View Full Version : Michael Obafemi F Plymouth Argyle (loan from Burnley) b.2000

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

Razors left peg
13/11/2018, 7:49 PM
All this speculation kinda runs what should be a pretty exciting call up. When is the last time we had an 18 year old striker with some Premiership experience. Hopefully we can get the commitment issue out of the way and this kid can kick on and be a massive player for us.

mark12345
13/11/2018, 8:12 PM
He could maybe not come out with this sh!te of "still has a decision to make" and simply say "we're happy to have him in and hope he has a big future with Ireland" and tells the lad that he's giving him his ten minutes against Denmark and that'd be all she wrote.

If you call someone into the squad, you should have every intention of using that player at some point.

Agree completely. Fair play to Martin for including him in the squad. But he should have done exactly what Finn Harps says above.

irishfan86
13/11/2018, 9:21 PM
Here's my optimistic conspiracy theory. Obafemi and/or his agent are playing up the fact he's eligible for multiple countries so he gets fast tracked into the senior Irish team (which he really does want to play for). O'Neill hasn't always been quick to experiment with the squad -- but this situation could see him get minutes sooner rather than later.

Fantasy stuff on my end perhaps but thought I'd throw it out there!

samhaydenjr
14/11/2018, 1:20 AM
Surely what should happen is O'Neill contacts Obafemi (or any other young player with multiple options) and says "I see you're making great progress and I'm ready to call you up, but I know you have a final decision to make - are you ready to commit or do you want time to think it over first?" If they're not ready, give them space to make their decision but continue with the business at hand of building a team with known resources. I don't like what appears to be happening, where we seem to be trying to manipulate players into staying on with friendly caps or promotions to the U21s and then we're left with egg on our faces if they pull out last minute.

I hope that O'Neill or someone had a word with Obafemi a while back and that he is actually ready to commit (and who knows? Maybe that has happened) but I fear he may have been called up in haste in an effort to ward off England (and maybe Nigeria) but I can't see that making a difference - they will make their approaches and Obafemi will make his decision one way or the other regardless of whether he gets a few minutes against The North. If he decides to switch at that point, then we will have wasted an opportunity to call up Aaron Connolly, who has scored even more this season than Obafemi and is possibly only weeks away from his EPL breakthrough.

With all that said, won't it be great if Obafemi plays against Denmark and continues his progress at Southampton and Connolly makes his first-team breakthrough soon? Combined with the arrival of Callum Robinson, that could mean our striker crisis could be over before the qualifiers begin... with Idah, McAuley, Cassidy, Parrott, Drinan, Afolabi, Hale and Roache still in the pipeline

Olé Olé
14/11/2018, 6:33 AM
That list of names is promising. In the short term, you'd hope that Connolly and Hale can kick on, given how prolific Connolly is at under 23 and Hale having senior experience. Any of the rest could lift their head above the parapet but might take a couple of years?

Fixer82
14/11/2018, 10:21 AM
Has Obafemi come out and said anything about playing for Ireland,
I haven’t seen anything yet.

If he wants to play for us, great.
But it’s hard to know these days what the kids think.

I think re Decla Rice, if it wasn’t for his club and his agent, he’d have already properly declared for us.

I hope he signs a massive contract or WH based on playing for England and then declares for us.

seanfhear
14/11/2018, 11:26 AM
Has Obafemi come out and said anything about playing for Ireland,
I haven’t seen anything yet.

If he wants to play for us, great.
But it’s hard to know these days what the kids think.

I think re Decla Rice, if it wasn’t for his club and his agent, he’d have already properly declared for us.

I hope he signs a massive contract or WH based on playing for England and then declares for us.I’d say Rice was coming under pressure at West Ham . He would be worth an awful lot more as an England International ; Sadly thats just the way it is .

Agent / business point of view ; his earning potential if he is a successful England international and particularly if that was in a successful England team ( ? ) would dwarf anything he could earn with Ireland . His wages just for being an England International would also be higher . Why ; but its true .

Diggs246
14/11/2018, 11:33 AM
I was on about this before in one of the other threads. it should be a zero tolerance policy. you are called up and if you say no your international career could well end that second.

Its not sustainable we have an 18 year old with 25 mins league experience holding us to ransom! he is now training with our squad, he might play against NI and then leg it

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-fallon-martin-oneill-is-to-blame-for-facilitating-culture-of-choice-37527288.html

Olé Olé
14/11/2018, 12:23 PM
What's this call for Troy Parrott about by Fallon? Undoubtedly mercurically talented, but he's got a lot of physical development to do before he can consider senior football.

IsMiseSean
14/11/2018, 12:30 PM
The last line in the piece is very unfair to Obafemi. It's more nonsense from John Fallon.

Obafemi is using the system to pick and choose his country and the manager is facilitating it.

There was been no indication whatsoever from Obafemi that he'll refuse to play against Denmark. It's all speculation.
Let's whole back on the criticism of the lad until/if it happens.

EDIT: Ignore my post - I just seen MON's latest remarks.

TrapAPony
14/11/2018, 12:33 PM
Dan McDonnell says that Obafemi won't be travelling to Denmark as he wants more time to make a decision. Absolutely embarrassing for Ireland once again.

IsMiseSean
14/11/2018, 12:48 PM
Dan McDonnell says that Obafemi won't be travelling to Denmark as he wants more time to make a decision. Absolutely embarrassing for Ireland once again.

I can't understand how O'Neill is letting this happen.
He criticised Crowley & Jack Byrne lately for being 'too confident' but will happily put up with Obafemi's nonsense.

TrapAPony
14/11/2018, 12:52 PM
I can't understand how O'Neill is letting this happen.
He criticised Crowley & Jack Byrne lately for being 'too confident' but will happily put up with Obafemi's nonsense.

O'Neill, the gimp, spent the week planting seeds of doubt in Obafemi's head with the rubbish he was coming out with. The only other lad we had with 'eligibility issues' he dropped him from the squad - Jimmy Dunne. No other nations are having the problem we are with dual nationals. The more I look at it, Martin O'Neill is highly likely to be directly at fault for the losses of Jack Grealish, Declan Rice, Liam Kelly and now Obafemi. All 4 are under his tenure, it's too coincidental at this stage and wouldn't have happened under any other previous Irish manager. Martin O'Neill is doing absolutely nothing for the future of Irish football.

Diggs246
14/11/2018, 1:17 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/john-fallon-martin-oneill-is-to-blame-for-facilitating-culture-of-choice-37527288.html

Lads please can we have a zero tolerance policy going forward.

CraftyToePoke
14/11/2018, 1:20 PM
O'Neill, the gimp, spent the week planting seeds of doubt in Obafemi's head with the rubbish he was coming out with. The only other lad we had with 'eligibility issues' he dropped him from the squad - Jimmy Dunne. No other nations are having the problem we are with dual nationals. The more I look at it, Martin O'Neill is highly likely to be directly at fault for the losses of Jack Grealish, Declan Rice, Liam Kelly and now Obafemi. All 4 are under his tenure, it's too coincidental at this stage and wouldn't have happened under any other previous Irish manager. Martin O'Neill is doing absolutely nothing for the future of Irish football.

Serious basic competency failings definitely. Too arrogant to do the job properly.

Fixer82
14/11/2018, 1:28 PM
We don’t know what the background is. O’Neill May have convinced him to train with us to try and lure him in.
If we missed out on him without O’Neill having made any overtures people would be giving out saying O’Neill missed out on a great lad who would’ve chosen us had anyone been in touch.

The rules need to change.
I believe you should be born in the country or have at least one parent or two grandparents born in the country.

That would still qualify Obafemi and Rice but it might cut this crap out a bit.

I think maybe the idea of nationhood is not as strong among young people as it was when we grew up (80s and 90s).

There’s far less loyalty and affinity in the game. No surprise really when there is no real loyalty at club level. I thought international football was less mercenary but looks like I was wrong

Cathalsmart
14/11/2018, 1:45 PM
Another player that suddenly wants to consider his international future as soon as he has been called up and seen first hand the state of the coaching staff and “football” practiced...surely not much of a coincidence.

johnnyc
14/11/2018, 1:45 PM
This is sadly true.

zero
14/11/2018, 1:46 PM
The ins and outs of Obafemi's decision are one thing, but I certainly don't think we should be capping someone - even in a friendly - who hasn't decided if he wants to play for us.

Diggs246
14/11/2018, 1:49 PM
We don’t know what the background is. O’Neill May have convinced him to train with us to try and lure him in.
If we missed out on him without O’Neill having made any overtures people would be giving out saying O’Neill missed out on a great lad who would’ve chosen us had anyone been in touch.

The rules need to change.
I believe you should be born in the country or have at least one parent or two grandparents born in the country.

That would still qualify Obafemi and Rice but it might cut this crap out a bit.

I think maybe the idea of nationhood is not as strong among young people as it was when we grew up (80s and 90s).

There’s far less loyalty and affinity in the game. No surprise really when there is no real loyalty at club level. I thought international football was less mercenary but looks like I was wrong

But we do know the background, he is here with our squad and isn't committed that's a fact. MON has also made a balls of this one, but the player is a total disgrace. I really really don't want him back

What should have happened:

MON: Michael I want to call you up for the NI an Denmark double header. but before I announce it, I want to make sure you are committed to be a rep of Ireland player.
MOB: No thanks, Im waiting for England as I was raised there and that's where my loyalties are.
MON: No Problem, goodbye

Fixer82
14/11/2018, 1:49 PM
The ins and outs of Obafemi's decision are one thing, but I certainly don't think we should be capping someone - even in a friendly - who hasn't decided if he wants to play for us.

I agree

Fixer82
14/11/2018, 1:52 PM
Another player that suddenly wants to consider his international future as soon as he has been called up and seen first hand the state of the coaching staff and “football” practiced...surely not much of a coincidence.

I don’t accept that argument.
I would train on tarmac if it meant I could pull on the green jersey.
As would many lads that are in the squad.

So if someone doesn’t like the training and pulls out, it shows a lack of character. Nobody was giving out about the training or the football when we were doing well.

Diggs246
14/11/2018, 2:06 PM
on another note, learn from this mistake MON, send michael OB home and replace him with Aaron Connolly.

Pride & ego is a killer

IsMiseSean
14/11/2018, 2:19 PM
MON: Michael I want to call you up for the NI an Denmark double header. but before I announce it, I want to make sure you are committed to be a rep of Ireland player.
MOB: No thanks, Im waiting for England as I was raised there and that's where my loyalties are.
MON: No Problem, goodbye

I may be wrong but isn't that basically what happen with Liam Kelly?

Fixer82
14/11/2018, 2:20 PM
on another note, learn from this mistake MON, send michael OB home and replace him with Aaron Connolly.

Pride & ego is a killer

Absolutely

Diggs246
14/11/2018, 2:23 PM
I may be wrong but isn't that basically what happen with Liam Kelly?

Yes, and that was the correct way to handle it

DeLorean
14/11/2018, 2:35 PM
Blaming MON for the Grealish/Rice situations is silly imo. He handled both as well as could be expected.

We've no idea what really happened with Kelly.

He's made an absolute mess of this Obafemi situation though. I won't blame him for losing the player a such, but it would have been very easy to suss him out beforehand, instead playing out the situation in public the week of the games. This has been pure incompetence on O'Neill's part and he has deservedly ended up with egg on his face. Ridiculous.

Diggs246
14/11/2018, 2:42 PM
Blaming MON for the Grealish/Rice situations is silly imo. He handled both as well as could be expected.

We've no idea what really happened with Kelly.

He's made an absolute mess of this Obafemi situation though. I won't blame him for losing the player a such, but it would have been very easy to suss him out beforehand, instead playing the out the situation in public the week of the games. This has been pure incompetence on O'Neill's part and he has deservedly ended up with egg on his face. Ridiculous.

Agreed here, but with 2) caveats
Kelly pulled out of the Turkey squad so we know he isn't ready to run through a brick wall for us.
Going forward post "Rice- Gate" he must not continue with the appeasement strategy, it hasn't worked

marinobohs
14/11/2018, 2:51 PM

well said. it is embarrassing to be picking players who haven't even committed to us :( even for this administration this is a new low. By all means let the kid pick but let him come back to us when he has made his mind up.
international teams shouldn't do test runs.

Cathalsmart
14/11/2018, 3:41 PM
I don’t accept that argument.
I would train on tarmac if it meant I could pull on the green jersey.
As would many lads that are in the squad.

So if someone doesn’t like the training and pulls out, it shows a lack of character. Nobody was giving out about the training or the football when we were doing well.

Well (unless you say otherwise) don’t have the advantage of having 3 other countries to play for...

Olé Olé
14/11/2018, 3:51 PM
Granted he hasn't much senior experience but I'm sure Adam Connolly would have relished this week training with the seniors. It's a pity lads like him get the kick in the teeth.

14/11/2018, 4:24 PM
This is a **** heap of the highest proportions.

Cathalsmart
14/11/2018, 4:38 PM
Hopefully a defeat to the North and a hammering by Denmark are results enough to send MON over the edge...I doubt it though :/

The Fly
14/11/2018, 5:24 PM
Never hope for a defeat against the North!

Cathalsmart
14/11/2018, 6:00 PM
Never hope for a defeat against the North!

Except when you have a parasite that is slowly destroying whats left of this teams soul.

Razors left peg
14/11/2018, 6:41 PM
Genuinely think that this a new low point of Irish football. To have a manager facilitate a player in the first team squad who is so uncommitted is nothing short of disgraceful.

TrapAPony
14/11/2018, 6:48 PM
Genuinely think that this a new low point of Irish football. To have a manager facilitate a player in the first team squad who is so uncommitted is nothing short of disgraceful.

Is Obafemi really uncommitted or is Martin O'Neill the one making this an issue here telling Obafemi that he should take time out to decide? Afterall, there are quotes from Obafemi saying that he was looking forward to going away with Ireland and possibly winning his first cap.

https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/17220973.southampton-striker-wants-first-international-cap (https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/17220973.southampton-striker-wants-first-international-cap/?ref=rss&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)

Olé Olé
14/11/2018, 6:53 PM
Is Obafemi really uncommitted or is Martin O'Neill the one creating the problem here telling Obafemi that he should take time out to decide? Afterall, there are quotes from Obafemi saying that he was looking forward to going away with Ireland and possibly winning his first cap.

https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/17220973.southampton-striker-wants-first-international-cap (https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/17220973.southampton-striker-wants-first-international-cap/?ref=rss&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)

Ken Early floated this theory earlier today on the Second Captains too. It doesn't make much sense to me though. He cites a convo with the chap that wrote the article for Pundit Arena.

Olé Olé
14/11/2018, 6:54 PM
Those quotes are hardly conclusive on committal long term.

Razors left peg
14/11/2018, 6:55 PM
Is Obafemi really uncommitted or is Martin O'Neill the one creating the problem here telling Obafemi that he should take time out to decide? It wouldn't surprise me in the least. Afterall, there are quotes from Obafemi saying that he was looking forward to going away with Ireland and possibly winning his first cap.

https://www.dailyecho.co.uk/sport/17220973.southampton-striker-wants-first-international-cap/?ref=rss&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

I wonder is it a case that O'Neill is picking him because he is young just so he can point to the fact that he did call up young players. But because he has zero intention of playing him O'Neill is happy to use the card that Obafemi still has a decision to make so he cant play him.

Ive got my tinfoil hat firmly on with that theory, but its just so much bullsh1t constantly every time there is an international camp

14/11/2018, 8:24 PM
Ken Early floated this theory earlier today on the Second Captains too. It doesn't make much sense to me though. He cites a convo with the chap that wrote the article for Pundit Arena.

Just on those quotes, according to Ken they were given in a conversation with the daily papers, which have an embargo over them until the stories are published. That's going to come back to the lads from PunditArena in a big way.

14/11/2018, 9:10 PM
I'm not really sure what the manager can do in this situation.
Grealish had agents in his ear telling him he will earn more money as an England player. He's still waiting on that first cap. He's ten months younger than Raheem Sterling, who has 46 caps. Not to mention Sancho, Foden, etc
Nobody has any idea why Kelly accepted, and then turned down, the call up.
Rice seemed to be committed, but then his chairman decided he was going to be England captain, and seems to be holding back Rice's new contract until he declares
Obafemi accepted the call up, but has had the Nigerian FA approach him to change allegiance.

Bungle
14/11/2018, 9:29 PM
He's in the squad to play. Surely, that means he should be a candidate to play in Denmark.
The national side isn't a pick and mix job. It is O'Neill's job to not let that happen and make it known that if he is isn't 100% sure about us, he shouldn't be taking up a place. If he called him up with an eye to the future, just play him. Michael O'Neill wouldn't be doodling around on something like this.
I have sympathy for MON on declan rice, but too often, he creates chaos around him. Going tomorrow is a chore for even dedicated fans. I will be there hoping for even 2 minutes of good football from us.

IsMiseSean
14/11/2018, 9:43 PM
Rice seemed to be committed, but then his chairman decided he was going to be England captain, and seems to be holding back Rice's new contract until he declares

If the game against Turkey had been a competitive match - I don't think there would have been any hesitation on Rice's part to play in the game.

gastric
14/11/2018, 11:54 PM
I am completely at a loss to understand what is going on and Davis seems to not understand the value of being chosen to represent your country.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/theyd-be-mad-to-let-him-get-away-southampton-coach-urges-ireland-to-hand-michael-obafemi-a-debut-cap-37530465.html

Diggs246
15/11/2018, 6:12 AM
Just on those quotes, according to Ken they were given in a conversation with the daily papers, which have an embargo over them until the stories are published. That's going to come back to the lads from PunditArena in a big way.

I dont get it? Have the punditArena guys totally made up thier source of info?

15/11/2018, 7:20 AM
No, they broke the embargo. That's not going to sit well with the established press corps, and could lead to them being refused press credentials for the next event

Olé Olé
15/11/2018, 7:33 AM
But it looks like they botched the report too?

seanfhear
15/11/2018, 7:50 AM
Ya can see why calling Obafemi into the squad to train / be part of the squad might seem like a good idea at the time

But in actual practice having a player in the squad that is not willing to play in the games just becomes obvious farce . From now on , if a player accepts a call up then he must be prepared to play in all the games .

We tried this . It just made the whole thing a farce !

15/11/2018, 8:27 AM
But it looks like they botched the report too? to be honest, I didn't read it. I've heard some stories about PunditArena, and I refuse to give them any traffic