View Full Version : Cork AUL Premier & Premier A 2019/20

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

Upstaball
12/06/2020, 11:24 AM
The return of both Greenmount R and Blarney St Ath displays everything that is wrong with the AUL, these are teams not clubs, probably burn their way through the lower divisions loaded with so called "talent" ( some people just love winning in small pools) and will damage those clubs who could have soldiered hard to maintain a presence in these divisions for a number of seasons without any silverware and then the glory clubs sorry teams will crash out of existence when they hit a wall as they surely will. Two illustrious names in Cork soccer being used as a flag of convenience does little for the AUL but they will take the entry fee and hang the consequences.

SteveSilvermint
12/06/2020, 2:33 PM
The return of both Greenmount R and Blarney St Ath displays everything that is wrong with the AUL, these are teams not clubs, probably burn their way through the lower divisions loaded with so called "talent" ( some people just love winning in small pools) and will damage those clubs who could have soldiered hard to maintain a presence in these divisions for a number of seasons without any silverware and then the glory clubs sorry teams will crash out of existence when they hit a wall as they surely will. Two illustrious names in Cork soccer being used as a flag of convenience does little for the AUL but they will take the entry fee and hang the consequences.
There is no way your take on blaney at is right ..it's a fantastic club with good people ..the Thomsons founded that club poured heart and soul into it ..1 rocky patch and got relegated..but if it's re entering it s for a good reason and they will have huge pull for players..

CBL20
13/06/2020, 11:26 AM
I would advise anyone involved in adult amateur football in Ireland to take a look at the COVID-19 Support Page we have created. It summarises the important points provided by the government and the FAI to date.

https://corkbusinessleague.ie/cbl-covid-19-support/

legend23
13/06/2020, 12:10 PM
Whats it got to do with you if we come back in to aul football after a 2 year break it was a tough decision for us to leave, in how you call us and greenmount rangers teams not clubs just goes to show your mentality childish, we have been working hard for the last year r so to try and bring us back and we after succeeding in doing it and your on here knocking fellas hard work is ridiculous, its up to the aul what league they put us in not the club and if they put us in 3rd division or premier us blarney street are gonna have the same mentality regards of what league it is and that is to win.

SteveSilvermint
13/06/2020, 1:12 PM
Whats it got to do with you if we come back in to aul football after a 2 year break it was a tough decision for us to leave, in how you call us and greenmount rangers teams not clubs just goes to show your mentality childish, we have been working hard for the last year r so to try and bring us back and we after succeeding in doing it and your on here knocking fellas hard work is ridiculous, its up to the aul what league they put us in not the club and if they put us in 3rd division or premier us blarney street are gonna have the same mentality regards of what league it is and that is to win.
Well said both blarney st and greenmount have won big honour.s they will be successful again best of luck to both clubs.

fruice
13/06/2020, 2:28 PM

Firstly great to see two clubs back and God knows the AUL needs all the clubs it can get and the more they can get the better.
I know there is a lot of work in getting clubs up and running and even more to keep them going.

But what’s key in this is why do clubs leave in the first place?and then suddenly they can come back a few years later what has changed?

Surely players are an obvious problem?

But what grinds with me (and this is not a dig at any club and this may not be the case with the two clubs returning)
Is clubs that go away and disappear when the going gets tough rather than stick it out and keep things going I see Grattan as a great example of this.

They then return a few years later and stroll threw a few divisions and it’s winning for the sake of winning and in the process deprive weaker clubs there chance of glory.

Now once again the AUL will ultimately decided where returning clubs end up but there should be a disincentive to discourage clubs leavening day 1 be it a points deduction or a fine on return.

Maybe this seems harsh but ultimately it’s fairer on the teams that stick it out in the good days and bad ones.

Dr. football
13/06/2020, 10:16 PM
Firstly great to see two clubs back and God knows the AUL needs all the clubs it can get and the more they can get the better.
I know there is a lot of work in getting clubs up and running and even more to keep them going.

But what’s key in this is why do clubs leave in the first place?and then suddenly they can come back a few years later what has changed?

Surely players are an obvious problem?

But what grinds with me (and this is not a dig at any club and this may not be the case with the two clubs returning)
Is clubs that go away and disappear when the going gets tough rather than stick it out and keep things going I see Grattan as a great example of this.

They then return a few years later and stroll threw a few divisions and it’s winning for the sake of winning and in the process deprive weaker clubs there chance of glory.

Now once again the AUL will ultimately decided where returning clubs end up but there should be a disincentive to discourage clubs leavening day 1 be it a points deduction or a fine on return.

Maybe this seems harsh but ultimately it’s fairer on the teams that stick it out in the good days and bad ones.

If you don’t have 11 players you can’t play match’s.

Grattan had the b team to fall back on that’s what saved them.

blackiegray
14/06/2020, 10:52 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/cork-soccer-club-creates-instructional-video-showing-how-covid-guidelines-will-work-at-training-1005225.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Dr. football
16/06/2020, 5:28 PM
I see Greenwood are entering “B” team next year, 3 new teams now that I know of.

SteveSilvermint
16/06/2020, 9:52 PM
I see Greenwood are entering “B” team next year, 3 new teams now that I know of.

The emergence of blaney st could be trouble for a few teams on the Northside bohs knocka and gratan in particular could lose a few players .

fruice
17/06/2020, 9:24 AM
The emergence of blaney st could be trouble for a few teams on the Northside bohs knocka and gratan in particular could lose a few players .
That’s the one thing that always interests me.
When a club is gone for a while do their ex players come back easily?
Do they not find it hard to leave where they have been playing for the intervening time?

Play it out
17/06/2020, 11:00 AM
AUL should really be inviting teams to enter now and pay when dates are confirmed. They should be proactive at the risk of more clubs deciding to pack it in.

Blarney Street should definitely be starting in the third division and not get a pathway to 1st like Glen Celtic this time around. Glen Celtic were understandably very strong at that time so I can see reasoning behind it. However, this time around there were 4 or 5 very strong second division sides who do not deserve to be jumped ahead of - Hibs, Grangevale, Castleview, Killumney and Glenthorn B even.

For everyone's sake ti would be great to have a bit more communication from the league. I've heard of teams that are actually back pre season training and not just kick arounds. Fair play to them for the effort but motivation will surely wash up quick with no dates set.

Beansontoast
17/06/2020, 2:18 PM
No sense in serious training now when next season not due to start for 3 months. i know lads are mad to get back but meet up for a kick around by all means. Some lads will just use a club until their own team goes back and then theyre off.
Hearing teams cant register players until 1st september as still a chance national cups may be run off and to prevent players signing for a different club?

Dr. football
17/06/2020, 6:58 PM
No sense in serious training now when next season not due to start for 3 months. i know lads are mad to get back but meet up for a kick around by all means. Some lads will just use a club until their own team goes back and then theyre off.
Hearing teams cant register players until 1st september as still a chance national cups may be run off and to prevent players signing for a different club?

You’d have to expect an announcement from the FAI soon to allow leagues come back earlier with all the phases been brought forward by the government. I assume once they have the mess with LOI and the national cups sorted they will tackle the rest of the football.

latte2012
19/06/2020, 8:50 PM
Planet fc joining AUL as Greenmount Rangers. Good addition to the league

fifa
20/06/2020, 9:50 AM
I wonder will the leagues do a u turn and complete their seasons now?

Beansontoast
20/06/2020, 1:38 PM
Not a hope.

Beansontoast
20/06/2020, 1:39 PM
Heard last night Coachford also gone MSL? Anyone confirm?

SteveSilvermint
20/06/2020, 3:43 PM
Heard last night Coachford also gone MSL? Anyone confirm?

If that's true it's a huge loss to the aul .... everything still up in the air still for football to return ...AGM.s and sorting insurance and the like and then if there is another little lockdown what happens.

latte2012
20/06/2020, 4:45 PM
I wonder will the leagues do a u turn and complete their seasons now?
I think the season has already been declared null and void. No going back now!

latte2012
20/06/2020, 4:52 PM
Glad to see with the season coming to an early finish the AUL have been busy improving things such as website and social media presence 🙄 what’s it going to take for the AUL get with the times?

SteveSilvermint
20/06/2020, 7:31 PM
Glad to see with the season coming to an early finish the AUL have been busy improving things such as website and social media presence 🙄 what’s it going to take for the AUL get with the times?
Cork business league way ahead on that score lads .

Dr. football
20/06/2020, 8:27 PM
Season starting back last weekend in August presume will see the rest of the clubs back training soon. Must say very quick response from AUL

fruice
20/06/2020, 9:07 PM
Season starting back last weekend in August presume will see the rest of the clubs back training soon. Must say very quick response from AUL

Where is this information coming from?

Beansontoast
21/06/2020, 10:45 AM
Posted on Billy Lyons site

Dr. football
22/06/2020, 10:17 AM
Grattan re entering a “b” team this year.

Knocka, bohs, temple, Blackpool, blackstone , Cathedral, castleview, central, parkview, gratten a and b and blarney street lots a clubs in and around the same area great to see hopefully they can all get numbers. I don’t care about the quality it’s just great to see people playing sport.

It’s junior soccer should all be about enjoyment and if you win something that should be added bonus

Play it out
22/06/2020, 11:55 AM
Excitement building around.

First few league games with every team buzzing will be a right test.

SteveSilvermint
22/06/2020, 12:07 PM
Grattan re entering a “b” team this year.

Knocka, bohs, temple, Blackpool, blackstone , Cathedral, castleview, central, parkview, gratten a and b and blarney street lots a clubs in and around the same area great to see hopefully they can all get numbers. I don’t care about the quality it’s just great to see people playing sport.

It’s junior soccer should all be about enjoyment and if you win something that should be added bonus
You don't want dud league and cup competition either ..yes to enjoyment and a bigger yes to quality and let's be fair it has to be about winning.

fruice
22/06/2020, 12:18 PM
Are the Aul currently +2 teams on last year?
The only team confirmed gone is innishvilla( it has been said here that Pearse are gone aswell and if so then they are currently breaking even)

Play it out
22/06/2020, 12:36 PM
Who's in? Grattan B, Greenmount, Blarney Street, Greenwood B? Any craic with Harp Celtic or are they going Business League?

Any word on teams folding?

Who's confirmed MSL?

donaldihno
24/06/2020, 7:45 AM
Who's in? Grattan B, Greenmount, Blarney Street, Greenwood B? Any craic with Harp Celtic or are they going Business League?

Any word on teams folding?

Who's confirmed MSL?

Buttevant are confirmed
Moving from AUL to MSL
Definitely one of the best facilities in cork

latte2012
24/06/2020, 8:37 AM
Buttevant are confirmed
Moving from AUL to MSL
Definitely one of the best facilities in cork
Butevant and Innishvilla both gone MSL as per their own social media. Big loss to AUL, 2 fantastic clubs with good facilities. I guess the prospect of playing MSL is more appealing these days than a potential day out at turners cross at the end of the season in a cup final.

fruice
24/06/2020, 12:11 PM
So that’s 3 officially gone so at best the AUL are +1.
It’s been said here that Pearse are gone so that would be the AUL at -1.
With possibly 3 more gone leavening them with -4 at worst
Will be a bit of a shake up in sections as they will have to fill up the top divisions and work from there.
Could have been a lot worse though.

Twinkletoes
24/06/2020, 1:36 PM
Gaffers pearse is gone to msl

JaketheSnake
25/06/2020, 7:11 AM
Part of the Important AUL notice : The league will be collecting at the start of the season €100 per team for FAI.net this will cover 50 players to be registered, any team that doesn’t sign up to this amount will have the balance credited to the following seasons registrations.

Are these lads mad? Clubs will struggle to register 20 players let alone 50 . Why cant they just give clubs the money back? or let them pay in increments of 10 players?

CBL20
25/06/2020, 8:53 AM
Part of the Important AUL notice : The league will be collecting at the start of the season €100 per team for FAI.net this will cover 50 players to be registered, any team that doesn’t sign up to this amount will have the balance credited to the following seasons registrations.

Are these lads mad? Clubs will struggle to register 20 players let alone 50 . Why cant they just give clubs the money back? or let them pay in increments of 10 players?

Weird one. We just increased player registration from €8 to €10 per player 3 seasons ago to cover the cost of FAInet. Seamless!

fruice
25/06/2020, 9:11 AM
But there never was a straight player registration fee in AUL just a Team registration fee.
And as you can see some would not have been happy had this jumped by €100.

I think where the issue is coming from is that as teams registered players during the course of the season the player should then pay a €2 reg fee and as a result there was a bit of chasing up for small amounts of money which had to be paid to the FAI.

At least this way that chasing is eliminated and you just get what you didnt use credited next year.

SteveSilvermint
25/06/2020, 10:10 AM
But there never was a straight player registration fee in AUL just a Team registration fee.
And as you can see some would not have been happy had this jumped by €100.

I think where the issue is coming from is that as teams registered players during the course of the season the player should then pay a €2 reg fee and as a result there was a bit of chasing up for small amounts of money which had to be paid to the FAI.

At least this way that chasing is eliminated and you just get what you didnt use credited next year.

Legacy's cost money and so do new regime s..joke.

SteveSilvermint
27/06/2020, 9:47 PM
Gaffers pearse is gone to msl

Mick Welch back to coach ford..chalky to knocknaheeny .

Beansontoast
28/06/2020, 3:34 PM
Chalky to Knocka? Wheres that coming from Silver? Chalky is down to ref FAI and national cup games in the coming weeks. Im also told Niall Curtin is new Knocka boss.

SteveSilvermint
28/06/2020, 7:41 PM
Chalky to Knocka? Wheres that coming from Silver? Chalky is down to ref FAI and national cup games in the coming weeks. Im also told Niall Curtin is new Knocka boss.

Just like everyone one else here .. rumours the grapevine can be a horrible place.curtin will do a fine job there.

Beansontoast
01/07/2020, 7:23 PM
Are Knocknaheeny Celtic gone Lads? Fella saying they have lost lot of players to Blarney st?

SteveSilvermint
01/07/2020, 7:56 PM
Are Knocknaheeny Celtic gone Lads? Fella saying they have lost lot of players to Blarney st?

Don't know but there is substance to chalky taking the job ..vincy Thomson was well respected and players will play for them on the back of that and rightly so

Beansontoast
02/07/2020, 6:20 PM
Best in a long time lads.. just heard while ago from a guy living in the northside who was told by a Glen Celtic player that a former manager of them is trying to force the club to get rid of the current managers and give him the job!!. He walked out last year thinking the club couldn't manage without him and now has his son - the captain, trying to turn players heads. Unreal if true!! This is AFTER the glen have already appointed the managers for next year!! Nothing surprises me anymore. 😀😀

JaketheSnake
03/07/2020, 11:24 AM
Best in a long time lads.. just heard while ago from a guy living in the northside who was told by a Glen Celtic player that a former manager of them is trying to force the club to get rid of the current managers and give him the job!!. He walked out last year thinking the club couldn't manage without him and now has his son - the captain, trying to turn players heads. Unreal if true!! This is AFTER the glen have already appointed the managers for next year!! Nothing surprises me anymore. 

There is always trouble in Glen Celtic . They win trophies , go up the leagues then fall apart. I spoke directly to a Glen Celtic player not a guy who knows someone who knows someone whose Aunt was talking to a Glen Celtic player :rolleyes:

From what I was told it looks like the majority of players are not happy with the current management or mismanagement as he called it.

He said that the club had no AGM due to Covid 19 and that the senior players want a change of management but the two that are there are refusing to step down. He also said that the ex manager was asked to apply for the job which he did.

So what are we to believe? There could be a massive split in the club over this.

Any northside club looking for players should keep an eye on this . There could be a few really good players come available very soon.

Beansontoast
03/07/2020, 12:40 PM
Looks like a case of watch this space so Jake.
Anyone know what went on in Richmond , were players injured.?

latte2012
04/07/2020, 10:40 AM
Looks like a case of watch this space so Jake.
Anyone know what went on in Richmond , were players injured.?
A couple of Travelers out their minds started on the lads while they were warming up, the lads gave them a few slaps. Next thing the travelers come back with machete, knife and Hurley’s with the rest of their family of course. Players retreated to their cars, while they were trying to get away the travelers smashed up the cars. Broke windscreens, passenger windows and so on. Only one lad got an injury that required medical attention. Lots of damage done to cars. Took a lot of guards to calm the travelers down. The same family responsible for this have a history of violence to say the least. Wish they would go and fight other scumbags instead of starting on lads trying to play a game of ball.

SteveSilvermint
04/07/2020, 11:09 AM
A couple of Travelers out their minds started on the lads while they were warming up, the lads gave them a few slaps. Next thing the travelers come back with machete, knife and Hurley’s with the rest of their family of course. Players retreated to their cars, while they were trying to get away the travelers smashed up the cars. Broke windscreens, passenger windows and so on. Only one lad got an injury that required medical attention. Lots of damage done to cars. Took a lot of guards to calm the travelers down. The same family responsible for this have a history of violence to say the least. Wish they would go and fight other scumbags instead of starting on lads trying to play a game of ball.
Well you know how it goes those footballer s should not be in ther own pitch they were impleading the right of them to walk in that pitch.im betting these 2posts will get removed .

Beansontoast
04/07/2020, 12:50 PM
Disgraceful. Who is going to pay for all the damage to cars? Same problem with "certain people" in Mahon for years although things have been reasonably good in recent times. Delicate balance needs to be kept. Whose to say they won't visit Richmond again?

fruice
05/07/2020, 2:05 PM
I see Pearse are after announcing their move to the MSL but says for the 21/22 season I wonder are they going this season and is the above a typo on their behalf.
Another loss to the league and will further add to the restructuring needed of divisions