View Full Version : Israel match thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

BobbySands
05/06/2005, 1:00 AM
Without a doubt, Israel will be great at a world cup. Security will be guantanomo-ish. They'd be great European ambassadors.

hamish
05/06/2005, 1:12 AM
From a financial point of view, FIFA must be down on its hand and knees praying for Ireland to qualify - tens of thousands of fans, no trouble and a huge boost to the economy. :ball:

hamish
05/06/2005, 1:21 AM
John O'Shea committed the foul that was the cause of the penalty decision and overall was very poor. He should be dropped forthwith. Another Basel like performance from him. :mad:

CTID - he used to "play" like that even for the Irish Schools team :mad:

Thunderblaster
05/06/2005, 1:48 AM
The Greeks always bears gifts!! :eek: He should be given a weeks holiday in Southill for re-education. We all heard about homers, but awayers certainly takes the biscuit. :mad: Anyway, too many underperformed. :(

05/06/2005, 3:09 AM
I dunno were the Palestinians right about them all along ??

c'mon Israel!
05/06/2005, 6:18 AM
I'm an Israeli born and fan.
Some (not all) of the comments here are really sickening. Israel havn't played "nicely". Nor did Ireland. This is football.
But the result is great for Israel. To score 2 goals in Landsdown Road after trailing with 2 is something kind of miracle for us. Especially when the other team siege our goal on the second half.
Mistakes of the ref (What would you say if Nimni had missed his penalty in his second try?) and wasting time of the guest team (The ref added 7 mins...) is quite understandable.
What's not understandable is the attitude of many of the Irish fans and media. I've followed The comments here befor and after the game in Tel Aviv. You were really downgrade Israel before the game. Some of you laughed at the Israeli fans who were rejoice at the draw result in Israel. "Well, you just wait and see when you'll come to Dublin you'll get what you deserve. At least 3 nil...".
Political insinuations is also not appropriate to a sport forum. Especially when some of your knowledge about the Middle East situation is not quite accurate (As we are not suppose to be expert on the North. Ireland situation). Many of you Irish fans were in Israel for the game. I was very happy when you came here. I think our welcome was more than friendly. I dont understand why all these protest on the streets and in the stadume.
I understand your frustration. But i've heard that some Irish fans in the Dublin hotel where the Israeli team is staying, threw a bucket full of ice at dudu awat, our golee...
But the main problem is your arrogance. HUBRIS Ireland. And Hubris is a sin, as you all know...
I hope that despite this, we still could be friends. Friendship can last only by respecting each other.
Goodluck to you, goodluck to us and see you in Germany 2006!
SHALOM from Israel.

05/06/2005, 6:55 AM
But i've heard that some Irish fans in the Dublin hotel where the Israeli team is staying, threw a bucket full of ice at dudu awat, our golee...
Did he go down injured, rolling on the ground for ten minutes?

What's not understandable is the attitude of many of the Irish fans and media.
Then you know nothing about football and fair play. What isn't understandable is that hardly one Israel fan is prepared to put his hands up and admit that their keeper was a disgrace.

Shae_B2D
05/06/2005, 7:08 AM
That will give you an idea of how sh*t your team is - we're disgusted (again) and you guys are thrilled (again) beacause you DREW. 2 wins and 4 draws in this group, is mediocrity to us, 2 wins and 5 draws is an incredible achievement to you. Israel will be found out before the group is over.

Well, when you expect your team to lose big time in every game like we expect our team, to draw against teams which are WAY better than us is a reason for excitment. So yes, not the nicest football there, and lots lots lots LOTS of luck but for us it's big. What can we do, not all of us can be so lucky and be blessed with a wonderful team like Ireland - which btw, is expected to win every game by their fans, not lose everyo one, which is a HUGE difference.

Having said that, I got to remind everyone that I'm actually an Ireland fan and that to some level I find Ireland more dear to me than Israel. However, I couldn't really bring myself to cheer against any of those teams in both games, what can I do. I would have prefered that Ireland and Israel didn't play in the same group (although at least it gave me an opportunity to attend a game of my favorite national team, and that's not Israel) but since they do, I feel perfectly fine with the draws. I think that the disappointment I have from the Irish team (I mean, a draw against Israel?? please) kind of ballances with the fact I'm Israeli and can't REALLY want them to lose (got to say, I wouldn't have minded that so much, it's what we expect anyway and I don't really like them).

Ah, I just gave myself a headache.

so back to last night's game. The keeper... well, I think it's a two-sided story, our keeper. never liked him too much, a feeling that only grew once I actually met him. I do agree that some of his actions last night made me move uncomfortably in my chair (dragging time, again and again. and again), and be actually angry (when he retires from football, he should do theatre), but alongside that, he did manage to keep a clean net for a very LONG second half (although I think he had a little supernatural help, in the shape of the worst unlucky streak I've ever seen - a bit ironic when you think that Ireland has quite a few stories and symbols concerning lucks in its tradition - couldn't believe the number of times the ball was an inch away from getting in but didn't).

OH, and guys: calm down, it's only football, and people tend to get very protective when it comes to national sides, it's one of those things that make you feel from the heart and not think from your mind. Once two national sides meet and people from the two camps meet and discuss it, it's only reasonable to have those disagreements, because people don't really think clearly when it comes to something they truly love. as sports fans we should all know that, and basically tone down our comments against each other.

05/06/2005, 7:14 AM
Denied by a combination of blatant cheating, refereeing bias and tactical incompetence. We should at the very least:

i) appeal to UEFA to have Andy O'Brien's red card overturned. It should be upheld, no question.
ii) petition UEFA to have that clown transferred forthwith to JP Barnum's circus in the expectation that he'd be much better with the other clowns, and;
iii) look very, very seriously at the position of manager should we fail to qualify from what is, with France's very ordinary form, in essence a very ordinary group.

I expect pelters for point iii) especially from some quarters of the eL brigade. I don't care. Kerr's tactics seem muddled at the best of times. Damien Duff played in three different set positions at different times ffs! Where's the continuity? It's all panic stuff, no fluidity. No wonder they found it so easy to undermine us. Lads and lasses, I see a silk purse being made into a sow's ear, and it's just not good enough. The bar was raised a generation ago when we beat England in Euro 88 and then got to the World Cup quarter-finals. These players need to be made to deliver, and at the moment it just doesn't seem to be there when it's really necessary. Like I said, it's just not good enough.

PP

We're out of the World Cup following the disasterous draw at home to Israel. :( :(

Because of the 2 points thrown away in Israel, we had to win last night, and as we didn't, we are as good as out of the World Cup. I just can't see us picking up 4 wins from the last 4 games. Now we have to hope for other results to go our way, but we've had enough opportunities in this group, and we haven't taken advantage of them. Now, we have France and Switzerland at home to come, and if we can't hold on to a 2-0 lead to Israel at home, we have no hope of beating the better teams.

Since he became coach, Kerr has had 4 big qualifying games against Russia, Switzerland last year, and the two games against Israel, and in each game we had the lead, lost it, and the two extra points with it. In the two games against Israel, he was shown to be tactically naive at best, and downright crazy at worst. We took an early lead against Israel over there, and should have finished them off. Instead we sat back, he made bad substitutions, defended poorly, and they equalized. We should have won it, but because of Kerr, 2 points were thrown into the Med.

Last night, he sent on Kavanagh for Keane, then lost the head after 55' when he sent on Doherty for Reid. Has he ever heard of the conventional "straight-swop" substitution?? Yes, the referee was appalling, but their penalty was the correct decision, following schoolboy defending, and 2 more points were thrown into Dublin Bay. It seems that any gameplan we have, goes out the window after we score. That shouldn't happen.

Kerr doesn't seem to understand that you can win all the home friendlies you like, against uninterested teams, but ultimately, you are judged on your competitive record, and he has shown to be out of his depth tactically, against even semi-decent sides when it matters. Even though we are the best side in the group, he will take the responsibility when we fail to qualify for the World Cup, and the FAI will get rid of him, and justifiably so, as he's shown that he's only capable of winning friendlies, and against the Faroes and Cyprus, and you get no prizes for beating them. He has proved that he's not up to the job when it counts. Metaphorically, the knives are being sharpened!!

Germany 2006 will be another tv tournament for us once again. :mad:

Shae_B2D
05/06/2005, 7:57 AM
If you're not up to reading some positive way of thinking, that's not the post for you, but what can I do, maybe it's because i'm a girl - I'm very forgiving. O'Shea was indeed terrible last night, I was very disappointed, and yes, it does bring Basel to mind, but I don't think he should be dropped. What he does need is to get someone to lock him inside the video room with a tape with is "best" moments from last night and watch it in loop. I'd hope he'll learn something.

Way to go, Ian! that was a great moment to watch, that goal. I was truly happy for him.

and continuing my positive spirit, yes, a win last night would hae been beter but I still don't think that ends Ireland's hopes for another world cup tournament, it just makes it a little harder. and this group is so complicated anyway. Not going to do calculations here, that's the wrong thread, but the chance isn't gone yet.

As for Israel... I got to say I'm stuck in the middle in this. on one hand, as an Israeli I have to have a little pride in the draw, which is better than what we could have expected here. I'm not very proud in the way it was acheived, or rather, the way it was kept through the second half. no problem with the 2 equalizing goals, although we had a lot of luck there.

The second half was one of the ugliest games I've seen, but I guess for you the shock of it's ugliness was bigger because you don't have the pleasure (not) of watching the Israeli league every week. It was Israeli soccer with all of its great points - the time stalling, the pretended falls, etc. however, it had something that usuaully Israeli teams lack - it had spirit, and you can laugh at it if you want, but I've seen enough Israeli teams to tell. the Israeli thing to do would be falling apart, something which they certainly didn't do, even if their methods of surviving such a game aren't something to be proud of, for us, not breaking down, IS.

05/06/2005, 8:39 AM
If you're not up to reading some positive way of thinking, that's not the post for you, but what can I do, maybe it's because i'm a girl - I'm very forgiving. O'Shea was indeed terrible last night, I was very disappointed, and yes, it does bring Basel to mind, but I don't think he should be dropped. What he does need is to get someone to lock him inside the video room with a tape with is "best" moments from last night and watch it in loop. I'd hope he'll learn something.

Way to go, Ian! that was a great moment to watch, that goal. I was truly happy for him.

and continuing my positive spirit, yes, a win last night would hae been beter but I still don't think that ends Ireland's hopes for another world cup tournament, it just makes it a little harder. and this group is so complicated anyway. Not going to do calculations here, that's the wrong thread, but the chance isn't gone yet.

As for Israel... I got to say I'm stuck in the middle in this. on one hand, as an Israeli I have to have a little pride in the draw, which is better than what we could have expected here. I'm not very proud in the way it was acheived, or rather, the way it was kept through the second half. no problem with the 2 equalizing goals, although we had a lot of luck there.

The second half was one of the ugliest games I've seen, but I guess for you the shock of it's ugliness was bigger because you don't have the pleasure (not) of watching the Israeli league every week. It was Israeli soccer with all of its great points - the time stalling, the pretended falls, etc. however, it had something that usuaully Israeli teams lack - it had spirit, and you can laugh at it if you want, but I've seen enough Israeli teams to tell. the Israeli thing to do would be falling apart, something which they certainly didn't do, even if their methods of surviving such a game aren't something to be proud of, for us, not breaking down, IS.
Bless you for your optimism. Our pessimism stems from past history.Many of us here remember Euro 1992 when Ireland were unbeaten and failed to qualify. Similar scenario seems likely here.

As regards being unbeaten and failing to qualify.... here's one for Gerrit.....
Belgium failed to qualify for the 1974 World Cup... and did not even concede a goal in the qualifiers how sick is that? Two 0-0 draws with Holland who went on to play in the WC Final in Munich.

05/06/2005, 8:52 AM
I have lost all respect for Israeli football ! what I seen out there last night was a disgrace. Israel should be ashamed of themselves !! they can take no pride in gaining that one point

05/06/2005, 8:57 AM
that is football - it's not a perfect game, and he got injured but kept playing. he did waste time, but not anything not usual in every game.
i'm sure that he will get high grades tomorow in israel and low in ireland, it's all about your prespective
Not quite a matter of perspectives. If you accept that O´Brien should not have had a red card then it follows that you admit that the keeper did his utmost to cheat, fake an injury and get him sent off.
If he gets high marks for a performance that included all of that, then it is sad.
I did see those antics with Ben Alim twice, did he also get high marks for getting Trezeguet sent off?
Those cynical antics are not as commonplace as you might think in International football, but are similar to what we experienced with the Iranian team.
The worst we have seen with a goalkeeper feigning injury was with the Iranian goalkeeper here in the play off for the 2002 WC. Probably because we won the game his antics of repeatedly falling to the ground are not remembered with anger.
We did not win this one and we had 45 minutes to get a goal. No amount excuses cover that.
As for the blood (alleged), remember the South American qualifier where the goalkeeper cut himself and claimed he was struck by a missile :-)

As for Keane , he was bundled over but we did score immediatly after, so a penalty would not have mattered.
The player Benayoun is an exceptional player, lovely to watch, deserves high marks, the most skillful player on the pitch but most definitly Tal was man of the match. What about Pinball (Pini Balili), what jail did he escape from? He makes our Lee Carsley appear handsome and skillfull. :-)

05/06/2005, 9:19 AM
No. Like i said (in my thread that was deleted for no reason), Awat desrevs an oscar. I'm just ****ed that some irish fans don't give a team that showed a great spirit the respect it desreves by calling her a "joke team".

Your thread was deleted for a reason, which I explained to you in a private message. Very well then, since you want to act the hurt little boy, I'll explain it in public for you. You came on here trolling, looking for a wind-up, and that's against the rules. If you don't like it, don't come back. I shouldn't think you'll be missed.

:ball: PP

jofyisgod
05/06/2005, 9:19 AM
I have lost all respect for Israeli football ! what I seen out there last night was a disgrace. Israel should be ashamed of themselves !! they can take no pride in gaining that one point

Hear Hear. And fair f*cks to the fella that had a go off the goalie at the hotel. I'm not a volent person, but i know i would have :)

That kind of behaviour puts me off international football as a whole, which is a sad situation to find myself in. Cheats, at any level, are b@stards. At Cork City, we've had the infamous Dan Connor to deal with. I used to get angry, then i realised one day that he's the loser. When he retires in a decade or so, he'll be remembered as the 'cheating dancing one'. Same applies to Twátu or whatever he's called. He's the loser in the long run lads, remember that.

And a nation who see him as a hero are even bigger losers...

05/06/2005, 9:35 AM
nd fair f*cks to the fella that had a go off the goalie at the hotel. I

what happened ???

05/06/2005, 9:41 AM
snip
You have some very good players (undoubtably Benayoun and Tal) but your'e insight into Israeli league soccer could explain an enviorment where Pini Balili could be regarded a star :-)
This particular way of time wasting and the type of theatrics are more alike football in the Arab world than European.
If you are going to fall apart some time in the group then why not at the Faroes next September?
As they say there is still some football (hopefully) to be played out in this group.
After 7 yellow cards, any suspensions?

Saint Tom
05/06/2005, 9:47 AM
as for remarks about flags etc... i dont agree with them being there. But i do recall union jack flags being waved in Ramat Gan

05/06/2005, 9:47 AM
what happened ???

Then he fell off his barstool :-)

liam88
05/06/2005, 9:48 AM
Hear Hear. And fair f*cks to the fella that had a go off the goalie at the hotel. I'm not a volent person, but i know i would have :)

That kind of behaviour puts me off international football as a whole, which is a sad situation to find myself in. Cheats, at any level, are b@stards. At Cork City, we've had the infamous Dan Connor to deal with. I used to get angry, then i realised one day that he's the loser. When he retires in a decade or so, he'll be remembered as the 'cheating dancing one'. Same applies to Twátu or whatever he's called. He's the loser in the long run lads, remember that.

And a nation who see him as a hero are even bigger losers...

:D :D HERE HERE!
Very glad to see several Israeli's telling it how it really is and how they are disgusted with his antics!
Good post mate-KEEP THE FAITH!

05/06/2005, 10:14 AM
Then he fell off his barstool :-)

Well I hope he did and someone gave him a proper kicking :D

The Israeli media is a load of WáNK !! Did anyone read that sh1t they are writing ??

05/06/2005, 10:17 AM
Well I hope he did and someone gave him a proper kicking :D

The Israeli media is a load of **** !! Did anyone read that sh1t they are writing ??

Did you? where?

05/06/2005, 10:31 AM
read the sh1t here

http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/spages/584252.html

05/06/2005, 10:42 AM
And how did you expect them to report the match? If that's as bad as the Israeli media gets (and I doubt it, but that's by the bye) then I'll swap Haaretz (or whatever it's called) for each and every one of the "Irish" Mirror, the "Irish" Sun and the "Irish" Star.

Now, who's media is ****? :o

Dublin*Green
05/06/2005, 10:50 AM
we are in World cup 2006, You're probably not.

yay. :cool: :p ;)

Nipper
05/06/2005, 10:53 AM
That website should get it's facts right....we haven't lost at Landsdowne since 93? Mick'll be delighted to hear that.

05/06/2005, 10:54 AM
read the sh1t here

http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/spages/584252.html

"With the minutes ticking away, the Irish frustration boiled over, and referee Kyros Vassaras of Greece sent off Ireland defender Andy O'Brien in the 85th minute for an apparent elbow on Awat.

The Racing Santander goalkeeper was the hero of Israel's game. He was injured on several occasions as he fell desperately at the feet of the Irish strikers to deny them sure chances at goal."

So its true, he was not faking it after all :-)

Ron Amikam
05/06/2005, 11:05 AM
From a financial point of view, FIFA must be down on its hand and knees praying for Ireland to qualify - tens of thousands of fans, no trouble and a huge boost to the economy. :ball:

Really?

In Basel in the 3th of September there will be 10,000 fans from Israel, and if we will qualify for world cup there willbe between 10 to 25,000 Israely and jews there.

Ron Amikam
05/06/2005, 11:11 AM
That website should get it's facts right....we haven't lost at Landsdowne since 93? Mick'll be delighted to hear that.

Here we start again....We are not counting Swiszerland since yesterday night...Israel the arroGrant!!!!!

Israel
05/06/2005, 11:26 AM
The reason why Awate was Israel's hero last night is that he did make two amazing saves.

I think that it was innapropriate from him to fake in that O'brien incident but appart from that incident he did not fake as much as you think he did.
True, maybe he did waste a couple of seconds but he was seriously injured and it was well shown on T.V.
Anyway, there was a 7 minute stopage time and I think that wasting time never works. It should have been that way but Israel was lucky as Ireland didn't gain the 3 points that it deserve.
Somehow we keep play poorly but in this campagne we manage to get some decent results.

I belive Ireland has more chances on finishing first than us finishing second.
And despite your anger, I still wish you good luck in the future as it is very important to maintain the good relations between us.

Israel
05/06/2005, 11:27 AM
Here we start again....We are not counting Swiszerland since yesterday night...Israel the arroGrant!!!!!

We didn't count Austria and Slovenia either...

Yuval
05/06/2005, 11:42 AM
This Israeli's 0.02$:

First off, I don't care. I don't think that this team represents Israeli football, and I couldn't care less wether Israel will make it in.

Now.

I'm fond of Duff and the Irish team as a rule, I think that you have an excellent midfield game and a world class offence although your defence is poor. Luckily for you, (my favourite player) Balili is dumb as a mule and although very agile on his feet and REALLY fast, he has a funny little hobby called offside. Plus I personally laughed my arse off when he ran straight all the way behind the goal.

Awat:
The guy's a cnut. What he did was disgusting and dishonourable but I don't think that he was stalling for time, because he did get injured rather bad. If he did FIFA will sort it out.
I do have to give him that he managed to stand firm against a relentless 30 minute constant attack that would break most of the europe's toughest goal keepers. Much less than what you did to us broke bartez to pieces.

Benado:
Should have gotten a red card at the fifth minute.

Both teams' players could use a lesson in sportsmanship. Although Awat was a disgrace he did take in a lot of aggro.

Your coach is an idiot. You had a winning team till he made the switch and you could easily end this game with a nice 3-1 at the least.

In all honesty I think that the best team won this game. You played your game way below average and israel that has great material and no technic managed to give a good defence game but a nonexisting offence game.

And most important: As I said in the beggining I don't care who gets in. I wish you luck and although I don't support it I wish the Israely team luck as well, but even if it were the swiss and faros I would have been ok with it.

AS LONG AS IT'S NOT FRANCE.

brine3
05/06/2005, 11:50 AM
In all honesty I think that the best team won this game.

The ref?

Israel
05/06/2005, 12:09 PM
This Israeli's 0.02$:

Luckily for you, (my favourite player) Balili is dumb as a mule and although very agile on his feet and REALLY fast, he has a funny little hobby called offside. Plus I personally laughed my arse off when he ran straight all the way behind the goal.

And to think that he is one of the best (or perhaps only) strikers we have.

05/06/2005, 12:46 PM
Eh?! :confused: :rolleyes:

He is your national goalkeeper. Your national team represents your nation. How can you not see the connection with your nation?
Eh, no. In fact, this is the fundamental misconception hindering the development of Irish football. National selections are supposed to be celebrations of the vitality and vibrancy of a country's football culture. In Ireland's case, it's merely an indictment of the poverty of another country's football culture.

When even an ultra-nationalistic culture such as Israel's can more readily grasp this differentiation, you know you have problems. :rolleyes:

Dublin*Green
05/06/2005, 12:47 PM
And to think that he is one of the best (or perhaps only) strikers we have.

ARbietman, Moshe biton and Asulin are a lot better (aldo, Asulin can't play 'cuz he did'nt serve his 3 years in the Army).

About Awat - I hate him.
Davidovich and him play together at every team (kids, Youngsters and so on), And davidovich was always the first to play - Awat was only a Sub.
Bad luck for Davidovich, He has a big knee problem the ****ed up his career (Better then most goalkeppers in the world - Shoukd have seen him before he got injured against Spain, almost 4 years ago).
Anyway - We got Ohad cohen that, in my opinion, is better Then Awat to, Just short of experince.

Argggghhh CAn't belive that he is going to play in Viareal - He probably has a very god agent.

Do you remember the Goal he conceded against Beitar Jerusalm ?? or his poorly Preformence's in the Champions League.
GOd ****ing DAmit, How did he get to europe ?!.

05/06/2005, 12:54 PM
This Israeli's 0.02$:

First off, I don't care. I don't think that this team represents Israeli football
I don't understand this, Yuval. Israel's squad seems eminently representative of its country's football. Only a handful of the Israeli party earn a crust abroad (five out of twenty-one?), and I'm guessing that even the foreign-based players received their football education at home, in contradistinction to the Irish squad, which is surely the least representative of any on earth (with the possible exception of Palestine.)

Luckily for you, (my favourite player) Balili is dumb as a mule and although very agile on his feet and REALLY fast, he has a funny little hobby called offside. Plus I personally laughed my arse off when he ran straight all the way behind the goal.
If Balili had anything between his ears, Israel would have won the game. How many times did Benayoun set him up, only to see his team-mate run offside? :mad:

oconghc2
05/06/2005, 1:15 PM
look what our soccer history is and look at yours. this is an achievment for us.

none of our achievements in football were soured by the type of diabolical unsporting behaviour your keeper showed! Its not what the game is about! We cant deny you your draw - well done but you have to admit it has been tarnished a bit by this joke of a footballer and some of the cynical fouling by your team.

Enjoy it - but be realistic

05/06/2005, 1:16 PM
in contradistinction to the Irish squad, which is surely the least representative of any on earth (with the possible exception of Palestine.)

As ever, such fine bombast, Sheridan. Please do enlighten us as to what you're actually trying to say.

Duncan Gardner
05/06/2005, 1:45 PM
I think he's saying many of the RoI's squad grew up in England?

05/06/2005, 2:07 PM
Actually couldn't give a toss where they grew up (insofar as it affects their "national/ethnic purity" anyway), and the fact that anyone would is just another symptom of the syndrome I described in my previous post but one (which provides all the elucidation anyone could require.)

Yuval
05/06/2005, 2:12 PM
The ref?

Haha, yeah...
But I meant that the draw was a fitting score.

Yuval
05/06/2005, 2:15 PM
I don't understand this, Yuval. Israel's squad seems eminently representative of its country's football. Only a handful of the Israeli party earn a crust abroad (five out of twenty-one?), and I'm guessing that even the foreign-based players received their football education at home, in contradistinction to the Irish squad, which is surely the least representative of any on earth (with the possible exception of Palestine.)

What I'm saying is that recruiting to the team seemed a bit political, and I'll leave it at that.

If Balili had anything between his ears, Israel would have won the game. How many times did Benayoun set him up, only to see his team-mate run offside? :mad:

Hey I know. What can I say, I love the guy, he's all heart, but he's not the brightest bulb in the box...

Israeli-g
05/06/2005, 3:05 PM
Ireland never took their chances,that much is true but Israel and their excuse of a goalkeeper are a ****ing disgrace to football.****ing shame on you Israel.dirty ****ing *******s :mad: :mad: :mad: :eek:

YOU SHOULD LOOK IN THE MIRROR !!!(or is it because you looked in the mirorr you are so angry and frustrated or it is just because you are a racist?!...)

After this kind of post and a few more of this type that i've found here
i'm really happy that it ended 2-2 (and maybe even disapionted that we didn't won at the end )cause you don't deserve to win despite having better players and a better team

I thought better of the Irish and you were known to be true sportsmen knowing also how to lose...
yes,I felt uncomfortable with the over drama of awate and THINK the red card for your team was wrong judgment . but allso your players played tough and hurt him(the blood wasn't ketchup he brought from home,yo now..)
It is also true that at the begining Benado touched one of your players and even I who is not a real football fan know the ref could gave a pennalty and we will not have the right to say that he is totally wrong(i know in this situations sometimes you get a penalty and sometimes you don't....and it depends on the ref angle of sight or just his judgment & resolve -intentionally or not...)

sure,you have better players(one on one...) with better skills ,in better teams,in better leagues but you also ,probebly ,know that football( and all sports ...)is not jus't "the technical side" ...in this "other area" we were better! and at the end we got the draw which is for my opinion a win! the win of the spirit !
you can feel disapointed because you have more potentioal but we deserve some respect for our comeback!
those who don't like israelis or "jews" -I don't care about! ....
but those who have true respect for the spirit of sport have to get in perspective and if you want fairness from us - recognizing your talent and the mistakes or unjust decisions of the ref' or misbehaviour of our goalkeeper( only the one time he made an act that led to the red card-that was bad and yes-shameful for me...) - you also should give us some credit for the great spirit we've shown.this is sport! more than "just the body"!....

05/06/2005, 3:11 PM

No, I recall it now. It's a reference to the lack of quality inherent in Irish domestic football and the national team's consquent reliance on the coaching infrastructure of another country to nurture its talent.

Actually couldn't give a toss where they grew up (insofar as it affects their "national/ethnic purity" anyway), and the fact that anyone would is just another symptom of the syndrome I described in my previous post but one (which provides all the elucidation anyone could require.)

So what do you suggest we do to address those problems? I only ever seem to remember you coming out with this argument when times are bad, but I don't recall any positive direction. Let's hear it then.

Israel
05/06/2005, 3:17 PM
by the way

I'm not sure that Awat has signed in Villareal allready.

And it is really funny to think that from all players in our squad Balili is one of the few to play outside Israel.

05/06/2005, 3:43 PM
No, I recall it now. It's a reference to the lack of quality inherent in Irish domestic football and the national team's consquent reliance on the coaching infrastructure of another country to nurture its talent.
http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=rationalisation

So what do you suggest we do to address those problems? I only ever seem to remember you coming out with this argument when times are bad, but I don't recall any positive direction. Let's hear it then.

Times are neither good, bad nor indifferent as far as I'm concerned. I just feel moved (out of amusement, more than anything) to comment whenever the FAI's playthings get their heads handed to them by a real football nation and, despite the cacophony of wailing and keening which inevitably ensues, the penny still fails to drop.

05/06/2005, 3:49 PM
You can be as esoteric or obtuse as you like, but until you propose something different and workable in everyday English, then you're as much as part of the problem as those of us who remain, shall we say, less enlightened. In short, sh*t or get off the pot.

jofyisgod
05/06/2005, 4:04 PM

Haven't actually got anything to add, I just wanted to congratulate you-your posts are always a joy to read, due to the amazingly profound way you write.

They are the grammatical equivalent of sex... ;)

Israel
05/06/2005, 5:55 PM
Awat's behaviour was a disgrace but only for the O'brien incident. That was a shame for us Israelis.

About the other - as I said, MOST of the time he WAS injured. You could easilly see that. for the minute or so he wasn't - just consider it as a time out taken in the game to reduce the speed of it. eventually there's no waste of time in modern football. The ref adds it in the end.