View Full Version : Staunton Ireland Manager?

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10

Noelys Guitar
09/01/2006, 7:30 PM
I just had a nightmare that "Stan" Staunton was appointed Ireland manager. With Bobby Robson as his "director of football". How can I wake up from this? Will this large bottle of Jameson help in any way? How strong are the windows down at the FAi?

SunnySweeney
09/01/2006, 8:06 PM
What a terrible decision. Very disappointing. I have listened to many interviews with Staunton and he has a dreadful monotone speaking voice and does not come across as the most inspiring person. So, if he does not have the managing/ coaching knowledge and experience, what exactly is he bringing to the table. A link to the rah-rah days of the Charlton era. A YES man for the FAI. Its alousy decision. Not to personally beat up on the bloke, its just my opinion ...

Also, the previous poster is right - Why sack Kerr to bring in Stan ffs.

El Pablo
09/01/2006, 8:14 PM
Staunton and Kevin Mac Donald will do a good Job. The Players Will Respect Them And Learn to play as a Team

Good Luck Lads

09/01/2006, 8:22 PM
.....:rolleyes:

09/01/2006, 8:39 PM
Staunton

Sufferin Jayziz! No experience... how's that an Improvement on Kerr?

beautifulrock
09/01/2006, 8:54 PM
this is a bad dream lads and one where we dont wake for at least four years:confused:

09/01/2006, 8:55 PM
Well whether you think it's a good decision or not you may as well get behind
him if thats the decision, even if we fail to qualify he will have done no
worse than Kerr.
Let him be judged by the results and good luck to him.

Donegalcelt
09/01/2006, 8:56 PM
Maybe Stan has some hidden qualities? Doubt it though. Agree with the post stating the FAI might think it may have a Stuart Pearce effect. But even listening to to him, Pearce said that he thought he was ready for management when he took over at Forest initially but discovered soon after he wasn't. (Once forgot to put a goalkeeper on the team aheet is the example he uses). City might be on a muck run of form but he's learned the ropes well in the three to four years he had after retiring and he'll turn things around there when he getsrod of some of those journey men.
But we don't have the time for a trial-and-error mechanism from a novice. And as the Sunday Times reported regarding Delaney found Staunton being "impressive to deal with when discussing player terms for WC2002,"then that's just plain stupid if he gets the senior job.

klein4
09/01/2006, 9:33 PM
Well whether you think it's a good decision or not you may as well get behind
him if thats the decision, even if we fail to qualify he will have done no
worse than Kerr.
Let him be judged by the results and good luck to him.
is that the standard we want from our international manager?
no worse than the previous one who we had to let go cause he wasnt up to the job?
maybe staunton will turn out to be a fantastic manager. who knows. I would be interested to hear what was the motivation in picking him over any of the other candidates. seems they were more interested in getting a yes man on the cheap. agree with SunnySweeney in that he never came accross as inspiring. I get the feeling we will be stuck with a guy learning his trade and making his mistakes while we fail to qualify for tournaments and he stays on due to goodwill left over from his playing days.

Fergie's Son
09/01/2006, 9:46 PM
Has a decision been made or is this all just speculation?

Staunton as manager seems very small-time.

Fergie's Son
09/01/2006, 9:48 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0109/ireland.html

Answered my own questions.

This doesn't feel right but I hope I am very wrong.

Roverstillidie
09/01/2006, 9:51 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0109/ireland.html

Answered my own questions.

This doesn't feel right but I hope I am very wrong.

Fergie, we may have crossed swords on other issues, but on this we are in 100% agreement.

STAUNTON OUT NOW.

09/01/2006, 10:06 PM
IF he has just been appointed he won't be going anywhere soon, lets get some friendlies arranged and judge him on results rather than dismissing him
as a no hoper before he has even started the job!!
If he is not up to the job better to find that out sooner rather than later.

09/01/2006, 10:14 PM
If Stan is hired as the manager, then no further proof is needed that Delaney got rid of Kerr for his own personal reasons even though he couldn't find a person qualified to replace him.

John Delaney doesn't care about football in Ireland and all eL/Ireland fans will suffer as a consequence.

It looks like January could well and truely be the most depressing month.

When Kevin Doyle and Shane Long are banging in the goals for Ireland, some of you will dig up this post to throw at me but nothing will convince me that Stan will be good for football in Ireland.

hamish
09/01/2006, 10:18 PM
Janey Mac, Stan must have done a hell of an interview.:D

09/01/2006, 10:29 PM
Stan must have done a hell of an interview.:D

The interviews went something like this...

Interview #1

Delaney: So Mr. Experienced Coach, how much do you want?
Experienced coach: €3m over 5 years.
Delaney: Don't call us, we'll call you.

Interview #2

Delaney: So Stan, how much do you want?
Stan: €3K over 5 years, as much Wagon Wheels as I can eat and a bag of Tayto for the childers.
Delaney: Will you throw in Bobby Robson for a keg of Smithwicks?
Stan: Sure thing boss. When can I start?
Delaney: As soon as I can redirect a few eL grants to pay for the Wagon Wheels and renew my Man Yoo season ticket. Go out and stick €20 on yourself in Paddy Powers for me like a good little ginger gimp.
Stan: Ok boss. I might stick €20 on Gus Hiddink too while I'm at it.

09/01/2006, 10:39 PM
If Stan is hired as the manager, then no further proof is needed that Delaney got rid of Kerr for his own personal reasons even though he couldn't find a person qualified to replace him.

Yep, that's how it looks to me alright. It seems to me that Delaney has spent the last few years backstabbing and working against every Chief Executive until he got the job for himself. That has always been his main priority. Can't really see Staunton and his "Grandad" Bobby Robson being the answer. Any kind of a dual manager arrangement has never worked anywhere to the best of my knowledge. It will be fun to see how they do though. Cathal Dervan (Bastid) has backed Staunton for the job months ago, so that's not a god sign. The people who spent the last few months slagging off Brian Kerr may be about to get a rude awakening. If this fails then Delaney should be on his bike, even before the manager.

09/01/2006, 10:50 PM
People slated Kerr for blaming the FAI and everyone but himself. The FAI did not publicly back the manager once during his time in charge. As soon as Delaney got that job he was probably wishing on Kerr failing.

highlight100
09/01/2006, 11:01 PM
Yep, that's how it looks to me alright. It seems to me that Delaney has spent the last few years backstabbing and working against every Chief Executive until he got the job for himself. That has always been his main priority. Can't really see Staunton and his "Grandad" Bobby Robson being the answer. Any kind of a dual manager arrangement has never worked anywhere to the best of my knowledge. It will be fun to see how they do though. Cathal Dervan (Bastid) has backed Staunton for the job months ago, so that's not a god sign. The people who spent the last few months slagging off Brian Kerr may be about to get a rude awakening. If this fails then Delaney should be on his bike, even before the manager.
the whole thing just makes me think of houlier and evans,they got lucky in the beginning but then things went so so wrong

hamish
09/01/2006, 11:11 PM
The interviews went something like this...

Interview #1

Delaney: So Mr. Experienced Coach, how much do you want?
Experienced coach: €3m over 5 years.
Delaney: Don't call us, we'll call you.

Interview #2

Delaney: So Stan, how much do you want?
Stan: €3K over 5 years, as much Wagon Wheels as I can eat and a bag of Tayto for the childers.
Delaney: Will you throw in Bobby Robson for a keg of Smithwicks?
Stan: Sure thing boss. When can I start?
Delaney: As soon as I can redirect a few eL grants to pay for the Wagon Wheels and renew my Man Yoo season ticket. Go out and stick €20 on yourself in Paddy Powers for me like a good little ginger gimp.
Stan: Ok boss. I might stick €20 on Gus Hiddink too while I'm at it.

Heh heh. :D

Seriously though I'm not very convinced that the time is right for Stan. What is he now, defence coach at Walsall?? That's not much in the way of experience. Maybe Robson's assistance will be beneficial.

Ever the optimist, I've nothing against them but I feel that the FAI AND Stan is/are taking a very big risk. I mean, if they bomb out, that fcuks up Stan's future career too.

Then again, could be an inspired choice.:o

09/01/2006, 11:11 PM
What the feck is anyone's problem with Bobby Robson. He is one of the most experienced coach of such quality still walking (or just about) on 2 legs on the planet who is still ambitious to coach a team. If he has 2 years left or 4 years left then I am happy that he is emparting his knowledge to an Irish manager. Newcastle were stark raving bonkers to replace him with Souness.
Apart from the guys age is there anything in Robson's cv that upset anybody? Is there any part of his expertise that you would like to question?

jimbob117
10/01/2006, 12:11 AM
Fergie, we may have crossed swords on other issues, but on this we are in 100% agreement.

STAUNTON OUT NOW.

What a stupid comment. The guy hasnt even been appointed. I find it unbelievable people are writing this possible partnership off. Get behind whoever is appointed, let them have a few games, put their stamp on the team and then judge. It could turn out to work very well. And, before anyone points it out, l know it could fail,but give it time before sayin stupid things like the above comment.
My own opinion is that Staunton could inject a bit of passion into the team, big deal if his voice in monotonous. I have played for teams where the manager has had a "monotonous" voice, but made no odds, he still motivated us to get up every sunday morning and give 100%. and i know this isnt sunday league but you get my point,a persons voice doesnt matter
Combine that with the fact Robson is a good tactician with excellent experience,it could well work.

10/01/2006, 12:16 AM
Well lets just hope Staunton doesn't turn out like the last person
Robson mentored:

Staunton: "I am the special one." :D;):rolleyes:

M@ttitude
10/01/2006, 1:01 AM
I say give it a lash, we have the quality in our squad and we just need someone to make the right decisions.. The reason why Kerr didnt qualify imo is because when Robbie Keane went off injured in the Israel game he replaced him with Kavanagh. 30,000 people sighed in disbelief, hopefull Stan was one of them!

twoenz
10/01/2006, 1:32 AM
I say give it a lash, we have the quality in our squad and we just need someone to make the right decisions.. The reason why Kerr didnt qualify imo is because when Robbie Keane went off injured in the Israel game he replaced him with Kavanagh. 30,000 people sighed in disbelief, hopefull Stan was one of them!

I was too dumbstruck to open my mouth.

Fergie's Son
10/01/2006, 1:57 AM
Maybe they think Robson can create another Mourhino....this just doesn't feel right at all.

macdermesser
10/01/2006, 6:28 AM
Maybe they think Robson can create another Mourhino....this just doesn't feel right at all.

In that case it should be Robson as manager and Staunton as his assistant. It would certainly take 90% of the controversy out of this. How is mentor going to work?

The Stan Laurel and Hardy show.

10/01/2006, 6:49 AM
Is it a case of Robson being the manager... and Staunton being the tracksuit training ground manager?:confused:
John Delaney is a flute, just ask any of the shareholders of Waterford United PLC ... right guys and gals?

10/01/2006, 7:10 AM
Delaney out now. As has been said before, just proves it was personal with Kerr. Bobby Robson? He just had to make sure he got someone called Robson, to match the name of his choice when Kerr got the job...

stickyjoe
10/01/2006, 7:16 AM
Some of the postings on here about the appointment of staunton and robson are ridiculous. Who would you all have preferred to get the job? Venables, Aldridge, Houghton ? Most of the posts are predictable anti-FAI rants cheap option blah blah blah. Lets face it the Irish International Job is not an attractive one, we are going to be 4th seeds and minus our best player for a generation in Roy Keane.

I was hoping for a top class experienced Irishman to take over the team but we all know theres none of them available for the job. Staunton is a good decent honest irishman and Robson is one of the most experienced coaches in the game Ipswich,Barcelona,England,PSV,Newcastle. So IMO it is a good mix of the 2.

Stan, Bobby(please leave out the Sir) best of luck

rayfinkle
10/01/2006, 7:50 AM
I am absoloutley astonished with this decision, if the recent reports are to be believed. The FAI (F*@k All Interest) are taking us for complete mugs! This is like taking a 17year old with 5 months driving experience and giving him a licence to drive on the F1 circuit.........Where is the logic in this decision?

Do they want a YES man?

Does he have his coaching badges?

What experience has he got? (a few months with Walsall.......under an alcoholic???)

Ok, they could have gone for somebody with expierence, as no.1, who knows what he is doing and who could have the time and patience to break in a managerial novice as his no.2, with a view to him taking over in 4/5 years time, assuming he can prove he has what it takes.

It's time the FAI woke up and do what's best for Irish soccer NOT themselves. Whatever about being laughing stocks in the international football scene but for our pride, passion and dignity. We support the international team very very well be it home or abroad and this is what those dipsticks in Merrion Sq propose to give us. (What must Brian Kerr be thinking? - FYI, he was not sacked. His contract was up and not renewed.)

It saddens me to think that the FAI can act in this incompetent/back slapping/jobs for the boys kinda way but then again they've been at it for years!

Tenderloins
10/01/2006, 7:53 AM
Papers report this morning that its a four year contract!! A four year contract on an unproven manager!!! what kind of lunacy is that?

Don Vito
10/01/2006, 8:04 AM
"We are looking for a manager who can bring us success...........It's high profile, it's a good job and it's certainly one that we are confident we can get a top class manager to manage our team going forward." That's what Delaney said on giving Kerr the boot.

Can John Delaney please explain how Stan is a top class manager? I'll get behind Stan alright even though I don't think it's the right decision, all this shows is how much egg Delaney has on his face.

10/01/2006, 8:04 AM
Regardless of the merits of this decision, it looks like the FAI has made yet another monumental PR gaffe. If it had been leaked that Sir Bobby Robson was the new manager, with Stan to assist and then be groomed as a potential replacement then all the scrutiny would be on the merit of Robson's appointment.

Then we'd be saying it's not as good as it could have been (O'Neill, Ranieri, Hiddink) but not as bad as it could have been (Venables, Peter Reid, David O'Leary who I personally dislike...) but at least it's a definitive improvement over Kerr.

Instead, all the attention has been deflected away from Robson (about whom I concur with Geysir) and on to the inexperienced Staunton.

I'd be interested in hearing from someone like Kenny Cunningham about what type of character Stan was. Was he a leader? Was he tactically adept? None of this has been addressed. To dismiss Stan as a "yes man" just because he stood up to Roy Keane in Saipan is off the mark.

10/01/2006, 8:06 AM
And Robson's age isn't an issue. What age was Reyhagel when Greece won Euro 2004?

klein4
10/01/2006, 8:09 AM
I would have said he was a yes man because he now owes his managerial career to delaney..nothing to do with saipan.

Hither green
10/01/2006, 8:38 AM
Some of the postings on here about the appointment of staunton and robson are ridiculous. Who would you all have preferred to get the job? Venables, Aldridge, Houghton ? Most of the posts are predictable anti-FAI rants cheap option blah blah blah. Lets face it the Irish International Job is not an attractive one, we are going to be 4th seeds and minus our best player for a generation in Roy Keane.

I don't think the job is that unattractive, the best candidates weren't available but I still think we could have done better. I've nothing against Stan, he was a class player but he's got no experience whatsoever and he never really struck me as a manager in the making. At least Mick had some managerial experience. You have to admit that it smacks of FAI desperation. Personally, yes I think I'd have preferred Aldridge.

Robson, is the only silver lining. Of the foreign names mentioned his was one of the few attractive ones. He's still got something to give to the game. I think he could be good.

Most of the team picks itself, my main hope is that the team won't need much managing - even in a poor campaign last time round we only missed out by one result. Hopefully Robson's will help him bring some youngsters through, and you never know... Good luck to them.

Robson/Staunton I would be OK with as i've said, but Staunton/Robson doesn't make sense to me.

I don't see Stan as an improvement on Kerr.

Ah come on klein4, I owe my career to my boss but that doesn't mean I'm a yes man. According to Emmet Malone this morning Staunton's personality & leadership qualities are respected. I'm still going through all this morning's press comment to see what more they're saying.

Den Perry
10/01/2006, 8:42 AM
How can anybody say "best of luck Bobby and Stan"-
You were probably one of those behind the goal after we lost two nil in Basle singing you'll never walk alone

Staunton's appointment is a joke. How can any player trust him after what he did to keane in saipan. Its back to Jack's boys...who'll be next after staunton fails? Houghton? Mcateer ....Pat Kenny?

How can you say he is a better choice than Venables? You are just proving how little you know about football with a comment like that

Den Perry
10/01/2006, 8:43 AM
I wonder did Merson have him backed?

Den Perry
10/01/2006, 8:45 AM
Sticky Joe? How can you say Staunton is decent? Is stabbing your captain in the back (as he did in Saipan) decent?

10/01/2006, 8:47 AM
I just hope they let Bobby do all the talking in public. I have a lot of respect for him and hope he brings something special to the Ireland camp. As for Stan, I'm nearly as qualified as him and I'm far better looking!
I could be the "special one" and lead the team to greatness but John Delaney doesn't like me.

10/01/2006, 8:50 AM
I wonder did Merson have him backed?
I know it shouldn't but :D

10/01/2006, 9:01 AM
Sticky Joe? How can you say Staunton is decent? Is stabbing your captain in the back (as he did in Saipan) decent?
Is standing by your manager and team mates in the face of a foul-mouthed verbal onslaught from a disgruntled employee decent?

10/01/2006, 9:02 AM
this is a bad idea. Robson couldn't tell the difference between two of his New Utd players for FFS (Cort and Ameobi I think) so what chance do we have?

Sounds like a cheap contract to me while the suits can keep larging it up in first class.

Dotsy
10/01/2006, 9:05 AM

Nobody came out of Saipan smelling of roses. Half the country supported Keane and half thought he was a traitor. I couldn't care less whether Staunton stabbed him in the back or not. It's his lack of experience as a manager that concerns me. That said, on the pitch I thought he was a great player and certainly showed leadership qualities in keeping the team focused in our matches in Japan.

Den Perry
10/01/2006, 9:07 AM
Keane was the one standing up for his team mates - or were they just happy to tag along for the trip?

Keane was also reportedly accused of feigning injury - therefore a foul mouted outburst was the least I would expect...I hate all the Stans and Triggers of this world. He'll probably call back McCarthy as centre-half....and I don't mean Paddy

Den Perry
10/01/2006, 9:11 AM
great player? hoofing the ball long down the line? I myself did not rate him highly....but its all about opinions

I just can't see why Venables did not get the Job

10/01/2006, 9:14 AM
Have I been magically transported back three years? No, I didn't think so.

Lads, let's move on from the whole Saipan incident. Den, you're new here so you get some latitude (but not much). The rest of you, pleeeeeeease let it go ffs...

:ball: PP