Thread: News & Facts about London bombings

News & Facts about London bombings

Taken from sky news here

There has been an explosion at London's Liverpool Street Station, according to reports.

The blast happened at Aldgate East station on the Metropolitan and Circle Lines.

The explosion was caused by "some kind of power surge", according to Tube infrastructure company Metronet, which is responsible for maintaining the Metropolitan line.

A spokesman said: "We don't know the extent of the problem yet."

A London Ambulance Service spokeswoman said: "We have just sent some resources out to the scene."

British Transport Police confirmed that there are "walking wounded" and said paramedics have responded to one report of a person classed as "life at risk".

"It's chaos, with people trying to work out what has happened," said a spokesman.

"All we know at the moment is that staff reported a loud bang at 8.49am. No one is sure what caused an explosion, but it is thought it could have been a collision, a power cut, or a power cable problem."

King's Cross, St Pancras, Liverpool Street, Stratford and Aldgate East stations have all been evacuated.

I hope no one on here is affected. Was a nightmare getting in today, explains why

They have just updated it now to say that there have been a number of explosions at Kings cross, edgeware road, old street, aldgate and liverpool street. they have shut the entire network.

"All we know at the moment is that staff reported a loud bang at 8.49am.
    that sounds strange cos the picadillydally wasnt running at 8:20

hmm something fishy giong on here.

Power surges....nothing sinister

BLASTS ON TUBES AND BUS

According to reports a bus has exploded in central London just minutes after a number of blasts on London's Underground.

"I saw lots of people running up a road and then saw the top of a bus destroyed," one eyewitness told Sky News.

Sky News producer Bob Mills said he heard the loud explosion near Euston Station.

Scotland Yard could not confirm reports of an explosion on a bus in Russell Square. A spokeswoman said police were at the scene and attempting to determine what had happened.

The entire Tube network has been shut down following the blasts at Aldgate, Edgware Road, King's Cross, Old Street and Russell Square.

It is understood several people have been wounded in the underground blasts, with one unconfirmed eyewitness telling Sky News he saw "bodies on the line".

British Transport Police confirmed there are "walking wounded" and said paramedics have responded to one report of a person classed as "life at risk".

"It's chaos, with people trying to work out what has happened," said a spokesman.

Blast happened at Aldgate

One witness said the packed underground train he was on was 200 metres from King's Cross when there was a huge flash.

The train stopped and people were using umberellas to smash windows of the trains. Passengers were led out of the train by underground staff.

He added people were milling around King's Cross covered in soot.

Clare Benson, 33, a city banker from Kensington, was on a tube at Edware Road where the second incident took place.

"I was in the last carriage at the back of the train nearest the tunnel when I heard a huge bang - you could feel it," she said.

"The lights went off for a couple of minutes and people were scared and wondering what to do.

"The drivers got out and were looking into the tunnel, then they announced that we should evacuate. My ears are still ringing and I was shaking."

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap

Story now updated............

An explosion has "ripped a bus apart" just minutes after a number of blasts on London's Underground.

Looking more and more sinister !

ya nothing sinister here, a bus powered by petrol blows up because of a power surge..

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    ya nothing sinister here, a bus powered by petrol blows up because of a power surge..
    all mobiles are doen, cant contact anyone. Have you spoken to bridget. there are now unconfirmed reports of 3-5 more explosions on buses, but its hopefully just chinese whispers. Can see the helicopter at Kings cross from here in soho. really started to get a tad concerned now. Looks like cabs home whenever that is

lou, now you just say that, you know i rang i cant get through either, which means she isnt in work, cos she has to get a bus around russel square, emailed no resposne. just a little concerned as well. but prolly nothing.

no peadar on here giving out!!!! i wonder where he is!!!

510 Posts
    My sister's family are all present and accounted for, thank god.

Paul, I don't want to see any more sarcasm or smart comments in this thread, people with relations in the UK have enough to contend with. I'll ban you instantly and permanently if there's even a whiff of it.

I cant get in contact with peadar, and lopez is a tube driver. Im sure they are fine, and Im sure alot of the reports are just chinese whispers. But We are all pretty worried here. Paul, im sure bridget is fine and tryn to get in contact with you, but alol the phones are down. If anyone does get in contact with anyone else let us know. Pat O, Lopez, sylvo, Peadar,

Just emailed my brother about what is happening. He's been most fortunate, as he's a rail engineer and had been meant to be going to London this afternoon/evening to have a look around the network.
    Got CNN on and everything seems confused.

Twenty dead according to the BBC just now. May God rest them.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Bless them. RIP.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

are all the phone networks down in London can't get through to my friend at all really worried cause he always uses the tube, but he sould be in work by now..sending mails to him since I heard about it but no response

Lopez is up in Neasden at the depo, he's not driving at the moment he's stuck in the office, he's grand.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    are all the phone networks down in London can't get through to my friend at all really worried cause he always uses the tube, but he sould be in work by now..sending mails to him since I heard about it but no response
    I'm having no joy at all trying to use my mobile in west London, but that may be because my phone is a crock of shîte.

PP

all phones down,

LADS THIS IS SERIOUS>

one of the lads at work girlfriend saw one of the buses, she said completely destroyed and bodies flown all over the place, she said there was loads dead from that blast. so this is pretty fooken seroius. i dont usually panic or think too much about these things but this is serious enough, has anyone emailed peadar?

STILL cant get through to bridget....and she isnt answering her email....

I'm ok. Was on the train in Aldgate that exploded.
    Can't really talk about it now.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Twenty dead according to the BBC just now. May God rest them.
    Talk about confusion. Now they're saying "nothing confirmed". Who knows?

PP

Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast