View Full Version : Staunton Ireland Manager?
Pages :
[
5]
10/01/2006, 9:19 AM
I say give it a lash, we have the quality in our squad and we just need someone to make the right decisions.. The reason why Kerr didnt qualify imo is because when Robbie Keane went off injured in the Israel game he replaced him with Kavanagh. 30,000 people sighed in disbelief, hopefull Stan was one of them!
Well every manager makes wrong decisions and you can rest assured whoever our knew manager is will make a worse substitution than the one above.
I'm still hoping that Stan will assist someone else as we haven't heard any news from the FAI yet.
Den Perry
10/01/2006, 9:24 AM
Paddy I am new....but obviously experience doesn't count (if the last few days is anything to go by). I'll probably be promoted to manager....
And in my opinion Saipan can't be dropped,because post Saipan was meant to be a new era, what with the genesis report etc.
This decision just smacks of the old days. I honestly thought Delaney was an ambitious man and cannot believe he has put his neck on the line with an appointment like this
I'll never play for the national team with Staunton in charge
lofty9
10/01/2006, 9:27 AM
I really thought the FAi were not going to go down this road. Staunton's lack of experience in management is what perplexes me. He hasn't even been coaching that long and working for Paul Merson in the day to day running of a club like Walsall, just doesn't cut the mustard for managing an International team. If we look at Lawrie Sanchez in the North, he at least gained experience at Sligo and Wycombe in MANAGING these teams. He knows all about making tough decisions, and could back that up at an interview. It is a big call for Delaney to trust Staunton, a friend to some of these players to come in and make big decisions. He has yet to make a decision at management level as yet, and in my opinion his appointment is a massive gamble for the FAI.
The double act thing has proved not to work, there always is a parting of the ways. There would have been a lot of resentment towards Robson if he had been given the job, but with his experience I for one couldn't have really argued with any thing other than his age and was he fit enough for it? If we are looking at untried managers why wasn't Aldridge given a chance? He didn't do badly at Tranmere, and he has as much experience as Mc Carthy had when he got the job. He must be a bit miffed he has been overlooked again.
I would love to hear Roy Keane's thoughts on Staunton's appointment. I wonder if Staunton would have been appointed if Keane had continued playing for Ireland?
ranting rover
10/01/2006, 9:30 AM
This thread has passed far beyond reasonable debate. People are talking sh*te. We all know that John Delaney is a moron. But people are talking about Saipan, Roy Keane and the fact that Merson was an alcoholic. Jaysus people, get a grip.
The facts are:
Staunton is a very experienced player.
He is very inexperienced in management.
BUT
he is only one half of the management team.
Bobby Robson is one of the most experienced managers in the game.
He still has all his marbles - he ONCE mixed up the names of two of his players during an interview, so fcuking what?
I think this is worth a shot - not because it was anywhere near my first choice, but because there weren't much other alternatives?
Kerr contract not being renewed is water under the bridge.
And people are obsessed with the 'FAI going for the cheap option'. I've been hearing that phrase on here for years...
Sorry about the language but some of the bias, myopia and ignorance on here is astounding...
stickyjoe
10/01/2006, 9:32 AM
How can anybody say "best of luck Bobby and Stan"-
You were probably one of those behind the goal after we lost two nil in Basle singing you'll never walk alone
Staunton's appointment is a joke. How can any player trust him after what he did to keane in saipan. Its back to Jack's boys...who'll be next after staunton fails? Houghton? Mcateer ....Pat Kenny?
How can you say he is a better choice than Venables? You are just proving how little you know about football with a comment like that
I wasnt lucky enough to have a ticket for the game in basle. I was stuck in basle along iwth thousands of others without tickets for the game.
As for Terry Venables, one of the biggest gangsters in world football, he`d probably bankrupt not just the FAI but the whole country if he got the job. Anything Venables has achieved in football Robson has surpassed easily. As for Staunton, yes he has no experience but alongside Robson I think its not a bad combination. Its important to have an Irishman among the setup. as I said before we didn`t have an outstanding person to take the job.
As for Saipan there was a lot of people ultimately that need totake the blame there Keane, McCarthy, Quinn, Staunton,Kelly etc.etc.
Hither green
10/01/2006, 9:40 AM
Staunton's appointment is a joke. How can any player trust him after what he did to keane in saipan.
What Staunton did to Keane in Saipan?!? I thought it was what Keane did to Staunton, Mick, the rest of the team and in fact the rest of the country in Saipan? Next you'll be blaming John Lennon for putting Mark Chapman in jail.
10/01/2006, 9:43 AM
it was on the training ground and happended most days from what I read!!!
The guy needs to get his pipe and slippers and retire gracefully. He was a great manager in his prime but he is 72 years old and he will start to feel it mentally and physically.
Come on out of all the candidates who were sniffing then surely we could get somebody with a bit more experience? Terry Venables doesn't seem such a bad idea now.
This thread has passed far beyond reasonable debate. People are talking sh*te. We all know that John Delaney is a moron. But people are talking about Saipan, Roy Keane and the fact that Merson was an alcoholic. Jaysus people, get a grip.
The facts are:
Staunton is a very experienced player.
He is very inexperienced in management.
BUT
he is only one half of the management team.
Bobby Robson is one of the most experienced managers in the game.
He still has all his marbles - he ONCE mixed up the names of two of his players during an interview, so fcuking what?
I think this is worth a shot - not because it was anywhere near my first choice, but because there weren't much other alternatives?
Kerr contract not being renewed is water under the bridge.
And people are obsessed with the 'FAI going for the cheap option'. I've been hearing that phrase on here for years...
Sorry about the language but some of the bias, myopia and ignorance on here is astounding...
10/01/2006, 9:45 AM
Sticky Joe? How can you say Staunton is decent? Is stabbing your captain in the back (as he did in Saipan) decent?
Definitely a candidate for Stupid Post of the Year!
Hither green
10/01/2006, 9:49 AM
As for Terry Venables, one of the biggest gangsters in world football, he`d probably bankrupt not just the FAI but the whole country if he got the job. Anything Venables has achieved in football Robson has surpassed easily. As for Staunton, yes he has no experience but alongside Robson I think its not a bad combination. Its important to have an Irishman among the setup. as I said before we didn`t have an outstanding person to take the job.
I agree with you there SJ. Venables hasn't been a top manager for years and even at his peak wasn't a patch on Robson. As for being a gangster what about a Venables/Charley Haughey dream team? :)
10/01/2006, 9:54 AM
..... If we look at Lawrie Sanchez in the North, he at least gained experience at Sligo and Wycombe in MANAGING these teams.
Real big time stuff!
....I would love to hear Roy Keane's thoughts on Staunton's appointment. I wonder if Staunton would have been appointed if Keane had continued playing for Ireland?
RMK's thoughts are irrelevant as he is no longer playing. What is more interesting is if the FAI did decide they were going to take on a manager with no experience why they did not offer it to Keane himself?
klein4
10/01/2006, 9:58 AM
em stuttgart88,(see what you started with your saipan referance!!!!) I think its fair comment that he will not want to rock the boat with delaney given that he has appointed him to a position that lets face it his managerial experience didnt merit. thats just human nature, surely? Whelan,giles,brady and to a lesser extent houghton all came on the radio this morning and while being positive enough about staunton they were all opposed to the two of them working together. apparently robson has been imposed on staunton.(but I am open to correction on that.) Personally why I would be opposed to staunton is that he will be learning his trade whilst managing the national team. so he might turn out ot be a class act but its a cert he will make mistakes which in an international context could be the differance between qualifying and not qualifying.
gaf1983
10/01/2006, 10:03 AM
This is a joke.
how is there not a better option to STAN,
no experience, only experience is what hes learned from Paul Merson in League One!
Doesn't Mark Kinsella even have a more senior coaching role at Walsal than him?
If they want to appoint a former player than how is STAN more qualified than John Aldridge, Ronnie Whelan, Liam Brady, Joe Kinnear, Mark Lawrenson, John Sheridan and Alan Kernaghan(who have all been MANAGERS before)
Does STAN even have UEFA coaching badges. What about Packie Bonner or Chris Hughton at least theyve worked in Irish set uo before.
Ive nothing against STAN by the way, what im opposed to is negligence on the part of the FAI appointing someone with no experience to the most important job in Irish football.
This is the most important job in the country as far as im concerned yet I've to sit here and watch the FAI f*uck up once again.
"We are looking for a manager who can bring us success...........It's high profile, it's a good job and it's certainly one that we are confident we can get a top class manager to manage our team going forward."..........my hole.
Hither green
10/01/2006, 10:03 AM
great player? hoofing the ball long down the line?
He didn't hoof the ball down the line at Liverpool or Villa or Liverpool the second time around or Villa the second time around. If he was "hoofing the ball long down the line" then like the rest of the back four he was following the manager's tactics.
10/01/2006, 10:09 AM
Interesting comments from Jack Charlton and Clinton Morrison on BBC website:
Ex-Republic boss Jack Charlton is delighted at the prospect. He said: "I think the partnership would be excellent. They would be good together. Robson knows exactly what to do and Steve knows what is necessary". Charlton added: "Robson has got the experience to teach Steve and his enthusiasm is second to none. Steve Staunton is a good lad. I don't know what qualifications he has got for the job, apart from being a good player but I think he would be OK. If they were appointed now I would agree with that decision."
Republic striker Clinton Morrison is also excited by the prospect of Staunton and Robson linking up. He said: "Steve helped a lot of the young players when I was around him - and I hope he still likes me. But he was friendly with all the players and got on with them and, although it will be difficult for him, I think he is a professional man and he knows he is there as a manager. As for Bobby, he has got great experience. He has been a top manager wherever he has gone and he has won trophies."
rayfinkle
10/01/2006, 10:25 AM
Jebus people, the facts of the matter are:
1) he doesn't have any managerial expierence
2) has he got his coaching badges????????
3) he is not the best option that's out there...if he is then lets just pack it in right now!
4) just because he has got the most caps doesn't automatically make him a top manager, he actually was not a very good player, no skill not even related to a footballer, all he could do was head the ball, foul and hoof! (i'll get castigated for saying that but it's a fact)
5) the fai are just a shower of idiots - homer simpson, lenny & karl would do a better job than them!
This situation stinks of more jobs for the boys because you impressed me when i spoke to you.
If anyone here got the top managers position in a company while working in the mailroom would people say as sure he'll do a good job coz he was good at sorting the post.....my arse you would!
He is not good enough or has expierence enough to manage his country.....
If he does get the position then football in ireland will have taken a big leap backwards!
wallis
10/01/2006, 10:29 AM
Lets say that after Kerr is sacked someone tells you that our next move is to appoint a management 'duo'. One is going to be a leading Irish ex-international and the other one of the most respected coaches in the world who would have complained ???
Lets get this in perspective - SBR is there as a mentor. We have an opportunity to take an up and coming young manager and have him groomed by one of the greatest managers in world football. SBRs age is irrelevant and as for the quotes on whether he can remember names I have two words for you - Jack Charlton.
For Staunton R.e Van Basten, Rijkard, Stoichcov and Klinsman. Guys with very little experience but had a great management team with them to help them through.
I would like to see SBR in charge for two years (Euro campaign) and then hand it over full time to SS for the World Cup. Maybe , just maybe he could be the best manager we've had.
10/01/2006, 10:42 AM
Lets say that after Kerr is sacked someone tells you that our next move is to appoint a management 'duo'. One is going to be a leading Irish ex-international and the other one of the most respected coaches in the world who would have complained ???
Lets get this in perspective - SBR is there as a mentor. We have an opportunity to take an up and coming young manager and have him groomed by one of the greatest managers in world football. SBRs age is irrelevant and as for the quotes on whether he can remember names I have two words for you - Jack Charlton.
For Staunton R.e Van Basten, Rijkard, Stoichcov and Klinsman. Guys with very little experience but had a great management team with them to help them through.
I would like to see SBR in charge for two years (Euro campaign) and then hand it over full time to SS for the World Cup. Maybe , just maybe he could be the best manager we've had.
Good post.
Hither green
10/01/2006, 10:43 AM
4) just because he has got the most caps doesn't automatically make him a top manager, he actually was not a very good player, no skill not even related to a footballer, all he could do was head the ball, foul and hoof! (i'll get castigated for saying that but it's a fact)
I agree that he's not the best choice for manager but I think you underestimate him as a player. Granted he didn't reach his potential but he was a decent enough player. Too many people are forgetting his youth and just remembering the final years when he was past his best. I wouldn't mind having a young Staunton to play at left back now.
lofty9
10/01/2006, 10:52 AM
Real big time stuff!
RMK's thoughts are irrelevant as he is no longer playing. What is more interesting is if the FAI did decide they were going to take on a manager with no experience why they did not offer it to Keane himself?
Only making the point that at least Sanchez has had the EXPERIENCE IN MANAGEMENT, whilst Staunton hasn't had any.
Keane's thoughts are as irrelevant as yours, mine and every other tom dick and harry then. I would just like to hear his opinion on the matter as it was he who was ultimately responsible for the genesis report et al.
10/01/2006, 10:55 AM
The facts remain that nothing has been announced officially yet, not Staunton as manager, not Robson as advisor, for all we know right now Staunton could be kit manager and Robson bus driver. Let's just wait for the official unveiling at a press conference (rumoured to be held before the end of the week) before we start hounding out a manager who hasn't been in charge of a single minute for Ireland yet
colster
10/01/2006, 10:56 AM
1) he doesn't have any managerial expierence
2) has he got his coaching badges????????
3) he is not the best option that's out there...if he is then lets just pack it in right now!
5) the fai are just a shower of idiots - homer simpson, lenny & karl would do a better job than them!
This situation stinks of more jobs for the boys because you impressed me when i spoke to you.
If anyone here got the top managers position in a company while working in the mailroom would people say as sure he'll do a good job coz he was good at sorting the post.....my arse you would!
He is not good enough or has expierence enough to manage his country.....
If he does get the position then football in ireland will have taken a big leap backwards!
So who could the FAI actually afford to get. They don't have the money to pay for Hiddink's wages never mind the compensation to Australia + PSV.
Who did you honestly expect that we could get?
Staunton has 20 years experience of the professional game. He has 100 caps worth of International experience. He's worked under some good and not so good managers. Can you honestly say that he hasn't learned along the way and formed his own opinions of how the game should be played?
Coaching badges aren't worth the paper they are written on. Shankly, Ferguson, Busby, Stein, Clough did'nt have any.
Bobby Robson is a great choice. The man has managed some great clubs and players. Yes he's 73 but he's only out of management for a couple of years.
10/01/2006, 10:58 AM
Wallis, any chance ye could stop putting the sir in front of bobby robson when talking about him?
10/01/2006, 10:59 AM
I think the poll question above is far too simplistic.
10/01/2006, 10:59 AM
I'm just gutted that we couldn't persuade Kevin Hodges (Assistant Manager of Yeovil Town - 10th place in the English Third Division) to take the job and we're stuck with the Assistant Manager of Walsall (13th place in the English Third Division) :(
If only there was an Irish manager available who had 20 years managerial experience and multiple league titles and European Championships, with an Ireland playing legend with many years English Premiership coaching experience as his assistant...:(
Den Perry
10/01/2006, 11:02 AM
Yes I was waiting for Charlton to get his tuppence worth in.I'm not surprised he's delighted with Staunton. Fu*** ignorant dope. And Morrison was going to lick the arse of anybody in the hope of getting a game.
And Van Basten, Stoichkov......Staunton HA!
Den Perry
10/01/2006, 11:07 AM
If Robson gets the job driving the bus its a joke....he's 73
colster
10/01/2006, 11:10 AM
Yes I was waiting for Charlton to get his tuppence worth in.I'm not surprised he's delighted with Staunton. Fu*** ignorant dope. And Morrison was going to lick the arse of anybody in the hope of getting a game.
And Van Basten, Stoichkov......Staunton HA!
You mean Charlton a World Cup winner, ex Club manager, Ex international manager who's won league and european medals as a player and who knows both men knows less than you about their ability to do the job.
Maybe you should go for the job you seem to know more than all these lads put together.
I think you'll find that you're the ignorant dope.
Tired&Emotional
10/01/2006, 11:11 AM
If Stan is hired as the manager, then no further proof is needed that Delaney got rid of Kerr for his own personal reasons even though he couldn't find a person qualified to replace him.
John Delaney doesn't care about football in Ireland and all eL/Ireland fans will suffer as a consequence.
Agree totally. Delaney doesn't know his ars* from his elbow.....he's shot himself in the foot after all the talk of hiring a big name, just a pity he didn't shoot himself in the head!
I say give Stan a chance though - don't want him to perceive that Irish fans are not giving him a chance...best of luck Stan, hope u can bring the good times back!!
Asking players if they support a new manager is just plain stupid. Every player is going to support a manager in public otherwise he'll look like an idiot if guy gets the job & he'll probably be dropped.
Staunton is McCarthy Mark II. Took McCarthy 3 years to learn his international trade. Delaney clearly had no logical plan when he essentially sacked Kerr & took a while to realise had feck all options.
Hither green
10/01/2006, 11:12 AM
Yes I was waiting for Charlton to get his tuppence worth in. I'm not surprised he's delighted with Staunton. Fu*** ignorant dope.
Chr!st, you really have got an attitude. Is Dan Perry a nom de guerre? Are you Roy Keane in disguise?
10/01/2006, 11:18 AM
Afair Robson was on £400,000 p/a with Newcastle, replaced by Souness at £1m plus p/a. Robson with no transfer kitty brought them from bottom to 3rd in the first season (with Andy O' Brien and Titus Bramble in defense ?). Robson is renowned for the attacking style with his teams. Staunton is at least proven as a very solid captain and a defense organizer. Contrary to public paraodies, Robson is in full possession of his faculties and has an exceptional memory. Personality wise I think it's a good blend with him and Staunton. Just a hunch but I could not see Aldo and Robson working well together.
There is a perception that Robson will be the gentle advisor to the passionate Staunton. I would expect Robson to don his tracksuit and participate fully, that is his passion.
colster
10/01/2006, 11:24 AM
Asking players if they support a new manager is just plain stupid. Every player is going to support a manager in public otherwise he'll look like an idiot if guy gets the job & he'll probably be dropped.
Staunton is McCarthy Mark II. Took McCarthy 3 years to learn his international trade. Delaney clearly had no logical plan when he essentially sacked Kerr & took a while to realise had feck all options.
We needed to let Kerr go. The team dis-improved under him. They played in a straight jacket.
I think Staunton and Robson is a good appointment. O'Neill and Hiddink were only fantasy stuff, they could get much bigger jobs than the Ireland one.
klein4
10/01/2006, 11:24 AM
read the holland chapter on Bobby Robson in Football against the Enemy.and that was a few years ago. seemed to be seen as bit of a joke figure
10/01/2006, 11:28 AM
Chr!st, you really have got an attitude. Is Dan Perry a nom de guerre? Are you Roy Keane in disguise?
Den Perry burned down the Phoenix Club - You're barred Den Perry, You're barred! :D
colster
10/01/2006, 11:33 AM
Afair Robson was on £400,000 p/a with Newcastle, replaced by Souness at £1m plus p/a. Robson with no transfer kitty brought them from bottom to 3rd in the first season (with Andy O' Brien and Titus Bramble in defense ?). Robson is renowned for the attacking style with his teams. Staunton is at least proven as a very solid captain and a defense organizer. Contrary to public paraodies, Robson is in full possession of his faculties and has an exceptional memory. Personality wise I think it's a good blend with him and Staunton. Just a hunch but I could not see Aldo and Robson working well together.
There is a perception that Robson will be the gentle advisor to the passionate Staunton. I would expect Robson to don his tracksuit and participate fully, that is his passion.
The more I think about it the appointment of Robson could be an inspired choice. This man has a huge amount of experience. Imagine the impact he would have not only on the senior players but on the youth teams and the organisation itself.
Imagine the encouragement he could give the players. Remember this man has worked with some exceptional players and coaches. Imagine the relationship he would have with the top managers in the Premiership. He has a good relationship with both Ferguson and Mourinho.
10/01/2006, 11:34 AM
Some facts about Delaney
• Delaney admitted that one of his main motivations about getting the CEO job was to get even with the people who wronged his father
• On TV he stated that if the Genises report was not implemented in 12 months he would resign; it wasn't and he didn't
• After sacking Kerr, he said that as the ROI job was a top international job they would be in a position to appoint a top coach; STAN manager of Walsalls' reserve team
Robson as an "advisor" is very strange idea as hes basically Stauntons assistant which agains very strange for man of his years & experience. The international manager role is not a position for a trainee which is what Staunton will be. I expect an inglorious start to qualification & players confused about whose in charge...
10/01/2006, 11:49 AM
Robsons only there i feel to make Delaney not look like a complete dope . which isnt an easy thing to do.
10/01/2006, 11:56 AM
No, he can't be, otherwise he would have said 'Fuc*** English ignorant dope'!
10/01/2006, 11:57 AM
Den Perry burned down the Phoenix Club - You're barred Den Perry, You're barred! :D
True, but he's right about Staunton, Saipan, Delaney and the whole sorry mess. No amount of muppetry on here will change that.
If any one player personifies my hatred of the FAI, their team and their olé olé followers it's Steve "Stan" Staunton. :mad:
Forza Italia, Argentina, Wales, Azerbaijan, Narnia or anybody bleedin' else TBH. :rolleyes:
Den Perry
10/01/2006, 12:09 PM
Thank you for your support fellow rover - even though I am a culchie rover!
I echo your sentiments entirely. And I hate people calling him "STAN", as if he's a mate. He has some kneck (and chin for that matter) to take this job
keep on hooping!
lopez
10/01/2006, 12:14 PM
Bit of a grudging admirer of Snowflake in his day (Euro 88 excepted:D :D ) and I for one would have been far happier if Staunton's role in all this was to take out Snowy's cathater and made sure he remembered what planet he was on. The role of Staunton as the senior partner however is frankly mystifying and, if I may be so bold, strikes me as an attempt in keeping the job to the 'real' Irish - no Plastics or Brits, which is basically same thing to the Irish press in reality who it seems we must all have the approval of - to the exclusion of someone with a real capacity for the job.
Whatever you or I think of Snowflake, an FA Cup, a UEFA cup, a Cup Winners Cup, a Dutch Championship, 2nd place La Liga and semi finalists in the World Cup (did I leave anything out?) is an impressive cv.
Den Perry
10/01/2006, 12:15 PM
Actually, Keith Lard would have been a better appointment than Second Son of Jack.
I hear his mate Quinny was on the Pat Kenny show this morning giving it loads, we still have to hear from Houghton, MCCarthy, Evans, Mcateer et all
Den Perry
10/01/2006, 12:19 PM
Colster....I did apply for the job and was not even granted an interview.
This just goes to show that Delany hasn't a clue
10/01/2006, 12:22 PM
I read this somewhere a good while ago. Robson came from a very tough part of Newcastle. When he took over as manager of Ipswich in the early seventies, I think, he had to prove himself to the players. One player in particular was giving him problems – guy called Tommy Carroll, ex Shelbourne full back and Irish international (last I heard of him, he was locked up in Spain). Anyhow, he asked him outside, and they beat the crap out of each other, with Robson coming out on top. He said it gained him the respect of the Ipswich team. Hopefully he won't have to resort to these tactics with the Irish squad.
10/01/2006, 12:22 PM
Some of the recent posts on this board beggar belief.
10/01/2006, 12:26 PM
Some of the recent posts on this board beggar belief.
I know, how anyone can take this Staunton/Robson thing seriously is beyond me. ;)
Dublin12
10/01/2006, 12:31 PM
Colster....I did apply for the job and was not even granted an interview.
This just goes to show that Delany hasn't a clue
Don't tell me you're Roddy Collins.
10/01/2006, 12:32 PM
And how anyone could suggest following Azerbaijan instead & hating the Irish team is beyond me. Surely if you hate the team, you'd support a crap appointment anyway?
10/01/2006, 12:34 PM
RTE news :rolleyes: said last night that Staunton is Assistant Manager at First Division Walsall. He's not even assistant - he's the defensive coach and Walsall are halfway down League One, i.e they're only about the 60th best team in England!!!
Delaney stated that he would headhunt "someone who can get the best out of the players that we have, can make tactical adjustments when required at the highest level and is committed to managing the side". I think Staunton and Uncle Sir Bobby combined might meet 2 of those 3 criteria.
If he wanted to go with this arrangement, I don't see why he couldn't have given Robson the job for 2 years and put Staunton in as an assistant if he really had to - it's not as if he's giving up some sort of dream job by quitting Walsall!