View Full Version : Israel match thread
liam88
04/06/2005, 10:43 PM
Fcuking hell - now I've got both Israeli and Irish depressives - maybe both countries will go to Germany.
Besides I hate that Swiss git that made obscene gestures to the Irish bench when they beat us a couple of years ago.
Lets beat those cuckoo clock ringing, cheese eating, nazi gold hoarding bunch of ar$eholes so we'll both be happy.
Damn, guess that shags up my earlier peace and love theme. :D
By the way, I've nearly finished the first bottle of Andreas Cavas Chardonnay so I'm life's looking a little brighter!!
You are a legend ma man!
CMON' THE IRISH-we ARE going to Germany!!! I love ya Ireland-forever no matter what!
04/06/2005, 10:45 PM
Quite incredible. The keeper was an utter disgrace. The ref was utterly appalling too. I've played Superleague games where the ref refereed from the sideline and not seen anything as bad. From the penalty and red card which he missed in the first minute, to ignoring the antics of the Israeli keeper, to the numerous petty "fouls" which he gave to continually gave, breaking up play, he was probably the worst ref since that Bulgaria game in 1981.
To all the Israeli fans here - What do you think when they see the goalkeeper - a faker, a pathetic excuse of a man - rolling around on the ground in pretence of injury? Are you proud when he punches a player in the face, pretends to be injured and gets that player sent off? Do you find it aesthetically pleasing to watch a football game where the limit of your ambition is to cheat?
I hope your team never shames our ground - or any other - with such behaviour again. Uttelry sickening. A disgrace to your nation.
04/06/2005, 10:47 PM
Remind me who invent the terror in the world?
We had a prime minister (Shamir) that his nick name in the underground against the British wan Michael, derivative from Michele Collins.
U were a great teachers.
Tahnks (and to o'shea too...)
You lot are really ****ing starting to get on my ****ing nerves.Its Michael Collins and you have no right to speak that great mans name,let alone compare him to some two-bit Israeli thug
04/06/2005, 10:49 PM
A yellow card to the lot of you. Calm down with the nastiness or the thread gets locked. I won't have this degenerate into racist slanging.
:ball: PP
omril
04/06/2005, 10:49 PM
posted this msg on another thread:
Don't let the fact that the red card actually meant nothing and had no significance whatsoever on the last 10 minutes confuse you fellas, all israelis are cheaters, *******s, liars and deserve to be banned from FIFA because of that keeper.
Ah, by the way, Awate definitely deserves an oscar - look at how he managed to make that blood come out of his nose. Absolutely brilliant.
GO ISRAEL
D2, you are a pathetic joke.
a beliver
04/06/2005, 10:51 PM
To all the Israeli fans here - What do you think when they see the goalkeeper - a faker, a pathetic excuse of a man - rolling around on the ground in pretence of injury? Are you proud when he punches a player in the face, pretends to be injured and gets that player sent off? Do you find it aesthetically pleasing to watch a football game where the limit of your ambition is to cheat?
I hope your team never shames our ground - or any other - with such behaviour again. Uttelry sickening. A disgrace to your nation.[/QUOTE]
i can see u havn't read our answers
no , we're not proud at all in the way
sure we were embarrassed by the way we played
and obviously we're happy about the draw
Ron Amikam
04/06/2005, 10:52 PM
A disgrace to your nation.
What is the ****ing conection with my nation?
Awat brake is nose,ans is eye-socket. from what, from the rain? disgrace?
liam88
04/06/2005, 10:53 PM
Quite incredible. The keeper was an utter disgrace. The ref was utterly appalling too. I've played Superleague games where the ref refereed from the sideline and not seen anything as bad. From the penalty and red card which he missed in the first minute, to ignoring the antics of the Israeli keeper, to the numerous petty "fouls" which he gave to continually gave, breaking up play, he was probably the worst ref since that Bulgaria game in 1981.
I hope your team never shames our ground - or any other - with such behaviour again. Uttelry sickening. A disgrace to your nation.
I AM PROUD TO KNOW YA.......AND NO ONE CALL'S D2 PATHETIC-HE'S A LEDGE AND MORE OF A MAN THAN ANY OF YOUR TEAM WILL EVER BE ISRAEL!!!
davey
04/06/2005, 10:53 PM
believe me when i say i'm Brian Kerrs biggest critic but tonight it was not his fault,Tel aviv was his fault.
Agree with every word. We played well tonight. On any other night we would have won. It was one of the most incredible nights of Irish football I've ever seen. Agree with some criticisms of Kerr but the bottom line is that we were robbed tonight by one of the most disgraceful refereeing and goalkeeping performances I've ever seen.
I'm the biggest pessimist regarding the international team of all time but WE WILL QUALIFY.
liam88
04/06/2005, 10:54 PM
I'm the biggest pessimist regarding the international team of all time but WE WILL QUALIFY.
WE BELIEVE!!!!
See you in Germany buddy!!!
04/06/2005, 10:58 PM
WE BELIEVE!!!!
See you in Germany buddy!!!
I believe thanks to your optimisim Liam88,you are truely a great man.
a beliver
04/06/2005, 10:59 PM
u're all making a mistake talking politickly
it doesn't concern to the game
please come down , and talk football
lets be objective and agree on the fact
israel played badly
ireland should have won
awat did some undecent deeds
that's all
hope the things wont effect between those two countreis
cause i know that israel realy crazy about ireland.
and carry on in our life
davey
A yellow card to the lot of you. Calm down with the nastiness or the thread gets locked. I won't have this degenerate into racist slanging.
:ball: PP
You're right to intervene PP but speaking as an Irishman, I havent felt this gutted since Macedonia 99 - and we had only ourselves to blame for that. Tonight was shocking and in terms of injustice, it was up there with Belgium 81. Unlike that night we've a chance to come back. I firmly believe we will. I understand everyones frustration but lets not rise to the bait of Israeli fans.
hamish
Sir Hamish I dub thee chief of foot.ie morale. :D
Doesn't take much to fet me p!$$ed these days* so I'll volunteer for anything right now - is that an eee at the end of that word or sssss.
Sign me up!
*just opened a bottle of Petit Herisson Colombard Chardonnay and have got twenty bottles of Bergadler Premium Pils on standby. When is the match startin' ?
a beliver
04/06/2005, 11:00 PM
u're all making a mistake talking politicaly
israel played badly
ireland should have won
that's all
and carry on in our life
liam88
04/06/2005, 11:00 PM
I believe thanks to your optimisim Liam88,you are truely a great man.
I believe thanks to your believing that you are a truly great man :D :D
"And at the end of the day all you can do is pray"........and BELIEVE!
LADS
We AREgoing to qualify!
ERIN GO BRAGH! LLTP!! WE'LL BE THERE :D
liam88
04/06/2005, 11:01 PM
israel played badly
ireland should have won
that's all
and carry on in our life
Aye well said that man....WELL SAID..add on the terrible ref and we'll shake on it!
We're off to Germany!
I admire you mate-you talk good :) Well done I have a lot fo time for ya! Not just because you speak the truth but you genuinley care about our countries friendship-more important than football! That is so comendable! Well done!
04/06/2005, 11:02 PM
israel played badly
ireland should have won
that's all
and carry on in our life
Well said believer. I do not begrudge your fighting back to 2-2 in the first half. It's the 2nd half stuff that got me angry. You did do well to take a result.
04/06/2005, 11:05 PM
What is the fucing conection with my nation?
Awat brake is nose,ans is eye-socket. from what, from the rain? disgrace?
I'm afraid this lack of circumspection from Irish supporters is absolutely typical and only to be expected. You must understand that this is not a football nation, and consequently, the populace often fails to display a keen understanding of certain footballing realities (such as the often arbitrary nature of many international games.) Hence, the hysterical scapegoating of players/managers/opponents which invariably follows disappointing results.
In the light of the comments concerning Awat (who, incidentally, is a appallingly sub-standard 'keeper and cost Israel a place in the play-offs back in 2001 when he was flummoxed by Herzog's telegraphed free-kick) it's amusing to reflect upon the strikingly ironic fact that Ireland failed to win the game primarily as a result of Robbie Keane's self-inflicted injury, which resulted from a dive. BTW, if Awat deserves an Oscar, then it's surely the award for Best Visual Effects. Because I'm pretty sure I saw claret leaking from his nose.
liam88
04/06/2005, 11:06 PM
Just to clear this up now-after all the good nature of the Israeli fans inIsrael and on this board I was really disspointed to hear them booing Ian Harte when he took a throw-in by their stand :(
hamish
04/06/2005, 11:06 PM
israel played badly
ireland should have won
that's all
and carry on in our life
Good man.
Must be the alcohol but I do sense a universal vibe of good fellowship percolating this thread now.
All together now:
Everyone is beautiful
In their own way............ :D
liam88
04/06/2005, 11:07 PM
I'm afraid this lack of circumspection from Irish supporters is absolutely typical and only to be expected. You must understand that this is not a football nation, and consequently, the populace often fails to display a keen understanding of certain footballing realities (such as the often arbitrary nature of many international games.) Hence, the hysterical scapegoating of players/managers/opponents which invariably follows disappointing results.
In the light of the comments concerning Awat (who, incidentally, is a appallingly sub-standard 'keeper and cost Israel a place in the play-offs back in 2001 when he was flummoxed by Herzog's telegraphed free-kick) it's amusing to reflect upon the strikingly ironic fact that Ireland failed to win the game primarily as a result of Robbie Keane's self-inflicted injury, which resulted from a dive. BTW, if Awat deserves an Oscar, then it's surely the award for Best Visual Effects. Because I'm pretty sure I saw claret leaking from his nose.
ha, ha ha, ha ha ha, hahahahahaha......shut up negative man :D :ball:
hmmmm in light of the comments concering Awat(e) yah, yah, HE'S A CHEAT-DEAL WITH IT AND STOP FISHING!
Yigal
04/06/2005, 11:11 PM
OK, here's my point of view on the game (and something beside it):
Israeli team (and sorry for starting with this team, but hey, it's my national team, so it's natural): played like hell, no creativity in the middle, passes went usually backwards, no sharpness in attack, too defensive line-up (well, it's OK for an abroad game) and a poor keeper (well, I think everything was told about him in an earlier threads, and mostly I agree with them, so no point to start this discussion all over again). The only bright side today was Yosi Benayoun (IMHO).
Irish team: great desire to win the game, even with 10 players, no luck with some balls, didn't receive a well deserved penalty kick (in the first minutes, when Benado fouled somebody in the 16 (sorry, don't remember who it was)), fine work on attacking (but again, less of luck). On the other hand, somewhat dirty play by some players (nerves, nerves, nerves...).
Conclusion: Israel didn't deserve a tie, Ireland deserved to win. But this is football, and these sorts of things happen.
And now to that "something beside it": I was really disappointed to see palestinian flags on the stadium, raised by some of the Irish fans. This is supposed to be a sporting event and it's a shame on those fans who decided to mix up sports with politics, especially after a warm and friendly welcome Irish fans received in TA (and I don't think anybody can argue with that). I don't want to generalize, but those fans make all of you a very bad name. I don't think Israelis deserved this kind of welcome. :( :mad:
hamish
04/06/2005, 11:12 PM
Wish I had such a vocabulary :o
Indeed his nose was bleeding but it was his carry on at other times that annoyed me.
Sheridan, have to agree with you in all honesty. What was that Shakespeare said about the mote in one's eye?
And please, don't start quoting William. Please.
Ron Amikam
04/06/2005, 11:12 PM
(who, incidentally, is a appallingly sub-standard 'keeper .
First, not a sub, first. Next season in Viareal. (but a terrible goaly... :D )
Gareth
04/06/2005, 11:13 PM
I am as disappointed about the game as any of you are, and I do think I nearly put my fist thru the screen when the keeper went down for the umpteenth time holding his *fill in any part of the body that was not in contact with anything but air* however that is were my anger ends. Sport is Sport and once you start dragging it down to politics well then you basically are ruining the game. If you don't like Israel as a nation outside of a football game, go onto a different chatboard. I am sure people can find some.
Gareth
04/06/2005, 11:15 PM
Because I'm pretty sure I saw claret leaking from his nose.
Awh the physio put it there. They were not ordinary cotton wool buds rammed up there :) Pre-soaked probably. For Effect!! :) So the award for Best Visual Effect indeed goes to......
liam88
04/06/2005, 11:19 PM
Israeli team (and sorry for starting with this team, but hey, it's my national team, so it's natural): played like hell, no creativity in the middle, passes went usually backwards, no sharpness in attack, too defensive line-up (well, it's OK for an abroad game) and a poor keeper (well, I think everything was told about him in an earlier threads, and mostly I agree with them, so no point to start this discussion all over again). The only bright side today was Yosi Benayoun (IMHO).
Irish team: great desire to win the game, even with 10 players, no luck with some balls, didn't receive a well deserved penalty kick (in the first minutes, when Benado fouled somebody in the 16 (sorry, don't remember who it was)), fine work on attacking (but again, less of luck). On the other hand, somewhat dirty play by some players (nerves, nerves, nerves...).
Conclusion: Israel didn't deserve a tie, Ireland deserved to win. But this is football, and these sorts of things happen.
And now to that "something beside it": I was really disappointed to see palestinian flags on the stadium, raised by some of the Irish fans. This is supposed to be a sporting event and it's a shame on those fans who decided to mix up sports with politics, especially after a warm and friendly welcome Irish fans received in TA (and I don't think anybody can argue with that). I don't want to generalize, but those fans make all of you a very bad name. I don't think Israelis deserved this kind of welcome. :( :mad:
Good man-good post, I agree (except with the "these sort of things happen" your keeper really is an animal"
What more can I say you summed it up well! Well done :)
Really proud to speak to Israeli fans who can accept what happend and speak the truth-like I said before I have all the time in the world for ya. Sorry about the Palestinian flags on behalf of my fellow fans. It's a shame your fans had to boo Ian HArte after the brilliant recpetion they gave our fans in Tel Aviv :(
brine3
i'm not annoyed with the israeli team, more the israeli goalkeeper and the referee. and all 12 israeli medics, who seemed to be waiting like sprinters perched on blocks to come on whenever your man in goal broke a fingernail.
besides all the carry on with the goalkeeper, fair play to israel
thank god jorg stiel is retired, i can't take any more of this acting
hamish
Good point and fair summary.
Repeat my earlier point, I'm sure the Israeli fans are having a great time in Dublin right now so don't worry about the few who did boo - vast majority respected both anthems. Well, that's the impression I got from the TV anyway - hope I'm right.
Ron Amikam
04/06/2005, 11:28 PM
Hey, u deserve en easy win but some how (well, we started with miracles and wonders in the history), it was 2-2. We hope u will bit France and the Swiss, u will go to the world cup and we to the playoff. fair?
liam88
04/06/2005, 11:29 PM
Hey, u deserve en easy win but some how (well, we started with miracles and wonders in the history), it was 2-2. We hope u will bit France and the Swiss, u will go to the world cup and we to the playoff. fair?
Sounds good to me mate ;) Fair play to ye!
Goodnight :)
04/06/2005, 11:37 PM
What is the ****ing conection with my nation?
Eh?! :confused: :rolleyes:
He is your national goalkeeper. Your national team represents your nation. How can you not see the connection with your nation? The Irish players represent their nation (BACK, Éanna! :) ) and never give up, always give 100% and play in a fair manner with tremendous passion. The Israeli players represented their nation and chose to do so by rolling on the ground like women. If that's how you want your nation to be portrayed, then congratulations. You've succeeded. A disgrace. There is no place in football for nonsense like that. If he broke his nose - substitute him! Simple as that! It was interesting to note that after he was booked, he was suddenly alright, was able to take kickouts in under five minutes for once and was able to stay on his feet.
go israel
04/06/2005, 11:39 PM
He is your national goalkeeper. Your national team represents your nation. How can you not see the connection with your nation? The Irish players represent their nation (BACK, Éanna! :) ) and never give up, always give 100% and play in a fair manner with tremendous passion. The Israeli players represented their nation and chose to do so by rolling on the ground like women. If that's how you want your nation to be portrayed, then congratulations. You've succeeded. A disgrace. There is no place in football for nonsense like that. If he broke his nose - substitute him! Simple as that! It was interesting to note that after he was booked, he was suddenly alright, was able to take kickouts in under five minutes for once and was able to stay on his feet.
israeli sports site: "awate the hero of the game"
Ron Amikam
04/06/2005, 11:43 PM
Its football not a Gelian football, in football there is no place for elbow in the nose. Awat using franch pasport so there in no conection to my nation :cool:
04/06/2005, 11:46 PM
Well, how encouraging to see the fools posting on this site in support of such a disgraceful display are inded indicative of general Israeli sentiment. :rolleyes:
livehead1
04/06/2005, 11:48 PM
classic, pineapple. the keeper made some quality saves, but hes awful and shud have saved hartes freekick. hes cr*p!!!
Ron Amikam
04/06/2005, 11:49 PM
In 1958 we played in Cardif for the world cup, and the goaly, Hodorov, broke is nose by John Charls. He was an hero in that game but we lost 2-0. I prepere "disgrace" with 2-2 than "hero" with 0-2.
04/06/2005, 11:54 PM
Its football not a Gelian football, in football there is no place for elbow in the nose. Awat using franch pasport so there in no conection to my nation :cool:
If you're referring to the Andy O'Brien incident late on, then it's worth noting that that in no precipitated the keeper's initial antics - he'd been acting that way for the whole half.
He plays for your national team. He represents your nation. End of story. :rolleyes:
I'm going to bed. And then to the Faroes! :) It'll be nice to see opponents who understand fair play.
Ron Amikam
04/06/2005, 11:57 PM
good luck mate!
hamish
05/06/2005, 12:01 AM
I have to be honest here - I am not happy with that keeper's performance BUT does anyone remember Ireland v Holland in Italia 90???
Secondly, referring to low standards in football, I've just seen on teletext that West Ham are keen on signing Lee Bowyer. I've supported the Irons since the early 60s but if they sign that animal, then it's goodbye,
Football everywhere is contaminated with cheating, low standards of behaviour - look at Chelsea today vis-a-vis Frank Arnessen, just after the Cole affair. It just goes on and on and I dispair at all this.
What can be done about all this??? How can it be stopped?
IF the Israeli keeper was hit by an Irish elbow - name and shame the culprit, let video evidence be produced for FIFA etc but that doesn't absolve the keeper's behaviour. Justifying bad behaviour with more bad behaviour is wrong.
In fact, I thought the game was very exciting if not very high level of football at times but one couldn't take one's eyes off it.
All we're doing at this stage - myself included - is going round in circles by focusing on the keeper.
I can imagine that both football associations might be fined - whether justified or not. That would be FIFAs usual slap on the wrist and a display of their inability to deal with bad behaviour from ALL teams/players - at club and international levels.
Ron Amikam
05/06/2005, 12:06 AM
And i reported now that Awat was attacked by irish fan in the hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hamish
05/06/2005, 12:09 AM
And i reported now that Awat was attacked by irish fan in the hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If that happened, then I hope the culprit is arrested and jailed.
Again, bad behaviour justifying bad behaviour.*
*by the assailant on the keeper.
Ron Amikam
05/06/2005, 12:14 AM
If that happened, then I hope the culprit is arrested and jailed.
Again, bad behaviour* justifying bad behaviour.
*by the assailant
he throw on him a container of champagne, and run awey
hamish
05/06/2005, 12:23 AM
he throw on him a container of champagne, and run awey
Couln't have been an Irishman so - we would NEVER damage bottles of alcohol especially champagne, :eek:
Are you in Dublin, seeing this??
BobbySands
05/06/2005, 12:27 AM
Gamesmanship, cheating, and a ref who is always on your side. Sound familiar ??? Frankly we were lucky to get a draw. All in all a good days work.
Ron Amikam
05/06/2005, 12:36 AM
It was empty
hamish
05/06/2005, 12:42 AM
It was empty
Empty champagne bottles or empty container of champagne bottles?
Did anyone make a chase of the culprit and was the keeper hurt??
By the way, Argentinian fans must be even more disappointed - just seen on Eurosport they lost 2-0 to Ecuador!!!
M@ttitude
05/06/2005, 12:43 AM
That keeper should be shot with balls of his own ****e!!! I dont know how the irish players held themselves back from digging him! But I think Brian Kerrs decision to replace Robbie Keane with Graham Kavanagh was a disgrace, totally knocked us off our rhythm, DUFF IS A WINGER!!! Why couldn't he replace him with Stephen Elliott, similiar to Keane we would have continued to play the very poor Israel team off the park! The Faroes will be tough if we play like that :confused:
RiffRaff
05/06/2005, 12:47 AM
Disgusted at some of the comments directed at the Israel fans on here - they came for a point, they wasted time, they sneaked a point - good luck to them. If we can't win games we deserve to win over and over again, blame our manager. Good luck to Israel and if we don't get there, i hope they do.