View Full Version : News & Facts about London bombings

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

22/07/2005, 10:39 AM
aye good point, but if ye chase someone at least feckin chase him, you know like. maybe i wouldnt cos i actually didnt think about that, and i dont think i would have then but you never know i spose. like at least run with him ( i.e. behind from a short distance or so ) so you can notify police i.e. ring 999, i know keeping composed is the most important things in these situations.

Duffer
22/07/2005, 10:44 AM
keeping composed is the most important things in these situations.

Composure is one thing that would be escaping me if I was living in London at the moment - scary times.

Babysis
22/07/2005, 10:47 AM
aye good point, but if ye chase someone at least feckin chase him, you know like. maybe i wouldnt cos i actually didnt think about that, and i dont think i would have then but you never know i spose. like at least run with him ( i.e. behind from a short distance or so ) so you can notify police i.e. ring 999, i know keeping composed is the most important things in these situations.

Its like most things we all "think" we know how we would react in certain circumstances, but something like this is just crazy and too difficult to imagine how we would react. i for one would like to think Id stay calm and react sensibly, but if God forbid I did or do get caught in it i could be running round like a headless chicken. I think its fair play to those who tried to stop him, because most of us realistically would more than likely be thinking how the hell do i get out of here :eek:

22/07/2005, 10:57 AM
aye horses for courses and all that PP.

its just some people ye think ye know how they would react etc. I always try to stop fights and whatever whether i know the person or not, i always try to do something in sticky situations etc, i would just hope that i would do the same in that situation, whats to stop him running off and doing something somehwere else, where as a bit of thought and common sense could catch him? why chase and then stop and not be able to tell police exactly where he has gone? :confused:

anyhow dont know what its like, hope i never will!

22/07/2005, 11:00 AM
Note that I only said "sometimes" Paul. ;)

I always go by the aphorism that "hindsight is always 20/20". Which of us could truly say what we would do when faced with such a situation? Please God none of us has to find out.

:ball: PP

22/07/2005, 11:09 AM
back home for my brother's stag night, but heard about the attempted bombings yesterday, so glad it didnt come off, but scary times indeed. only been home a few hours and already a few people have advised me not to go back to London, its such an easy option to just leave the city, but panic is what these people want. Really hope this is the last of it.

22/07/2005, 11:11 AM
Which of us could truly say what we would do when faced with such a situation? Please God none of us has to find out.

exactly PP, exactly.

22/07/2005, 11:20 AM
Great news.

Its time now we shot a lot of people. Fight back at these sad cowards.. make them scared. Anyone who even suggests a threat or acts in an intimadating way near people going about there daily lives - shoot them.

You cannot go to war against countries like Iraq and Afghanistan while you have their residents or sympathisers living amongst us.
If you do not remove them then you have to be tough - Arm transport police and give them a licence to wipe out these vermin. more shootings please.

Posted by Sam - Battersea on July 22, 2005 11:44 AM.

http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/news/archives/2005/07/22/man_shot_at_london_tube_station.html

does that frighten people more? :o

Babysis
22/07/2005, 11:23 AM
back home for my brother's stag night, but heard about the attempted bombings yesterday, so glad it didnt come off, but scary times indeed. only been home a few hours and already a few people have advised me not to go back to London, its such an easy option to just leave the city, but panic is what these people want. Really hope this is the last of it.

Heya, hope you had a good time. It is a relief of course that this didnt come off, but is this going to leave them more determined to strike again :confused: None if us know, and I dont see any point in me speculating on stuff I know little about.
For many I guess it is an easy option not to come into the city, but for just as many if not more, its a neccessity. I had no way of getting out of the city yesterday, with the 3 tube networks to my home closed/suspended and all buses full to bursting point. so i walked. I did it 2 weeks ago, and Im likely to have ot do it again. For the first time i got scared on the tube today. Was on the Victoria line, going through Kings Cross and it was the busiest i have seen it in a long time and I just got a moment of panic. But like everyone else you bite the bullet and carry on.
I need to work, so i need to get the tube, I just dont think this is going to be the last of it, but i hoep to god Im wrong

22/07/2005, 11:28 AM
erm i noticed the same thing babysis northern line is usually the busiest tube from about 8:40 from kings cross down to london bridge for about 20 mins its absoloutely packed to the rafters ( which in a way is sorta a good thign as a fella with a bag of any kind will and does stand out ) howver today i was able to stand in comfort with no one around me!!!! it was eerie.

Babysis
22/07/2005, 11:34 AM
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/news/archives/2005/07/22/man_shot_at_london_tube_station.html

does that frighten people more? :o

Of course this is going to be like a field day to many who hold extremist views. The BNP have already shown this with their leaflets showing the tavisstock square bus. Everyone else needs to maintain a moderate and resaonable outlook. These attacks are by a minority, so we need to hold off on calls to shoot people at will for just a little bit longer :rolleyes: :D

Babysis
22/07/2005, 11:41 AM
erm i noticed the same thing babysis northern line is usually the busiest tube from about 8:40 from kings cross down to london bridge for about 20 mins its absoloutely packed to the rafters ( which in a way is sorta a good thign as a fella with a bag of any kind will and does stand out ) howver today i was able to stand in comfort with no one around me!!!! it was eerie.

Eerie isnt a word i would use for my journey today. I spent 15mins with me face pressed up against the door, squashed in by way too many people. Just got a bit freaked out for the first time. but life carries on, we have no choice. You cant give in to fear, no matter how much we would like to.

22/07/2005, 2:02 PM
got this from my muslim newsletter, i think its a good idea as teh company I work for have a lot of muslims/sikhs etc and a lot have long beards :o etc. Its just a bit of common sense but I really think people have to start to use common sense (on all sides):

....Assalamu alaykum,
All praise is for Allah; and the finest blessings be upon His final Messenger and Prophet, Mohamed sallallahu alayhi wasallam, Mercy to the Worlds, peace-bringer to Madina, and forgiver of the Meccans.

I pray you are all in good health, happy spirits and strong Iman, Ameen. This note is in response to the events of the last two weeks, and has been prompted by requests from several AMN members.

The police shot a man today, after bundling him to the ground, 5 times at close proximity. Allah knows best who he was and what the intention of the police was. However, one thing is clear. The police and public are very suspicious of Asian men, with or without beards, with or without backpacks. Given that a lot of us fall in that category, we need to be careful. There have also been incidents across London of bearded men, veiled ladies, and even mosques being attacked. Therefore, we pray that Allah keeps you all safe, and hope that the below may be of help.

To avoid being harassed by the less open minded members of the public, travel in pairs, and avoid being on one's own late at night. If you have nobody to travel home with and are concerned, please use the message board to find others travelling in your area: Brothers, if you see hijabi sisters travelling on their own, please do at least offer to follow them from a distance, at the very minimum.

To avoid causing your fellow passengers fear in public transport (especially if like me you often use a backpack), smile, be courteous, offer your seat to others, and if you have a backpack, there is no harm in opening it, taking out some books/whatever you have inside, and putting it back in, under the pretence of looking for e.g. a book to read. You would be surprised how this eases the tension.

And if you are chased by anyone, who may or may not be plain clothes police officers, the first thing you should do is shout for help, and not run, as this young man did this morning. At the very least one should make it appear that one is not hiding anything, perhaps by raising one's hands above the head, and asking for help, asking if they are police officers, and so forth.

In times like these we are all left wondering how best to be safe, but this much is clear: to seek refuge in Allah is a sound course of action. There are in the Sunnah many dua's to make when leaving the house, travelling and so forth, and it is always good practice to recite the Ayat-ul-kursi and the "Four Quls" when leaving the house.

May Allah protect us all, and guide all to the path of the Master of Mercy, sallallahu alayhi wasalam....

Thunderblaster
23/07/2005, 9:47 PM
Quote:
Great news.

Its time now we shot a lot of people. Fight back at these sad cowards.. make them scared. Anyone who even suggests a threat or acts in an intimadating way near people going about there daily lives - shoot them.

You cannot go to war against countries like Iraq and Afghanistan while you have their residents or sympathisers living amongst us.
If you do not remove them then you have to be tough - Arm transport police and give them a licence to wipe out these vermin. more shootings please.

Posted by Sam - Battersea on July 22, 2005 11:44 AM.

http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/news/ar...be_station.html

If there were suicide bombings in Ireland and 50 people killed and the whole nation in a panic, them sort of sentiments would pop up from Irish people. Any country in a scenario that London is experiencing at present would employ a shoot to kill policy. To kill a suspected suicide bomber, though not desirable, is better that a suicide bomber killing 50 people, and your brother or sister or friend or any relation could be amongst the dead from the suicide bomber. You would have to live in a terrorist filled environment to understand what is going on.

25/07/2005, 4:51 PM
Flight Simulator (http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/articles/PA_NEWA13205651122284641A000?version=1)

I think some of the police are losing the run of themselves.

25/07/2005, 5:48 PM
Flight Simulator (http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/articles/PA_NEWA13205651122284641A000?version=1)

I think some of the police are losing the run of themselves.

I ask myself why such an item is newsworthy. Sounds a lot like press speculation to me on what was a slow(er) news day since last Thursday - well, that is until the names of two of the suspects were released.

06/07/2006, 2:18 PM
They just wont let us forget, will they!
Video released. Full story here... (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13531587,00.html)

06/07/2006, 4:10 PM
whatever about anything else, do these boys not understand democracy. those 52 that died may have voted liberal or tory or whatever, i mean to say that because you live in a society, where that societies government supports a war, and therefore infers you are an enemy is ignorant to the extreme. complete hypocrits.

07/07/2006, 8:00 AM
whatever about anything else, do these boys not understand democracy.

The bombers were British citizens, they also had a vote!

07/07/2006, 8:09 AM
One year on. God rest the dead and bring comfort to their loved ones.

07/07/2006, 8:48 AM
The bombers were British citizens, they also had a vote

Ya very good point, also to note when the world trade centres were bombed were the yanks then in afghanistan and iraq eh me no think so...

PP, to usher your words here also.

07/07/2006, 9:29 AM
Here on Sky News (http://www.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1188488-1,00.html) you can see all the victims and appreciate how this evil act has affected so many ethnic groups. Terrorism is indiscriminate in its destruction of life. My thoughts are with the families of the victims and the people of London today.

07/07/2006, 12:50 PM
Its a day for reflecting on what happened that awful day. To all the families and loved ones who lost one of their own, God rest their souls.