View Full Version : News & Facts about London bombings

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

09/07/2005, 5:39 PM
edited

09/07/2005, 8:59 PM
Only saw this thread today for the first time and been through all 11 pages of postings. RIP to the ones who were killed. Get well soon to the injured and thank God all the foot.ie people are ok. I might not know any of ye in London personally but I know you're work here ....stay safe all please!

sylvo
09/07/2005, 11:33 PM
sylv, the ciaran cassidy guy that was killed, was he a second generation irish? his father worked for the post office or mail crowd in north london, his name is sean. does that ring any bells????

Stopped off in O'Raffertys today for a quick pint with Pat, no sooner were we in their when the cops sealed off the area due to a suspect device on a 29 bus leaving us all stuck inside for a good while, it turned out that some eejit had left his rucksack behind this sort of thing is going to be the norm from now on.

11/07/2005, 9:31 AM
A genuine 'Thank You' from the bottom of my heart, to everyone that called and/or sent texts, e-mails, PM's. It was a great comfort to me.
I owe a lot of you, big time!

I hope you understand that I wont be discussing the past few days, here.

Pete, thank you for the updates from the City game.
I was trying really hard to keep things as normal as possible and that really helped.

Again, thank you all so very much.

Peadar.

Babysis
11/07/2005, 12:58 PM
The Red Cross has set up its bombings relief fund on their website here (http://www.redcross.org.uk//standard.asp?id=47805&cachefixer=)

macdermesser
19/07/2005, 7:39 PM
Source?

:ball: PP

bit late with this ..

here (http://www.nzherald.co.nz/index.cfm?c_id=2&ObjectID=10334992)

20/07/2005, 8:48 AM
one of the lads was telling me about this alright, the last day that he knew someone or something, dont know if its true but thats what i was on about that came on radio 2.

Bluesky
20/07/2005, 10:31 AM
Also heard this on the day from my father (in Ireland) who must have got it from tv/radio.

Also heard it from taxi-driver in Greenwich on the Saturday following. He reckoned it was kept quiet as they had found a mobile phone and were waiting for calls

20/07/2005, 10:44 AM
what do you mean they found mobile phones?

20/07/2005, 10:50 AM
He reckoned it was kept quiet as they had found a mobile phone and were waiting for calls

If someone is strapped with explosives and heads for Canary Wharf then I'd imagine that the support network behind him must be wondering why he didn't blow anything up. They are hardly likely to ring him though, are they!?

Too many people have mentioned this for it to be a total fabrication but how easy would it be to keep it quiet if it actually happened?

macdermesser
21/07/2005, 7:25 AM
If someone is strapped with explosives and heads for Canary Wharf then I'd imagine that the support network behind him must be wondering why he didn't blow anything up. They are hardly likely to ring him though, are they!?

Too many people have mentioned this for it to be a total fabrication but how easy would it be to keep it quiet if it actually happened?

Apparently 8,000 people work in Canary Wharf ..so it would be impossible to keep quiet. Maybe someone here know someone who knows etc. Strange though that the only report about the shootings was a brief snippet on the radio at the time and some obscure New Zealand newspaper.

21/07/2005, 11:20 AM
Apparently 8,000 people work in Canary Wharf ..so it would be impossible to keep quiet.

We have some staff down there and I've worked there myself. No one has said anything!
Plus, having seen first hand the damage that one man with a bag of explosives can do, I doubt that any organised terrorist group felt that one man could cause any significant damage to the buildings in Canary Wharf.
It is estimated that the IRA used a half-tonne bomb, transported in a lorry when they attacked the same target.
Police believe that the London Tube bombers were carrying 10lb bombs.
That's a massive difference!

ciaran76
21/07/2005, 11:34 AM
Another link here ...
http://icthewharf.icnetwork.co.uk/thisweek/news/tm_objectid=15732803%26method=full%26siteid=71670% 26headline=%2ddid%2dyou%2dknow%2da%2dsuicide%2dbom ber%2dwas%2dshot%2ddead%2d%2d-name_page.html

Jim Smith
21/07/2005, 11:38 AM
Strange though that the only report about the shootings was a brief snippet on the radio at the time and some obscure New Zealand newspaper.
After the Oklahoma bombing people swore blind that they had seen "Arab-looking men" running away from the scene. Similarly, I suspect that this is just some fabrication that the NZ newspaper should have know better than to print.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 11:42 AM
All of the events on Thursday were distorted during the day due to fear and chinese whispers. We were called by poepl to tell us buses had exploded all over London and that various tubes had also been hit. As it turns out this was wrong, it was panic and fear. I can only assume someone saw something in canary wharf, which I doubt very much was a suicide bomber, and as the story has been told from one person ot the next its become distorted.

The police etc were more than willing to release the details of the suicide bombers involved in the tubes and bus blasts, so why not this one if its true :confused:

21/07/2005, 11:48 AM
Much of the confusion on July 7th was caused by passengers exiting from multiple stations, having been on a single train.
Controlled explosions by the security forces, on suspect packages, led others to believe there were more terrorist attacks than had actually taken place.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 11:53 AM
Much of the confusion on July 7th was caused by passengers exiting from multiple stations, having been on a single train.
Controlled explosions by the security forces, on suspect packages, led others to believe there were more terrorist attacks than had actually taken place.

I know. We, like most people were sat in offices waiting for news from the internet or from people who had access to TV's. There were alot of rumours and a lot of panic. In the end we found somewhere with a TV and got the news first hand. Any event like that where there is panic and fear is of course going to lead to confusion and exaggeration. Its completly understandable. All Im saying is that perhaps this could explain this story about the suicide bomber. Ive just been told by someone who was there, that they feel it was rumour started by traders on the trading floor of certain banks. Thats the general consensus in canary wharf

macdermesser
21/07/2005, 12:12 PM
After the Oklahoma bombing people swore blind that they had seen "Arab-looking men" running away from the scene. Similarly, I suspect that this is just some fabrication that the NZ newspaper should have know better than to print.

According to person who posted about this here around the time it was happening, it was first announced on BBC radio.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 12:29 PM
ok, not causing panic, but sky are reporting a minor explosion on the tube here (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1189833,00.html) Untill there is more information, there is no point in panicing

Eire06
21/07/2005, 12:34 PM
ok, not causing panic, but sky are reporting a minor explosion on the tube here (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1189833,00.html) Untill there is more information, there is no point in panicing
Was just posting that up too..
doesn't sound like its anything too big, might just be a precaution and Sky News aren't really the best for having the facts before they release news stories :o

TUBE EXPLOSION REPORTED

There have been unconfirmed reports of an explosion on the London Underground, and an incident on a bus in Hackney, East London.

There have been no reports of casualties.

Stations at Warren Street, Oval and Shepherd's Bush have been closed.

At Warren Street there were reports of a nail bomb explosion. Sky's Crime Correspondent Martin Brunt said police believe this may have been the sound of detonators going off.

Victoria Line train passenger Ivan McCracken told Sky News he spoke to an Italian man who witnessed an explosion just after the train arrived at the platform.

"He told me he had seen a man carrying a rucksack which suddenly exploded. It was a minor explosion but enough to blow open his rucksack. Everyone rushed from the carriage. People evacuated very quickly. There was no panic.

"I didn't see anyone injured but there was shock and fright.

"There was a smell of smoke."

"The man who was holding the rucksack looked extremely dismayed.

Police have cordoned off the streets around Warren Street station. They said a suspect package had been reported on a Victoria Line train.

Sky reporter Mark White said authorities are "pushing everybody as far back from the station as they can".

It is two weeks to the day since bombers attacked three Tube trains and a bus in central London.

Another eyewitness, Sosiane Mohellavi, said "Everyone panicked and people were screaming.

"We had to pull the alarm. I am still shaking."

21/07/2005, 12:45 PM
I was coming through Paddington at 11.00 this morning and there was an unusually high police presence. I asked one officier if everything was ok and he said it was "just routine security checks" but they were stopping Asian men with bags and taking details.
In the two weeks since the attacks I haven't seen this before.
Did they know something was going to happen today?

21/07/2005, 12:47 PM
IF THIS IS TRUE!!!before i get given out to for no sources.

a bus now apparently, i assume they didnt mean to let them go off, or maybe they didnt detonate correctly. i mean surely they would have done something around 5 or so? :confused:

21/07/2005, 12:49 PM
In the two weeks since the attacks I haven't seen this before.

ah they said they would be doing it alright, and that asian men were just going to have to accept it.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 12:53 PM
There is an incident with a bus on Hackney road. Bus is sitting there parked and no one is going near it. No further reports. Thats from Sky news.com

No point panicking till we know more.

21/07/2005, 1:00 PM
Taken from BreakingNews.ie (http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/07/21/story212736.html)

One injured in Warren Street tube blast
21/07/2005 - 13:47:40

One person has been reported injured at Warren Street tube station in London after an incident there today.

There is no details as to who was injured or to the extent of the injuries. Unconfirmed reports say a nail bomb may have went off at the station.

Meanwhile no injuries have been reported from an incident on a bus in Hackney in east London where the windows of the vehicle were blown out.

21/07/2005, 1:08 PM
The ticker on Sky Sports News says Sky news reports four explosions in London. Gonna have a look now. :(

21/07/2005, 1:14 PM
Doesn't sound like there's any fatalities. Some hospital has been cordoned off, it seems police are chasing someone. Sky News is very sketchy and confused right now.

21/07/2005, 1:48 PM
Attacks have been "confirmed" according to Sky News. (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1189833,00.html) :(

Babysis
21/07/2005, 2:07 PM
Victoria Line is opena gain either side of Warren St. Think i will walk to kings cross lay some flowers and then get the tube from there.

21/07/2005, 2:21 PM
Think i will walk to kings cross lay some flowers and then get the tube from there.

The Central Line from Bank to Lancaster Gate, then walk to Paddington seems to be my only option but the Central Line is a deep tunnel. :(

Babysis
21/07/2005, 2:24 PM
The Central Line from Bank to Lancaster Gate, then walk to Paddington seems to be my only option but the Central Line is a deep tunnel. :(

Look I know you probably dont want to hear it, but all of the tubes are a deep tunnel, just some more so than others. Take the route which sees you get home in the quickest and easiest manner. you dont need any more stress from incidents on London transport, so just get home as easilly as you possibly can.

21/07/2005, 2:30 PM
all of the tubes are a deep tunnel, just some more so than others.

The Tubes, yes if you're being pedantic, but not all the Underground lines.
The Circle, District, Hammersmith & City etc. are not deep tunnel lines.
Bigger trains, wider tunnels and you're much closer to the surface.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 2:35 PM
The Tubes, yes if you're being pedantic, but not all the Underground lines.
The Circle, District, Hammersmith & City etc. are not deep tunnel lines.
Bigger trains, wider tunnels and you're much closer to the surface.

i was not being pedantic and i was not trying to pick a row with you.
i was only saying you are going to have to get on "a tube" so instead of avoiding ones which have "deeper" tunnels, why not just get on which ever takes you home quickest.

21/07/2005, 2:38 PM
i was only saying you are going to have to get on "a tube" so instead of avoiding ones which have "deeper" tunnels, why not just get on which ever takes you home quickest.

Because it scares the hell out of me to be trapped in a tunnel again and if that happens I'd prefer to give myself a greater chance of survival by not being in a deep tunnel line.
It's no coincidence that the greatest number of lives lost was on the Piccadilly line. A deep tunnel line, with minimal space between train and tunnel wall.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 2:44 PM
Because it scares the hell out of me to be trapped in a tunnel again and if that happens I'd prefer to give myself a greater chance of survival by not being in a deep tunnel line.
It's no coincidence that the greatest number of lives lost was on the Piccadilly line. A deep tunnel line, with minimal space between train and tunnel wall.

Im well aware it was not a conincidence. I know you are scared, there is nothing i can say to change that, but I dont see how any of us can avoid certain lines because they are deeper, or buses because they are packed.
Im sorry, You do whatever is right for you, i just thought you would want to be home as quick as possible

21/07/2005, 3:03 PM
i just thought you would want to be home as quick as possible

I want to get home alive, don't care how long it takes.
I'll probably get a taxi to Paddington.

Duffer
21/07/2005, 3:07 PM
whatevers easiest for you - I'd say you've suffered enough stress for this year.

Babysis
21/07/2005, 3:09 PM
I want to get home alive, don't care how long it takes.
I'll probably get a taxi to Paddington.

Right, well Everyone wants to get home safely. But some of us dont have much of an option but to get on the tube or bus. If you feel better getting a taxi then go for it.

21/07/2005, 3:25 PM
But some of us dont have much of an option but to get on the tube or bus.

I get 2 busses and 6 trains a day in order to get to and from work.
The stress level is like the stress I felt before Leaving Cert Physics multiplied by 100.
You just get yourself home safely and I promise to do the same.
It's Thursday so you deserve to go for a drink anyway.

21/07/2005, 3:33 PM
Here's a Tube map (http://map.tfl.gov.uk/realtime.asp) where the affected lines are highlighted.

Duffer
21/07/2005, 3:37 PM
I get 2 busses and 6 trains a day in order to get to and from work.

Don't know about the boot disk but ye certainly will travel. :)

21/07/2005, 5:18 PM
Well, I'm ten minutes' walk from Shepherd's Bush H&C line station - one of the two Mrs PP uses regularly to get home from work (Shepherd's Bush Central line being the other). I can't say I'm feeling too clever at the moment for worrying about her getting home.

These people live among us and yet they try to do this to us. My God.

21/07/2005, 5:22 PM
Sh!te isn't it PP? I was skivving off work all afternoon so i could check the news on the net to see what was happening :( Hope Mrs PP makes it home safe and well.

21/07/2005, 8:08 PM
Mrs PP alright Mr PP? :)

21/07/2005, 8:21 PM
That she be KT, home fed and watered and thanks for the asking, although since most of Shepherd's Bush was closed off until about an hour ago, we've only just gotten rid of a load of friends/work colleagues who weren't allowed home. It only cost me three bottles of wine, so it could have been far, far worse... :eek: :D

21/07/2005, 8:23 PM
That she be KT, home fed and watered and thanks for the asking, although since most of Shepherd's Bush was closed off until about an hour ago, we've only just gotten rid of a load of friends/work colleagues who weren't allowed home. It only cost me three bottles of wine, so it could have been far, far worse... :eek: :D

Heh heh! :D Good stuff.

Babysis
22/07/2005, 10:09 AM
Another incident, this time a SUSPECTED sucicide Bomber was shgot at Stockwell, this is from sky news (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1189920,00.html)

'SUICIDE BOMBER' SHOT

Police have shot a suspected suicide bomber at a tube station in south London.

Marksmen opened fire near Stockwell Tube station as passengers were evacuated. It is thought the man was killed.

Passenger Briony Coetsee said: "We were on the Tube and then we suddenly heard someone say 'get out, get out' and then we heard gunshots."

Alarmed onlookers said they saw police, some in plain clothes, chasing a man before opening fire.

Air and road ambulance crews have been sent to the scene and unconfirmed reports suggest the man was involved in Thursday's assault on the capital.

If the suspect is confirmed to be a suicide bomber, it would mark the fifth attempted terrorist attack on London in less than a day.

A Scotland Yard spokesman said: "We can confirm that just after 10am armed officers shot a male at Stockwell underground station."

The man is thought to have been either stepping on to the train or was on the platform.

Brunt said: "He was probably shot in the head. There is no confirmation of that."

Police have been given orders to shoot to kill if they believe someone is about to detonate a bomb.

Brunt said: "The officer or officers involved in this clearly felt this suspect was about to detonate a bomb."

Tube services on the Victoria and Northern Lines were suspended at the request of police..

22/07/2005, 10:23 AM
Police have been given orders to shoot to kill if they believe someone is about to detonate a bomb.

back to the good aul days of the sas, shoot first ask questions later.

i tell ye though, im not a big fella at all at all, but i would have been doing me damndest to catch that guy yesterday who legged it and just lunge on him, prolly his leg and hold on as tight as i could till someone else came and helped. how did 3 people let him get away? :confused:

Babysis
22/07/2005, 10:27 AM
back to the good aul days of the sas, shoot first ask questions later.

i tell ye though, im not a big fella at all at all, but i would have been doing me damndest to catch that guy yesterday who legged it and just lunge on him, prolly his leg and hold on as tight as i could till someone else came and helped. how did 3 people let him get away? :confused:

Ok, im not having a go, but if I guy stood next to you had just had his bag explode and then legged it you really dont know what you would do. How would you know he didnt have another bomb?? Hind sight is a great thing you, but then agan so is shock and fear :o

22/07/2005, 10:38 AM
Ok, im not having a go, but if I guy stood next to you had just had his bag explode and then legged it you really dont know what you would do. How would you know he didnt have another bomb?? Hind sight is a great thing you, but then agan so is shock and fear :o

Well said Babysis. Written with a bit of sense. :)

Paul, I really wonder what planet you inhabit sometimes. :confused: