View Full Version : News & Facts about London bombings
Babysis
07/07/2005, 8:39 AM
Taken from sky news here (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1188265,00.html)
There has been an explosion at London's Liverpool Street Station, according to reports.
The blast happened at Aldgate East station on the Metropolitan and Circle Lines.
The explosion was caused by "some kind of power surge", according to Tube infrastructure company Metronet, which is responsible for maintaining the Metropolitan line.
A spokesman said: "We don't know the extent of the problem yet."
A London Ambulance Service spokeswoman said: "We have just sent some resources out to the scene."
British Transport Police confirmed that there are "walking wounded" and said paramedics have responded to one report of a person classed as "life at risk".
"It's chaos, with people trying to work out what has happened," said a spokesman.
"All we know at the moment is that staff reported a loud bang at 8.49am. No one is sure what caused an explosion, but it is thought it could have been a collision, a power cut, or a power cable problem."
King's Cross, St Pancras, Liverpool Street, Stratford and Aldgate East stations have all been evacuated.
I hope no one on here is affected. Was a nightmare getting in today, explains why
Babysis
07/07/2005, 8:57 AM
They have just updated it now to say that there have been a number of explosions at Kings cross, edgeware road, old street, aldgate and liverpool street. they have shut the entire network.
07/07/2005, 9:12 AM
"All we know at the moment is that staff reported a loud bang at 8.49am.
that sounds strange cos the picadillydally wasnt running at 8:20
hmm something fishy giong on here.
07/07/2005, 9:15 AM
Power surges....nothing sinister
Babysis
07/07/2005, 9:17 AM
BLASTS ON TUBES AND BUS
According to reports a bus has exploded in central London just minutes after a number of blasts on London's Underground.
"I saw lots of people running up a road and then saw the top of a bus destroyed," one eyewitness told Sky News.
Sky News producer Bob Mills said he heard the loud explosion near Euston Station.
Scotland Yard could not confirm reports of an explosion on a bus in Russell Square. A spokeswoman said police were at the scene and attempting to determine what had happened.
The entire Tube network has been shut down following the blasts at Aldgate, Edgware Road, King's Cross, Old Street and Russell Square.
It is understood several people have been wounded in the underground blasts, with one unconfirmed eyewitness telling Sky News he saw "bodies on the line".
British Transport Police confirmed there are "walking wounded" and said paramedics have responded to one report of a person classed as "life at risk".
"It's chaos, with people trying to work out what has happened," said a spokesman.
Blast happened at Aldgate
One witness said the packed underground train he was on was 200 metres from King's Cross when there was a huge flash.
The train stopped and people were using umberellas to smash windows of the trains. Passengers were led out of the train by underground staff.
He added people were milling around King's Cross covered in soot.
Clare Benson, 33, a city banker from Kensington, was on a tube at Edware Road where the second incident took place.
"I was in the last carriage at the back of the train nearest the tunnel when I heard a huge bang - you could feel it," she said.
"The lights went off for a couple of minutes and people were scared and wondering what to do.
"The drivers got out and were looking into the tunnel, then they announced that we should evacuate. My ears are still ringing and I was shaking."
Story now updated (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1188265,00.html)............
An explosion has "ripped a bus apart" just minutes after a number of blasts on London's Underground.
Looking more and more sinister ! :eek:
07/07/2005, 9:33 AM
ya nothing sinister here, a bus powered by petrol blows up because of a power surge.. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Babysis
07/07/2005, 9:37 AM
ya nothing sinister here, a bus powered by petrol blows up because of a power surge.. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
all mobiles are doen, cant contact anyone. Have you spoken to bridget. there are now unconfirmed reports of 3-5 more explosions on buses, but its hopefully just chinese whispers. Can see the helicopter at Kings cross from here in soho. really started to get a tad concerned now. Looks like cabs home whenever that is
07/07/2005, 9:39 AM
lou, now you just say that, you know i rang i cant get through either, which means she isnt in work, cos she has to get a bus around russel square, emailed no resposne. just a little concerned as well. but prolly nothing.
no peadar on here giving out!!!! i wonder where he is!!! :eek:
07/07/2005, 9:53 AM
My sister's family are all present and accounted for, thank god.
Paul, I don't want to see any more sarcasm or smart comments (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=308217&postcount=7) in this thread, people with relations in the UK have enough to contend with. I'll ban you instantly and permanently if there's even a whiff of it.
Babysis
07/07/2005, 9:56 AM
I cant get in contact with peadar, and lopez is a tube driver. Im sure they are fine, and Im sure alot of the reports are just chinese whispers. But We are all pretty worried here. Paul, im sure bridget is fine and tryn to get in contact with you, but alol the phones are down. If anyone does get in contact with anyone else let us know. Pat O, Lopez, sylvo, Peadar,
Frank Blue
07/07/2005, 9:58 AM
Just emailed my brother about what is happening. He's been most fortunate, as he's a rail engineer and had been meant to be going to London this afternoon/evening to have a look around the network.
Got CNN on and everything seems confused.
07/07/2005, 10:01 AM
Twenty dead according to the BBC just now. May God rest them.
:ball: PP
07/07/2005, 10:03 AM
Bless them. RIP.
Eire06
07/07/2005, 10:05 AM
are all the phone networks down in London can't get through to my friend at all really worried cause he always uses the tube, but he sould be in work by now..sending mails to him since I heard about it but no response
sylvo
07/07/2005, 10:05 AM
Lopez is up in Neasden at the depo, he's not driving at the moment he's stuck in the office, he's grand.
07/07/2005, 10:07 AM
are all the phone networks down in London can't get through to my friend at all really worried cause he always uses the tube, but he sould be in work by now..sending mails to him since I heard about it but no response
I'm having no joy at all trying to use my mobile in west London, but that may be because my phone is a crock of shîte.
07/07/2005, 10:09 AM
all phones down,
LADS THIS IS SERIOUS>
one of the lads at work girlfriend saw one of the buses, she said completely destroyed and bodies flown all over the place, she said there was loads dead from that blast. so this is pretty fooken seroius. i dont usually panic or think too much about these things but this is serious enough, has anyone emailed peadar?
STILL cant get through to bridget....and she isnt answering her email....
07/07/2005, 10:11 AM
I'm ok. Was on the train in Aldgate that exploded.
Can't really talk about it now.
07/07/2005, 10:13 AM
Twenty dead according to the BBC just now. May God rest them.
Talk about confusion. Now they're saying "nothing confirmed". Who knows? :confused:
Pat O' Banton
07/07/2005, 10:13 AM
Was a bit worried about that Peadar, glad to here your sound.
07/07/2005, 10:14 AM
I'm ok. Was on the train in Aldgate that exploded.
Can't really talk about it now.
just glad to hear you're alright man
Drumcondra Red
07/07/2005, 10:14 AM
Can't seem to get through to my sister, but I assume she's ok, she lives in Luton but sometimes goes into central London, I think/ hope she's ok, I'd say she's just in work blissfully unaware of whats going on!
07/07/2005, 10:15 AM
Paul, I don't want to see any more sarcasm or smart comments in this thread, people with relations in the UK have enough to contend with. I'll ban you instantly and permanently if there's even a whiff of it.
adam i was trying to put into context how serious it was, i live here i cant get through to people, someone very close to me i.e. my g/f so please dont tell me how serious/people have to contend with i know.
anyhow thats irrelevant, lets just hope there isnt too many casualties. HAS ANYONE EMAILED PEADAR???
Shít, I didnt hear about this until I flicked on to the thread.
Glad to hear your Ok Peadar, hopefully everyone else is too.
Pat O' Banton
07/07/2005, 10:17 AM
anyhow thats irrelevant, lets just hope there isnt too many casualties. HAS ANYONE EMAILED PEADAR???
He's just posted Paul.
Eire06
07/07/2005, 10:18 AM
HAS ANYONE EMAILED PEADAR???
Peadar is safe, he was on one of the trains
07/07/2005, 10:19 AM
:eek: ya sorry was emailing there. still no email from bridget, maybe she just wouldnt go into work? :confused:
peadar whast happened? why cant ye talk, work or are you oK? you shouldnt be in work, if things were as bad on that train as people here are saying. :( :eek:
Pat O' Banton
07/07/2005, 10:20 AM
ya sorry was emailing there. still no email from bridget, maybe she just wouldnt go into work? :confused:
Try from a landline, I just got through to my sister (to her mobile) from the landline at work.
Eire06
07/07/2005, 10:20 AM
ya sorry was emailing there. still no email from bridget, maybe she just wouldnt go into work? :confused:
All public transport is down so maybe she couldn't..
Hope she is ok Paul,
07/07/2005, 10:22 AM
i am ringing from a landline. ah ya sure she is ok, just strange she isnt emailing.
did ye get through to your mate eire06?
Eire06
07/07/2005, 10:27 AM
did ye get through to your mate eire06?
Thank god he's ok
Ya he just rang me there...
We got cut off in the middle of the conversation, all phone lines including land lines are going up and down..
Hope you get to hear from her Paul its a scary time
Drumcondra Red
07/07/2005, 10:30 AM
Can't seem to get through to my sister, but I assume she's ok, she lives in Luton but sometimes goes into central London, I think/ hope she's ok, I'd say she's just in work blissfully unaware of whats going on!
Phew, I think my Mam got through to her! Thats good!
no havent got through yet to her yet....
thats good news!
Babysis
We cant leave the office at the moment. We are beside oxford cisus tube abd carnaby st. Everyone seems to be accounted for, thank god. We dont know whats going on.
swinfordfc
07/07/2005, 10:31 AM
Glad to hear ye ok ppl thank god
07/07/2005, 10:34 AM
phew, sorry for the selfishness but:
"Just to let you know that Bridget is OK. She has been on a tube for 2 hours at Arsenal but has now gone to a friend of her Mother’s to recover before trying to get home."
good news. hopefully everyone else has got in contact with there relations etc.
someone said 90 casualties in total, dont think that means deaths though.
rebs23
07/07/2005, 10:36 AM
Lads are all mobile and landlines down in london at the moment lads, can't get through to relations?
Eire06
07/07/2005, 10:37 AM
Lads are all mobile and landlines down in london at the moment lads, can't get through to relations?
All mobiles are down as far as I know and Landlines are dodgy, going down the whole time..
keep trying and you'll eventually get through
07/07/2005, 10:39 AM
peadar whast happened? why cant ye talk, work or are you oK? you shouldnt be in work, if things were as bad on that train as people here are saying.
I'd say he's in shock, Paul. Give him time.
Jim Smith
07/07/2005, 10:40 AM
Just got news that my sister is OK - she was at Kings Cross. She only managed to contact my mother a few moments ago to let her know so the communications situation seems to be chaotic just now.
From the bbc...
A spokesman for Vodafone said emergency services were being given priority access to the mobile phone network which was causing problems for other users
07/07/2005, 10:41 AM
ya sorry PP, he told me though yesterday that he wouldnt be able use the internet much, so i thought taht was the reason. sorry. :(
pa hope your ok. aldgate seemed to be less serious than the buses though fingers crossed.
Lads are all mobile and landlines down in london at the moment lads, can't get through to relations?I don't think they're completely down, its just that everyone is trying to use their phone at the same time. I sent a text to my friend and got a delivery report, but haven't received a text back. I think this is down to the network being busy, rather than something bad having happenned. All a bit unnerving, though. :(
I don't think they're completely down, its just that everyone is trying to use their phone at the same time. I sent a text to my friend and got a delivery report, but haven't received a text back. I think this is down to the network being busy, rather than something bad having happenned. All a bit unnerving, though. :(
everyone will be texting relations to check and see if they're ok - that can overload the network - similar thing with news websites - they're being overloaded with traffic as people try to get some info
sylvo
07/07/2005, 10:46 AM
Without going off topic, I which these so called experts when they talk to the media about whats happened will give the facts as they unfold instead of making up story's and talking garbage, just heard some so called expert talking about who may have done this has come up that it may be dissident Irish chuckys, as has been posted from Peader there are a few people on here who have been caught up in whats happened, and it has brought back nasty memorys. If these people don't know whats going on they should keep their mouths shut and take note of whats happening and of the shocking carnage instead of making up storys which just cause more problems for innocent people.
07/07/2005, 10:47 AM
Dreadful news. Completely shocked when I turned on the TV this morning - I'd kinda forgotten that London was a very high profile terrorist target.
Mobile lines are fecked - trying to get in touch with various people. One friend was on what she described as "the bombed train" and was stuck in a smoke-filled carriage for 2 hours, and now can't get home. Am tempted to drive-in to give her a lift, but the roads will all be fecked as well.
Glad to hear all from foot.ie are accounted for.
Terrible, terrible stuff.....
Frank Blue
07/07/2005, 10:48 AM
Without going off topic, I which these so called experts when they talk to the media about whats happened will give the facts as they unfold instead of making up story's and talking garbage, just heard some so called expert talking about who may have done this has come up that it may be dissident Irish chuckys, as has been posted from Peader there are a few people on here who have been caught up in whats happened, and it has brought back nasty memorys. If these people don't know whats going on they should keep their mouths shut and take note of whats happening and of the shocking carnage instead of making up storys which just cause more problems for innocent people.
well said.
Tony B is staying in Scotland with his G8 chums, but making a broadcast in 15mins.
Babysis
07/07/2005, 10:48 AM
ya sorry PP, he told me though yesterday that he wouldnt be able use the internet much, so i thought taht was the reason. sorry. :(
pa hope your ok. aldgate seemed to be less serious than the buses though fingers crossed.
I think he just needs to be left to deal with it. They are reporting aldgate as being one of the worst. I dont know. it just seems like there is more to come - I hope to god thats not true.
Frank Blue
07/07/2005, 10:51 AM
I think he just needs to be left to deal with it. They are reporting aldgate as being one of the worst. I dont know. it just seems like there is more to come - I hope to god thats not true.
CNN just said the 2 confirmed deaths were at Aldgate.