View Full Version : Attendances 2024

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

20/08/2024, 4:20 PM
Andy Noonan, no? Not Aidan. Ex-UCD as well. Think he was let go after being found in a field with a gun, a balaclava, and a list of targets (https://www.independent.ie/regionals/herald/protest-as-man-arrested-in-delany-shooting-made-top-soccer-club-manager/27992247.html).

20/08/2024, 5:56 PM
Is there any senior or junior clubs in the Dublin area with alleged links to any crime organisations!

Im not sure you could actually allege too much even if it were the case on a public forum. Im sure there have been individuals involved with senior clubs rather than bad money funding a club, certainly not drectly. A few former senior players have been locked up for both petty and serious organised crime involvement but after retirement and i doubt high ranking. If you want to track possible criminality elements involved in football, certainly in other country leagues, look at involvement in boxing and names in common - sports management and promotion companies where directors could be involved with say a players agency and may have looked to buy in to clubs in both LoI and IL. There was a transfer from LoI to IL mentioned recently in another thread for eye watering weekly wage and youd question some things there with some common ground to OTR Dubai money.

da bishop
20/08/2024, 8:54 PM
A reference to the fine attendance at the cup game at the MF has now grown legs to label junior clubs in Limerick which allegedly include Pike Rovers as accessories to criminal finance.......this without a shread of evidence to support it......shamefull stuff.In fact by that logic are we to assume some of Treatys current setup along with certain supporters who were previously members of Limerick Fc during the still being investigated betting scandal are still profiting that type of activity.

Budgie
20/08/2024, 9:08 PM
Definitely no need for that , some fantastic hard working Pike people kept that place going down through the years and have some good sponsors and a bar that tips away with weekly functions , a bit like the Boro and Fairview . Don't know of anyone in Treaty involved in that inVestigation . Is it even still ongoing or are you just stirring the pot . How long ago now. Bit hypocritical to call that shameful when positting similar question? With no substance or foundation .

Buckett
20/08/2024, 9:58 PM
We had a famous convicted fraud as Commercial Director and CEO of Galway Utd, there was even a film made about him, played by Ewan McGregor. Beat that, junior clubs!

21/08/2024, 6:33 AM
Ollie Byrne and Brian Lenihan both played for UCD - has to count for something? :p

Buckett
21/08/2024, 4:28 PM
And now Derry have signed a wiseguy

EatYerGreens
21/08/2024, 4:53 PM
And now Derry have signed a wiseguy

Joe Pesci making his LOI debut?

21/08/2024, 6:00 PM
We had a famous convicted fraud as Commercial Director and CEO of Galway Utd, there was even a film made about him, played by Ewan McGregor. Beat that, junior clubs!

At time you can forget just how bonkers LoI has been at times like making a chap that collapsed a 250 year old bank to the tune of €2.5billion CEO of one of our clubs which went bang after too....I wont moan about that dodgy DVD this time!

sbgawa
21/08/2024, 7:07 PM
At time you can forget just how bonkers LoI has been at times like making a chap that collapsed a 250 year old bank to the tune of €2.5billion CEO of one of our clubs which went bang after too....I wont moan about that dodgy DVD this time!

It was only 1.4 billion dollars not 2.5 million euros. I don't blame you being wrong it was only recently I was going over that time and the mad thing is the collateral damage that occurred was out of all proportion to the relatively small amount (in absolute terms)

pateen
23/08/2024, 12:39 PM
How many in Tallaght for Pats game last night?

kksaints
23/08/2024, 12:41 PM
How many in Tallaght for Pats game last night?

Think it was around 6,200. Definitely felt fuller than the Sabah match.

D24Saint
23/08/2024, 12:49 PM
Think it was around 6,200. Definitely felt fuller than the Sabah match.

It definitely felt better atmosphere wise than the Sabah match. The European games have shown that the current capacity of Richmond isn’t an issue in terms of the numbers we can get on a regular basis. It’s just about getting better facilities and the ability to host our own European games.

dundalkfc10
23/08/2024, 1:04 PM
It definitely felt better atmosphere wise than the Sabah match. The European games have shown that the current capacity of Richmond isn’t an issue in terms of the numbers we can get on a regular basis. It’s just about getting better facilities and the ability to host our own European games.

I went to Pats first round game and Rovers game v Prague with 2 my mates
None us went last night as the cost of going to Dublin is too much, added in ticket, few beers etc

D24Saint
23/08/2024, 2:41 PM
I went to Pats first round game and Rovers game v Prague with 2 my mates
None us went last night as the cost of going to Dublin is too much, added in ticket, few beers etc

Its certainly not a budget destination these days. If the American tourists stop coming the city is in big trouble as the prices are driving away domestic visitors.

yurt
23/08/2024, 5:11 PM
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 523,507 (778,462; 664,365; 472,353; 372,271; 430,088; 345,011; 387,279; 352,742)

I know the overall combined attendance on this thread (this figure from 14/7) generally just follows the league games but think if we were to include European and Cup fixtures this figure will be pass a million well before the end of the year.

Think there's been 9 home games for Irish clubs in Europe so far this season with at lest another 4 to come. If anyone is bothered doing the research would be very interested to know how many fans make it to the LOI in Europe games across the season. With group stage football to come I guess it'll be something in the region of 70-80k in total.

23/08/2024, 6:42 PM
I know the overall combined attendance on this thread (this figure from 14/7) generally just follows the league games but think if we were to include European and Cup fixtures this figure will be pass a million well before the end of the year.

Think there's been 9 home games for Irish clubs in Europe so far this season with at lest another 4 to come. If anyone is bothered doing the research would be very interested to know how many fans make it to the LOI in Europe games across the season. With group stage football to come I guess it'll be something in the region of 70-80k in total.

It's possible only with European games and group stage games together, and even then I'd say you'd need Pats to qualify as well.

Last season saw just over 888k between league, cup and playoffs. I'd say this seasons total attendance will be lower. Needing another 120k from European games is a big ask.

Shearer
23/08/2024, 8:04 PM
532 in Limerick

LTFC
23/08/2024, 8:12 PM
2693 in Waterford 1915 Drogs
587 Athlone

Knocklyonhoop
23/08/2024, 8:15 PM
Why isn’t the full away terrace open in Tolka?

Shinkicker
23/08/2024, 9:36 PM
4830 was the attendance and the extended terraces each side of the shed were both almost empty. Bohs could have had another 500 in there and still been safe no problem as there were addition dividing rails

dundalkfc10
23/08/2024, 10:06 PM
Its certainly not a budget destination these days. If the American tourists stop coming the city is in big trouble as the prices are driving away domestic visitors.

It's not even the prices in Dublin. It's near 6 quid a pint here so few pints before game in Dublin aren't gonna make much difference. The train is only 20 quid return but it's just people have less money to spend these days

4830 was the attendance and the extended terraces each side of the shed were both almost empty. Bohs could have had another 500 in there and still been safe no problem as there were addition dividing rails

What was the reason half the away end was closed anyway? Was nobody on away end side of terrace on Riverside
It looked desperate on TV and I had a non league or Ireland fan ask me is that all tickets Bohs would be able to sell

I won't be shocked to hear it was a Gardai decision

kksaints
23/08/2024, 10:27 PM
It's not even the prices in Dublin. It's near 6 quid a pint here so few pints before game in Dublin aren't gonna make much difference. The train is only 20 quid return but it's just people have less money to spend these days

What was the reason half the away end was closed anyway? Was nobody on away end side of terrace on Riverside
It looked desperate on TV and I had a non league or Ireland fan ask me is that all tickets Bohs would be able to sell

I won't be shocked to hear it was a Gardai decision

I thought it was linked to the low number of tickets Bohs give away fans.

Another Bohemia
23/08/2024, 10:57 PM

Well the away stand in Bohs can only fit 450. What should they do cram more in? That's probably against regulations. I'd assume Shels closed part of the stand at Virgin medias request though as they did have a camera in the stand. I doubt the low number of tickets for Dalymount away end is an issue for Shels as they were emailing Bohs fans during the week with a link to buy tickets in the home end for tonight.

EatYerGreens
24/08/2024, 12:02 AM

Reducing your own matchday receipts would certainly be an interesting response to the limited capacity at Dalymount.

24/08/2024, 12:03 AM
It was only 1.4 billion dollars not 2.5 million euros. I don't blame you being wrong it was only recently I was going over that time and the mad thing is the collateral damage that occurred was out of all proportion to the relatively small amount (in absolute terms)

Only $1.4b lol, you could be right, I just looked at the reports from 1995 and Stg£800m being (supposedly and rounded up) index linked to today was €2.5b. Whatever the actual figures it was still classic GLITW.

2 Year Contract
24/08/2024, 8:04 AM
I believe limiting Bohs allocation to 500 was a decision Shels made to allow them use the Riverside terracing that’s closest to the away end. In the end, as expected, they didn’t sell out the rest of the ground so anyone on that terrace could’ve been accommodated elsewhere and they could’ve had 500 more Bohs fans in the ground

Dermobohs
24/08/2024, 8:35 AM
Truth is, shels have always vastly over estimated their support base. They just are not getting a big following last night proves that. Most likely mad mcduff was seeking an edge by limiting our numbers and hoping their phantom fans showed up. Didn’t work out too well .

nr637
24/08/2024, 10:09 AM

From what I have read both of the extended terraces each side of the shed have a safety capacity of approximately 500.

nr637
24/08/2024, 10:21 AM

That would seem about right, the Main stand on the Richmond Road holds around 1,800 and was well full, the Riverside stand has over 2,500 and was packed out, adding the 500 away support and also there were plenty of fans standing on the perimeter railings at the Drumcondra end and other areas.

Too be honest I think between 4 and 5,000 seems to be Shels maximum while having a hard core of around 3,500 regular. With Shels form this season and all the local Dublin derbies I have not seen Shels able to attract an attendance near the 6,000 mark at Tolka even with the added facilities made!

Any reasons? :embarrassed:

Dermobohs
24/08/2024, 11:17 AM
No one likes them

MartyRambler
24/08/2024, 6:46 PM
Have Shels always been considered the smallest supported team of the four Dublin clubs? Rovers top, Bohs and Pats close second? I know Bohs historically would be closer to Rovers but over the past 20 odd years? Hopefully with upcoming ground redevelopment could we see both those clubs possibly settle at an average if 5k?

24/08/2024, 6:51 PM
Have Shels always been considered the smallest supported team of the four Dublin clubs? Rovers top, Bohs and Pats close second? I know Bohs historically would be closer to Rovers but over the past 20 odd years? Hopefully with upcoming ground redevelopment could we see both those clubs possibly settle at an average if 5k?

Well UCD then Shels, for a former milti league winner their support was small, 800-1200 could be at games. They have benefited proportionately by the most by the post covid bump in attenandances.

EatYerGreens
24/08/2024, 8:06 PM

I'd say Pats were smaller than Shels in the last century. Up until the Kerr and Pat Dolan eras they hadn't had much success, and from memory their crowds weren't great at all. Being exiled in Harolds Cross for a few years didn't help either. That said, I also recall Bohs strugging on the fans and success front in the 1980s and 90s as well.

ger121
24/08/2024, 8:37 PM

I seem to remember them being outnumbered at home to Linfield in the first Setanta Cup. I think so too when Bohs won the title in Tolka in 2002/2003 but was living abroad so can’t actually remember for sure. They never really had a huge support in the hay days of the 90s/00s.

MartyRambler
24/08/2024, 10:26 PM
They certainly have done well post COVID on the attendances as have Bohs and Pats. You would imagine though if either of those two were in Shels current league position all games would be certain full houses. Still though fair play to them for fighting to hold onto Tolka and building a presence off the field. I thought the possible move to ground share at the time would have killed the club or put it to the Leinster senior league.

CorribsideSteve
25/08/2024, 7:53 PM
3017 at Tallaght

Dermobohs
25/08/2024, 8:11 PM
Many Galway there?

CorribsideSteve
25/08/2024, 8:16 PM
Many Galway there?
Con Murphy said about 200. Sounded like it. Good support going to Tallaght usually from Galway.

Kiki Balboa
25/08/2024, 9:16 PM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/exclusive-behind-closed-doors-option-33536711?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

Bohs / Rovers game is being considered to be played behind closed doors.

(Other options being considered.... but to even bring this up, my god...)

25/08/2024, 9:19 PM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/exclusive-behind-closed-doors-option-33536711?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

Bohs / Rovers game is being considered to be played behind closed doors.

So there might not be resources even for the half 11 match?
And how would moving it to Tallaght help? Surely the resourcing issue applies around the city?

sbgawa
25/08/2024, 9:21 PM
So there might not be resources even for the half 11 match?
And how would moving it to Tallaght help? Surely the resourcing issue applies around the city?

Different Garda districts

EatYerGreens
26/08/2024, 1:22 AM
You honestly have to wonder what state AGS are in if they can't police an LOI fixture with less than 5,000 at it on the same day as a Coldplay concert.

They may as well advertise to every hood and skanger in town that it'll be a free for all on that day as their resource is tied-up baby-sitting 30+ year old middle class moms at Croke Park :D

Another Bohemia
26/08/2024, 8:14 AM
You honestly have to wonder what state AGS are in if they can't police an LOI fixture with less than 5,000 at it on the same day as a Coldplay concert.

They may as well advertise to every hood and skanger in town that it'll be a free for all on that day as their resource is tied-up baby-sitting 30+ year old middle class moms at Croke Park :D

I think it's not just the Coldplay gig and Bohs v Rovers match though. It's been a summer of unrest & protest. The few Gardai I do know are severely overworked. They could already be struggling to get enough bodies for the Coldplay gig then add onto that a derby match that kicks off so early it could easily be a 12-13 hour day for anyone who signs up for it. The government parties have a lot to answer for letting so many things get so bad in this country.

Kiki Balboa
26/08/2024, 10:07 AM
Wasn't there all Ireland semi finals on with Taylor Swift, Marley Park and Gay Pride last month ?

Why is a LOI game special?

Not to be so conspiracy based... but there has been an onslaught of negativity around the league in the last 2 weeks from Politicans and journalists/ media.

26/08/2024, 3:25 PM
Wasn't there all Ireland semi finals on with Taylor Swift, Marley Park and Gay Pride last month ?

Not to be so conspiracy based... but there has been an onslaught of negativity around the league in the last 2 weeks from Politicans and journalists/ media.
It is so very unlikely I don't even want to let myself believe it could happen, but Pat's causing an upset on Wednesday would be very fun to see how the wider footballing media would handle that narrative.

As for the Bohs/Rovers game, is there really a major risk of trouble? I know we've had random incidents of eejits being eejits lately, maybe more so post covid, but how bad are we talking here? I've never been to a Bohs/Rovers game so I don't know what kind of issues we're talking about.

ger121
26/08/2024, 4:51 PM

Ireland Inc. wants the working man’s game to get back into its little niche box and remember its place.

27/08/2024, 2:17 PM
PREMIER DIVISION

Bohs - 4,249 (4,243 {2023}; 3,209 {2022};2,878{19}; 2,148; 2,006; 1,627; 1,724; 1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488)
Derry - 2,776 (3,336; 3,184; 2,049; 2,297; 1,517; 1,563; 1,124; 1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135)
Drogheda - 2,033 (1,916; 1,941; 721 FD; ; 377 FD; 850; 583 FD; 813; 1,064; 817; 977; 811)
Dundalk - 2,414 (2,636; 2,689; 2,775; 2,738; 2,674; 2,738; 3,158; 2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355)
Galway - 2,832 (2,018 FD; 2,081 FD; 780 FD; 746 FD; 1,376; 1,169; 1,290; 975 FD)
Pat's - 4,438 (4,232; 3,489; 1,919; 1,621; 1,504; 1,088; 1,321; 1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346)
Rovers - 5,720 (6,109; 5,379; 3,384; 2,749; 2,809; 2,041; 2,890; 2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779)
Shels - 4,189 (3,393; 2,913; 1,071 FD; 654 FD; 496 FD; 554 FD; 596 FD; 713 FD; 1,114; 1,187; 781 FD)
Sligo - 2,800 (2,555; 2,166; 1,995; 1,853; 1,717; 1,750; 1,750; 1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103)
Waterford - 2,866 (1,833 FD; 1,705 FD; 1,496; 2,329; 1,550 FD; 314 FD; 460 FD; 470 FD; 478 FD; 453 FD; 466 FD)

FIRST DIVISION

Athlone - 702 (872; 307; 382; 130; 154; 156; 314; 653 PD; 754; 271; 200)
Bray - 608 (663; 482; 773; 643 PD; 966 PD; 957 PD; 769 PD; 718 PD; 891 PD; 965 PD; 1,121 PD)
Cobh - 804 (1,020; 872; 268; 236; 358; 403; 366; 223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681)
Cork - 2,900 (3,666 PD; 3,517; 2,505 PD; 4,245 PD; 4,559 PD; 2,533 PD; 3,263 PD; 3,777 PD; 1,965 PD; 2,786 PD; 2,128)
Harps - 1,052 (1,154; 1,293 PD; 1,154 PD; 708; 1,202 PD; 1,216 PD; 784; 449; 479; 429; 433; 644)
Kerry - 609 (784)
Longford - 457 (679; 500; 610; 449; 342; 488 PD; 803 PD; 567; 379; 365; 315)
Treaty - 1,204 (642; 695)
UCD - 303 (809 PD; 953 PD; 739 PD; 365; 236; 297; 216; 397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD)
Wexford - 549 (689; 445; 235; 181; 338; 585 PD; 553; 331; 227; 302; 216)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 3,421 (3,289; 2,687; 2,185; 2,170; 1,902; 1,476; 1,681; 1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 919 (1,035; 1,193; 586; 413; 477; 476; 486; 495; 391; 372; 578)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 2,152 (2,162; 2,051; 1,500; 1,249; 1,387; 1,117; 1,249; 1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110)

OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 465,226 (592,093; 486,365; 393,238; 316,515; 376,627; 292,204; 332,805; 297,334)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 128,621 (186,369; 178,000; 79,115; 55,756; 53,461; 52,807; 54,474; 55,408)

OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 593,847 (778,462; 664,365; 472,353; 372,271; 430,088; 345,011; 387,279; 352,742)

joey B
30/08/2024, 10:22 PM
985 at Finn Park

thebronze14
31/08/2024, 7:18 AM
985 at Finn Park

Felt like more but a healthy crowd none the less