View Full Version : Michael Obafemi F Plymouth Argyle (loan from Burnley) b.2000

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

samhaydenjr
04/11/2018, 4:50 PM
Trained with the first team this week, and expected to feature against man City later today

Great call tets. Makes bench gabbidini maybe injured. Cap him and Coventry against Denmark?

Came on for the last 17 minutes - unfortunately they were already facing a drubbing by then: https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46007194 - but it's a terrific breakthrough anyway. Hopefully he can cement his place in the first-team squad this time. Don't know about playing against Denmark (Robinson and Maguire need the minutes, although I guess bringing him on at the end couldn't hurt) but definitely time to have a chat about his future - I think I hear ears pointing upwards in FA HQ already

TrapAPony
04/11/2018, 5:48 PM
Strange that Afolabi is rated higher than him by the Irish setup but Southampton rate Obafemi higher...

04/11/2018, 6:06 PM
Strange that Afolabi is rated higher than him by the Irish setup but Southampton rate Obafemi higher...
What are you basing this on?

TrapAPony
04/11/2018, 6:12 PM
What are you basing this on?

Afolabi usually starts for Ireland underage ahead of Obafemi but Obafemi starts for Southampton U23's ahead of Afolabi.

Olé Olé
04/11/2018, 6:41 PM
Afolabi usually starts for Ireland underage ahead of Obafemi but Obafemi starts for Southampton U23's ahead of Afolabi.

Obafemi's erratic attendance of the Ireland camps might impact this, no?

Diggs246
04/11/2018, 7:34 PM
Obafemi's erratic attendance of the Ireland camps might impact this, no?
If he is already acting the maggot, and has trained with the English youth setup. He isnt interested i fear.

liamoo11
04/11/2018, 7:55 PM
If he is already acting the maggot, and has trained with the English youth setup. He isnt interested i fear.

he may not be. He trained with Nigeria at maybe under 17s but I wasn't aware he trained with brits?

Diggs246
04/11/2018, 8:11 PM
he may not be. He trained with Nigeria at maybe under 17s but I wasn't aware he trained with brits?

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/england-join-race-to-win-over-irish-teen-sensation-michael-obafemi-36519623.html

liamoo11
04/11/2018, 8:33 PM
https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/england-join-race-to-win-over-irish-teen-sensation-michael-obafemi-36519623.html

thank you.

liamoo11
04/11/2018, 8:38 PM
The only thing that makes me think he might be staying with us is that he was free to switch to England 19s this season but has not been in their squads so far. There 19s will likely win the euros so if you were half interested wouldn't you switch?

Cathalsmart
05/11/2018, 7:17 AM
Our U19s wouldn’t be a bad shout either though so could be down which team he feels he is more likely to get into.

Olé Olé
05/11/2018, 7:19 AM
The only thing that makes me think he might be staying with us is that he was free to switch to England 19s this season but has not been in their squads so far. There 19s will likely win the euros so if you were half interested wouldn't you switch?

When are Nigeria next in a major tournament?

Himself and Armstrong Okoflex are in very, very similar positions but Okoflex appears to be throwing his lot in with England for now. The Nigerians are persistent in chasing lads in big British clubs and if they're unsure on Ireland or England then Nigeria presents a decent alternative.

IsMiseSean
05/11/2018, 10:59 AM
When are Nigeria next in a major tournament?

Himself and Armstrong Okoflex are in very, very similar positions but Okoflex appears to be throwing his lot in with England for now. The Nigerians are persistent in chasing lads in big British clubs and if they're unsure on Ireland or England then Nigeria presents a decent alternative.

Okoflex is probably doing it the right way for him. Staying with England at youth level leaves the opportunity to switch to Ireland in his 20's, if his career doesn't pan out the way he is probably being told it could at the moment.

Grealish and Rice were both made to make a decision as youngsters.
If Grealish had stayed with England at underage - he could switch to Ireland in the next couple of years, if his career continues to flat-line in the Championship.
Rice is a little different since England never showed any interest in him until now.

Crowley on the other hand stayed with England - he didn't make the breakthrough at Arsenal and now he can switch to Ireland without much of a fuss being made.

Unfortunately it's the way inernational football has gone.

05/11/2018, 2:48 PM
Hughes on Obafemi progress (https://southamptonfc.com/news/2018-11-05/mark-hughes-on-michael-obafemi-option-post-manchester-city-southampton-premier-league)

“He’s got unbelievable pace. It was important that I had a look at him in the Premier League environment because he could very well be someone we can use.

“Bringing on Michael late on in games as an impact sub could be something that will help us. I was pleased with what he did, he didn’t look phased by the stage he was on so that bodes well as something we can work on.
Sounds like he could get a run in the side

zero
05/11/2018, 3:25 PM
Hughes on Obafemi progress (https://southamptonfc.com/news/2018-11-05/mark-hughes-on-michael-obafemi-option-post-manchester-city-southampton-premier-league)

Sounds like he could get a run in the side

If he were Welsh qualified i've little doubt he'd be called up for their next squad. What's wrong with us giving him a few mins, if he accepts the call up?

seanfhear
05/11/2018, 4:16 PM
At least let Roy Keane throw a few fooks ( verbal , verbal ) into him and see if he is made of the right stuff !

TrapAPony
06/11/2018, 12:14 PM
O'Neill doing the right thing calling him up to the senior squad. A last minute substitute appearance v Denmark will do nicely.

backstothewall
06/11/2018, 12:48 PM
O'Neill doing the right thing calling him up to the senior squad. A last minute substitute appearance v Denmark will do nicely.

Or just start him alongside Robinson in both games. Our cup doesn't exactly overfloweth with other options

06/11/2018, 3:30 PM
Knowing our luck that's what O'Neill will decide to do but he'll get injured vs Northern Ireland, miss Denmark and star for England or Nigeria(?) in 10 years time.

backstothewall
06/11/2018, 3:52 PM
If that happens I'll forever blame you for jinxing it Stutts

liamoo11
08/11/2018, 9:40 PM
https://footballlive.ng/michael-obafemi-evaded-nff-in-london-dikko/ intriguing headline hopefully he can also evade m15!

DeLorean
09/11/2018, 8:58 AM
What's his Twitter handle? Couldn't find him.

09/11/2018, 9:13 AM
Here: https://twitter.com/michaelobafemi_

samhaydenjr
10/11/2018, 1:14 AM
Fun fact... Obafemi has an older brother who is also a footballer, whose first name is, I kid you not, Afolabi. At the risk of making a major cultural faux pas, what are the odds?!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Afolabi_Obafemi

Olé Olé
10/11/2018, 6:24 AM
Strange that he's born in England so if he's older than Michael. I wonder did the family move to Ireland from England for a while and then just move back?

seanfhear
10/11/2018, 6:39 AM
Strange that he's born in England so if he's older than Michael. I wonder did the family move to Ireland from England for a while and then just move back?
Rain .

CraftyToePoke
10/11/2018, 8:02 PM
Mark Hughes has doubts.

- https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/3370422/mark-hughes-michael-obafemi-ireland-southampton/

10/11/2018, 8:08 PM
Nigerian fan site not so confident
https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_news.php?nid=29915

Southampton wonderkid Michael Obafemi had been on the radar of Nigeria Football Federation chiefs before being named to Ireland's provisional roster for their upcoming games in November.

Allnigeriasoccer.com can report with certainty that Obafemi was first proposed to the Nigerian Federation after playing a friendly against the Golden Eaglets back in 2015 but was rejected by the then coach Emmanuel Amuneke and further contact with the Federation did not yield any results.

'To fulfill all righteousness', this website contacted a high-ranking member of the Nigerian Federation for an official explanation as to why the teenage striker was not called up to the national teams.

''We tried to convince him, he has finally decided to play for Ireland,'' the top NFF official explained to allnigeriasoccer.com.

''Some of these players, people try to poison their mind about coming to Nigeria unless those that are good talents we want to work on.

''If he plays any competitive match for Ireland, it is finished.

''The President of the NFF (Pinnick), was very passionate about bringing him to play for Nigeria but it has not ended well.''

The 18-year-old Obafemi will become cap-tied to Republic of Ireland if he makes his competitive debut against Denmark in a UEFA Nations League tie on November 19.

Ifeanyi Emmanuel

Diggs246
10/11/2018, 11:35 PM
Mark Hughes has doubts.

- https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/3370422/mark-hughes-michael-obafemi-ireland-southampton/

If he doesnt turn up if called upon. Goodnight and good luck

Diggs246
10/11/2018, 11:36 PM
.....Cancel the good luck

Deckydee
12/11/2018, 2:19 PM
http://www.punditarena.com/football/rbarrett/michael-obafemi-decision/

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm

IsMiseSean
12/11/2018, 2:48 PM
http://www.punditarena.com/football/rbarrett/michael-obafemi-decision/

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm

That doesn't sit well with me.
He plays against the north and then he might decide he doesn't want to play against Denmark, so he can keep his options open. It's getting ridiculous now.

mark12345
12/11/2018, 3:05 PM
That doesn't sit well with me.
He plays against the north and then he might decide he doesn't want to play against Denmark, so he can keep his options open. It's getting ridiculous now.

Sorry Michael. It was nice knowing you.
Contrast him with Dan Crowley. Danny boy, a far better prospect I would say, is begging to be picked and we can't get it done for whatever reason.

Diggs246
12/11/2018, 3:35 PM
I was on about this before in one of the other threads. it should be a zero tolerance policy. you are called up and if you say no your international career could well end that second.

Its not sustainable we have an 18 year old with 25 mins league experience holding us to ransom! he is now training with our squad, he might play against NI and then leg it

seanfhear
12/11/2018, 4:21 PM
He is very small . Could he not just be thrown on the Pitch at some point !

Its beginning to get this ridiculous .

Olé Olé
12/11/2018, 7:44 PM
https://twitter.com/michaelobafemi_/status/1062042486351257600?s=19

Razors left peg
12/11/2018, 8:44 PM
Seriously this has to stop. If a guy is called up he should be busting with excitement and doing anything he can to play. This nonsence of "he still has a decision to make" coming from the manager is outrageous. That decision is over the second he gets a call up if the manager is doing his job properly. He calls the guy, tells him congratulations you have been picked for the National Team squad. If there and then the guys says no then fine, but when he turns up decision time is over.

Are we going to be in a position where he gets a goal against the North and then the manager having to talk in Fridays press conference about how hes not travelling to Denmark because he needs more time to think about the future?

Its making us a total laughing stock.

12/11/2018, 9:25 PM
It really isn't. The issue is the rules, which are affecting every country, but I will say they are disproportionally affecting lower ranked countries, such as ourselves. Any decent dual qualified player will be subject to the same speculation until they appear in a competitive senior international, if for no other reason than it's an easy story to write. The Independent were pushing the narrative that Matt Doherty could switch to the Netherlands recently
There's a list of dual nationality players on wikipedia here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Dual_internationalists_(football)

Razors left peg
12/11/2018, 9:58 PM
I have no problem with speculation and I have no issue with guys actually having a difficult decision to make, but as I said we cannot be in a position where a guy will play a full international on thursday and we will still be wondering if he is commited

liamoo11
12/11/2018, 10:11 PM
I can't see any blame on O'Neill here. He has included obafemi and will clearly play him in Denmark if obafemi gets on the plane to Copenhagen. What more can he do?

Diggs246
12/11/2018, 10:13 PM
I would love to know where they get the balls. 18 year old Michael O'B is walking the team hotel in Dublin without a care in the world! While we are pulling our hair out wondering if he will fu*k us!

seanfhear
12/11/2018, 11:08 PM
Seriously this has to stop. If a guy is called up he should be busting with excitement and doing anything he can to play. This nonsence of "he still has a decision to make" coming from the manager is outrageous. That decision is over the second he gets a call up if the manager is doing his job properly. He calls the guy, tells him congratulations you have been picked for the National Team squad. If there and then the guys says no then fine, but when he turns up decision time is over.

Are we going to be in a position where he gets a goal against the North and then the manager having to talk in Fridays press conference about how hes not travelling to Denmark because he needs more time to think about the future?

Its making us a total laughing stock.Scores a hat trick and then says . See ya !

CraftyToePoke
12/11/2018, 11:54 PM
Scores a hat trick and then says . See ya !

Look at what you could have had ... diddies ....

Diggs246
13/11/2018, 2:07 PM
Who knows what the story is
http://www.punditarena.com/football/rbarrett/michael-obafemi-committed-ireland/

13/11/2018, 2:47 PM
Probably as reliable as All Nigeria soccer

Olé Olé
13/11/2018, 2:55 PM
Probably as reliable as All Nigeria soccer

Less, I would say.

13/11/2018, 3:01 PM
I can't see any blame on O'Neill here. He has included obafemi and will clearly play him in Denmark if obafemi gets on the plane to Copenhagen. What more can he do?

He could maybe not come out with this sh!te of "still has a decision to make" and simply say "we're happy to have him in and hope he has a big future with Ireland" and tells the lad that he's giving him his ten minutes against Denmark and that'd be all she wrote.

If you call someone into the squad, you should have every intention of using that player at some point.

13/11/2018, 3:20 PM
He could maybe not come out with this sh!te of "still has a decision to make" and simply say "we're happy to have him in and hope he has a big future with Ireland" and tells the lad that he's giving him his ten minutes against Denmark and that'd be all she wrote.

If you call someone into the squad, you should have every intention of using that player at some point.

to be fair you cant get every player from a 24 (or whatever) squad game time. MON has a track record of picking lads in the squad to have a look at them and its que sera sera after that

13/11/2018, 5:04 PM

This, all day bloody long.

O'Neill isn't to blame for the rules, but he's to blame for fuelling fires and giving the press ****e to talk about. He can call their bluff for as long as he wants. 'No chance the kid will feature against Denmark' having told the boy he's going to be picked. 'We're struggling up top son, I like what I see from you, I'm going to give you the start in Denmark. It's low-key, we're building for the future, and it's an opportunity for you to give your career the jump-start like those kiddies in Wales have done. If anyone askes me I'll play it down, sure I don't name the team until the ref knocks on the door just before kick-off, so nobody will believe it anyway. What's that? You're not interested? Meyler!!!!"

TrapAPony
13/11/2018, 5:39 PM

Exactly. Martin O'Neill always has something arseways to say and always makes things more complicated than they are. I wouldn't be one bit surprised if he doesn't give Obafemi any game time against Denmark because that is the sort Martin O'Neill is.