View Full Version : Aaron Connolly F Millwall b.2000
seanfhear
28/02/2021, 11:08 AM
Would he be able to cross the ball so that Shane Long might have a go at heading it in to the goal !
Snapshot
28/02/2021, 12:37 PM
I really don't think Brighton is the club for him. They just don't play to his strengths. I'm not sure what attacking strengths they even do play to. I am not a fan of Potter at all.
He just doesn't get enough chances or enough ball in dangerous areas for Brighton that when he does get a chance it's a panic.
I would love to see him play in a 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 under a manager or coach with a bit of attacking experience. Derby for a while under Rooney, for example. But I still think he has enough for the top division so it's hard to see such a move. If Brighton had signed a couple of forwards that suited Potter's style better than probably all those there at the moment then he might have got a loan for the second half of the season to the Championship. Maybe they make those signings in the summer and he moves to another Premiership side.
Millwall wasn't the club for Parrott and now Ipswich probably aren't either. Brighton stuffed around with Duffy and Molumby (much hyped but now can't get a start at Preston) and now Connolly is suffering under Potter. QPR didn't appreciate Manning - now on the bench at Swansea. Doherty at Spurs etc. The problem with these and other English clubs is they don't change their style, structure and ambitions to facilitate our fabulous Irish players.
Potter has made Brighton into an exciting side to watch on a relatively small budget - a small club that was in L2 not so long ago. Yet he's called a spoofer by Irish fans re Connolly and Molumby. Is it not ironic many of these Irish fans fail to see that Stephen Kenny is tasked with a similar assignment, i.e. to make a dull route-one set-up into a home of beautiful possession football? Do they have similar opinions of Kenny, especially after his very non-exciting eight games start? Talk about forty shades of myopia.
Olé Olé
28/02/2021, 2:45 PM
You may be onto something there, youngirish, and I assume you've quoted me whilst seeking to make a broader point because I don't hold all of the views set out above, particularly not on Molumby, Parrott and Manning.
You know, you really ought to round up all the myopic fans that you refer to here and give them a really good talking to. Not sure where they hang out or frequent or if they're gathering using Zoom due to the COVID restrictions but I'll trust you'll sort it.
seanfhear
28/02/2021, 2:57 PM
Millwall wasn't the club for Parrott and now Ipswich probably aren't either. Brighton stuffed around with Duffy and Molumby (much hyped but now can't get a start at Preston) and now Connolly is suffering under Parrott. QPR didn't appreciate Manning - now on the bench at Swansea. Doherty at Spurs etc. The problem with these and other English clubs is they don't change their style, structure and ambitions to facilitate our fabulous Irish players.
Potter has made Brighton into an exciting side to watch on a relatively small budget - a small club that was in L2 not so long ago. Yet he's called a spoofer by Irish fans re Connolly and Molumby. Is it not ironic many of these Irish fans fail to see that Stephen Kenny is tasked with a similar assignment, i.e. to make a dull route-one set-up into a home of beautiful possession football? Do they have similar opinions of Kenny, especially after his very non-exciting eight games start? Talk about forty shades of myopia.
Are you available for ~ Inspirational Stuff ?
CraftyToePoke
28/02/2021, 3:58 PM
I really don't think Brighton is the club for him. They just don't play to his strengths. I'm not sure what attacking strengths they even do play to. I am not a fan of Potter at all.
Their manager knew his style and he knew theirs when he was offered and signed a four year contract not so long ago. He was thankful for the security of it and happy to sign it and stay.
Since then, that same manager has always given him decent minutes on the pitch and continues to despite the goals drying up upon stepping into first team level after a good first impression.
The chance he missed yesterday, your striker cannot be missing at Premier League level and it really is that simple, it and chances like it have to go in.
We blame Mourinho, we blame Millwall, we'll probably blame Ipswich soon too. We thought Norwich dropping a level would make Adam Idah.
These lads need to do better, play better, finish better because managers aren't in the habit of leaving match winning players out of their plans and our lads aren't offering that as yet and Connolly has been given several auditions by a manager who clearly does rate him. What more can he do for him ?
Olé Olé
28/02/2021, 5:00 PM
You really are trying to put words in my mouth or draw inferences from my post there.
I just don't think the style of play suits Connolly. I am not blaming Potter. The fact that I am not a fan is an aside.
My point is that I feel Connolly would be far more likely to reach his potential at a club which plays 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 and that asks wide forwards to break at speed.
I appreciate Connolly should be doing better himself and I think that his stagnation is due to a combination of Brighton's style and his own form.
Snapshot
01/03/2021, 5:05 AM
You really are trying to put words in my mouth or draw inferences from my post there.
I just don't think the style of play suits Connolly. I am not blaming Potter. The fact that I am not a fan is an aside.
My point is that I feel Connolly would be far more likely to reach his potential at a club which plays 4-2-3-1 or 4-3-3 and that asks wide forwards to break at speed.
I appreciate Connolly should be doing better himself and I think that his stagnation is due to a combination of Brighton's style and his own form.
You're being heard. Apparently the new Ipswich manager, when appointed, will be contractually obliged to mastermind the club's renaissance around our Troy Parrott.
Razors left peg
01/03/2021, 4:27 PM
You're being heard. Apparently the new Ipswich manager, when appointed, will be contractually obliged to mastermind the club's renaissance around our Troy Parrott.
Parrott hasnt scored but hes actually playing well for Ipswich and their results have picked up since hes got there. They are up to 8th now. Obviously not all down to Parrott but its not as bad as its been made out to be.
02/03/2021, 9:15 AM
Off topic posts removed
Snapshot - we have a policy here of attack the post, not the poster. Debate the point made in a post, do not attack the poster
The site mods are alerted if a user (banned or not) posts from a second account, and the necessary steps are taken.
Snapshot
02/03/2021, 9:52 AM
Off topic posts removed
Snapshot - we have a policy here of attack the post, not the poster. Debate the point made in a post, do not attack the poster
The site mods are alerted if a user (banned or not) posts from a second account, and the necessary steps are taken.
I didn't attack the poster. A bit of sarcasm for god's sake. Also, you're a mod - why am I being accused of having another account? I don't and never have. Please stop insinuating I am breaking rules and being an outlaw.
02/03/2021, 11:23 AM
I didn't attack the poster. A bit of sarcasm for god's sake. Also, you're a mod - why am I being accused of having another account? I don't and never have. Please stop insinuating I am breaking rules and being an outlaw.
With respect, I don't think tets was saying you do have, or insinuating as such. It was in response to others suggesting it.
Eminence Grise
02/03/2021, 12:01 PM
No problems around these parts with outlaws, once they're closer to Robin Hood than D1ck Turpin. Not pointing at you SS, general observation.
02/03/2021, 12:15 PM
With respect, I don't think tets was saying you do have, or insinuating as such. It was in response to others suggesting it.
yep, this.
Snapshot
02/03/2021, 1:33 PM
yep, this.
Handbags. Back to Aaron Connolly.
13/03/2021, 10:17 AM
Picked up FourFourTwo for the first time in a long time today - current issue lists Connolly at 18 in a list of 25 Best Players in the Premier League aged 21 and under.
Diggs246
15/03/2021, 2:38 PM
Brighton launch investigation into Aaron Connolly allegedly breaching rules (extra.ie) (https://extra.ie/2021/03/14/sport/soccernews/aaron-connolly-investigation-brighton)
Razors left peg
15/03/2021, 4:58 PM
Brighton launch investigation into Aaron Connolly allegedly breaching rules (extra.ie) (https://extra.ie/2021/03/14/sport/soccernews/aaron-connolly-investigation-brighton)
Someone sent me a picture of this on the front page of the Irish Sun yesterday. We all know how much of a rag that paper is but its hard to fathom the editorial decision that led to what was basically "Young single guy gets the ride" being front page news
seanfhear
15/03/2021, 5:17 PM
Someone sent me a picture of this on the front page of the Irish Sun yesterday. We all know how much of a rag that paper is but its hard to fathom the editorial decision that led to what was basically "Young single guy gets the ride" being front page news
Old single guys not getting the ride and perhaps some old single women as well !
Fizzer
15/03/2021, 6:08 PM
So he can score.....
elatedscum
15/03/2021, 9:30 PM
You’d be sympathetic to a young single lad living on his own abroad. Not like he was having a party or anything
Razors left peg
15/03/2021, 9:42 PM
Ignoring this non story I would ask a different question. Are all players vaccinated now?
With the roll out of the vaccine across the UK I find it hard to believe that all Premiership clubs wouldnt have got all their players vaccinated already. Money talks and they have been deemed essential workers since they came back to play in the summer.
Olé Olé
16/03/2021, 6:35 AM
Ignoring this non story I would ask a different question. Are all players vaccinated now?
With the roll out of the vaccine across the UK I find it hard to believe that all Premiership clubs wouldnt have got all their players vaccinated already. Money talks and they have been deemed essential workers since they came back to play in the summer.
Interesting point. If the Premier League are mooting a return of fans in May, then you'd think that players ought to be innoculated in advance of that...
But there's complete silence on the point, thankfully really.
Fixer82
16/03/2021, 2:32 PM
Pathetic yet again from The Scum
Colbert Report
16/03/2021, 10:57 PM
It would be a huge PR disaster if players were found to have skipped the line. They're all young and healthy so at very little risk of dying or having severe complications. Here in the USA, the NBA made clear that no team would be allowed to skip the line and would have to wait for their turn to come, just like any other healthy male their age.
Razors left peg
17/03/2021, 4:13 AM
I'm open to correction but I don't remember any Premiership player miss games in recent months for a positive covid test or close contact of positive test. Nothing announced and it may be going un noticed.
The NBA is playing the political correctness game which is fair enough, but very soon all NBA players will be vaccinated, guaranteed before the playoffs. No one will want another bubble and they won't want big names missing playoff games due to covid
DeLorean
17/03/2021, 7:10 AM
It's a no brainer to prioritise them. They're the ones keeping many of us some way sane during this sh!t show.
Eirambler
17/03/2021, 7:36 AM
Vaccines are widely available in the UK. I'm in my 30s and have no underlying health issues and have already had my first dose. Obviously most footballers are a bit younger than me but I don't think many people would have much of an issue with them being vaccinated now that all of the highest priority groups are done or are on the verge of being done.
17/03/2021, 10:12 AM
I'm open to correction but I don't remember any Premiership player miss games in recent months for a positive covid test or close contact of positive test. Nothing announced and it may be going un noticed.
The NBA is playing the political correctness game which is fair enough, but very soon all NBA players will be vaccinated, guaranteed before the playoffs. No one will want another bubble and they won't want big names missing playoff games due to covid
There were two positive cases in the most recent rounds of testing according to premierleague.com: https://www.premierleague.com/news/1814863
The article linked includes the results from all previous rounds of testing
Names are not published unless the people concerned themselves want it to be known
CraftyToePoke
17/03/2021, 10:14 AM
Vaccines are widely available in the UK. I'm in my 30s and have no underlying health issues and have already had my first dose. Obviously most footballers are a bit younger than me but I don't think many people would have much of an issue with them being vaccinated now that all of the highest priority groups are done or are on the verge of being done.
Are you in a low density population area ? Guess most players wouldn't be.
Eirambler
17/03/2021, 11:35 AM
No, I'm in a major UK city. My case was a bit of an anomaly (they had spare doses at a local health centre going to anyone who happened to be there that day) but it's more indicative of the wider point that there seems to be sufficient availability in the UK for professional athletes to be vaccinated now.
Eirambler
14/06/2021, 7:37 PM
Brighton have recently agreed a new partnership with Hibs that will see Brighton players going on loan there from time to time. Obviously quite a lot of Irish players at Brighton so the odds are one of them will go to Hibs at some stage. However one of the names I have heard rumoured as being loaned to Hibs is Aaron Connolly - the rumour is that he is one of three players offered in the first stage of the partnership. Probably nothing in it as it would seem too much of a step down for him at this stage, but who knows.
If he continues being a **** it wouldn’t surprise me, he needs to spend less time focusing on his hair and sex tapes and spend that time focusing on his football.
Fixer82
14/06/2021, 9:19 PM
If he continues being a **** it wouldn’t surprise me, he needs to spend less time focusing on his hair and sex tapes and spend that time focusing on his football.
Amen!
Razors left peg
14/06/2021, 9:48 PM
Any time hes on social media this off season he seems like hes in the pub. All grand for a normal guy in his early 20s but doesnt seem to act like a professional that looks after his body.... might be why he gets so many injuries.
14/06/2021, 10:55 PM
I don't think they've been too impressed with his behaviour since he came back from injury, a loan might be a good lesson
Joxerbrowne
14/06/2021, 11:16 PM
Lads attitude to me seems like its terrible tbh, hope its just immaturity but comes across as a Charlie when hes done nothing in the game as of yet.
Olé Olé
15/06/2021, 4:17 AM
Can't see his behaviour improving too much up in lovely Edinburgh if that is the case!
seanfhear
15/06/2021, 6:55 AM
Is Ireland beginning to produce a lot of young fellas and young women that are disappearing up their own back-sides ?
Diggs246
15/06/2021, 11:17 AM
Is Ireland beginning to produce a lot of young fellas and young women that are disappearing up their own back-sides ?
Its really disappointing. We never had babysitter like this until recently enough
I'm in favour of an absolutely zero tolerance policy.
Trequartista20
15/06/2021, 2:51 PM
Hibs finished third last season, assuming the title of 'Best of the Rest' and qualifying for Europe in the process as well as getting to the Cup Final, so they're a decent side that's doing relatively well just now.
I doubt Connolly will be making the move, but Molumby and, later on, Evan Ferguson are possibles.
Eirambler
16/06/2021, 10:51 AM
Looks like Brighton are signing an Argentinian international forward for around 25 million so that will put Connolly one step closer to the exit door for next season anyway.
Snapshot
16/06/2021, 12:37 PM
If Connolly had performed in the friendlies as Daryl Horgan did, it would be hype overload.
seanfhear
16/06/2021, 1:45 PM
Unfortunately for Connolly he seems to lack a couple of attributes to make it at a really really high level = He is very small without the exceptional quality that you need when you are that small.
Is he really that fast , as some say here. I don’t think he has that exceptional speed when you consider his other physical limitations.
Eirambler
16/06/2021, 3:14 PM
I think he is a talented player with plenty of potential but there are just too many off the field issues and stories to ignore at this stage. He almost had it too easy early in his career, he tore up PL2 and went straight into the Brighton first team from there without ever really putting in the graft that most players need to in order to make it to the Premier League. This seems to have turned him into something of a man about town in Brighton, a guy who spends more time in the pub than on the training field.
So in that regard a year out on loan down the divisions learning the game might be just what he needs to give him the boot up the hole he seems to need to get. A year of away games in the likes of Dingwall, Dundee and on a rubbish plastic pitch in Livingston (or similar places in League 1 or wherever) might just wake him up to the reality of professional football for those that don't make it to the top level.
Razors left peg
16/06/2021, 4:40 PM
This will probably sound ridiculous but watching Mbappe last night made me think of Connolly for some reason and made me irrationally irritated.
Mbappe broke onto the scene young and continued to develop and he is just fabulous to watch. Theres no doubt in my mind that he is the successor to Ronaldo and Messi as the top player in the game. By all accounts he is a super professional and we never hear any negative stuff about him off the pitch.
Connolly was never going to be Mbappe, but when he broke into the Brighton 1st team as a teenager he looked special. Maybe not exceptional speed but he is quick. He looked like a great finisher, had strength and had a super work rate. He looked to me like a young Aguero. But instead of using that early success as a catalyst to go on to bigger and better things he thought he had made it and became the party boy. He doesnt look after himself they way a young pro should and is always injured now because of it. Do you think Mbappe is skullin pints with his mates down the local in Paris?
Top class athletes devote their lives to the sport and their diets are key. If you are an average to good player but put the work in you can become excellent. Connolly could have been looking at a move to a big club by now if he had continued the trajectory of his 1st season, but instead we are talking about a loan move to Hibs.
You could almost guarantee that when hes in his late 20s or 30s he'll be doing interviews talking about how he should have looked after himself better as a kid if he doesnt cop on soon. Hes still got time, he is still young so hopefully something clicks in his head soon and he gets himself right and becomes the player that he should be. Does he want a career with a Spurs/Everton/or Leicester, or with Bristol/Millwall/Bradford.
Unfortunately for Connolly he seems to lack a couple of attributes to make it at a really really high level = He is very small without the exceptional quality that you need when you are that small.
Is he really that fast , as some say here. I don’t think he has that exceptional speed when you consider his other physical limitations.
You are massively overthinking this.
Sadly Connolly rather waste away his career being on the **** and getting stupid new hair styles and getting himself in all sorts of alligations and keeping his football career as a clear secondary focus, it’s no wonder he’s injured all the time, how’s he supposed to keep his fitness up. He’s more trouble than he’s worth and It’s no surprise Brighton are looking for a replacement as I know if I was the manager I would lose trust.
Joxerbrowne
16/06/2021, 5:07 PM
Anthony Stokes mark 2
seanfhear
16/06/2021, 5:50 PM
You are massively overthinking this.Better than under thinking it. (wink)
Better than under thinking it. (wink)
There’s no magic formula to being a top player... one major requirement though is not being a tw&t and giving 110%. Connolly seems more focused on his social life now and it’s showing with the amount of injuries he has due to lack of fitness and the amount of chances he misses because of a lack of focus, basically the next Anthony Stokes if he’s not careful.