View Full Version : Attendances 2023 (Size of away support )
Pages :
[
1]
nr637
22/02/2023, 10:47 PM
Hi all, I thought it would be interesting to keep an eye on the away support at games as most home attendance figures get a real boost from some teams. Going on the opening games this season, here is a rough estimate.
Premier
Cork v Bohs 700
St. Pats v Derry 4/500
Shels v Drogheda 2/300
Dundalk v UCD 25/30
Sligo v Rovers 4/500
First
Wexford v Waterford 800
Kerry v Cobh 25/30
Longford v Athlone 100/200
Treaty v Bray 50
Finn Harps v Galway 100/200
Anyone with further info or were at a game might care to add.
Olander
22/02/2023, 10:50 PM
Definitely wasn't anywhere near 200 Galway United fans in Ballybofey for a start. There was about 60-70 standing out in the ****ing rain on the TV gantry side of the ground and maybe 20-30 or so on the stand side. Probably 100 at most.
Fair play to Harps, they had a fantastic crowd at the game. There was a good buzz around the place.
2 Year Contract
22/02/2023, 11:44 PM
Think I counted 7 UCD fans in the away section looking at a video of it. Plus another couple in the stand.
Also the away terrace in Tolka holds 800 or 900 I believe, Drogheda appeared to have filled a decent bit of it, I’d guesstimate closer to 400ish (again, just from watching the highlights that is)
thebronze14
23/02/2023, 8:20 AM
Definitely wasn't anywhere near 200 Galway United fans in Ballybofey for a start. There was about 60-70 standing out in the ****ing rain on the TV gantry side of the ground and maybe 20-30 or so on the stand side. Probably 100 at most.
Fair play to Harps, they had a fantastic crowd at the game. There was a good buzz around the place.
Yeah this is about right. Was defo one or two in the shed alright. Not a bad crowd from ye for the night in it and the journey
D24Saint
23/02/2023, 9:40 AM
Id say 400/500 looks about right for the Derry fans last friday.
Shearer
23/02/2023, 12:59 PM
25 Bray fans
redobit
23/02/2023, 2:25 PM
Probably the only disadvantage to LOI TV is that it is hitting away numbers. There is definitely a fall off on fans travelling Id say. Clubs that are going for trophies might sustain their away numbers.
If the option is to drive to Oriel from for a few hours to stand in the pi$$ing rain or to flick on the TV and have a beer in the house and watch the game. No much of a decision there.
Think I counted 7 UCD fans in the away section looking at a video of it. Plus another couple in the stand.
Also the away terrace in Tolka holds 800 or 900 I believe, Drogheda appeared to have filled a decent bit of it, I’d guesstimate closer to 400ish (again, just from watching the highlights that is)
When they scored it was exceptionally quiet, would say 15 tops away support which actually makes the overall attendance of 3,100 more impressive.
2 Year Contract
23/02/2023, 3:09 PM
If the option is to drive to Oriel from for a few hours to stand in the pi$$ing rain or to flick on the TV and have a beer in the house and watch the game. No much of a decision there.
Agree with you there, getting soaked at the match hands down every time
23/02/2023, 3:10 PM
Rule of thumb - when my team are away from home the travelling support estimates are worth triple the estimates of travelling support at home games.
It certainly would be interesting to see the figures but without official figures guestimates are always with some bias. Maybe some sort of trend could be extrapolated from averages at season end or from UCD at home as a baseline figure of home support (Sorry UCD fan).
23/02/2023, 7:37 PM
Id say 400/500 looks about right for the Derry fans last friday.
Commentary said 600. That's about the maximum you could expect from us this season, bar going to Harps or maybe Sligo.
Dermobohs
23/02/2023, 8:16 PM
Apparently cork shifted some bohs fans into the away section who had home tickets, so maybe another 50 or so? City would be best placed to guess than us I’d say.
Probably the only disadvantage to LOI TV is that it is hitting away numbers. There is definitely a fall off on fans travelling Id say. Clubs that are going for trophies might sustain their away numbers.
Option for 150 or so seats in main stand for away fans, plus is there much of a difference for away fans at Pats with no cover, same with Shels, slightly better view, still get soaked.
Don't get me wrong, what DFC have to offer away fans is poor, very poor, but Tolka and Richmond not the best either on a wet night.
sbgawa
24/02/2023, 7:06 AM
[/B]
Option for 150 or so seats in main stand for away fans, plus is there much of a difference for away fans at Pats with no cover, same with Shels, slightly better view, still get soaked.
Don't get me wrong, what DFC have to offer away fans is poor, very poor, but Tolka and Richmond not the best either on a wet night.
Im sure it was some jobsworth health and safety guy who got the shed taken down in inchicore but it is such a shame.
Loved the noise coming out from it and i dont think the health and safety guy was factoring in the health of people watching games i ****ing rain ;)
24/02/2023, 7:59 AM
Hi all, I thought it would be interesting to keep an eye on the away support at games as most home attendance figures get a real boost from some teams. Going on the opening games this season, here is a rough estimate.
Premier
Cork v Bohs 700
St. Pats v Derry 4/500
Shels v Drogheda 2/300
Dundalk v UCD 25/30
Sligo v Rovers 4/500
First
Wexford v Waterford 800
Kerry v Cobh 25/30
Longford v Athlone 100/200
Treaty v Bray 50
Finn Harps v Galway 100/200
Anyone with further info or were at a game might care to add.
Defo nothing like 100/200 athlone, think they sold around 40 away tickets. Few more volunteers or whatever there.
Thanks, thats great.
Always better from someone who was actually at the game, thanks.
Defo nothing like 100/200 athlone, think they sold around 40 away tickets. Few more volunteers or whatever there.
Nice one from someone who was there.
2 Year Contract
24/02/2023, 8:40 AM
Always better from someone who was actually at the game, thanks.
I agree, although I did specify twice in the post that I was just basing my estimates off highlights videos of the game (as I wasn’t at either) :)
After some reviews, here is an update,
Cork v Bohs 700 (+ another 50 in the stand seated)
St. Pats v Derry 4/500 (maybe closer to 600)
Shels v Drogheda 2/300 (maybe up to 400)
Dundalk v UCD 25/30 (about 15)
Sligo v Rovers 4/500
First
Wexford v Waterford 800 (some away fans say closer to 1,000 travelling fans)
Kerry v Cobh 25/30
Longford v Athlone 100/200 (about 40 away tickets sold)
Treaty v Bray 50 (15 counted)
Finn Harps v Galway 100/200 (maybe 100 at best)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/02/2023, 2:40 PM
Think we gave Shams 500 tickets for last week and they sold them all. They sold the 600 Drogs gave them this week.
2 Year Contract
24/02/2023, 3:43 PM
Shels still have a couple of hundred unsold away tickets for tonight which is poor but not unexpected
25/02/2023, 12:22 AM
Around 70/80 Harps fans in Athlone.
ger121
25/02/2023, 1:12 AM
450 of course from Dundalk
About 20 Longford fans in Waterford.
SPXcyan
25/02/2023, 8:45 AM
Nice to see the buffer zone at the RSC has been greatly reduced to allow for more home fans instead of two empty blocks for most matches.
Olander
25/02/2023, 9:40 AM
Give or take, around 100 fans from Treaty.
2 Year Contract
25/02/2023, 10:10 AM
Around 800 shels fans in inchicore
nr637
25/02/2023, 11:38 AM
Here is an update on advised/estimated away support for Game 2
Premier
Derry v Cork 50+
St. Pats v Shels 800
Bohs v Dundalk 450
Drogheda v Shamrock 800
UCD v Sligo 150
First
Waterford v Longford 50 ish
Bray v Kerry ?
Athlone v Finn Harps 70/80 ish
Cobh v Wexford 50
Galway v Treaty 100
Open to your suggestions.
Ducanto
25/02/2023, 11:58 AM
I was in Bray, hard to gauge how many of us Kerry folk were there as we were mixed in and spread out with the locals in the sideline stand with the press box. Felt like about 80. Somewhere in that figure. Definitely above 50 anyways.
25/02/2023, 9:09 PM
Doesnt include me as I paid into the wrong Block A!
25/02/2023, 11:23 PM
Very generous estimation haha. Then again there were a few family members but in terms of actual supporters there were 5 of us haha.
I was in the section next to you and was hard to know as seemed to be a mix of people in that block. Waterford now have marked seats for first time as well where you are supposed to sit in the exact seat on your ticket. Fair play for coming down anyway.
26/02/2023, 12:19 PM
I was in the section next to you and was hard to know as seemed to be a mix of people in that block. Waterford now have marked seats for first time as well where you are supposed to sit in the exact seat on your ticket. Fair play for coming down anyway.
Yeah was a mix, had a good bit of craic with some blues fans behind us, think some of them were players parents too.
2 Year Contract
27/02/2023, 10:25 AM
Total allocation of 550 away tickets sold out by Pats for Friday’s trip to Oriel. Link for tickets was sent to season ticket holders over the weekend and were snapped up with none going on general sale
joey B
27/02/2023, 7:09 PM
850 Bohs tickets for Tolka Park sold out in 6 minutes…
ger121
27/02/2023, 8:42 PM
850 Bohs tickets for Tolka Park sold out in 6 minutes…
They’ve also been buying them in the home ends the last few days. Could be a very big away support come Friday.
culloty82
01/03/2023, 11:16 AM
Treaty have taken up their whole allocation for Friday, so assuming the 10% rule applies, that would be 120-140 fans travelling to Tralee.
Here is an update on advised/estimated away support for Game 2Premier
Derry v Cork 50+
St. Pats v Shels 800
Bohs v Dundalk 450
Drogheda v Shamrock 800
UCD v Sligo 150
First
Waterford v Longford 50
Bray v Kerry 80
Athlone v Finn Harps 70/80
Cobh v Wexford 50
Galway v Treaty 100
I don't know where you are getting 50 away fans from for Waterford v Longford. I put down 20 but a Longford fan who was in the away section said was 5 or so there as per thread above.
JC_GUFC
01/03/2023, 3:40 PM
Treaty have taken up their whole allocation for Friday, so assuming the 10% rule applies, that would be 120-140 fans travelling to Tralee.
A Treaty fan told me they were given 100.
I don't know where you are getting 50 away fans from for Waterford v Longford. I put down 20 but a Longford fan who was in the away section said was 5 or so there as per thread above.
Here is an update on advised/estimated away support for Game 2.
Premier
Derry v Cork 50+
St. Pats v Shels 800
Bohs v Dundalk 450
Drogheda v Shamrock 800
UCD v Sligo 150
First
Waterford v Longford 20?
Bray v Kerry 80
Athlone v Finn Harps 70/80
Cobh v Wexford 50
Galway v Treaty 100
01/03/2023, 10:17 PM
Yeah there were 4 of us in the away end, Martinho ended up in home end and there were a few players families down the front. 20 would be the max for sure.
joey B
02/03/2023, 7:49 PM
1,100 tickets for Bohs at Pats next week.....
2 Year Contract
02/03/2023, 8:57 PM
1,100 tickets for Bohs at Pats next week.....
Yep, that’s the allocation given to all away fans in Inchicore, 900 in the shed end and 200ish in the stand. Having said that, rovers were the only ones to sell out the allocation last year. This year it sounds like Bohs will probably join them in that but I’d imagine that'll be it
Glen Of Aherlow
02/03/2023, 9:37 PM
Yep, that’s the allocation given to all away fans in Inchicore, 900 in the shed end and 200ish in the stand. Having said that, rovers were the only ones to sell out the allocation last year. This year it sounds like Bohs will probably join them in that but I’d imagine that'll be it
Is there any way something can be done regarding that ? It’s 25% of capacity give or take which was fair enough when we weren’t selling out but now it’s a different story .
kksaints
02/03/2023, 9:59 PM
Is there any way something can be done regarding that ? It’s 25% of capacity give or take which was fair enough when we weren’t selling out but now it’s a different story .
We tried allowing our fans in the shed end for a few matches against UCD and Derry last year I think and while there was no issues with UCD, there was a few verbals and maybe some stuff thrown when we played Derry so I can't imagine the club are too keen on having both sets of fans in the shed end with little separating them.
2 Year Contract
02/03/2023, 11:59 PM
We tried allowing our fans in the shed end for a few matches against UCD and Derry last year I think and while there was no issues with UCD, there was a few verbals and maybe some stuff thrown when we played Derry so I can't imagine the club are too keen on having both sets of fans in the shed end with little separating them.
Those games were both on a trial basis and when there was no away fans in the shed. Derry had less than 200 so were all housed in the main stand so any away crowd over 200 and it’s a non runner. Coupled with the security issues mentioned, I can’t see it being a runner in most cases unfortunately.
It’s a similar situation to what Bohs have had the last couple of years where their demand for tickets has exceeded the Jodi stand yet away fans in the Des Kelly got 900 tickets and barring pats and rovers games it was never full. Bohs luckily had the empty space on the side of the pitch where the new stand is though. I can’t see any other potential workaround in Richmond's current state sadly
I'd say around 40 Galway fans in the RSC and they made decent noise.