View Full Version : Aaron Connolly F Millwall b.2000

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

JR89
25/01/2023, 12:21 AM
My cousin has lived the last probably 15/20 years in Colorado. Says he had to learn to dramatically slow down the speak at which he spoke to be understood. Not sure his accent changed but he had to find a way to alter his speech to be understood

I have a friend of mine I was speaking to recently, who reckoned Connolly was suffering from bipolar disorder. He’s not a doctor but he has a family member who suffers from it. I’d never thought about it but if it or something similar were the case - I think we’d all do well to be relatively sympathetic to him

My partner is from the US and had to do similar when I first met her. Felt like how you would speak dealing with customer service. Even though she's used to it now there's still times she'll look at me thinking what the **** are y'all talking about when I'm talking with family.

Snapshot
25/01/2023, 12:54 AM
Fair play, you are stubborn and won't change for anyone like a good old fashioned Irish man. I don't have the luxury of not making myself understood when I am on call discussing someone's finances.

My point is that not everyone is in same situation and this caveman attitude that you are irish to the core and any hint of an accent change lessens that is utter b0ll0cks
Eirambler retained his accent so he's "stubborn" and "a good old-fashioned Irishman" and has a "caveman" attitude. Only nine years away and you're stereotyping like a tacky standup. Making yourself understood is down to diction not accent. But it's your choice in the land of the free - a Mickey-Mouse Irishman (to be sure, to be sure).

Razors left peg
25/01/2023, 2:06 AM
Eirambler retained his accent so he's "stubborn" and "a good old-fashioned Irishman" and has a "caveman" attitude. Only nine years away and you're stereotyping like a tacky standup. Making yourself understood is down to diction not accent. But it's your choice in the land of the free - a Mickey-Mouse Irishman (to be sure, to be sure).

Him saying he won't effin change for anyone is why I said that. We are great in Ireland about complaining that a fella has changed.... if you're still the same fella at 40 as you were at 20 and proud of it, that's just weird.

As for me being a mickey mouse Irishman because I'm defending the fact that a fellas accent can change based on where he lives, I suppose I do live about 30 mins from Disneyland so it's probably fair enough...

I just find it a bit pathetic that grown men could get upset and judge a young fella based on his accent. Aaron Connolly has plenty of things that I've hammered him for myself on here, based around football. If having a go at his or any other guys accent makes you feel that you're more of an Irish man I'm delighted for you.

I'll go in to work tomorrow now and talk like I would to my mates back home, because that's how a real Irish man would do it.

CraftyToePoke
25/01/2023, 2:59 AM
l'll go in to work tomorrow now and talk like I would to my mates back home, because that's how a real Irish man would do it

Post videos for us. Make sure you open with gowaytafcuk willya when the first unsuspecting soul shares a witty anecdote.

texidub
25/01/2023, 4:34 AM
I was up at the local shopping centre yesterday and overhead some Irish kids talking about some youtuber. At that moment, I realized that there's no getting away from it - if Connolly wants to maintain his status as a true green-blooded Gaelic youth, he needs to brush up on his American accent.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
25/01/2023, 7:22 AM
I heard his manager was giving out to him in Italy and Connolly was like 'fücka you I a go to da discoteca' while pinching his fingers.

25/01/2023, 7:24 AM
I have a friend of mine I was speaking to recently, who reckoned Connolly was suffering from bipolar disorder. He’s not a doctor but he has a family member who suffers from it. I’d never thought about it but if it or something similar were the case - I think we’d all do well to be relatively sympathetic to him

Based off what exactly? Wouldn't he have to see him on both sides of that to judge, the ups and downs, the hyperness etc? Not saying hes wrong but I'd have thought you'd have to know the person fairly well to get that insight. Of course if he has we would all be more considerate.

Nothing like fresh healthy foot.ie debate to get you(see what i did there) going for the work day ahead. I'll start changing my accent a little bit every hour so the Chinese, Indian, Ukranian, Serbian and Latin American colleagues of mine can understand me better. I'll even turn off the video so they don't get it any easier by seeing me. Feck the English they can suffer my slow prose.

25/01/2023, 7:29 AM
I heard his manager was giving out to him in Italy and Connolly was like 'fücka you I a go to da discoteca' while pinching his fingers.

Brilliant! That's put a smile on my face.

25/01/2023, 7:36 AM
A shmile? Oh no wait sorry saamylle

25/01/2023, 12:25 PM
Post videos for us. Make sure you open with gowaytafcuk willya when the first unsuspecting soul shares a witty anecdote.

& preferably with a couple of spontaneous, unsolicited rounds of "ooh ahh up the ra" just to really reinforce it :D

25/01/2023, 12:36 PM
I've been in Scotland nearly 20 years. Accent hasn't changed a bit to accommodate anyone else and it won't be changing either. If they don't like it they can **** off.Jan Molby speaks pure scouse, Morten Wieghorst's accent became pure Glaswegian, Peter Schmeichel's pure Manc. A pal moved to Australia after college and practically became Crocodile Dundee. It happens and not to accommodate anyone. Nothing to be ashamed of.

25/01/2023, 12:51 PM
Jan Molby speaks pure scouse, Morten Wieghorst's accent became pure Glaswegian, Peter Schmeichel's pure Manc. A pal moved to Australia after college and practically became Crocodile Dundee. It happens and not to accommodate anyone. Nothing to be ashamed of.

Did your accent get better or worse Stutts? That's the real question here that needs answering, innit?
Did you become more upper-crust, more Anglo? Or was it resting there dormant all the time?

25/01/2023, 1:45 PM
Well, I carelessly said crikey here last week and got pulled up on it.

Better or worse? That's a subjective call.

25/01/2023, 2:59 PM
Arguing over peoples accents is a new one for foot.ie.

Sure Connolly might as well just declare for England now.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer might have played for England too with his accent.

Some people alter their accent without realising it, some people don't. I don't see what's confusing about that.

dr_peepee
25/01/2023, 6:55 PM

Ah Jayzus Stutts. Tongue was firmly in cheek with that one!!! Apologies if it seemed otherwise.

seanfhear
25/01/2023, 7:25 PM

Blimey ! !

Trequartista20
25/01/2023, 7:53 PM
'E's gawn native!

My family chuckle a bit about it, but my brother has an English accent when speaking to his Essex-based cousins, adopted a Donegal accent when at college in Letterkenny and now has a Galway accent now he's based there.

Not that unusual, I suspect, to try to fit in and gain acceptance by attempting to speak like the locals in the area in which you reside.

seanfhear
25/01/2023, 8:38 PM
'E's gawn native!

My family chuckle a bit about it, but my brother has an English accent when speaking to his Essex-based cousins, adopted a Donegal accent when at college in Letterkenny and now has a Galway accent now he's based there.

Not that unusual, I suspect, to try to fit in and gain acceptance by attempting to speak like the locals in the area in which you reside.
Makes it easier to be understood by the Yokels (wink) / Locals ~ ~ Ya would have to slow down a bit if you were one of these fast talking Irish ~ ~ Why would other People from different countries be expected to understand ya if you were talking as fast as the hammers of hell.

25/01/2023, 9:03 PM
Arguing over peoples accents is a new one for foot.ie.

Sure Connolly might as well just declare for England now.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer might have played for England too with his accent.

Some people alter their accent without realising it, some people don't. I don't see what's confusing about that.

Should ole speak Norwegian in a ln English accent ?

BOOMSHAKALAKA
25/01/2023, 9:20 PM

Posters do seem to be giving a lot of examples of people speaking in their second language with an accent. It's a bit odd. I know English is our second language but still, you get my point.

Razors left peg
25/01/2023, 10:00 PM

When we were in Ireland my wife had developed an Irish accent. A few times she was asked if people back home in Portugal noticed the accent, her answer was always "No because Im speaking fcukin Portuguese." There was never a question that made her question someones intelligence more.

Its very common for people in europe to speak English with an American accent because they learn the language mainly from TV. Ive seen it in Portugal and Sweden especially.

Eminence Grise
25/01/2023, 10:18 PM
I read somewhere years ago that one of the reasons people’s accents change when they move to a new country is from a psychological need to fit in. It’s a confidence or security thing. Some people have less need, though whether that means that they’re more confident or personally resilient is up for discussion I suppose. Maybe it has some bearing on Connolly? Who knows. Then there are the rare others who are bidialectical, like Gillian Anderson – because she was born in the US, she automatically uses an American accent there, but because she was raised in the UK from about 2-11 she slips into an English accent there. I’m a Rossie, but with a very different accent to POS, I’d say, from his description – probably because when I was a (snotty, uppity) kid moving over from Manchester I decided the local accent wasn’t for me. So I’ve a neutral accent that could be from any county or none. But, put me back in Manchester for a couple of days and it’s like I’ve gone down t’Rovers f'r 'otpot, chuck.

As for an accents in a second language… I did French in uni, and once upon a time could pass as French in short conversations - well-spoken northern with a bit of a Picardy twang is probably the best description of that time. I did a bit of German in school as well, but when I ended up with a German girlfriend in uni, she thought it was hilarious that I pronounced things with a distinctly French accent, because by that stage everything I was learning about language acquisition was through French! All of which means, I guess, is that languages and accents and how or why we adopt them is more complicated than we think.

26/01/2023, 9:37 AM
You can’t go abroad and expect to be understood without change – might not be the accent, but certainly the tempo, pitch, pronunciation, and use of words changes consciously/ subconsciously. And the accent goes with fluency in a second language. I think Aaron has just learned to speak English.

Seems to be doing ok for Hull anyways.

Fixer82
26/01/2023, 11:00 AM
You can’t go abroad and expect to be understood without change – might not be the accent, but certainly the tempo, pitch, pronunciation, and use of words changes consciously/ subconsciously. And the accent goes with fluency in a second language. I think Aaron has just learned to speak English.

Seems to be doing ok for Hull anyways.

ha ha!
Didn't realise he was from Connemara

26/01/2023, 11:24 AM
When we were in Ireland my wife had developed an Irish accent. A few times she was asked if people back home in Portugal noticed the accent, her answer was always "No because Im speaking fcukin Portuguese." There was never a question that made her question someones intelligence more.

Its very common for people in europe to speak English with an American accent because they learn the language mainly from TV. Ive seen it in Portugal and Sweden especially.

A friend of mine who studied linguistics has told me the standard curriculum learning (at school and University) is still British English, I am finding that harder to believe because there's definitely an American twang and dialogue now with how most non-native English speakers I interact with.

I did also ask to explain why when emigrants to Ireland especially those of Eastern European origin speak English with an Irish accent but none speak with a London accent what the reason is for that.

I read somewhere years ago that one of the reasons people’s accents change when they move to a new country is from a psychological need to fit in. It’s a confidence or security thing. Some people have less need, though whether that means that they’re more confident or personally resilient is up for discussion I suppose. .

That's the conclusion I came to by myself I think its fairly obvious no? Some people have a need to fit in, the same as those who cant wait to leave a place(their hometown) and automatically "love" their new habitat.

but when I ended up with a German girlfriend in uni, she thought it was hilarious that I pronounced things with a distinctly French accent, because by that stage everything I was learning about language acquisition was through French! All of which means, I guess, is that languages and accents and how or why we adopt them is more complicated than we think

She must have thought you were from Strasbourg. I'd say youre a bit of a cunning linguist your Eminence. Certainly fitting in with an English accent in the 80s/90s would have been hard do, for physical security more than mental.

Its interesting for Russian Speakers, its clear to those from Russia or the Caucuses who are Ukranian or Latvian, or Muscovites. Less so those from Armenia.

What accent does Enoch Burke have?

26/01/2023, 11:25 AM
Shteve McClaren agreesh

seanfhear
26/01/2023, 12:05 PM
Shteve McClaren agreesh
And Joey Barton ~ said in a faux French accent !

26/01/2023, 12:07 PM
Don't forget Didi "chalm down chalm down" Hamann too. (One of the diddymen maybe?)

Trequartista20
26/01/2023, 12:18 PM
And Joey Barton ~ said in a faux French accent !

You've gotta laugh!

https://www.theguardian.com/football/video/2012/nov/26/joey-barton-english-french-accent-video

Trequartista20
26/01/2023, 12:19 PM
Don't forget Didi "chalm down chalk down" Hamann too. (One of the diddymen maybe?)

Ronnie Whelan sounds a bit Scouse too, adopting that tendency to get very high-pitched when excited, for some reason.

seanfhear
26/01/2023, 12:43 PM
You've gotta laugh!

https://www.theguardian.com/football/video/2012/nov/26/joey-barton-english-french-accent-video
You would never have thought that Joey Barton could learn perfect French is such a short time ~ ~ Obviously having been watching Hallo Hallo as he was growing up was really big help to Joey with the French language.

Also Joey managed to slip in to international philosophy while speaking perfect French.

Fixer82
26/01/2023, 1:53 PM
Ronnie Whelan sounds a bit Scouse too, adopting that tendency to get very high-pitched when excited, for some reason.

Ronnie has a strong twang. Understandable living there so long. Connolly has more of an English accent than Whelan. Unacceptable! Weak character!

Trequartista20
26/01/2023, 2:20 PM
Ronnie has a strong twang. Understandable living there so long. Connolly has more of an English accent than Whelan. Unacceptable! Weak character!

Read that last bit in a Corkonian, Roy Keane voice.

28/01/2023, 2:15 PM
Goal for the bold fella!! Get in. Amazing what the right manager can do.

Demesne Lad
28/01/2023, 2:15 PM
Connolly has scored for Hull, on his 23rd birthday.

JR89
28/01/2023, 2:20 PM

BOOMSHAKALAKA
28/01/2023, 2:21 PM
Blimey, that's bloody brilliant!

tommy_c12000
28/01/2023, 2:23 PM
Great to see! Did it take a deflection? If not it is a wonderful finish and classic Connolly. Hopefully he will celebrate his goal and birthday in moderation later on

tommy_c12000
28/01/2023, 2:52 PM
Yes but deflection, but nice to see him score

https://twitter.com/vintagetigerss/status/1619357522716164096?s=46&t=beywk4jQUJFLM_a1lViPxA

liamoo11
28/01/2023, 3:14 PM
Yes but deflection, but nice to see him score

https://twitter.com/vintagetigerss/status/1619357522716164096?s=46&t=beywk4jQUJFLM_a1lViPxA

Great finish . Not sure the deflection was of much importance

28/01/2023, 3:28 PM
Second goal. Looked offside on sky sports news just now, but given

tommy_c12000
28/01/2023, 3:35 PM
Call me crazy but I’m actually cautiously optimistic Connolly can rejuvenate his career at Hull. He’s with a manager who knows him inside out, and has worked well with him before. He looks fit, still making his intelligent runs off the back of defenders and Hull are not too bad a side. Let’s see if he can kickstart his with a few goals and stay out of nite clubs, the latter being a big IF

I’m remaining cautiously optimistic. Early promising signs but we’ve seen it before.

Took me a while to find this comment after all the accent discussion..

Eirambler
28/01/2023, 3:55 PM
Needs to keep this up to the end of the season to show he's turned a corner, but great to see him doing well all the same

seanfhear
28/01/2023, 4:01 PM
I’m remaining cautiously optimistic. Early promising signs but we’ve seen it before.

Took me a while to find this comment after all the accent discussion..
What accent is he scoring with ?

28/01/2023, 4:07 PM
Second goal. Looked offside on sky sports news just now, but given

the touch for it looked great from the crappy version I've seen.

Could be playing himself back into contention for a call up in March if he can keep these performances going. Two goals today but the two previous performances drew a lot of praise too.

Razors left peg
28/01/2023, 4:09 PM
Watched the full game today and overall he was very good. He missed a good chance about a minute before the 1st goal but you could see him grow in confidence as it went on. Some of his touches in 2nd half we excellent. He had a hand in the QPR OG too so involved in all 3 goals, can't ask more from him than that.

I will say though that I don't think he looks as quick as he used to me, I could be wrong but there was just once or twice he looked a bit short on pace.

A glimmer of hope for him!

tommy_c12000
28/01/2023, 5:21 PM
He looks sharp again

HMk_XHhJr6E

great first touch for his first chance of the game which he put wide, gave a crucial pass for second goal, not sure how his second goal isn’t offside, that right back must have stepped up really quickly (but still too late…) - great touch and finish all the same

Diggs246
28/01/2023, 6:13 PM
Plenty of football between now and March to get a call up for himself

BOOMSHAKALAKA
28/01/2023, 6:22 PM
He keeps up that form and he'll be hard to leave out. BUT.... We now have options. Ferguson, Obefami, Robinson, Ogbene, Parrott, Connolly, Idah, Hogan, Keane. It's going to be difficult to get into the Ireland squad. That's 9 strikers in with a shout.

Razors left peg
28/01/2023, 6:25 PM
He keeps up that form and he'll be hard to leave out. BUT.... We now have options. Ferguson, Obefami, Robinson, Ogbene, Parrott, Connolly, Idah, Hogan, Keane. It's going to be difficult to get into the Ireland squad. That's 9 strikers in with a shout.

If everyone was fit and playing well I'd have Ferguson, Obafemi, Parrott, Idah, Connolly in squad