennon could be the key to the game and he will have a go at Flamini who has looked great as stand in left back. Wengers team selection is going to be interesting also. Does he rest players for the game on wednesday. One this is for sure I am sure Reyes will play this match. I think a win for either team will practically guarantee them champions league football and a draw keeps it tight to the end with Spurs having a slight advantage.

21/04/2006, 11:15 AM
It's seven years since Spurs last qualified for Europe, by winning the Worthington League Cup in 1999. They've not qualified via their League position since 1982/83, and have only gained entry to Europe's premier club competition once, by winning the 1960/61 League Championship. They've picked up precisely 100 Premiership points under Jol. They didn't manage any on Easter Monday when losing 1-2 at home to Manchester United, but have not suffered consecutive losses in 44 Premiership matches, since losing away to Southampton and Charlton on 5 and 16 May last year. Spurs have won three, drawn two and lost three of their eight London Premiership derbies this season, gaining 11 points. Arsenal have played one more and have 14 points from four wins, two draws and three losses.

22/04/2006, 1:35 PM
FT Arsenal 1 - 1 Tottenham H.

not a bad result for spurs. Hopefully they can get the results in teh remainder of their games

22/04/2006, 1:42 PM
Keano on target again. 16 goals this season. Hope he brings the same to the Ireland squad;).

22/04/2006, 1:44 PM
Dirty, dirty goal from Spurs though. Andy Gray;s excues of Davids didn't see Eboue down, and/or Eboue might have faked it so the ball would go out of play don't ring true. There was plenty of time and opportunites for Davids and/or Keane to see it, and there wasn't anything on for Spurs when Eboue stayed down after his clash with Pires.

22/04/2006, 1:55 PM
Dirty, dirty goal from Spurs though. Andy Gray;s excues of Davids didn't see Eboue down, and/or Eboue might have faked it so the ball would go out of play don't ring true. There was plenty of time and opportunites for Davids and/or Keane to see it, and there wasn't anything on for Spurs when Eboue stayed down after his clash with Pires.Are you an Arsenal fan by any chance?;).

22/04/2006, 1:57 PM
Are you an Arsenal fan by any chance?;).

Actually I'm a Sheffield Wednesday fan, but I like to call a spade a spade :)

Karlos
22/04/2006, 1:58 PM
Dirty, dirty goal from Spurs though. Andy Gray;s excues of Davids didn't see Eboue down, and/or Eboue might have faked it so the ball would go out of play don't ring true. There was plenty of time and opportunites for Davids and/or Keane to see it, and there wasn't anything on for Spurs when Eboue stayed down after his clash with Pires.

Wasn't surprised by the tottenham goal. It's not the first time they have done that at Highbury. Andy Sinton's goal in the 1996 Derby came from Spurs not throwing the ball back after Arsenal had put it out for a Spurs player. When you're desparate, you do desparate things, I guess.

At least Arsenal had the decency to offer to replay the game when they profitted from that sort of thing in the past - I doubt you'll even get an admission from Spurs but that's class for you, eh? :mad:

Overall, I thought Spurs played a good game against us and Keano played particulary well but they failed to take any of the legitimate chances they created at 0-0. When the goal did come, Spurs weren't dominating like they had earlier in the game so it was a bitter pill to swollow as Arsenal had their tails up with the arrival of Henry & Fabregas. Thankfully Henry's sublime finish meant justice prevailed.

I still believe that both teams could slip up with the games they have coming up and all is not all over by any stretch. The draw suits Spurs in that it's in there own hands but Arsenal also have it in their own hands to make sure Spurs don't get near that Champions League......A thought that's growing sweeter by the minute after what I witnessed today.

TheJamaicanP.M.
22/04/2006, 2:01 PM
Keano, Keano, there's only one Keano!:D

Docboy
22/04/2006, 2:11 PM
Didn't really see the arguement for putting the ball out of play. Neither player was likely to be hurt badly, spurs had the ball and were on the way forward. And talking of class nice to see the "big" man wenger refusing to shake hands at the end. Miaow!

22/04/2006, 2:30 PM
Dirty, dirty goal from Spurs though.
:confused: I'm suprised Sky Sports even made anything out of it. 2 Arsenal players clashed in the middle of the pitch. Neither of them were badly hurt, Spurs gained no advantage. Whether the Arsenal players clashed or not it would not have changed anything, Spurs would still have scored. Perfectly fair goal. People should be more worried about players diving rather than something like this.

4th spot is in Spurs hands now, although Champions league football isn't.

Karlos
22/04/2006, 2:35 PM
And talking of class nice to see the "big" man wenger refusing to shake hands at the end. Miaow!

I assume you saw the classy Martin Jol rushing over to shake it otherwise you wouldn't only be accusing Wenger or was that all Sky Sports showed you!! :rolleyes:

I'm really looking forward to the classy Jol apologising for his band of cheats in good time!

Eitherway, I'm sure they'll enjoy watching Eastenders on Tuesday Night :D

22/04/2006, 2:40 PM
:confused: I'm suprised Sky Sports even made anything out of it. 2 Arsenal players clashed in the middle of the pitch. Neither of them were badly hurt, Spurs gained no advantage. Whether the Arsenal players clashed or not it would not have changed anything, Spurs would still have scored. Perfectly fair goal. People should be more worried about players diving rather than something like this.

4th spot is in Spurs hands now, although Champions league football isn't.

Well considering that Davids went down the left wing where Eboue would have been able to track back and try and cover I think it made a lot of difference. I mean it wasn't like Spurs were pouring forward when Eboue went down, they were inching forward and hoping for an opening. Also I was unaware that Davids, Keane and the rest of the Spurs team had recieved they're degrees in medicine and were able to call whether or not a player, laying to the ground, holding his leg, was badly injured or not by looking at him

Karlos
22/04/2006, 2:55 PM
Well considering that Davids went down the left wing where Eboue would have been able to track back and try and cover I think it made a lot of difference. I mean it wasn't like Spurs were pouring forward when Eboue went down, they were inching forward and hoping for an opening. Also I was unaware that Davids, Keane and the rest of the Spurs team had recieved they're degrees in medicine and were able to call whether or not a player, laying to the ground, holding his leg, was badly injured or not by looking at him

There's now unwritten rules that need to be followed it appears. Firstly you have to cause the injury yourself otherwise you should just play on freely with any advantage you get and secondly if there's any doubt, just take a glance and dertmine that it's not life threatening in YOUR opinion.

The spirit of fair play is alive and well.

Make sure you inform the kids around the world that fair play is out the window now & that they should now act like this when a player injures himself unintentionally. :mad:

Just counting the time that elapses between the injury and the goal shows how disgraceful this was - there was no question that the player wasn't injured unless you want to accuse Arsenal players of now diving under challenges from their own!!!

22/04/2006, 3:12 PM
At the end of the day, Arsenal didn't play well enough to earn all 3 points and Spurs deserved something. :)

Karlos
22/04/2006, 3:16 PM
Classy Martin didn't see the incident and neither did his players it seem. Is he fu*king serious!

Not enough class to admit he's a cheat!

oh and by the way, he went to shake the referrees hand in the middle of the pitch instead of walking two yards to shake Wengers according to saintly Martin himself! :rolleyes:

"I didn't even see it, I was watching Davids," Jol told Sky Sports 1.

"The lad was going down and standing up, so for me, there was no problem.

"Wenger was pretty upset about it, but I didn't even see it."

The two managers did not shake hands at the final whistle, but Jol was not keen to make much of the failure to adhere to a traditional custom.

He added: "I was going to the referee and shook hands with him.

"Sometimes you lose, sometimes you win, maybe it's difficult being a manager, but for me, I think we deserved something out of this game."

Karlos
22/04/2006, 3:20 PM
At the end of the day, Arsenal didn't play well enough to earn all 3 points and Spurs deserved something. :)

Neither team did enough to win the game but we may have seen a different result if it had played out in the right spirit as it was for the majority.

The stats were very even and a point overall was a fair result.

A win for Spurs would have been disgraceful under the circumstances in my opinion and a very poor advert for the game.

Stats

Arsenal - Tottenham

1 Goals 1
6 Shots on Target 6
3 Shots off Target 3
0 Blocked Shots 0
5 Corners 4
10 Fouls 9
2 Offsides 5
1 Yellow Cards 0
0 Red Cards 1
45% Possession 55%

22/04/2006, 3:24 PM
Neither team did enough to win the gameWell surely a draw is a fair result then?:confused:

Karlos
22/04/2006, 3:24 PM
"I think it is a shame, personally," Wenger told Sky Sports 1.

"There was a hesitation from Carrick. He saw two players down to kick the ball out of play.

"If they did not see if from the bench, or even lie about that, I find that very disappointing."

Wenger told the bbc

"Their first goal was a disgrace. They lie when they say they didn't see it. I can't believe they didn't see it. Of course they lie," he said.

"I find it very disappointing and it is a shame that a thing like that can happen.

"It is nothing to do with the stakes riding on the game. It is whether you think something is fair or unfair. You expect to get the ball back there.

"We did it on Wednesday against Villarreal in the Champions League every time, even when we sometimes felt it was unfair for them to get it back."

Wenger added: "If that's the way they want to behave then that is their responsibility, but I don't agree with that.

"I don't agree with it and if football goes that way it becomes very petty."

Karlos
22/04/2006, 3:26 PM
Well surely a draw is a fair result then?:confused:

I think I said that.

The stats were very even and a point overall was a fair result. :

22/04/2006, 4:36 PM
who have spurs left to play and who have arsenal left to play ?

22/04/2006, 5:16 PM
Neither team did enough to win the game but we may have seen a different result if it had played out in the right spirit as it was for the majority.

The stats were very even and a point overall was a fair result.

The stats were completely in Spurs favour until they got the goal. After they scored and Davids got sent off it was always going to be one way traffic. It was a fair result, Spurs deserved a goal, Arsenal deserved a goal. Every team gets a bit lucky every now and again. I bet you wouldn't be complaining if Pires went down easily to win a peno.

FarBeag
22/04/2006, 5:34 PM
who have spurs left to play and who have arsenal left to play ?

You could have goggled it in the time it took you write the question.;)
Glad that Spurs got the draw even if it was controversial. Fair play to Robbie for putting it away.

Karlos
22/04/2006, 10:03 PM
The stats were completely in Spurs favour until they got the goal.

The stats from after halftime were in Arsenal's favour. More shots on target during that period than Spurs had. They were anything but on top when their goal arrived.

Every team gets a bit lucky every now and again.

We obviously have a very different understanding of what 'luck' is. Luck for me is a deflected goal or marginal offside in your favour. Gaining a known
advantage and ultimately a goal by failing to kick a ball out of play while two players lie injured is not luck, it's unsporting behaviour at the very least and cheating in my eyes. A bit of luck would have been Spurs scoring off Jen's nose in the first half and they would have been deserving of that luck.

You don't earn the right to cheat by your performance earlier where you didn't get any luck. Spurs deserved a goal during their domination but not when they stole a lead and changed the shape of the game.

I hope we don't see any future games decided on this type of 'luck'.:mad:

I bet you wouldn't be complaining if Pires went down easily to win a peno.

You'd be losing your money then as you don't know me very well. If Pires goes down in the box for a penalty then he is cheat. If I was going to label Pires as a cheat for that one penalty incident then I'd also have to label Rooney, Van Nistelroy, Drogba and EVERY other player who ever took a dive.......where does this end. Diving is a problem everywhere and in every game and it's cheating - very simple. It's amazing how when Pires dives he cheats but when it's others it's gamemanship. It's all cheating and i've never argued otherwise.

What happened today is not a similar situation to diving however, it's a situation that doesn't occur often, thank god. Today wasn't about trying to con a third party (i.e. referee) into making a discision, it was about Spurs making a decision by themselvs when they saw an opportunity. A descision that goes totally against the concept of FAIR PLAY.

It will come back to bite Spurs in the ass sometime and I'm looking forward to that.

Marked Man
22/04/2006, 10:23 PM
Or, for a somewhat more balanced view of the incident:
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/storyid=365637&root=england&cc=5901

Incidentally, regarding all the above talk of cheating: diving is against the rules. Not kicking the ball out of play is not.

22/04/2006, 10:29 PM
I'm tired of watching these managers bitching continuously every time a decision doesn't go their way. It should be left to the referee to decide if a player is injured enough to stop the game. It has become a farce nowadays players looking for the game to be stopped for the slightest knock. From the time kids start playing football they are thought to “play until you hear a whistle”. Nothing has changed in my opinion. Just sour grapes from Mr. Whinger.

Karlos
22/04/2006, 10:51 PM
Incidentally, regarding all the above talk of cheating: diving is against the rules. Not kicking the ball out of play is not.

FYI, Unsporting Conduct is a part of the FIFA Laws of the game and includes such items as shirt pulling, cheating & using means to gain an unfair advantage. This law is very much open to interpretation. Stealing 5 yards to take a throw in, is also in the laws of the game and almost never enforced. The Fair Play initiative exists for a reason and is included (possibly appendixed) in the most current edition of the Laws of The Game. If Spurs wish to act without morals or respect for their fellow professional as a club then that's their perogrative but it shows a distinct lack of class for a club with such a steeped tradition and I believe that is the real bone of contention here.

Karlos
22/04/2006, 11:02 PM
I'm tired of watching these managers bitching continuously every time a decision doesn't go their way. .

The fact remains he wasn't bitching over a decision by the referee (read or listen to his commnts again), he's rightfully arguing over the blatant denial of Spurs management of the injury to our player (who was still having to recieve treatment when we actually equalised 20 minute s later).

According to the interviews I've watched with Jol, Wenger & Henry - Spurs are claiming they didn't see the incident which the tape clearly proves otherwise. Carrick & Davids have told Henry (according to him) that they weren't aware of the incident and if they had they would have put the ball out. So Spurs themselves are secretly admitting they should have put the ball out without really admitting to it. It's a cop out.

Arsenal, many will remember scored against Sheff United in a very similar fashion but believed that scoring in such a unsporting manner was wrong for the club's image and the image of the game despite being deemed good. At least Arsenal's advantage was accidental and subsequently apologised for.

Fat chance of any type of honesty down the seven sisters road.

From the time kids start playing football they are thought to “play until you hear a whistle”. Nothing has changed in my opinion. Just sour grapes from Mr. Whinger.

The problem is not with the 'play until you hear a whistle' mentality, the problem is 'playing with two men lying injured' while the opposition knowingly exploit it. That will always be unsporting behaviour in my eyes no matter what team is invloved with it.

Had the shoe been on the other foot it would have been the most disgraceful action for a big club and evidence of Arsenal's apparent love for cheating. They would have been right, for once.

22/04/2006, 11:40 PM
You'd be losing your money then as you don't know me very well. If Pires goes down in the box for a penalty then he is cheat.
But you'd still be happy that Arsenal got a result. Having watched the highlights on Match of the Day again both players were fine. They paused the run up to the goal a few times showing the Arsenal players getting up. Carrick seems a nice bloke, he would have put the ball out if he thought there was reason to. This would be a non-issue if Arsenal got the ball and the match would have been continued as normal.

On the point of stats. I remember seeing Spurs having a 6-2 advantage in shots and 60% possession at one point in the match. Goals change games and Spurs dominated for most of the game up until their goal.

These things even themselves out over the course of a season (well usually). There is no rule against playing on until the referee's whistle is blown and there is no rule against taking a quick freekick when the opposition aren't expecting it. The opposition may not like it but that's football.

BTW - If this was a player truely injured on the ground I'd probably be slating Spurs right now but the players might aswell have tripped over their own shoe laces. It was clear they were getting to their feet so there was no need to put the ball out.
I have a terrible memory but I remember Ireland showing unsportsmanship by playing on when a player was down in the Euro qualifiers. We got a goal. It didn't stop me celebrating but this case is different, Carrick thought (correctly) that the players were fine.

Also, Jol said he didn't see it, he didn't say his players didn't see it.

23/04/2006, 12:03 AM
I am surprised that there is even any discussion here on the Spurs goal.
apart from Davids hit in a peach of a cross for Robbie to tap home.
Eirebhoy has described the incident simply and accurately, like Giles would have done :)
Did I not see one of the Arsenal players sitting on the deck, straining his neck to see where the ball was then clutch his leg and fall back down again.
The rest is irony at its best.
Wenger "They lie when they say they didn't see it. I can't believe they didn't see it. Of course they lie," he said."

TheJamaicanP.M.
23/04/2006, 1:05 AM
Wenger "They lie when they say they didn't see it. I can't believe they didn't see it. Of course they lie," he said."

What an ironic comment from Wenger. Its amazing how he never sees these things when it works to the advantage of his team. Wenger is the same as Ferguson and Mourinho - a fcuking sore loser.

I've become p!ssed off with players putting the ball out of play when opposition players are clearly not injured. Play to the whistle. We scored a late goal against Albania in June 2003 after we refused to give the ball back and rightly so because the Albanians were cheating b@stards that day.

Eirebhoy has described the incident perfectly. If Arsenal had scored from a similar incident I don't think Karlos would be on this forum complaining. Sour grapes Karlos. Even Thierry Henry was honest in his assessment of the incident after the game.

I actually had respect for Wenger before this game. Now I just think he is an unsporting pr!ck. I hope either Villareal or Barca do a job on Arsenal and Spurs get the 4th place which they rightly deserve.

Marked Man
23/04/2006, 3:37 AM
FYI, Unsporting Conduct is a part of the FIFA Laws of the game and includes such items as shirt pulling, cheating & using means to gain an unfair advantage.

Aware of that, thanks. Wasn't aware that it covered having to put the ball out of play when a player is injured. And certainly not aware that it covered having to put the ball out of play when two players fall down, and the referee waves play on.

23/04/2006, 4:55 AM
Unsporting conduct would also be when Pires sticks out a leg at opponents, in order to be "fouled" in the box and win a penalty, or when Henry curls free-kicks into the net, when the ref hasn't even blown his whistle allowing him to take it.

There is no reason why a team should put the ball out when players get injured, it's not even a rule, ffs. :rolleyes: The ref decides when a game is stopped, and you must play to the whistle. If you fail to do that and concede a goal as a result, it's your fault. It's about time something was done about giving possession to the opposition when someone gets an injured fingernail. It's no longer sportsmanship, but a spoiling tactic.

23/04/2006, 9:32 AM
Watched it a few times & its a a fair goal.

The 2 lads ran into each other so no Spurs foul. 1 guy had already got up. The ref was standing next to them to access if a bad injury & he deemed no head injury so choose not to stop the play. Simple.

Spurs dominated 80% of the game. Should have been 2 nil at HT.

I think even 1 win from 2 now will gte 4th place for Spurs as would mean Arsenal need 2 wins & 1 draw at least.

Karlos
23/04/2006, 12:11 PM
What an ironic comment from Wenger. Its amazing how he never sees these things when it works to the advantage of his team. Wenger is the same as Ferguson and Mourinho - a fcuking sore loser.

Because getting our own players sent off works to our advantage. Show me the quotes where Wenger has used to that excuse where his team have gained an advantage. On the Pires penalty incident he DID see it and said he thought it was a penalty from where he stood. The only time I've ever heard him use the 'I didn't see it' line is following contentious issues that damaged our games not took advantage.

I'm sick of this constant mis-quoting of Wenger over this. Irony is people talking about Wenger saying he didn't see it when THEY haven't seen him say it.

I actually had respect for Wenger before this game. Now I just think he is an unsporting pr!ck. I hope either Villareal or Barca do a job on Arsenal and Spurs get the 4th place which they rightly deserve. That's right it's Arsenal who are the unsporting pr!cks now! ****ing typical responce, full of substance!

Would have loved to see the postings had it been Arsenal doing this yesterday. Maybe we should have lived up to our unsporting behaviour and refused to give the ball back when poor Gardner was so badly injured. :mad:

ColinR
23/04/2006, 12:20 PM
tbh, as a neutral, i can't see anything wrong with spurs goal. there was no serious injury, and there never was - why should they have put the ball out :confused: .

maybe it is down to being naive, but the arsenal players just seemed to stop and wait for spurs to give them time to re-organise.

wenger could have shown a bit more class in his interview afterwards, a bit more like henry who just bypassed any tough question

Karlos
23/04/2006, 12:21 PM
or when Henry curls free-kicks into the net, when the ref hasn't even blown his whistle allowing him to take it.

The game should have been abandoned yesterday so with all these free kicks taken without the referree blowing a whistle - are you serious :confused: .

There is absolutely no difference under the laws of the game between a direct free kick on the centre circle or in your own corner or indeed just outside the box. The referee is not required to blow a whistle for EVERY free kick under any law. If he's not happy he can pull the play back, something which I've yet to see happen at a Henry freekick and since no FA charge was following (as usually does when it comes to alleged cheating), I think that one probably just was ok. Bit of bad there!

Way to go on stating the bleeding obvious on Pires - I think I actually agreed with you on that 5 posts back. :)

Have a go at Arsenal cheating day continues......stay tuned for more unsubstantiated examples....:rolleyes:

Karlos
23/04/2006, 12:27 PM
wenger could have shown a bit more class in his interview afterwards, a bit more like henry who just bypassed any tough question

I don't know how many interviews Henry did but in the one I saw he cagagorically stated that both Davids and Carrick said they didn't see the incident. He said he had to believe them on that and that was dignified but let's call a spade a spade as Wenger did. It's a blatant lie to suggest the players didn't see it (the tape proves that) and in turn suggest that they actually would have put the ball out of play if they HAD.

Right or wrong about putting it out, thats' what the spurs players communicated to fellow professionals. If they said they didn't think it was injury then that's another matter but that's not what Henry suggested and he maintained that he was upset over it.

23/04/2006, 12:32 PM
Would have loved to see the postings had it been Arsenal doing this yesterday. Maybe we should have lived up to our unsporting behaviour and refused to give the ball back when poor Gardner was so badly injured. :mad:
Oh the paranoia. Arsenal are probably one of the most supported premiership teams amongst neutrals in England. As far as I can see everyone posting in this thread about the incident are neutrals, except you. :)

ColinR
23/04/2006, 12:36 PM
I don't know how many interviews Henry did but in the one I saw he cagagorically stated that both Davids and Carrick said they didn't see the incident. He said he had to believe them on that and that was dignified but let's call a spade a spade as Wenger did. It's a blatant lie to suggest the players didn't see it (the tape proves that) and in turn suggest that they actually would have put the ball out of play if they HAD.

yes i presume you seen the MOTD interview with henry as well, and thats why i think wenger should have tried to have a bit more class like henry. wenger was suggesting imo that jol was lying - when the replays clearly showed him looking away from the arsenal player sitting down.

i think you are letting your bias here get the better of what should really have been a non story - spurs did nothing wrong.

Karlos
23/04/2006, 12:38 PM
Oh the paranoia. Arsenal are probably one of the most supported premiership teams amongst neutrals in England. As far as I can see everyone posting in this thread about the incident are neutrals, except you. :)

They mightn't be Arsenal fans but it's hardly neutrality - a quick search on older posts can prove that. Some are as anti as I am pro :)