View Full Version : Attendances 2025
Pages :
[
6]
28/02/2025, 10:54 PM
Welcome to Ireland! Where we'll make up for having awful roads, buses and trains by spaffing your money on heavily-subsidised internal flights for a tiny number of people, rather than invest in decent infrastructure so them flights aren't actually needed. But sure, aren't we a great bunch of lads altogether with our sky high GDP and expensive houses these days!
Are houses not cheap as chips up North with GDP not inflated by FDI. Ain't we building the A5 for yiz to scoot south in quicker times? Generous bunch that we are....if the cost of the A5, Casement money and the bridge linking warrenpoint to carlingford, sure all those yoyos could subsidise €5 train fares to all over and run free buses to kerry while bypassing a bunch of villages in the process.....
oriel
28/02/2025, 11:05 PM
Am i the only one who thinks that people taking a domestic flight to an LOI game is peak Celtic Tiger behaviour? :D
I doubt the teams even fly, never mind the fans.
Also not even the PD, this is FD, mental stuff, saw a few photos online, was a fairly decent size Ryanair plane too that most went on this am, at 09.05. The squad went by coach, but stayed over in Tralee on Thursday.
Def seems strange ok, flying to a LOI game.
EatYerGreens
01/03/2025, 1:12 AM
Are houses not cheap as chips up North with GDP not inflated by FDI. Ain't we building the A5 for yiz to scoot south in quicker times? Generous bunch that we are....if the cost of the A5, Casement money and the bridge linking warrenpoint to carlingford, sure all those yoyos could subsidise €5 train fares to all over and run free buses to kerry while bypassing a bunch of villages in the process.....
What are you on about?
Jamesie
01/03/2025, 1:28 AM
You can't have Chinese-style high-speed rail with an Irish-style population and distances. Just a vaguely normal train service would do the job. Its less than 300km, so should be possible in 2hrs/2hrs 30mins with very ordinary technology.
You know they've one goes to Tibet...not known for its high population density. If you took a fraction off what's on the roads you'd easily fill those trains
EatYerGreens
01/03/2025, 2:08 AM
You know they've one goes to Tibet...not known for its high population density. If you took a fraction off what's on the roads you'd easily fill those trains
The train to Tibet is a political project though, to tie what is essentially stolen land into the Chinese state. The Chinese don't give a feck how few people live there, as that's not why they're doing it. These are the same people who are spending vast sums creating ridiculous new islands in the middle of the South China Sea, just so they can extend their territorial claims and put military planes on them. Surprise surprise - wealthy autocratic regimes don't operate by normal rules.
And it's not about filling the trains in Ireland. It's about the crazy cost of installing it in the first place. You'd have to build an entirely new train network from scratch. Plus the fact that the distances in Ireland are so short that it would barely run at top speed anyway (so why bother?).
Holland has almost 4 times the population of Ireland and about 6/7 times its population density, over a much smaller land base, yet scrapped almost all of its high speed plans on the basis of cost. The only routes they have are the ones that go outside Holland to Belgium and Germany. And the Dutch love feckin' trains! If the Dutch can't make it work in a country with such a high population density and high usage of public transport, there's zero chance the Irish would.
Go do a government business case for high-speed rail in Ireland and see how heavily it gets laughed out of court.
01/03/2025, 11:10 AM
What are you on about?
Ah you know! You were talking about investment in infrastructure, te Irish Government is doing so in another jurisdiction ie te A5, a stadium and a very large bridge - that money spent on Irish infrasructure could go a long way toward decreasing travel times by road to the likes of Kerry or could increase rail capacity while reducing travel time. I really didnt think you'd need to have that cleared up EYG!
ForeForeToo
01/03/2025, 11:54 AM
PREMIER
Cork City v Bohs - 5034
Derry City v Waterford - 2994
Drogs v Gamway United - 2161
Shels v Shamrock ;-) - 5214
Pats v Sligo - 4829
TOTAL - 20232
AVERAGE - 4046
FIRST
Wexford v Bray - 848
Kerry v Dundalk - 1195
Treaty v Harps - 1378
UCD v Cobh - 224
TOTAL - 3645
AVERAGE - 911
[QUOTE=ForeForeToo;2217140]PREMIER
Cork City v Bohs - 5034
Derry City v Waterford - 2994
Drogs v Gamway United - 2161
Shels v Shamrock ;-) - 5214
Pats v Sligo - 4829
TOTAL - 20232
AVERAGE - 4046
I am around long enough to realise a 4k average is brilliant....but is the Cork and Derry crowds a bit disappointing?
patrickccfc
01/03/2025, 3:27 PM
Mad to think crowds that size are a bit disappointing to some, but our crowds would be even bigger if not for the saucy enough ticket prices.
I know, and feel a bit stupid saying it, but you may have answered it - if it was 20 rather than 25, and so on for other categories the cross would havesold out?
patrickccfc
01/03/2025, 6:10 PM
I know, and feel a bit stupid saying it, but you may have answered it - if it was 20 rather than 25, and so on for other categories the cross would havesold out?
I would say that if the ticket prices were at that level, then I'd imagine both home games would've been sell outs.
01/03/2025, 7:02 PM
i am around long enough to realise a 4k average is brilliant....but is the cork and derry crowds a bit disappointing?
Brandywell was sold out. Has been for almost every game for the past few years.
Not sure how the official figures are come to, as I think the capacity is 3.5k at present.
The new stand will add almost 3k capacity, badly needed.
01/03/2025, 10:52 PM
684 LTFC v ATFC
On this occasion I think our attendance was higher than that, looked a lot more than the Bray game, including about 100 from Athlone.
I might be misremembering/misquoting a fella I spoke to at the ground a week ago, I think he said 2,300 is what they were aiming for. Have lost some standing capacity because of the seating. Were moving some stuff behind the goals further back to make that area a bit wider/safer for people to go through as well.
If Drogs capacity is now 2,300 (not sure if it is), they have still not hit this, think its 2,100 and 2,200 crowds so far, and 100 away fans Galway, think 300 Sligo.
My point is they were saying last year, its all they could get in, around 2k, but if the capacity is 2.3k that has not been reached out, so figures not adding up. I do like their new bar mind, used to like watching games from there in the 90's - pre segregation times, super view, amazed it was closed 10+ years, such a big loss of revenue.
02/03/2025, 6:54 PM
New bar will be for hospitality only from next game on but there is a new bar behind the far goal and you can watch the game from there too.
03/03/2025, 8:14 AM
If Drogs capacity is now 2,300 (not sure if it is), they have still not hit this, think its 2,100 and 2,200 crowds so far, and 100 away fans Galway, think 300 Sligo.
My point is they were saying last year, its all they could get in, around 2k, but if the capacity is 2.3k that has not been reached out, so figures not adding up. I do like their new bar mind, used to like watching games from there in the 90's - pre segregation times, super view, amazed it was closed 10+ years, such a big loss of revenue.
They would need the away fans to sell out their allocation ofc, the home end could be a sellout every game otherwise.
2 Year Contract
03/03/2025, 8:32 AM
They would need the away fans to sell out their allocation ofc, the home end could be a sellout every game otherwise.
Yeah the away allocation up there has been 600 in previous years, unless that’s changed this year which is unlikely given the vast majority of that is the away terrace
03/03/2025, 9:11 AM
Drogheda have installed 200 new seats on the far side, they will rarely be filled as a lot of people stand in the ultras section over there
Slartibartfast
04/03/2025, 8:22 AM
I think droghedas capacity is now 2500 (up from 2300 last season with the new seats ) . the home end is selling out every week ( and in the case of the rovers game 2 weeks ahead of time !) . The attendance for the Sligo game was 2200 ish and they had 200 fans there so that would leave 300 or so unsold away end tickets – its not rocket science !
We will know for sure what the full capacity is when we play rovers on friday week as the away end and home ends will both be sold out . . .
redarmyfaction
04/03/2025, 8:53 AM
4023 I think announced at the Showgrounds.
SPXcyan
04/03/2025, 10:06 AM
3017 at the RSC last night.
2 Year Contract
04/03/2025, 10:20 AM
4,884 at Pats Derry
https://x.com/stpatsfc/status/1896676040019448245?s=46
redobit
04/03/2025, 11:02 AM
4023 I think announced at the Showgrounds.
A very good attendance all things considered. Monday night, lost first 3 games and conceded 10 goals.
Shamrock brought good support,a few hundred.
Brilliant attendances for a Monday night all round it seems. Could be set for over a 4k average this Friday as well with Rovers-Pats in Tallaght
Calcio Jack
07/03/2025, 10:43 AM
4,850 season tickets sold in advance of our first home match this evening - incredible
DonegalHoop
07/03/2025, 11:10 AM
Thats an amazing figure
Amazing season ticket sales from Rovers. Any idea how much is that worth, gotta be more than 1m.
2 Year Contract
07/03/2025, 4:33 PM
Rovers confirm they’ve cancelled over 200 tickets that Pats fans bought for the home end for tonight after the away tickets were snapped up in what’s a much smaller allocation than recent years of 950. Probably checked email addresses that bought in the away end in the past. An inconvenience for plenty but I know of lads that have just rebooked home tickets under family members details and are still heading into the home end
https://www.the42.ie/shamrock-rovers-cancel-pats-tickets-dublin-derby-6643000-Mar2025/?utm_source=shortlink
SPXcyan
07/03/2025, 7:08 PM
3218 at the RSC v Bohs tonight.
8093 in Tallaght
4742 in Tolka
1043 in Cobh
2264 in Oriel
307 in Bowl
Shearer
08/03/2025, 9:03 AM
574 in Wexico
697 in Mounthawk
3,543 at Turners X
City don’t seem to have got any of the post Covid bounce over the last few years that is seeing everywhere else. Really disappointing attendance relative to what the likes of Sligo, Galway etc. can get in much smaller population centers. It can’t just all be down to ticket prices.
placid casual
08/03/2025, 2:53 PM
Rovers confirm they’ve cancelled over 200 tickets that Pats fans bought for the home end for tonight after the away tickets were snapped up in what’s a much smaller allocation than recent years of 950. Probably checked email addresses that bought in the away end in the past. An inconvenience for plenty but I know of lads that have just rebooked home tickets under family members details and are still heading into the home end
https://www.the42.ie/shamrock-rovers-cancel-pats-tickets-dublin-derby-6643000-Mar2025/?utm_source=shortlink
Thanks for the extra money.
Hope they enjoyed the game
2 Year Contract
08/03/2025, 3:22 PM
Thanks for the extra money.
Hope they enjoyed the game
If it’s money you’re interested in you should have a word with someone on your board to consider sending over the extra 1500 unused tickets to Pats next time as they’ll sell them out no problem. €30k down the drain
697 in Mounthawk
3,543 at Turners X
City don’t seem to have got any of the post Covid bounce over the last few years that is seeing everywhere else. Really disappointing attendance relative to what the likes of Sligo, Galway etc. can get in much smaller population centers. It can’t just all be down to ticket prices.
Hadnt seen the City attendance. I thought City would have second highest average after Rovers this season, comfortably above the 5k.
BigEars
09/03/2025, 12:36 PM
Hadnt seen the City attendance. I thought City would have second highest average after Rovers this season, comfortably above the 5k.
With the attendance from the first game of the season, Bohs will possibly finish with an average of something like ~5,700.
I don't think City will average that, although there'll likely be a few games well above that.
sbgawa
09/03/2025, 4:03 PM
With the attendance from the first game of the season, Bohs will possibly finish with an average of something like ~5,700.
I don't think City will average that, although there'll likely be a few games well above that.
There will be an * on that bohs average. :)
09/03/2025, 10:38 PM
There will be an * on that bohs average.?
A season without an asterisk is no season at all.
Who is this Cork City or Derry City ?
10/03/2025, 10:40 AM
Presuming Cork as the OP was talking about Cork not seeing the jump in attendance trend but will get a few bumper gates. Even with the recent ground development I dont think the Brandywell capacity will reach 5700?
Derry City hoping to open a new 3,000 seated stand, to help boost their home attendances, but their form is so poor fans are already staying away!
On the other hand Drogheda have started a great run and could have another 1,000+ at home games, but are restricted by the safe capacity set for Weavers Park!
The Greatest League in the World!
1023 in Ballybofey
486 Athlone
1650 Bray
1436 Limerick
2475 in Drogheda
2828 in Galway
culloty82
14/03/2025, 8:15 PM
1650 at the Carlisle Grounds is excellent for Bray's inaugural fixture, but 486 seems disappointing at Athlone?
2828 in Galway.
Shearer
14/03/2025, 9:23 PM
1436 in Limerick
Roones26
14/03/2025, 9:35 PM
1023 in Ballybofey
486 Athlone
1650 Bray
1436 Limerick
2475 in Drogheda
2828 in Galway
If there was 1000 people in Ballyboefy I'm no judge of crowds
2 Year Contract
14/03/2025, 9:39 PM
5,338 at Pats Bohs tonight. The highest attendance the ground has seen in over 20 years thanks to the new extra capacity
14/03/2025, 10:27 PM
If there was 1000 people in Ballyboefy I'm no judge of crowds
I had it around 800 from the gantry, but crowd seemed a lot more spread out than usual tonight.
Roones26
14/03/2025, 11:25 PM
I had it around 800 from the gantry, but crowd seemed a lot more spread out than usual tonight.
Figured it between 600 and 800 but nowhere near 1000. Loads of kids for sure
5,338 at Pats Bohs tonight. The highest attendance the ground has seen in over 20 years thanks to the new extra capacity
Just shows you how popular the LOI product has become. If you provide the extra space more will come. Well done to St. Pats, every little bit extra counts! Drogheda did the same and had close to 2,500!