View Full Version : Israel match thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

04/06/2005, 6:46 PM
Anyone else get their connection closed down by Israeli TV???

czarner
04/06/2005, 6:56 PM
Yeah, + me after staying up til 2:30am here in China... :( Can't get the RTE server to accept my connection to the radio either! Anyone know an alternative audio stream source?

04/06/2005, 7:00 PM
I'm listening with RTE but BBC have a radio stream. Go to bbc.co.uk, click on football, and then top right hand corner for radio-stream.

04/06/2005, 7:25 PM
Ah balls lads, don't throw it away AGAIN... :mad:
2-1

04/06/2005, 7:25 PM
Is this referee for real?

2-2 with a twice-taken penalty for a "foul" by O'Shea on Benayoun, who was falling already. H/T.

:mad: PP

04/06/2005, 7:27 PM
Livescore have it as 2-2!!!
Whats the story? Is it 2-1 or 2-2?

czarner
04/06/2005, 7:28 PM
BBC blocked here in China! Got RTE stream going though, and depressing listening it makes too. That witterer Hand... I think I'll head to bed + watch it on the Israeli TV in the morning. Sounds like it'll be a very interesting 2nd half. We'll see what Kerr's made of now I suppose.

04/06/2005, 7:29 PM
2-2 from a thrice-taken penalty :D :D

John O'Shea might not be capable of defending like Hierro (at his peak), but he's just as adept at the Suwon Shirtlift! :eek:

04/06/2005, 7:29 PM
So thats it? We've gone and fcukin' shot ourselves in the foot again!!!. Typical fcukin' Ireland - always do it the hard way!!!, thats if we don't lose this game.

04/06/2005, 7:33 PM
Oh no, there's still forty-five more minutes for this clown of a ref to shaft us again. I don't blame us at all (for once).

:mad: PP

Emmet
04/06/2005, 7:39 PM
We can still do it but we need to keep the ball better ... too many fancy tricks, sloppy passes, and unnecessary fouls

tonycuna
04/06/2005, 7:52 PM
I'm listening the match on RTE,
Oh, what a f***ing first half!!! :mad:

Now without Robbie I don't know if we'll win, but I'll believe it til the end

C'mon!!!!!

04/06/2005, 8:07 PM
Only 10 mins left? We're in bother lads.

tonycuna
04/06/2005, 8:15 PM
We can't lose points today!

C'mon! C'mon! Right till the end!

Jon'o
04/06/2005, 8:19 PM
cheating barsteward!!!

Never a sending off, keeper fell over then grabbed his face.

CHUNT!!! :mad:

Saying that though should have finished this shower off a long time ago

terry9
04/06/2005, 8:37 PM
FOR FU CK SAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

does that sum it up lads? :mad:

Emmet
04/06/2005, 8:38 PM
2-2 ... un fuc*in believeable

04/06/2005, 8:40 PM
Denied by a combination of blatant cheating, refereeing bias and tactical incompetence. We should at the very least:

i) appeal to UEFA to have Andy O'Brien's red card overturned. It should be upheld, no question.
ii) petition UEFA to have that clown transferred forthwith to JP Barnum's circus in the expectation that he'd be much better with the other clowns, and;
iii) look very, very seriously at the position of manager should we fail to qualify from what is, with France's very ordinary form, in essence a very ordinary group.

I expect pelters for point iii) especially from some quarters of the eL brigade. I don't care. Kerr's tactics seem muddled at the best of times. Damien Duff played in three different set positions at different times ffs! Where's the continuity? It's all panic stuff, no fluidity. No wonder they found it so easy to undermine us. Lads and lasses, I see a silk purse being made into a sow's ear, and it's just not good enough. The bar was raised a generation ago when we beat England in Euro 88 and then got to the World Cup quarter-finals. These players need to be made to deliver, and at the moment it just doesn't seem to be there when it's really necessary. Like I said, it's just not good enough.

:ball: PP

04/06/2005, 8:43 PM
John O'Shea committed the foul that was the cause of the penalty decision and overall was very poor. He should be dropped forthwith. Another Basel like performance from him. :mad:

tonycuna
04/06/2005, 8:49 PM
There's just one reason that make me happy: Ian Harte's goal..

Apart from this, tonight it was an unbelievable match... A good performance, 2-0 up, two goals from nothing for them, a second half dominated by us but its 2-2...

:( Really sad..

Emmet
04/06/2005, 8:50 PM
These players need to be made to deliver, and at the moment it just doesn't seem to be there when it's really necessary. Like I said, it's just not good enough.

After 65 mins we were running around as though it was 85 minutes ... we lacked composure and leadership when it mattered. Yes, the goalkeeper is a disgrace and the ref is an even bigger disgrace but that does not detract from the fact that we played poorly. Very poorly: we are much better than the rubbish that we served up tonight and the players should not be allowed to walk away thinking they were unlucky.

Emmet
04/06/2005, 8:58 PM
John O'Shea committed the foul that was the cause of the penalty decision and overall was very poor. He should be dropped forthwith. Another Basel like performance from him. :mad:

O'Shea played badly tonight alright and I was thinking about Basel once or twice too but I would say that if you go further back in that play Given was given an easy back pass, he had two or three defenders showing for the ball, but he opted to put his foot through it & sliced it right up in the air. Seconds later Israel were given a penalty. Yes, he did not actually commit the foul but the play originated from his sloppy clearance which put us under pressure unnecessarily. There was too much of that tonight.

04/06/2005, 9:03 PM
Hang your heads in shame Israel, you are a disgrace to international football.
Cynical. Cynical. Cynical. :mad:
Fcuking Bastárds :mad: :mad: :mad:

That keeper should be hung :mad:

Gibbe84
04/06/2005, 9:03 PM
What the hell happened today? I turned off at 2-0 with Israel being a joke team and went down the pub. Cannot believe they came back to 2-2. At home vs a pub team that is embaressing and something the Mick McCarthy Ireland teams would never have done. They never won anything or looked like winning anything but they sure as hell finished teams off at home and won home games. I'm pretty angry now if you can't tell. I just don't see how it could have happened.

Gibbe84
04/06/2005, 9:04 PM
What happened?

04/06/2005, 9:06 PM
:rolleyes: If you regard Israel's performance as an unprecedented display of negativity, you never saw St. Pat's under the direction of Brian Kerr.

Lenny
04/06/2005, 9:06 PM
What the hell happened today? I turned off at 2-0 with Israel being a joke team and went down the pub. Cannot believe they came back to 2-2. At home vs a pub team that is embaressing and something the Mick McCarthy Ireland teams would never have done. They never won anything or looked like winning anything but they sure as hell finished teams off at home and won home games. I'm pretty angry now if you can't tell. I just don't see how it could have happened
Hmm..a joke team that tied after being 2-0 behind in an away game?
I think not!
Way to go Israel!

04/06/2005, 9:11 PM
Lenny fcuk off if all you're gonna do is wind people up.

jorge
04/06/2005, 9:13 PM
Lenny fcuk off if all you're gonna do is wind people up.
You can't blame him.

Emmet
04/06/2005, 9:18 PM
Israel certainly rode their luck at times but they also showed considerable spirit. Lenny - seriously - are you really proud of your goalkeeper?

go israel
04/06/2005, 9:22 PM
Israel certainly rode their luck at times but they also showed considerable spirit. Lenny - seriously - are you really proud of your goalkeeper?

awate showed great goalkeeping today (beside the first goal) he played with heart. the red card was not a good call but everything else was great from him.

04/06/2005, 9:23 PM
awate showed great goalkeeping today (beside the first goal) he played with heart. the red card was not a good call but everything else was great from him.
I presume you are taking the píss :mad:

go israel
04/06/2005, 9:26 PM
:rolleyes: If you regard Israel's performance as an unprecedented display of negativity, you never saw St. Pat's under the direction of Brian Kerr.

i don't know what you guys want from israel. it is a team that makes 130% out of it's abilities, and gets great results. we didn't play a banker game, and we played fair football (except for the red card which wasn't fair). i think that after you'll get over the sadness of this game you will appreicate our achievment

the_bonk
04/06/2005, 9:27 PM
Hello.
I know you are angry at the Israeli keeper now , but believe me im MUCH more angry then you.
He is THE worst keeper ever that played for the Israeli national team.
The 2 goal's were his fault , The corner kick's were so scary because of him.
The amout of luck he had is unbelievel--> and now people will say his good! DAMN.
By the way , he had blood on his face , so not all of his 'wasting time' were fake.
Over all im really happy we got 2 points rom two match's against a better team and because we still have a chance to finish first or second.

P.S - After the nice welcome your team got and esp. you ( the fan's) got in Israel I was and a lot of Israeli's were angry because of this stupid protest.
If you believe in something , protest it ---> no problem. But to gain supporters to your Idea before a soccer match is not smart and not nice!

Clones Road Cas
04/06/2005, 9:27 PM
O'Shea played badly tonight alright and I was thinking about Basel once or twice too but I would say that if you go further back in that play Given was given an easy back pass, he had two or three defenders showing for the ball, but he opted to put his foot through it & sliced it right up in the air. Seconds later Israel were given a penalty. Yes, he did not actually commit the foul but the play originated from his sloppy clearance which put us under pressure unnecessarily. There was too much of that tonight.

To be honest if I was in Givens shoes i wouldnt have passed to any of my back four bar o Brien. O shea was appalling, Cunningham was uncharacteristically poor, Harte was caught in possession on a couple of occasions in defence (better going forward).

A big part of our problem in terms of shape was the defence looked uncomfirtable all night. I could understand all Kerrs decisions bar leaving O shea on and not giving reid a run.

Buller
04/06/2005, 9:28 PM
:mad: :mad: :mad:

- edited post - It's only a game of football. Don't ever forget that. :mad: PP

04/06/2005, 9:29 PM
i don't know what you guys want from israel. it is a team that makes 130% out of it's abilities, and gets great results. we didn't play a banker game, and we played fair football (except for the red card which wasn't fair). i think that after you'll get over the sadness of this game you will appreicate our achievment

That will give you an idea of how sh*t your team is - we're disgusted (again) and you guys are thrilled (again) beacause you DREW. 2 wins and 4 draws in this group, is mediocrity to us, 2 wins and 5 draws is an incredible achievement to you. Israel will be found out before the group is over.

04/06/2005, 9:30 PM

Rubbish rubbish rubbish. What your goalkeeper did was a disgrace. He let himself down as a person, you as a nation and the game down as a whole. There's fair play, there's gamesmanship and there's the down right embarrassingly ridiculous shameful antics of your keeper.

a beliver
04/06/2005, 9:32 PM
although i suport israel i've got to agree with all of u irish fans ,
we played like hell , i couldn't belive of some of ireland misses
it was a real miracle for isarel.

04/06/2005, 9:32 PM
Rubbish rubbish rubbish. What your goalkeeper did was a disgrace. He let himself down as a person, you as a nation and the game down as a whole. There's fair play, there's gamesmanship and there's the down right embarrassingly ridiculous shameful antics of your keeper.
totally agree PS :ball:

Captain Tinrib
04/06/2005, 9:34 PM
hang on a second here, we are 2-0 up after 10 mins and by half time its 2-2! what sort of trash is that against trash like israel, if anyone is to hang there heads in shame its our team.we dont deserve a place in the world cup if we cant win our home games.end of story :(

04/06/2005, 9:35 PM
totally agree PS :ball:

Cretin probably took years off my life as I had to contrain myself watching it from 100 yards or so. I was just utterly shocked and dumbfounded as to what the hell was going on in the last of his many bouts of "injury". After the second last one he got up to make a great clean catch. The referee was diabolical. Totally failed to control the game.

go israel
04/06/2005, 9:36 PM
That will give you an idea of how sh*t your team is - we're disgusted (again) and you guys are thrilled (again) beacause you DREW. 2 wins and 4 draws in this group, is mediocrity to us, 2 wins and 5 draws is an incredible achievement to you. Israel will be found out before the group is over.

exactly. look what our soccer history is and look at yours. this is an achievment for us.
further more: we are in a better situation as you are. all of you will sign now on a draw against france, but if you lose to them we are one point in front of you, and we just need to play swiss and the faros.

a beliver
04/06/2005, 9:39 PM
yeah, but if we want to qualify we have to beat swis out

jorge
04/06/2005, 9:40 PM
Cretin probably took years off my life as I had to contrain myself watching it from 100 yards or so. I was just utterly shocked and dumbfounded as to what the hell was going on in the last of his many bouts of "injury". After the second last one he got up to make a great clean catch. The referee was diabolical. Totally failed to control the game.
Forget the ref and the keeper,blame Brian Kerrs woeful tactics,yes they were a disgrace but how many chances do you want.

Emmet
04/06/2005, 9:41 PM
hang on a second here, we are 2-0 up after 10 mins and by half time its 2-2! what sort of trash is that against trash like israel, if anyone is to hang there heads in shame its our team.we dont deserve a place in the world cup if we cant win our home games.end of story :(

Yes! And all this talk about Israel, the ref, and their goalkeeper is a smokescreen. We threw the game away and - when push came to shove - we could do nothing about it. Too many of our players played badly tonight. I don't blame Kerr, it is down to the players. They are much much better than that.

04/06/2005, 9:41 PM
Forget the ref and the keeper,blame Brian Kerrs woeful tactics,yes they were a disgrace but how many chances do you want.

I'm not excusing anything. I happen to love the game of football and that was disgusting.

go israel
04/06/2005, 9:42 PM
yeah, but if we want to qualify we have to beat swis out
that isn't correct - if ireland and the swiss lose to france - a thing that is very possible. and we only draw in swiss than we finish second. it is that simple.

jorge
04/06/2005, 9:45 PM
I'm not excusing anything. I happen to love the game of football and that was disgusting.
So do I but it happens everywhere.In Africa Europe the Mid East everywhere.

04/06/2005, 9:47 PM
So do I but it happens everywhere.In Africa Europe the Mid East everywhere.

Nah, that one took the biscuit. Makes Vitor Baia in the 2003 in the UEFA Cup final look like Gary Lineker.