View Full Version : News & Facts about London bombings
07/07/2005, 1:46 PM
ya it does put things into perspective, i mean i usually head in on that tube into kings cross, but i was late today ( cos of last night!!!! thank god i stayed for the extra drink ;) ), just to add to that as well, that i dont think the actual staff knew what had happend because they tried to open up the line again, they didnt realise that people were injured etc, and this was at about 8:45.
07/07/2005, 1:47 PM
Paul I take it by now your Canary Wharf story was not true?
07/07/2005, 1:51 PM
well i dont know, i mean maybe they are just not coming out with it, but thats what i was told. :o
07/07/2005, 1:52 PM
I'm flying to Moscow tomorrow morning and now have to walk into Farringdon to pick up my passport (with the necessary visa) from the travel agency. It's a fifteen-mile round trip, and not one I'm at all looking forward to.
:ball: PP
Eire06
07/07/2005, 1:53 PM
Has anyone heard from Peadar since.
Is he ok?
hope he is
07/07/2005, 1:57 PM
just regarding the bus -I've seen pictures of it from in front and behind and it's like a John West salmon tin that someone has peeled open. The whole back of the bus is gone and the roof is on the road either side of it. I've seen pictures in the past of buses bombed in Israel where no one survived and the bus is relatively intact.
I hope I'm wrong but I find it hard to imagine many walking away from that. Reports claim that some of the dead weren't even on it -rather on the kerb next to it.
Heard nothing about people being shot either.
07/07/2005, 2:05 PM
http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1188285,00.html
There's some pretty revealing pictures of the bus on this page.
07/07/2005, 2:10 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1312719.jpg
I hope the people in the vehicles nearby -particularly the little van with the buses roof lieing on it -made it out okay.
07/07/2005, 2:12 PM
but was knocked off my feet. I looked up and could see people trying to climb down from the top of the bus."
surely thats a good sign?
07/07/2005, 2:15 PM
look at thsi:::::
He said: "I was helping a member of the public with directions when the bus stopped and the driver asked me the name of the street. I told him Tavistock Square and he called me over. Just as I was about to go, I heard the bus explode. In another second I would have been dead. I had to run for my life. I looked back and saw the roof flying over."
Frank Blue
07/07/2005, 2:20 PM
"In the name of God, the merciful, the compassionate, may peace be upon the cheerful one and undaunted fighter, Prophet Muhammad, God's peace be upon him.
Nation of Islam and Arab nation: Rejoice for it is time to take revenge against the British Zionist Crusader government in retaliation for the massacres Britain is committing in Iraq and Afghanistan. The heroic mujahideen have carried out a blessed raid in London. Britain is now burning with fear, terror and panic in its northern, southern, eastern, and western quarters.
We have repeatedly warned the British Government and people. We have fulfilled our promise and carried out our blessed military raid in Britain after our mujahideen exerted strenuous efforts over a long period of time to ensure the success of the raid.
We continue to warn the governments of Denmark and Italy and all the Crusader governments that they will be punished in the same way if they do not withdraw their troops from Iraq and Afghanistan. He who warns is excused.
God says: "You who believe: If ye will aid (the cause of) Allah, He will aid you, and plant your feet firmly."
------------------------------------------------------------------------
(no added comment neccessary from me)
07/07/2005, 2:25 PM
the scariest part with that is that a lot of these guys are well educated and beleive that god is on their side.
back on topic do people not think it was strange that no more fatalities have been mentioned about the bus bomb? and why did that driver ask for directions? was he trying to bomb somewhere else?
07/07/2005, 2:28 PM
Frank where did you get that from?
dcfc_1928
07/07/2005, 2:30 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4660391.stm
Frank where did you get that from?
shedite
07/07/2005, 2:30 PM
back on topic do people not think it was strange that no more fatalities have been mentioned about the bus bomb? and why did that driver ask for directions? was he trying to bomb somewhere else?
It's pretty much all rumours at this point, but it appears that he was probably trying to get into a subway but after the first blast, all subway stations were shut so looks like he decided to blow the bus instead.
07/07/2005, 2:31 PM
Information seems to be settling down now. The Met have just confirmed in a press conference that there were 4 incidents - 3 tube and 1 bus - and 33 confirmed deaths. This doesn't included deaths at the bus incident, which have been confirmed but not enumerated.
07/07/2005, 2:33 PM
Anyone heard from dcfcSteve (Steve Bradley) :o
I just sent him his fanzine to his address in London this morning before I turned on the news :( Would he be on one of the tubes if he was comming from Stockwell?
07/07/2005, 2:36 PM
Dreadful news. Completely shocked when I turned on the TV this morning - I'd kinda forgotten that London was a very high profile terrorist target.
Mobile lines are fecked - trying to get in touch with various people. One friend was on what she described as "the bombed train" and was stuck in a smoke-filled carriage for 2 hours, and now can't get home. Am tempted to drive-in to give her a lift, but the roads will all be fecked as well.
Glad to hear all from foot.ie are accounted for.
Terrible, terrible stuff.....
He posted earlier
07/07/2005, 2:36 PM
Lads, ye're starting to tick me off now: I don't want to see any Sky News-like rumour and speculation being propogated here, just facts. I'm not kidding, if I see one more post like the one about the bus driver I'll lock this thread and you'll have to take discussion on this subject to another site. We're not running a rumour mill here.
07/07/2005, 2:43 PM
Cheers for the fanzine and for asking Troy.
I'm safe aand well, as was working form home this morning. My local tube station was closed in a bomb alert earlier.
Have just heard from a friend who was on one of the carriages when the bomb went of in Edgeware Rd. Apart from being covered in black soot and her throat being fecked from smoke, she's alright. Took her 2 hours to get out of the tube, and then she had to walk back home to South Ken in high heels. She was saying that the news seems to be focusing on Aldgate, but she saw absolute carnage at Edgeware and reckons there'll be a lot of casualties coming out of there.
Any more word from Peader anyone ?
07/07/2005, 2:47 PM
45 people confirmed dead now according to Sky
07/07/2005, 2:49 PM
Good to see you're ok Steve.
--------------------------
From RTE
Police in London have said at least 33 people were killed in a series of explosions in the city this morning.
Metropolitan Police Deputy Assistant Commissioner Brian Paddick said there were likely to be more casualties.
Seven people died in the first blast in a tunnel 100yds from Liverpool Street Station,
21 died in a blast at King's Cross/Russell Square and
five died at Edgware Road station in an explosion involving three trains.
------------------
Does that still have to include the bus? :confused: :(
Map here (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4659093.stm#map)
Eire06
07/07/2005, 2:50 PM
45 people confirmed dead now according to Sky
they have changed that number to state at least 33 now
Any more word from Peader anyone ?
I was wondering that too.. he posted this morning but haven't heard anything since, hope he's ok :(
shedite
07/07/2005, 3:13 PM
Apologies for the rumour dahamsta. the news sites seem to be pretty rubbish and all the news I'm gettin are through various forums which obviously are just normal people rather than officials. What sites are the best for keeping up to date? I'm keepin an eye on sky, bbc and breaking news but it's pretty thin news.
07/07/2005, 3:24 PM
The mainstream website updates are atrocious, I guess I'm lucky having the tv right next to me. A breaking news service like BreakingNews.ie (http://www.breakingnews.ie/) is probably your best bet, for the simple reason that they have access to the wires, and of course they're sitting next to a tv just like me!
EDIT: Sky News did the usual this morning, causing more confusion than anything with their reports. The web team's reports were an absolute disgrace.
Also, anyone know if video of Livingstone's speech is available anywhere?
Frank Blue
07/07/2005, 3:48 PM
The mainstream website updates are atrocious, I guess I'm lucky having the tv right next to me. A breaking news service like BreakingNews.ie (http://www.breakingnews.ie/) is probably your best bet, for the simple reason that they have access to the wires, and of course they're sitting next to a tv just like me!
EDIT: Sky News did the usual this morning, causing more confusion than anything with their reports. The web team's reports were an absolute disgrace.
Also, anyone know if video of Livingstone's speech is available anywhere?
http://www.london.gov.uk/mayor/mayor_statement_070705.jsp
But here's the main bit of interest:
I want to say one thing specifically to the world today. This was not a terrorist attack against the mighty and the powerful. It was not aimed at Presidents or Prime Ministers. It was aimed at ordinary, working-class Londoners, black and white, Muslim and Christian, Hindu and Jew, young and old. It was an indiscriminate attempt to slaughter, irrespective of any considerations for age, for class, for religion, or whatever.
That isn't an ideology, it isn't even a perverted faith - it is just an indiscriminate attempt at mass murder and we know what the objective is. They seek to divide Londoners. They seek to turn Londoners against each other. I said yesterday to the International Olympic Committee, that the city of London is the greatest in the world, because everybody lives side by side in harmony. Londoners will not be divided by this cowardly attack. They will stand together in solidarity alongside those who have been injured and those who have been bereaved and that is why I'm proud to be the mayor of that city.
Finally, I wish to speak directly to those who came to London today to take life.
I know that you personally do not fear giving up your own life in order to take others - that is why you are so dangerous. But I know you fear that you may fail in your long-term objective to destroy our free society and I can show you why you will fail.
In the days that follow look at our airports, look at our sea ports and look at our railway stations and, even after your cowardly attack, you will see that people from the rest of Britain, people from around the world will arrive in London to become Londoners and to fulfil their dreams and achieve their potential.
They choose to come to London, as so many have come before because they come to be free, they come to live the life they choose, they come to be able to be themselves. They flee you because you tell them how they should live. They don't want that and nothing you do, however many of us you kill, will stop that flight to our city where freedom is strong and where people can live in harmony with one another. Whatever you do, however many you kill, you will fail.
ColinR
07/07/2005, 4:06 PM
i'm not a fan of ken, but that is an excellent speech
hamish
07/07/2005, 4:51 PM
Adam - I'm not sure about technicalities but my PM quota is used up - is there any way this could be freed up, if you know what I mean. If it costs I'll pay for it.
Reason I'm saying this on thread rather than PMing you is that I'm sure that lots of others on Footie will want to PM friends in London to support and comfort them. I'll try an use email connections if available for each member.
Sincere Apologies if the above doesn't make much sense - I was in hospital all morning and am just getting up to date with the news and horror of it all.
To all my pals in London - my thoughts are with you and I hope none of your family/neighbours/friends are hurt.
I'm not very religious but I'll get a Mass said for you all - it's all I can think of right now.
RIP to those we've lost.
Thinking of you all
Drumcondra Red
07/07/2005, 5:37 PM
SiraHamish, go in and delete all your messages!!!
thanks for the PM, my sister rang at lunch time, she's fine as is the brother in law, thankfully! She pregnant too, so it would have been a real disaster!!!
07/07/2005, 5:51 PM
What Drumcondra Red said sirhamish, just delete some of your older messages.
07/07/2005, 5:58 PM
Good to hear nobody from Foot.ie has been affected by this directly or even indirectly yet (apart from the inconvenience of course).
I'll never forget what I saw, heard, tasted, smelled of felt.
I can't talk about this.
hamish
07/07/2005, 6:00 PM
What Drumcondra Red said sirhamish, just delete some of your older messages.
Thanks Drumcondra Red and thanks also Dahamsta - have done - sorry to be such a nuisance.
Glad to hear your sister and brother in law are ok. D Red.
My relations over there are ok too - two are in police and obviously not contactable for obvious reasons but family said they're ok.
May God forgive those responsible.
hamish
07/07/2005, 6:01 PM
I'll never forget what I saw, heard, tasted, smelled of felt.
I can't talk about this.
Peadar - we're all with you right now.
God help you.
07/07/2005, 6:03 PM
[QUOTE=Peadar
I can't talk about this.[/QUOTE]
You don't have to mate. We are all glad you are alive. PM any of us if you feel the need.
Strangeirish
07/07/2005, 6:04 PM
Ya, all the best Peadar, hope you feel better soon :o
07/07/2005, 6:17 PM
You want to hear something funny!?
After having something so terrifying presented to me on my lap, all I have to worry about is what hotel I can get into tonight. What I saw, what I heard, what I see when I close my eyes, what I taste when I clear my throat, it's something that someone else has been forced to realise. I've not even accepted that I was 2 carriages from the bomb.
The sounds, sights, smells, feeling, these will never leave me.
I can't even close my eyes!
I can still hear the cries of pain and calls for help.
The people that I couldn't help.
I'll never forget the way the incredible people of London cared for me. This will never leave me.
07/07/2005, 6:45 PM
I'm sorry to hear Peadar. There's nothing I can say that could remotely comfort you but you have my sympathies. :(
shedite
07/07/2005, 6:46 PM
Sounds horrific. At least you were two carraiges away! Could have been a lot worse
07/07/2005, 7:05 PM
May God forgive those responsible.
It's not forgiven them I hope he'd do:mad: :mad:
07/07/2005, 7:15 PM
I'm flying to Moscow tomorrow morning and now have to walk into Farringdon to pick up my passport (with the necessary visa) from the travel agency. It's a fifteen-mile round trip, and not one I'm at all looking forward to.
Just back from my marathon hike through the West End, into the City and out again as there were no buses past Notting Hill. I walked in more-or-less a straight line from Uxbridge Road to Holborn and then up Clerkenwell Road to Farringdon. Never seen anything like the crowds I met consistently from about Notting Hill on (i.e. about five miles). Chock solid. And all walking the other way to me.
I took a touch of nerves when I got to Marble Arch and the start of Oxford Street, preferring to cut down Wigmore Street for the best part of a mile, as it runs parallel but is far less crowded. Back onto Tottenham Court Road, which had no traffic but again hundreds of people walking in deathly silence. My route was to have taken me up by Tavistock Square, but I wanted to stay well clear and so walked up Clerkenwell Road to Turnmills club and thence to the agency to pick up my passport with Russian visa. Phew.
People were calm, walking along with what seemed a real sense of purpose. It was hard not to detect a sense of collective wilful amnesia; as if, by a joint effort at distraction, we could all erase the events of today. When it all starts to sink in; when we who live, work and visit London, face our first bus and Tube journeys, whenever they are, we'll no doubt all stop, think and shudder at the thought that it could have been any one of us.
I decided to take the scenic walk home via the back of St Pancras and Camden along the Regents Canal and Grand Union Canal - the though of being amidst too many people was scaring me - too long brooding on it, I guess. It was incident- and paranoia-free, thank God, so I'll leave the commentary there.
- Edit - Peadar, I've just read your post. Thank God you're safe. Good luck and God bless. - :ball: PP
Closed Account 2
07/07/2005, 7:29 PM
Thoughts go out to all those who've lost loved ones etc, and all those with horrific injuries, a sad day.
I was lucky, got off the tube at Moorgate moments before the first of the bombs went off.
has anyone heard from or spoken to liam88?
07/07/2005, 7:40 PM
He is from Guilford, where abouts is that?
hamish
07/07/2005, 7:41 PM
Sent him a PM a good while ago but no post from him yet.
Glad you're unhurt Elmundo.
07/07/2005, 7:43 PM
He is from Guilford, where abouts is that?
Surrey - in the South West of London - well away from any of the bombings.
If he didn't go into the City today he would be fine
07/07/2005, 7:49 PM
I thought that he had answered in this thread, but looking again, he hasnt! :(
He hasnt posted since yesterday & you'd kind of expect him to have posted something up!
Saying that though, isnt he involved with some ambulance group? They are probably up the walls at the moment. Hopefully he's on the right side of the trolly :o
07/07/2005, 7:53 PM
Saying that though, isnt he involved with some ambulance group?
St John Ambulance. They will definitely be called out to major incidents like this. We were put on standby for callout when the flooding hit Dublin a couple of years back, so they'd certainly be involved over there. That said, Liam's only 16 or 17 (assuming 88 is his date of birth), so would either be in cadets or a low-ranking adult, so would at least avoid the worst of the work...
hamish
07/07/2005, 7:54 PM
Saying that though, isnt he involved with some ambulance group? They are probably up the walls at the moment. Hopefully he's on the right side of the trolly :o
Yeah, I recall him mentioning something about that on some post a while back - I'm sure he's being of fantastic service, knowing how good natured a bloke he is.
07/07/2005, 8:00 PM
Yeah, I recall him mentioning something about that on some post a while back - I'm sure he's being of fantastic service, knowing how good natured a bloke he is.
I've left a message on my MSN to get him to page me when (and if) he logs on
07/07/2005, 8:21 PM
What about London Rover? Anyone seen him on or heard from him yet?