View Full Version : Staunton Ireland Manager?
Pages :
[
8]
onenilgameover
10/01/2006, 8:03 PM
In fairness this setup is so weak that its bound to fall apart under any kind of pressure. i give the partnership less than a year and robson is gone and we're left with stan. I honestly cant believe the fupwits in there are that thick.....I swear ol Johny D wanna watch his back. He has no idea what he's doin....
Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 8:18 PM
my tuppence worth.
staunton/robson is a disasterous choice, but having a go at him is unfair. of course he will take the job despite the fact he will probably fail and his career will be in tatters. the villian here, as with most things wrong with irish football is delaney.
this man shafted every CEO that he worked for in the FAI and then care because being used to the FAI he hit the ground running and encroached on delaneys fiefdom. if anyone is naive enough to think kerr was sacked because of failure to qualify, look at the bargain basement replacements. kerr was sacked because he clashed with delaneys agenda and ego.
reality check lads, delaney deliberately did not get the best man (men) for the job. he wants someone based in the UK to fly in a week before the game and leave the day after and leave him alone to, ahem, run Irish football. what was he even doing on the selection panel, isnt he supposed to be on the admin side of things?
to get rid if kerr is one thing but to replace him after just onefull campaign with a man with no real experience and a 75 year old on a 4 year contract is farcical.
im with WeAreRovers on this. not one more cent into the FAIlures coffers for me until that cancer on the game is out of Merrion Square. this 'get behind him anyway' sh.ite is a dangerous attitude. until parasites like kilcoyne and delaney are removed from positions within the FAIlure that allow them to make calamatous mistakes, this nonsense will contine. Genesis my hole.
staunton will be a disaster and it will ruin him, while delaney is more untouchable. what happened to milo in the end?
10/01/2006, 8:21 PM
Robson on his own would have being a great choice in my opinion. Staunton is a terrible choice but I'm not really shocked considering it's the FAI in charge of making that choice:mad:.
onenilgameover
10/01/2006, 8:40 PM
my tuppence worth.
staunton/robson is a disasterous choice, but having a go at him is unfair. of course he will take the job despite the fact he will probably fail and his career will be in tatters. the villian here, as with most things wrong with irish football is delaney.
this man shafted every CEO that he worked for in the FAI and then care because being used to the FAI he hit the ground running and encroached on delaneys fiefdom. if anyone is naive enough to think kerr was sacked because of failure to qualify, look at the bargain basement replacements. kerr was sacked because he clashed with delaneys agenda and ego.
reality check lads, delaney deliberately did not get the best man (men) for the job. he wants someone based in the UK to fly in a week before the game and leave the day after and leave him alone to, ahem, run Irish football. what was he even doing on the selection panel, isnt he supposed to be on the admin side of things?
to get rid if kerr is one thing but to replace him after just onefull campaign with a man with no real experience and a 75 year old on a 4 year contract is farcical.
im with WeAreRovers on this. not one more cent into the FAIlures coffers for me until that cancer on the game is out of Merrion Square. this 'get behind him anyway' sh.ite is a dangerous attitude. until parasites like kilcoyne and delaney are removed from positions within the FAIlure that allow them to make calamatous mistakes, this nonsense will contine. Genesis my hole.
staunton will be a disaster and it will ruin him, while delaney is more untouchable. what happened to milo in the end?
In fairness if ye feel that strongly about it why dont ye do something about it? Delaney is not untouchable but if you stop supporting you will achieve little and certainly not hurt Delaney. Don't throw in the towel! :)
STAN AND BOBBY'S GREEN AND WHITE ARMY!
(oh dear god:o )
Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 9:17 PM
In fairness if ye feel that strongly about it why dont ye do something about it? Delaney is not untouchable but if you stop supporting you will achieve little and certainly not hurt Delaney. Don't throw in the towel! :)
what? test the strength of the windows in merrion square? they are an unelected bunch, i cant exactly demand a recall election and have delaney removed and run for his job.
im voting with my feet and my wallet.
onenilgameover
10/01/2006, 9:29 PM
what? test the strength of the windows in merrion square? they are an unelected bunch, i cant exactly demand a recall election and have delaney removed and run for his job.
im voting with my feet and my wallet.
sure, but he/they wouldn't be there if it wasn't for us. Fans have far more power than they realise IMO. if ye walk it seems like you'ill be cutting off your noise to spite your face.
Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 9:38 PM
sure, but he/they wouldn't be there if it wasn't for us. Fans have far more power than they realise IMO. if ye walk it seems like you'ill be cutting off your noise to spite your face.
so what should we do? cant protest in landsdowne, delaney et al have banned any show of dissent. they dont reply to email.
seriously, what?
onenilgameover
10/01/2006, 9:52 PM
so what should we do? cant protest in landsdowne, delaney et al have banned any show of dissent. they dont reply to email.
seriously, what?
They haven't banned anything and would find it hard to if they tried...there's loads of stuff you could do...first of all you say you're gonna walk because of the set up/Delaney right? Well you could take that story to the papers. Some journo might agree with you and ye get the story out there. That hurts delaney and it worries him cos he knows if that kinda stuff snowballs (which it might do) then his position becomes unstable....and thats just one thing you could do on your own. If ye had backing you'd be in a much more powerful position.
Roverstillidie
10/01/2006, 10:09 PM
They haven't banned anything and would find it hard to if they tried...there's loads of stuff you could do...first of all you say you're gonna walk because of the set up/Delaney right? Well you could take that story to the papers. Some journo might agree with you and ye get the story out there. That hurts delaney and it worries him cos he knows if that kinda stuff snowballs (which it might do) then his position becomes unstable....and thats just one thing you could do on your own. If ye had backing you'd be in a much more powerful position.
there have been numerous incidents of banners being confiscated by stewards be it pro/anti keane or political stuff such as Palestinian or Tibetian flags. its quite worrying actually.
i can imagine the headlines. "Rovers fan hates FAI". Even the Hellrag wouldnt be bothered.
onenilgameover
10/01/2006, 10:21 PM
Yeah no offense but I wouldn't go with the Rovers Fan angle. If you're a passionate Ireland fan who cares about Irish football and one who believes that John Delaney is doing a dissevice to Irish Football..well even the Herald might buy that.
Anyway this is farely off topic...In fareness ye gotta give Stan and Bob a chance. It just seems that its so ill-thought out and ye know Delaney is gonna come out with a whole pile of bullsh!t to justify it.
M@ttitude
10/01/2006, 11:21 PM
Its a ridiculous choice given his resumee, but then again Mr Miyagi and Daniele son had a fantastic partnership.. I think with their (and our optimistic support) powers combined it wont be too bad, lets just see because i cant see them changing their minds on this one! When it fails they'll have to come up with the goods! Its not Stans fault they pick him, no man in Ireland would turn it down, and Bobby knows his stuff, fact.
onenilgameover
10/01/2006, 11:45 PM
Its a ridiculous choice given his resumee, but then again Mr Miyagi and Daniele son had a fantastic partnership.. I think with their (and our optimistic support) powers combined it wont be too bad, lets just see because i cant see them changing their minds on this one! When it fails they'll have to come up with the goods! Its not Stans fault they pick him, no man in Ireland would turn it down, and Bobby knows his stuff, fact.
Indeed and quite an analogy there! But at what point did Danielson become the master and could no longer learn from his mentor. Me thinks the Fai have got the plot back to front. How can Bob be Stans number 2..its just madness i tell ye.... madness!
They should make Bobby manager and let him choose who he wants not force people onto each other....or even if they really wanted to give stan some kind of role with a view to easing him into the job...but only if he's good enough....its a massive massive risk. If Stan's manager and Bobby is technical director its a fupping joke. We'ill have to wait and see.
I met a friend of mine the other night who has been playing eircom league football for the last three years..have not seen the guy in a bit and he told me that he has been told by a couple of different people in the game that Staunton could be our next manager..
I personally want Martin O Neill or George Burley...i have a hunch we are going to get George Graham though..
I must quote myself on this one and show off....plenty more do it on here so its my chance...and just to rub it in i have 20 euro on him at 25/1 also...look at that date of my message...25th of October....:D
11/01/2006, 12:37 AM
I must quote myself on this one and show off....plenty more do it on here so its my chance...and just to rub it in i have 20 euro on him at 25/1 also...look at that date of my message...25th of October....:D
I wouldn't count your chickens just yet untill you see the exact wording
of the appointment, if it's Staunton and Robson as a managerial team
you might have a problem getting paid out!!
M@ttitude
11/01/2006, 1:04 AM
How can Bob be Stans number 2..its just madness i tell ye.... madness!
I dont think it will be like number 1 and number 2, its not about that because no one considers this to be a long term arrangement. Stan would'nt dare think he was superior to Bobby and I am sure Bobby would not stand for that. In my opinion this is a partnership and a foundation for a great managerial career for Staunton, we can only hope. Im behind this idea because with the FAIth being on such thin ice, they had to be kind of sure of this appointment.
Karlos
11/01/2006, 1:14 AM
Just my two cents worth.
Stan as well as Aldridge and Keane were not the answers to our managerial dilema in my opinion all along. I felt none of them had the managerial experience required and I stick by that
However i do feel if Bobby Robson and John Carver are appointed along side Staunton I think it has great potential to work. Robson is a fantastic coach with extensive knowledge of the game in Europe and Internationally. What Stan lacks in experience Bobby will make up for and then some. This type of role is perfect for Bobby in my opinion. Carver as he did at Newcastle will be the man on the coaching field with Bobby, reducing the amount of physical stuff Bobby will have to do. Anyone looking at Bobby's career objectively has to be impressed by what he has achieved.
I've had some exposure to John Carver, saw him coach a group of Newcastle underage kids in Amsterdam at a tournament and I've read quite a few articles by him in the FA's coaching magazine. He appears to be very tactically astute.
If these 3 appointments are made as opposed to just Stan on his own then I don't think that this is necessarily doomed to fail. Granted it could go either way as it could what any single manager but there's enough fight in Staunton and experienced tactical knowledge in Robson to make this work.
Two things I hoped for but didn't think I'd get together was 1) an Irishman and 2) Experience. I think this appointment will give me both and I'll more than willing to throw my support behind Staunton and the team.
Some of the arguments against are valid enough but overall I'm relatively excited by it and has as much possibility as working as anything else. I look forward to seeing how they and this thread develop over the coming months.
I'll get behind the Proud Irishman (is it safe to say this after the Mick McCarthy thread incident! ;)) fulfilling his dream. Whatever about the FAI, Stan and the Players deserve the support of the fans, just as Brian and the lads got even when times were tough.
I'm probably in a minority but if Stan gets the experienced coaches being reported then I'm not sure this discision wil prove to be as bad as some are suggesting. I'm as hopeful as I was when any other previous manager was appointed. :)
11/01/2006, 7:45 AM
Agree with Karlos. I think everyone is distracted by the Staunton angle. The real issue here what Robson & Carver can bring to the fold. And if Staunton was a leader on the pitch he can be a leader off it too. So, in principle, this could work well. Leadership and experience.
The team was going backwards under Kerr and the atmosphere in the team and its relationship with the press had deteriorated too much for Kerr's position to be tenable.
The FAI, yet again, has made a monumental **** up in the PR angle of this appointment. Announcing they were aiming high and then leaking that Staunton was the new manager, with some sort of rumour that Robson was to be in some peripheral hand-holding role got everyone off on the wrong foot. But if you look at this more carefully, and assume (which I admit is tough knowing the FAI) that Robson's influence will be significant then I think this is a decent approach. This isn't the appointment I was (naively) hoping for but it's a hell of a lot better than Venables or some of the other names mentioned.
Den Perry
11/01/2006, 7:48 AM
This is one of the most sensible comments I've read today. Steve Staunton showed exactly where his loyalties lay, in Saipan, and on and off the pitch throughout his irish playing career. His loyalties are and were to the Ireland football team...not Roy Keane, not Mick McCarthy, not the FAI!
If he can get the mostly mediocre current Irish players playing with half of the fight, spirit and dedication to the cause as he demonstrated himself all through his career, then this will be a brilliant appointment....and I for one support him getting a chance.
This is the most ridiculous statement i've yet seen....it beggars belief
11/01/2006, 7:57 AM
Not to me it doesn't
11/01/2006, 8:04 AM
This is the most ridiculous statement i've yet seen....it beggars belief
Which in turn says more about your skewed view of developments than it does about anything else (after all, didn't you want Venables?)
Forgive me, but I think I'd rather trust Greenbod and S88's judgements on this than yours... :rolleyes:
:ball: PP
11/01/2006, 8:12 AM
Interesting, but Emmet Malone this morning suggests Kevin MacDonald of Aston Villa is being lined up in a coaching role, not Carver.
Malone says that this is clearly Staunton's man (ex-Villa) not Robson's.
He also suggests that Staunton's salary is twice that of Robson.
Together this suggests that Staunton is very much the senior figure in this set-up, not what I'd have liked.
I agree with Malone that Aldridge can rightly feel angry about how the FAI treated him. But apparently Stapleton was lined up for an interview too. Scary.
11/01/2006, 8:17 AM
Trouble in the camp already. Robson wanted Carver, Staunton overruled him and has brought in MacDonald.
11/01/2006, 8:20 AM
Trouble in the camp already. Robson wanted Carver, Staunton overruled him and has brought in MacDonald.
Yep, I was editing my post above as you were submitting your post.
there have been numerous incidents of banners being confiscated by stewards be it pro/anti keane or political stuff such as Palestinian or Tibetian flags. its quite worrying actually.
i can imagine the headlines. "Rovers fan hates FAI". Even the Hellrag wouldnt be bothered.
How about Cork having to threaten to ban for life if anyone protested against Givens trying to get players to leave the eL?
How about people having protest material taken off them going into Lansdowne?
How about the ban on anything remotely critical of the FAI in any club programme and the same with official websites and message boards linked from official websites? How about the automatic fine if that's breached?
How about the threat to cancel the eL tickets because members of the NLSA dared to tell the truth that the FAI had cut numbers?
This is all since Delaney took charge.
Before this appointment I'd already decided not a penny would be going to the FAI to back Delaney's regime. The decision over the manager just confirms it. To pay in and/or buy merchandise is to support the regime.
Den Perry
11/01/2006, 8:27 AM
Which in turn says more about your skewed view of developments than it does about anything else (after all, didn't you want Venables?)
Forgive me, but I think I'd rather trust Greenbod and S88's judgements on this than yours... :rolleyes:
:ball: PP
Greenbod stated "if he can get the most mediocre Irish players playing with half the fight,spirit and dedication to the cause as he demonstrated himself all through his career....will be a brilliant appointment"
So thats all we need to qualify for big tournaments, what about technical knowledge? This statement smacks of the old "As sure we gave it a lash...."
So get the players playing with half of Staunton's spirit and we are ok?
Ridiculous. I
nedder
11/01/2006, 9:05 AM
Den Perry,
who would you have given the job to, assuming MON, ferguson etc etc were out of the picture?
Although not my first choice, personally, i think Robson and Staunton will bring a lot to the table.
11/01/2006, 9:16 AM
I would have given it to Aldridge who has managerial experience. Anyone seen any quote from him ? Was he asked or approached ?
nedder
11/01/2006, 9:19 AM
I would have given it to Aldridge who has managerial experience. Anyone seen any quote from him ? Was he asked or approached ?
I'd agree that aldridge should be ahead of staunton on merit, but i would favour robson/staunton over aldridge on his own
Himself and Stapleton were apparently expecting to be interviewed the next week or so. Doesn't even look like Delaney went through proper procedures. Aldridge wouldn't have been the choice I'd have been expecting after the talking up Delaney did of likely candidates, but he at least has managerial experience.
Stormin Normin
11/01/2006, 9:45 AM
Regardless of whether you're in favour of the indiviuals set to be appointed this whole thing is turning into a farce of proportions only the FAI could achieve.
Latest aspects of this fiasco now include the disagreement over the coaching role and news that Aldridge and Stapleton were supposed to be interviewed next week before FAI leaked news of impending appointment. Also understand that FAI haven't even approached Walsall re permission to talk to Staunton.
Mother of God I've supported the Irish team all my life, been to 3 WC finals, 1 EC finals and countless away games but what did we ever do to deserve this shower of incompetent fc*k*rs?
11/01/2006, 10:00 AM
Himself and Stapleton were apparently expecting to be interviewed the next week or so. Doesn't even look like Delaney went through proper procedures. Aldridge wouldn't have been the choice I'd have been expecting after the talking up Delaney did of likely candidates, but he at least has managerial experience.
Delaney said from the outset that they were not going to do interviews like last time. Is there any substance to claims that Aldridge and Stapleton were 'upset' or even that they were to be interviewed.It reads to me as total conjecture.
Den Perry
11/01/2006, 10:03 AM
Den Perry,
who would you have given the job to, assuming MON, ferguson etc etc were out of the picture?
Although not my first choice, personally, i think Robson and Staunton will bring a lot to the table.
Nedder, I would have given it to Terry Venables or even Bobby Robson.
Venables is highly regarded as both a motivator and tactician, I really can't see why all the opposition to him. Robson in my view is a good manager, but there is no way I would have given the job to Staunton or Aldridge for that matter? What has Aldo achieved in management....? Tranmere let him go. It is very similar to the McCarthy appointment a few years ago an wasn't exactly a success was he?
Den Perry
11/01/2006, 10:10 AM
Guys
Apart from Morrison have any of the other players expressed an opinion?
11/01/2006, 10:12 AM
There is not much difference between this appointment than there is in Mick Mc Carthys. Staunton retired in 2002 and is going to be appointed in 2006. Mc Carthy retired in 1992 and was appointed in 1996. Both captained their countries at World Cups and were liked by a large section of the squad they played in and were regarded as leaders on the pitch. The only difference is the Bobby Robson factor. I presume this is to prevent the earlier mistakes that Mick Mc Carthy made i.e. 3 at the back etc.
Now this Robson appointment can go one of 2 ways. Either it does prevent these sort of mistakes that Mc Carthy made early on or else its a recipe for disaster and there is disagreements and a misunderstanding of who is doing what.
I do think that John Aldridge can feel himself really unlucky not to be interviewed or chatted to over Staunton. Alridge has as much experience as Mc Carthy did if not more and a better record. He also shows all the passion that Staunton and Mc Carthy did on the pitch. He played at a top club and also played in Europe. He also dealth with average players and got them to play above themselves in Cup ties. In my view this is the major job for an ireland manager. To get average players to play above themselves in one off games. When al the fuss dies down and the draw is made I wll get behind the new working team but it all sees like a shot in the dark by the FAI which may work out but is more likely to end in disaster.
Schlooooomp
11/01/2006, 10:13 AM
Guys
Apart from Morrison have any of the other players expressed an opinion?
What current player in their right mind is going to criticise the appointment of Staunton now that it is practically a done deal. You might as well retire from the international football
Greenbod
11/01/2006, 10:14 AM
Greenbod stated "if he can get the most mediocre Irish players playing with half the fight,spirit and dedication to the cause as he demonstrated himself all through his career....will be a brilliant appointment"
So thats all we need to qualify for big tournaments, what about technical knowledge? This statement smacks of the old "As sure we gave it a lash...."
So get the players playing with half of Staunton's spirit and we are ok?
Ridiculous. I
Never said it was "all" we need to qualify for tournaments....but then you know that.
We need quite a few things:
1. The spirit and fight I spoke about (particularly when most of your players are not world class (as is our case at the moment)....see Porto, Greece, Liverpool winning big tournaments. - Staunton should bring this element.
2. Technically good players - We have a shortage here. Staunton or in fact any international manager can do little to improve this. They can only pick what's eligible and do not get the time needed to significantly improve players.
3. Sound tactics - You can't spend as long in the game or have a career like Staunton's without becoming tactically astute.
4. Winning mentality - Staunton has proven to have this throughout his career.
5 Luck - Very important element. Remains to be seen.
For a country like our's with a small pool of players to choose from the first factor cannot be over-estimated and seems to have been lacking somewhat recently (for a number of reasons). When Staunton was captain, it was something we had in abundance.
Schlooooomp
11/01/2006, 10:16 AM
There is not much difference between this appointment than there is in Mick Mc Carthys. Staunton retired in 2002 and is going to be appointed in 2006. Mc Carthy retired in 1992 and was appointed in 1996. Both captained their countries at World Cups and were liked by a large section of the squad they played in and were regarded as leaders on the pitch. The only difference is the Bobby Robson factor. I presume this is to prevent the earlier mistakes that Mick Mc Carthy made i.e. 3 at the back etc.
Now this Robson appointment can go one of 2 ways. Either it does prevent these sort of mistakes that Mc Carthy made early on or else its a recipe for disaster and there is disagreements and a misunderstanding of who is doing what.
I do think that John Aldridge can feel himself really unlucky not to be interviewed or chatted to over Staunton. Alridge has as much experience as Mc Carthy did if not more and a better record. He also shows all the passion that Staunton and Mc Carthy did on the pitch. He played at a top club and also played in Europe. He also dealth with average players and got them to play above themselves in Cup ties. In my view this is the major job for an ireland manager. To get average players to play above themselves in one off games. When al the fuss dies down and the draw is made I wll get behind the new working team but it all sees like a shot in the dark by the FAI which may work out but is more likely to end in disaster.
If as the press is reporting that Staunton has got his own way over backroom staff then it is obvious that Robson's roll is as a figurehead with little actual power. He may well advise Staunton but that can be ignored. I would think that Staunton won't realise how little he actually knows until it is too late.
Schlooooomp
11/01/2006, 10:20 AM
3. Sound tactics - You can't spend as long in the game or have a career like Staunton's without becoming tactically astute.
Sorry Greenbod but point 3 above is an absolutely ridiculous statement. There is a clear distinction between the role of the player and the coach and just because you have a long career as a footballer does not automatically mean that you will be a good coach. It is like saying that a janitor could be promoted to the CEO position of the cleaning company he works for after spending 12 years cleaning toilets. (No offence to janitors intended)
11/01/2006, 10:24 AM
Its your opinion that it can be ignored. But in my view it will either be a positive or a negative on Stauntons reign. But it cannot be ignored. Without Robson I dont think there would be too much difference between Mc Carthy and Staunton and to be honest we have better players now that when Mc Carthy took over but the morale is very low. Robson is the unkown factor in all of this. It will either be a great move or a disaster.
11/01/2006, 10:27 AM
taunton must be given time to learn the art of management
By Tony Cascarino
Patience is needed if the new Ireland manager is to enjoy success
I AM delighted for Steve Staunton, the new Ireland manager. I am also scared for him. Steve is a friend and I have a lot of fond memories of playing and socialising with him when we were in the Ireland squad. We shared a testimonial, an Ireland XI against Liverpool, in Dublin in 2000.
I just wish this opportunity had come a couple of years later. He is a young man and going from assistant at Walsall to manager of his country is a huge step, even if Sir Bobby Robson will be there to help him. It can be so hard to recover from setbacks at the start of your managerial career.
It is important that the FA of Ireland (FAI) gives him two qualifying campaigns — European Championship, then World Cup — regardless of how results go in the next two years. It would be the easy route out to replace him if things wobble, but he needs time to gain experience and grow into the job.
Of course, there are no guarantees, no matter how much or little experience you have. After months of deliberation, the FAI has settled on the trendy option — a relatively young man who was revered as a great player. Look at Rudi Völler, then Jürgen Klinsmann with Germany, Marco van Basten with Holland and Mark Hughes with Wales.
It can be tough if you are managing footballers who you played with, but if they respected and liked you in your playing days, the chances are they will when you are the man in charge. There is no doubt that Steve — or Stan, as he is known — will have that admiration. Not only is he Ireland’s most capped player, he is hugely popular as a person. He is media friendly and approachable, which will help, especially in international football, where there is so much scrutiny.
Steve is not afraid to stand up for himself or voice an opinion. He never was. I first met him in a hotel in England when he was part of the Ireland squad for the first time. He was only 19 and we were sitting playing cards with three of his Liverpool team-mates, Ray Houghton, John Aldridge and Ronnie Whelan.
Ronnie asked him to go and get some tea and biscuits. Older players love to boss about the youngsters and mock them for being timid. Steve’s response? “F*** off, do it yourself, you lazy, fat f*****!” Fair play to you, I thought. You are just a teenager, but you know how to stick up for yourself.
He even took on Roy Keane in an argument about whether Liverpool were a better club than Manchester United. I’m not saying he won, but he stuck to his guns and did not back down, which is no mean feat.
When Steve was out of the team at Aston Villa in 2000, he was considering going on loan to Crystal Palace. I was not convinced and I told him: “Stan, if you go there and play badly, I don’t know where you can turn to.” But he was resolute, took the risk and was brilliant.
Steve lives and breathes the game. He is shrewd, opinionated, the sort who can be decisive and strong but also humane and honest. I agree with the FAI that he needs a wise head by his side. Being old and wise is one thing, but is 72 too old? I would like to see Sir Bobby in an informal, limited role. At least he is not the kind of person to go behind Steve’s back and undermine him because he covets the top job himself.
Steve will want Ireland to play in the traditional Liverpool way — fast-moving and elegant. It is the right style because Ireland do not have the players for the physical and direct tactics we used in my day. His first task is to restore the morale that had collapsed under Brian Kerr.
There is no reason to be pessimistic. Ireland can field 11 Barclays Premiership players yet finished behind Israel in the World Cup qualifiers. They have the talent to do better. Steve needs to get the smiles back on Irish faces and I wish him the best of luck.
nedder
11/01/2006, 10:27 AM
Nedder, I would have given it to Terry Venables or even Bobby Robson.
Venables is highly regarded as both a motivator and tactician, I really can't see why all the opposition to him. Robson in my view is a good manager, but there is no way I would have given the job to Staunton or Aldridge for that matter? What has Aldo achieved in management....? Tranmere let him go. It is very similar to the McCarthy appointment a few years ago an wasn't exactly a success was he?
I'd agree,
i would have liked the idea of Venables, personally I think Robson is too old for a four year stint, which is why he'll probably be given a two year deal as "advisor".
I also would have fully backed the idea of Staunton as assistant.
Major mess up again by the fai in leaking all this. Who knows, maybe Robson will be unveiled as mgr and stan as assistant in the next few days
colster
11/01/2006, 10:28 AM
Sorry Greenbod but point 3 above is an absolutely ridiculous statement. There is a clear distinction between the role of the player and the coach and just because you have a long career as a footballer does not automatically mean that you will be a good coach. It is like saying that a janitor could be promoted to the CEO position of the cleaning company he works for after spending 12 years cleaning toilets. (No offence to janitors intended)
that's a ridiculous analogy. A CEO of a cleaning company wouldn't talk about tactics with a janitor 3 to 4 times a week.
A CEO would not have a video analysis everytime a janitor cleans the floor.
Stupid!!!!
11/01/2006, 10:29 AM
No logic to this massive FAI gamble
SOCCER/Republic of Ireland managerial vacancy: Irish Times soccer analyst Mark Lawrenson would love to see the Steve and Bobby show hit the big time, but he has his doubts
Steve Staunton and Bobby Robson? Well, it has to be the biggest gamble the Football Association of Ireland has ever taken, in its history. What is the thinking behind it? I have no idea. I've tried to look at it rationally, and have come up with zilch. I've tried to look at it in a slightly off-the-wall way, and I've come up with zilch. I really, really don't understand it.
I'm delighted for Steve, genuinely thrilled for him, I know him well and I think it's great for him, but it's one hell of an ask. I don't understand the logic, to be honest, I just find the situation extremely strange.
My initial reaction to the news was that I was amazed, but not surprised - which, I know, makes no sense at all.
What I meant, though, was that while the news amazed me it's hard, at this stage, to be surprised by some of the decisions the FAI make.
There had been so much talk about potential candidates for the job, most of them pie in the sky, but my belief all along was that the most realistic contender for Brian Kerr's job was . . . Brian Kerr.
He lost his job because Ireland didn't qualify for the World Cup, so that's the standard now: fail to qualify and you're out. Now we're down to fourth seeds in the next qualifying campaign and the FAI is asking a man with absolutely no coaching or managerial experience to get us qualification.
That's some pressure on Steve, even with Robson helping him out.
Kerr must be bemused by this, and he's entitled to be. The FAI said they wanted someone who could improve things and get us qualification - in all honesty, do we really think the two we've got are the men to do it?
The point I'm making is not against Staunton and Robson, it's against the FAI - it's almost like they've fudged it.
We assumed they had a plan once they made up their minds that Kerr was going.
There was all that talk about Martin O'Neill, but he was an absolute non-starter. Always a non-starter - for two reasons, first the health of his wife Geraldine; secondly because he is a massive favourite to take over from Sven-Goran Eriksson, he has so many supporters in the English FA you wouldn't believe, so if and when he returns to football it might well be for that job.
Guus Hiddink was another non-starter, he will have bigger fish to fry after the World Cup with Australia, and we have to be realistic about that.
So it seems to me that the FAI never really had a plan, certainly not a realistic one.
It was a case of 'Brian isn't going to take us any further, let's look around for a new manager'.
It sounds, then, like they went down all sorts of avenues and ended up saying, 'ah, we'll stick Stan in with Bobby Robson'.
I don't think anyone really knows yet what Robson's role will be, it may be that Steve decides on a way of playing and Robson will help him achieve it, point him in the right direction.
What Steve has to be able to do - and this is where Robson must really come to the fore - is not just set his tactics and define the way we're going to play but to be able to change it midstream, before the game if someone gets injured, when you concede a goal, and so on.
He has no experience on that front so I'm assuming that's where Robson will come in, a sounding board for Steve.
But if you're making Steve the manager or coach then you have to be looking at having someone on the touchline with him, someone who has been a coach, someone who can advise him on making changes when they're needed.
I'm guessing that Robson will sit in the stand at games, but you have to believe that an inexperienced manager needs someone in the dug-out beside him.
That's why I thought they might go down the Terry Venables route; like Robson he has massive experience but he would have been on the touchline, making all the decisions.
Some have made the comparison with the likes of Marco Van Basten and Frank Rijkaard, or even Rudi Voller and Jurgen Klinsmann, all appointed to major managerial jobs when they had little or no experience, but there is one significant difference: all of them had, and have, much, much better players to work with. And more of them.
The comparison just isn't there. And while Mark Hughes did well for Wales, remember, they didn't qualify for anything.
Because, with just three or four exceptions, Steve will be working with a largely average group of players and his main task will be to motivate them and get them to play above themselves, on a regular basis.
He has got to get these players to raise the level of their game, game in, game out, to have any chance whatsoever of qualification, and that is a massive ask.
What is in Steve's favour is that he is well liked and respected - you don't need to be liked as a manager so long as you have the respect of the players but I would argue that Steve has both.
And it's hard not to like Bobby Robson, even harder not to respect him because of his managerial record and experience.
I can't say that I always assumed Steve would go in to management but, to be honest, you don't spend your time looking around the dressing room wondering which of the players will end up a manager.
But occasionally one will come to the fore, someone who is always asking about tactics, always got a point to make, always has something to say, but Stan wasn't the most vociferous of players, although if he had something to say he would say it.
He was a consistent player and he was consistent in thought too, but also if he needed to be one of the lads he was one of the lads. In terms of getting on with everyone not a problem, not a problem whatsoever.
All of that, then, will stand to him, but the fact remains: Kerr lost his job because we didn't qualify for the World Cup; Staunton, with no experience, will be asked to qualify for the next European Championships from a position of fourth seeds in our qualifying group, with an average squad that has lost some of its better players.
How does that make sense? Unfortunately I think the FAI may end up rueing this decision. I genuinely hope they don't, I have great time for Steve and I really hope he and Bobby are very successful, but I'm half expecting, two years down the road, for the FAI to realise their greatest ever gamble has failed to pay off.
Schlooooomp
11/01/2006, 10:31 AM
Its your opinion that it can be ignored. But in my view it will either be a positive or a negative on Stauntons reign. But it cannot be ignored. Without Robson I dont think there would be too much difference between Mc Carthy and Staunton and to be honest we have better players now that when Mc Carthy took over but the morale is very low. Robson is the unkown factor in all of this. It will either be a great move or a disaster.
So Staunton picking his own coach over Robson's advice (if it can be believed) is not Staunton ignoring Robson's advice. Ok.
By the way your above statement is a bit wishy-washwy, why not get down off the fence and say something objective, at least in 2-4 years you can come back and say I knew it was going to be a [insert here] move. (great,disasterous)
Schlooooomp
11/01/2006, 10:35 AM
that's a ridiculous analogy. A CEO of a cleaning company wouldn't talk about tactics with a janitor 3 to 4 times a week.
A CEO would not have a video analysis everytime a janitor cleans the floor.
Stupid!!!!
I accept the analogy is a stretch but it amounts to the same point that Greenbod is making. A long playing career does not mean that you have all the required skills and experience to become a manager/coach, in fact it doesn't guarantee that you will have any of the skills or experience to be a good manager/coach. Apart from the obvious ability to say inane things to reporters of course.
Greenbod
11/01/2006, 10:40 AM
Well sorry Schloooomp, I see the point you're trying to make, but you're analogy to the janitor is 'absolutely ridiculous'. The Janitor need not even know what the company does and will pick up nothing of the business. Staunton was a lot closer to the CEO than the Janitor during his playing career! I realise being a good player does not necessarily make a good coach, but I believe someone with Staunton's intelligence and experience at the top level will be tactically astute, which is what I said.
11/01/2006, 10:41 AM
Well I have no evidence that Staunton picked his own coach over Robsons choice to be honest so I am not going to comment on that little bit of mischief creating by the Indo and a few others. So its a huge jump to go from rumours that Robsons man was to be coach and then Stauntons man to be coach to now saying that Staunton is ignoring Robson. Talk about 2+2 = 7
Also surely you mean something subjective. If I am to express my opinion that would be a subjective statement. All comment and opinion is subjective. Only statement of facts are objective and I think commenting on the Ireland manager and how they will do in the future is hardly a statement of fact so as a result it is by nature subjective.
Also I have no interest in coming back here and gloating etc. I am just trying to contribute somewhat intelligent comment to the debate. Regardless of peoples views it how they are formed and expressed that interest me on this forum. Little rants and bitchy comments from either side of a debate are of no interest to me. My view is I dont know how Staunton will do but I think without Robson it would be a very very similar appointment to Mc Carthy. To me the Robson factor could either be inspired or a disaster.
Den Perry
11/01/2006, 10:43 AM
Do any of you think that there could be one final twist and see Venables and Staunton put in place?
macdermesser
11/01/2006, 10:45 AM
So the FAI are going to pay €250,000 a year for a phone-a-friend consultant to the national team? Okay that may be my words, but from the noises that are leaking through the newspapers, Bobby Robson will only be called upon when his advice is needed. 250 K ...ffs ...for what exactly? could they not have worked out something a bit cheaper than that?! Has Staunton no contacts/friends in the game who could give him a bit of free advice if he needed it?
macdermesser
11/01/2006, 10:46 AM
Do any of you think that there could be one final twist and see Venables and Staunton put in place?
no, sounds like wishful thinking on your part and not based on any sense of reality unless you have some inside information.