View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Latvia - Wednesday, 22nd March 2023 - Friendly

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

16/03/2023, 12:51 PM
French squad named
Get the rosary beads. All the rosary beads.

16/03/2023, 12:57 PM
Press conference on YouTube
6-2DdiBDUYM

16/03/2023, 12:59 PM
I always (and have for every manager regardless of whether I like them/rate them, whatever) hold the caveat that if a player for all intents and purposes should be in our squad but isn't, then the possibility remains that there are personality clashes, issues in terms of interaction etc that can't be spoken about, but are a factor. Wonder is that the case with manning, because he ticks a lot of boxes in a position that we don't have great options in, and which he (Kenny) looks willing to try just about anyone in the position except the person most suited (manning).

perhaps he's concerned that manning can be exploited in behind as a WB, much worse than as a FB, and he's not going to get in as a CB, so why pick him?

I'm disappointed to see Will Keane in there - he's a nothing player compared to the other options, and it would have been nice to see Azaz or even Cannon in there instead.

Browne less disappointed to see included as as he does have a knack of getting into goalscoring positions for us, but Jeff....thankfully no Hourihane.

elatedscum
16/03/2023, 1:02 PM
Will Keane is the only player who surprises me, admittedly I haven't watched much Wigan but still. Personally would have liked to have seen Manning, Coventry and McNamara but didn't think any were likely. Happy to see Hourihane not called up. No issues with the Hendrick call up - can't realistically see alternatives of deep lying midfielders

elatedscum
16/03/2023, 1:07 PM
didn't say a lot in the press conference, basically O'Dowda being selected ahead of Brady and Manning. Thinks that he's Cardiff's player of the year and rates his pace very highly.

Adam Idah awaiting a scan but asked not to be ruled out yet...

16/03/2023, 1:10 PM
Addresses Manning vs O'Dowda. O'Dowda clearly the favourite and chosen at Manning's expense. Robbie Brady not considered despite early season promise and not playing recently (been to a lot of Preston games).

Idah not looking good.

Doc situation not ideal. 8 wks between games. Has capacity to retain fitness when not playing - another challenge Int fball brings.

On Ev Ferguson, rapid rise even from the last Int window. Characteristics of forwards completely different to 2 yrs ago - name-checks them all - direct, quick and can play different ways, supplemented by Will Keane & Micky Johnston who is a dribbler. Injuries persist and are a challenge as well. Not straight forward situations.
Ev has been very good and made things look easy at times, makes good decisions and has a variety of attributes incl. linking the play leadign the line and scoring goals.
On the temptation to start him, this remains to be seen, can't pick team too early, still another round of games this weekend (ref.d Idah) and then quick turnaround to the LV game. Hopes he can play a significant impact. Need starters and replacements in the window.

Asked if he knows how he'll go between the two matches, he agreed that he does, but it can change depending on what presents itself, but also be cogniscent of the CHship schedule which is relentless, not to mention FA CUp games as well. it will be a consdieration for the LV game, but they want a strong performance there to go into the France game.

Exgrad
16/03/2023, 1:10 PM
Reading through that French squad... and then reading people arguing about Manning or O'Dowda!

seanfhear
16/03/2023, 1:33 PM
Reading through that French squad... and then reading people arguing about Manning or O'Dowda!
I suppose the French might be able to make a go of it, if they get a few breaks.

16/03/2023, 1:36 PM
French squad named
Get the rosary beads. All the rosary beads.

Areola is a bit of a tit.

16/03/2023, 1:45 PM
Underwhelming, but I could be won over if Ferguson gets a good run, we get to see what Smallbone and Sykes can offer (instead of McGrath, Browne and Hendrick) or if Molumby and Knight can bring their A-games.

Very disappointed for Manning.

No Hourihane is at least worth celebrating. We're goosed if Cullen gets injured. Hodge would have to be called up I'd say.

Other than left back, no big issues. McNally and McGuinnes are probably getting closer but those selected are worthy of their places and Omobamidele has shown good form for us when called upon.

Travers is a lucky boy to be picked over O'Leary.

I've an open mind on Johnston.

16/03/2023, 2:09 PM
Thoroughly underwhelmed by some of the selection choices. Seems to have stuck with a bit too much loyalty to a few players rather than those in form. Andy Lyons another who could probably be classed as unlucky not to be included on the LB conundrum.

Jd2793
16/03/2023, 2:15 PM
agree with most but the defenders we need duffy as back or KEVIN Long Ciaran Clark, too many kids there not good, TRAP AND MON nor JACK trusted youngsters that much, in midfield we need manning ronan and gallagher

attack is ok what about costelloe?

is anything going to be done about this obvious trolling

16/03/2023, 2:27 PM
is anything going to be done about this obvious trolling
Post deleted

BI, you were warned about this

mod warning: Cut out the RANDOM ALL caps, Bielsa.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 2:34 PM
Bit weird that O’Dowda is labelled a defender and Johnston is a forward

Cos that's where they play now. O'Dowda claimed the left back spot in last window, was one of the few bright spots, and has been playing left back for Cardiff recently. Johnston is a winger/ wide Forward like Ogbene

Snapshot
16/03/2023, 2:45 PM
Revert to Big Jack - put them under pressure. Kenny's naive tip-tap equals total disaster.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 2:51 PM
Revert to Big Jack - put them under pressure. Kenny's naive tip-tap equals total disaster.
Maybe we should get Niall Quinn to come out of retirement too?

BOOMSHAKALAKA
16/03/2023, 3:03 PM
Not a very inspiring squad but that's not the main issue really, it's when they get to camp but no real brave decisions made. The French squad will have a very inexperienced keeper at international level playing in goals. I don't think many of them will be excited about going to Ireland in March. Still coming down off the World Cup loss, same old manager, probably some complacency, maybe a few more squad pull outs. I think there's an opportunity there for us to get a result. A nice, wet evening and you'll never know.

Eirambler
16/03/2023, 3:27 PM
Think it's pretty clear that Kenny doesn't rate Manning, so I'm surprised people are surprised he's not there. He probably sees him as his fifth choice left wing back if everyone's fit.

All in all the squad has a very short term look about it. There's no planning for the future in that selection and it's easy enough to understand why. All the talk about how things would be different under Kenny and players would be picked on form has come to nothing. It's just a game to game situation now with no future planning for as long as he remains in his post.

16/03/2023, 3:32 PM
The French squad will have a very inexperienced keeper at international level playing in goals.

Agreed. Not that Lloris ever reached a level of consistency where you'd be 100% sure of him, but he was head and shoulders above their other keepers. So yes, while these are super professionals, pulling on the Blue jersey to try and solidify yourself as the main man is a big deal, and I would absolutely be saying to pepper their box with shots and crosses in the opening stages. But to do that, you've got to get the ball. A helter-skelter game on a Spring evening is not what France will want - not sure it's what we want either to be honest! A nice sedate boring 0-0 would be a wonderful start, but I don't see it.

I don't think many of them will be excited about going to Ireland in March. Still coming down off the World Cup loss, same old manager, probably some complacency, maybe a few more squad pull outs.
It's March, plenty of Europe is ****ty at this time of the year, and Dublin is unseasonably warm, so who knows. They'll be well over the world cup hangover (I hope not), but the same old manager - it's Deschamps, he's not done badly over the years.
Camavinga , Fofana , Hernandez, Pavard, Upamecano, Rabiot, Tchouameni, Griezmann, Mbappe, Thuram - these are all absolute quality players, Kingsley Coman & Giroud are no slouches either, and like it or lump it, our best player doesn't get into their starting XI - actually, I'm not sure any of our players get into their squad. That's the scale of the task. Even when we were at our best in the modern era - Euro 2016 - when they turned on the style and focussed they blitzed us. That was with a "proper management team" as plenty seem to think here.

I think there's an opportunity there for us to get a result. A nice, wet evening and you'll never know.
Expand on this please, I am genuinely intrigued. What likelihood do you give us on a getting a result - and by result, what exactly do you mean, draw, win, morale boosting sucker punch last minute defeat?

Snapshot
16/03/2023, 3:33 PM

Maybe we should get Niall Quinn to come out of retirement too?
Good idea. Could do worse than Quinner - your lethal Plan B is Parrott and Idah. Now there's a shiver looking for a spine.

16/03/2023, 3:36 PM
All in all the squad has a very short term look about it. There's no planning for the future in that selection and it's easy enough to understand why. All the talk about how things would be different under Kenny and players would be picked on form has come to nothing. It's just a game to game situation now with no future planning for as long as he remains in his post.

Would you humour me and advise of the changes that you would make to the squad that would indicate planning for the future? I would assume it's in relation to selecting McClean and Coleman (instead of manning and Lyons/McNamara), Hendrick and McGrath (instead of say Coventry & Azaz), and Keane (instead of Cannon) - but I don't want to put words in your mouth.

Eirambler
16/03/2023, 3:45 PM
Would you humour me and advise of the changes that you would make to the squad that would indicate planning for the future? I would assume it's in relation to selecting McClean and Coleman (instead of manning and Lyons/McNamara), Hendrick and McGrath (instead of say Coventry & Azaz), and Keane (instead of Cannon) - but I don't want to put words in your mouth.

Sure. Right wing back. Two lads in their 30s playing there for years and nobody else has been blooded. Browne is a midfielder playing out of position when he plays there. We have a home friendly against Latvia and a chance to give someone a run. Who does he call up? The two lads in their 30s and nobody else. McNamara should have been in last summer.

Central midfield. The sitting position. No obvious cover for Cullen, yet apparently no interest in using the friendly to give Coventry or Hodge a shot there.

Attacking midfield. McGrath over Szmodics or Azaz - seriously?! (I'm aware Szmodics is older than McGrath but he's also playing successfully at a much higher level and there's more to gain from integrating him)

And Keane up front despite no goals in months. If Idah is out I expect we'll see Hogan again, even though he hasn't hit a barn door since Christmas.

This is pure short term-ism from man who knows (from a purely selfish perspective) that there's no point planning for the long term. But his responsibility to Irish football goes beyond his own job security, or at least it should.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
16/03/2023, 3:53 PM
Agreed. Not that Lloris ever reached a level of consistency where you'd be 100% sure of him, but he was head and shoulders above their other keepers. So yes, while these are super professionals, pulling on the Blue jersey to try and solidify yourself as the main man is a big deal, and I would absolutely be saying to pepper their box with shots and crosses in the opening stages. But to do that, you've got to get the ball. A helter-skelter game on a Spring evening is not what France will want - not sure it's what we want either to be honest! A nice sedate boring 0-0 would be a wonderful start, but I don't see it.

It's March, plenty of Europe is ****ty at this time of the year, and Dublin is unseasonably warm, so who knows. They'll be well over the world cup hangover (I hope not), but the same old manager - it's Deschamps, he's not done badly over the years.
Camavinga , Fofana , Hernandez, Pavard, Upamecano, Rabiot, Tchouameni, Griezmann, Mbappe, Thuram - these are all absolute quality players, Kingsley Coman & Giroud are no slouches either, and like it or lump it, our best player doesn't get into their starting XI - actually, I'm not sure any of our players get into their squad. That's the scale of the task. Even when we were at our best in the modern era - Euro 2016 - when they turned on the style and focussed they blitzed us. That was with a "proper management team" as plenty seem to think here.

Expand on this please, I am genuinely intrigued. What likelihood do you give us on a getting a result - and by result, what exactly do you mean, draw, win, morale boosting sucker punch last minute defeat?

How many of our 2016 starting 11 would have got in the French team? They were at home and blitzed us but only after an hour in that their home tournament. Deschamps has been there years, it might have gone stale after the World Cup. Ireland at home against anyone and we always have a chance. Look at results under our two worst managers even (Kenny and Staunton), we've managed results against top teams. This is not an impossible task.

Since the last Euros, France have been beaten home and away by Denmark, lost and drawn to Croatia, drawn at home to Bosnia, drawn away to Austria and Ukraine, they will be 3 days after what they see as their big match against the Netherlands. This is set up for a good old fashioned ambush. If we had a competent manager I'd be very confident of a draw at least but even with this one, a draw isn't out of the question.

third policeman
16/03/2023, 3:57 PM
I'd pretty much concur with that. I just can't conceive of a question to which Jamie McGrath is the answer. Wasn't good enough for League 1 and certainly not good enough to merit international selection. Szmodics surely worth consideration for Latvia game, whilst Azaz and Connell are showing outstanding form in a League where McGrath couldn't get a game. On the one hand we're talking about the fringes of the squad, but on the other hand we're seeing obdurate inflexibility from Kenny who sticks with certain players despite an abundance of evidence that they're not good enough. As someone said, it's harder to get dropped from a Kenny squad than it is to break into it at the minute.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 4:01 PM
I think overall Im happy enough with the squad. There are a few players left out that will be argued about, but that just shows theres competition for places which we didnt have for the longest time. Most seem to be focusing on Manning not being in there, but its not exactly prime Wes being left out is it? O'Dowda claimed the left back spot in the last window and McClean will be in squad until he quits football. Doherty can also cover left back, or wing back. My personal preference for another full back would be Andy Lyons who can play both sides, but I think he'll be there soon enough. Of the defenders left out Darragh Lenihan is probably the hardest done by, but I also have no issue with any of the players picked ahead of him, again good competition for places.

In midfield I look forward to the day when Hendrick is no longer being picked. Browne is not my favorite, but he does cover a number of positions. McGrath is a mystery to me but Kenny likes him. The biggest thing is there are no glaring omissions that would make huge difference. Conor Coventry will probably get in sooner than later. Szmodics is a 27 journeyman, hes grand, but exactly gonna change life for us. Theres a few others on the periphery that may get in over time. Luca Connell and Finn Azaz in particular if they step up a level next season.

Up front I dont get the Will Keane pick, hes already proven not good enough at International level. Cannon is the obvious one that could be there instead, but realistically hes only had a few good games in the Championship yet so his time will come.

The Ferguson to England nonsense being put to bed is great. Smallbone I expect will play in the Latvia game. Overall its still a very young squad that Im happy enough with.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 4:03 PM
Good idea. Could do worse than Quinner - your lethal Plan B is Parrott and Idah. Now there's a shiver looking for a spine.

Who would you actually pick instead of Parrott and Idah? Could do worse than Quinner is just shyte talk

16/03/2023, 4:13 PM
Sure.

Good man, appreciated.
I don't disagree with much of what you say, but I'm not sure I think they are all as massive an issue as you make them to be.

Right wing back. Two lads in their 30s playing there for years and nobody else has been blooded. Browne is a midfielder playing out of position when he plays there. We have a home friendly against Latvia and a chance to give someone a run. Who does he call up? The two lads in their 30s and nobody else. McNamara should have been in last summer.
I do absolutely agree with you here. I think it's a massive oversight not to have blooded Danny.

Central midfield. The sitting position. No obvious cover for Cullen, yet apparently no interest in using the friendly to give Coventry or Hodge a shot there.
I don't disagree, but would say that I think it might be a touch too soon for Hodge, and I'm not sure Coventry will ever get to the level we need in that position.

Attacking midfield. McGrath over Szmodics or Azaz - seriously?! (I'm aware Szmodics is older than McGrath but he's also playing successfully at a much higher level and there's more to gain from integrating him)

I don't think it's as big a deal - so long as Will Smallbone starts. If he doesn't...well then, that's a different story (vs Latvia).

And Keane up front despite no goals in months. If Idah is out I expect we'll see Hogan again, even though he hasn't hit a barn door since Christmas.
Agreed. Its a problem.

Snapshot
16/03/2023, 4:14 PM
Who would you actually pick instead of Parrott and Idah? Could do worse than Quinner is just shyte talkYou introduced Quinner, buddy.

16/03/2023, 4:15 PM
How many of our 2016 starting 11 would have got in the French team? They were at home and blitzed us but only after an hour in that their home tournament. Deschamps has been there years, it might have gone stale after the World Cup. Ireland at home against anyone and we always have a chance. Look at results under our two worst managers even (Kenny and Staunton), we've managed results against top teams. This is not an impossible task.

Since the last Euros, France have been beaten home and away by Denmark, lost and drawn to Croatia, drawn at home to Bosnia, drawn away to Austria and Ukraine, they will be 3 days after what they see as their big match against the Netherlands. This is set up for a good old fashioned ambush. If we had a competent manager I'd be very confident of a draw at least but even with this one, a draw isn't out of the question.

1st para fair enough, points I could get on board with (maybe).
2nd para "Since the last Euros, France have..." been beaten on penalties in the World Cup final in the last international window. E.N.D.

Eirambler
16/03/2023, 4:23 PM
Good man, appreciated.
I don't disagree with much of what you say, but I'm not sure I think they are all as massive an issue as you make them to be.

I do absolutely agree with you here. I think it's a massive oversight not to have blooded Danny.

I don't disagree, but would say that I think it might be a touch too soon for Hodge, and I'm not sure Coventry will ever get to the level we need in that position.

I don't think it's as big a deal - so long as Will Smallbone starts. If he doesn't...well then, that's a different story (vs Latvia).

Agreed. Its a problem.

Yeah, for me it's more about the Latvia game than the France one in terms of the squad picks. I think the XI for France are more or less there alright, as long as he picks them (I'm not as sold on Manning as many others seem to be).

But the Latvia game just feels like a wasted opportunity already now, other than getting another cap for Ferguson and hopefully seeing Smallbone get a start.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 4:24 PM
You introduced Quinner, buddy.

As a joke after your genius comment about Jack Charlton, still doesnt answer the question who you would actually pick instead of Parrott and Idah

BOOMSHAKALAKA
16/03/2023, 4:38 PM
1st para fair enough, points I could get on board with (maybe).
2nd para "Since the last Euros, France have..." been beaten on penalties in the World Cup final in the last international window. E.N.D.

There's a massive difference between the World Cup and qualification matches. I've shown you they drawn and lost 7 matches since 2020 in qualification and Nations League matches. They are not invincible. If it wasn't for this manager we'd be eyeing up a draw here.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 4:41 PM
This is pure short term-ism from man who knows (from a purely selfish perspective) that there's no point planning for the long term. But his responsibility to Irish football goes beyond his own job security, or at least it should.

Should he be planning for the future or planning to try win the games in this international window? If hes selfishly just trying to keep himself in the job I would assume hes picking what he believes are the best possible players to win now. He has introduced plenty of players into the squad in his tenure which benefits the future of Irish football, the 18 year old striker in the squad was picked in the last window when no one was calling for that. We can argue over whether hes picked the right players but I think its unfair to have a dig at him for not thinking about the future of Irish football when he has games to go win.

Eirambler
16/03/2023, 4:47 PM
Should he be planning for the future or planning to try win the games in this international window? If hes selfishly just trying to keep himself in the job I would assume hes picking what he believes are the best possible players to win now. He has introduced plenty of players into the squad in his tenure which benefits the future of Irish football, the 18 year old striker in the squad was picked in the last window when no one was calling for that. We can argue over whether hes picked the right players but I think its unfair to have a dig at him for not thinking about the future of Irish football when he has games to go win.

Both. Blooding players in the Latvia game has no bearing on qualification plus he's holding frontliners back for the France game.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 4:59 PM
Both. Blooding players in the Latvia game has no bearing on qualification plus he's holding frontliners back for the France game.

Bazunu, Kelleher, Travers, Collins, Omobamidele, O'Shea, Molumby, Knight, Sykes, Smallbone, Obafemi, Idah, Parrott, Johnston, Ferguson..... 15 players out of squad of 25 who are all aged 25 and under. Seems to me that is pretty good planning for the future.

Snapshot
16/03/2023, 5:00 PM
As a joke after your genius comment about Jack Charlton, still doesnt answer the question who you would actually pick instead of Parrott and IdahMy Charlton comment was genuine. Your reply was nonsense. Own it and move on.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 5:02 PM
My Charlton comment was genuine. Your reply was nonsense. Own it and move on.

Still wont answer the question. Since you want to play like the days of Jack I assume you have players in mind to suit that.

Eirambler
16/03/2023, 5:07 PM
Bazunu, Kelleher, Travers, Collins, Omobamidele, O'Shea, Molumby, Knight, Sykes, Smallbone, Obafemi, Idah, Parrott, Johnston, Ferguson..... 15 players out of squad of 25 who are all aged 25 and under. Seems to me that is pretty good planning for the future.

Sure half of those are first team starters and most are established squad members? Might as well just shut the door on everyone else so.

A chunk of the squad are 30+ and we have very little aged 25-29. We can't just stop blooding players just because there's a number of younger lads already in there. We have to keep bringing players through as there's plenty of spaces to be filled in the next couple of years.

Razors left peg
16/03/2023, 5:12 PM
Sure half of those are first team starters and most are established squad members? Might as well just shut the door on everyone else so.

A chunk of the squad are 30+ and we have very little aged 25-29. We can't just stop blooding players just because there's a number of younger lads already in there. We have to keep bringing players through as there's plenty of spaces to be filled in the next couple of years.

I agree that we have to continue bring in players, Im just making the point that its unfair to say that he is not giving consideration to the future. I also dont think there are any glaring omissions right now. I can see Coventry, Hodge, Connell, Azaz, Lyons, Ebosele, Moran, Zefi and Cannon all being in consideration in the not too distant future. Cannon obviously has the most immediate possibility based on current form, but I dont think its a disgrace that any of the others are not picked just yet.

16/03/2023, 5:34 PM
I'd say Johnston is being brought in to train and have a look, I'd say zero chance of involvement in France game, slight chance he gets a few minutes against Latvia. I'd say Keane may have only scraped in with the doubt over Idah. Manning is obviously not favoured, and not rated or trusted by management and it's a marginal call anyway. There's no glaring omission, Hourihane is gone and that was the main change most of us hoped to see. There's a strong starting 11 in there, and there's still a lot of inexperienced players who will benefit from the Latvia game.

I think a draw against France is definitely achievable. If we roll over and get a hammering then that's it for Kenny. A surprise win and the sky is the limit again!

16/03/2023, 8:15 PM
Yeah, for me it's more about the Latvia game than the France one in terms of the squad picks. I think the XI for France are more or less there alright, as long as he picks them (I'm not as sold on Manning as many others seem to be).

But the Latvia game just feels like a wasted opportunity already now, other than getting another cap for Ferguson and hopefully seeing Smallbone get a start.
Ferguson gets a good 45 mins, Smallbone gets a good run, Sykes too. They all do well. Hardly a waste?

I maintain my view that while I’m underwhelmed, there are still iterations of what’s available that could be very interesting.

And I don’t get the general criticism of still relying on Coleman and Doherty. Coleman has shown lately that he’s a seriously good player. Doherty’s lack of game time is a worry, but is a fit-but-not-match-fit Doherty worse than Manning, COD, McNamara, Lyons option on either side? Debatable.

I’m hopeful. I think our pacy forwards can cause trouble if used well and if the ball falls their way. I believe in our young defenders. I think Egan can play at a higher level than he does. I love how Cullen plays. And France always have some poor results in qualification.

16/03/2023, 8:41 PM
Still wont answer the question. Since you want to play like the days of Jack I assume you have players in mind to suit that.

Don't waste your time Razor. He'll ignore this like he does everything and just return with another trolling one-line anti-Kenny snipe in a few days or so.

16/03/2023, 9:14 PM
My Charlton comment was genuine. Your reply was nonsense. Own it and move on.
Answer the question

16/03/2023, 10:06 PM
McGrath is a head shaker and Johnston has not earned a place in our squad yet.

edit: I said disappointing - I'm going to upgrade that to a "fckn brutal". About as conservative as it could have been. How in gods name is Johnston in our squad now?[/QUOTE]

I said on the Coventry thread there'd be no major surprises in inclusions/exclusions or others. Why are people surprised here? This is Kenny. I don't think it's fair to act differently like it's another stick to beat him with. He's been consistent. His backers have clearly said, as kenny himself has that he was building to 2024 qualifying campaign. Why would he be making changes to his squad now at this stage, bar Johnston he isn't and he has stuck to his word. I get the feeling there's people the other side of the river trying to find any means to get across now.

He knows he needs a decent result against France and he's doing that by ensuring a settled squad where everyone knows what's expected of them and how to play the game he wants. The focus will be on France from the get go. The one wildcard is a good motivational tool to bring in that element of surprise into the group. I don't think anyone can say this wasn't expected, hed made it clear johnston was getting in and as we'd all said before the whole way it appeared a month before france was proof of that.

Snapshot
16/03/2023, 11:12 PM
Cannon or Ogbene in 4-5-1.

16/03/2023, 11:17 PM
I said on the Coventry thread there'd be no major surprises in inclusions/exclusions or others. Why are people surprised here? This is Kenny. I don't think it's fair to act differently like it's another stick to beat him with. He's been consistent. His backers have clearly said, as kenny himself has that he was building to 2024 qualifying campaign. Why would he be making changes to his squad now at this stage, bar Johnston he isn't and he has stuck to his word. I get the feeling there's people the other side of the river trying to find any means to get across now.

He knows he needs a decent result against France and he's doing that by ensuring a settled squad where everyone knows what's expected of them and how to play the game he wants. The focus will be on France from the get go. The one wildcard is a good motivational tool to bring in that element of surprise into the group. I don't think anyone can say this wasn't expected, hed made it clear johnston was getting in and as we'd all said before the whole way it appeared a month before france was proof of that.
Evan Ferguson is also a new call up to a competitive qualifier squad and what about Sykes and Smallbone?
I count 4 newcomers in all. Friendly minutes don't count in the scheme of things

16/03/2023, 11:45 PM

Why quote me Paul? :) I said elsewhere, maybe this thread and others, that I thought there was a natural point here to stick or twist (show conservatism or stay true to his mission) and that I’d have hoped for a few other names in there. I thought Manning was a cert (not a new name but a form call) and had hopes for Szmodics or Azaz ahead of McGrath (form calls). SK signalled Johnston but I don’t think any of can say that there’s much evidence it’s the right call. The rationale doesn’t land with me (we have Ogbene as a wide right option). As exgrad pointed out very hilariously, these aren’t really difference makers against that French squad but those are 3-4 players I’d have liked to see in there and where, I thought, with Latvia to play, the timing would make some sense. The spine of what’s got him to this point (a preferred 11-15 players) would still be left intact with those changes.

Who’s on what side of this river of yours by the way? :)

CraftyToePoke
16/03/2023, 11:57 PM
edit: I said disappointing - I'm going to upgrade that to a "fckn brutal". About as conservative as it could have been. How in gods name is Johnston in our squad now?

I don't see it Stu, the brutality, in truth.

Sykes / Smallbone / Ferguson are all very new, all without a competitive cap in fact. He wants to look at Johnston & with Smallbone knocking around a similar creative area of the field, at least he knows what he'll get from McGrath, if you get me ? The other two are completely unproven.

Keane is underwhelming but we aren't exactly leaving an Ibrahimovic at home for him, the only maybe would be Cannon & Ferguson looks better, simply put & you can't blood them all with France looming ( well you can but that would suit France fine ) & that's if Cannon was ready & willing to play senior for us, at this stage, whatever Crawford has said.

Browne is there, but he also has a few goals to his name. I wish we had better, but do we ? Hourihane isn't there & Brady saved Kennys job with a penalty recently & he's not there despite starting Saturday for his club.

McLean is there, Manning isn't. McLean hates the other team having the football, Manning doesn't seem too bothered, let's a lot of runners go past if you notice. Again.... France ... etc. Ideally neither, ideally we have better than both, but we don't.

Travers is lucky IMO, O'Leary & Bonham both actually playing. But its cones duty third keeper we're talking about there, it's not going to impact much

My one gripe would be not looking at Coventry or Hodge for the Cullen role because I sure as s h i t wouldn't like to see any of the others trying to do it anymore, and I think a two yellow suspension for Cullen is likely through the group, he'll be dealing with somebody else's fu ck up giving away possession a lot.

Yes there are players we'd ideally not be needing to pick in this squad, but what's equally key is the lads who didn't make it all need to do more, in fairness.

It was never going to be out with all the old & in with all the new for a potentially tenure ending game v the WC finalists. We've got to keep France honest.

17/03/2023, 12:18 AM
Well firstly… this is not the first time I’ve gone a little bit OTT and dramatic on here :) and hands up, a bit guilty again on that count, in retrospect.

That said, as per my post above, it’s about 3-4 players who possibly only make sense against Latvia for the reasons you and others point out abou staying competitive v France. But… you still have a Kenny appropriate 11 v France.

Bazunu
Doherty
Egan
Collins
O’Shea
McClean
Cullen
Molumby
Knight
Obafemi
Parrott

Bench still strong too in that respect, includes:

Kelleher, Travers, Omobamidele, Hendrick, Browne, Ferguson, Keane, Ogbene and rest of the boys

Only gets hairy if you don’t trust Manning (point is fair enough) as you’re a bit light to cover McClean (Doherty serviceable). And maybe in the McGrath role of it is too soon for Sykes or Azaz and too late for Szmodics.

Anyway…I still think it’s a fair concern but is it “fckin brutal”? Nah.

CraftyToePoke
17/03/2023, 12:47 AM
Azaz is interesting but its division three, Curtis looked great there, Harness for a bit, Scully did enough to get a move up & promptly vanished. Clubs generally in that league don't have much by way of international players, whereas clubs in the Championship do. Its a big jump, between those two & I'm ok with seeing how his game translates higher up before hammering Kenny there.