View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Netherlands 27th May 2016 & Belarus 31st May 2016 Friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10

31/05/2016, 10:37 AM
I was kind of hoping he'd get one of those 'handy' hat-tricks tomorrow night to bring him up to an even 70.

Sorry, yeah, Charlie had already broken the news about Doyle being on stand by, I was just saying that TV3 seemed to report it differently i.e. that he won't make the squad barring pull outs.

Me too, and also hoping that he would prove he still has the ability. I still think he can get us a goal in France if he gets enough time.

31/05/2016, 11:04 AM
I'd say what O'Neill said in interviews and what he actually thought about the goal conceded might actually be different.

31/05/2016, 11:19 AM
Ya, maybe stutts, probably didn't want to have any negativity. Fair point, I might have completely misread that, but he was so enthused about Duffy that I didn't see that. I guess if he starts against Sweden then that kinda proves that he obviously wasn't fazed by it.

31/05/2016, 5:32 PM
Given
Christie - Keogh - Clark - Ward
--- Gibson - Meyler -----
McGeady - Hendrick - McClean
------- Murphy --------

Subs: Forde (GK), Westwood (GK),
Coleman, O'Shea, Duffy, Brady,
O'Dowda, Whelan, Hoolahan, Quinn, O'Kane,
Long, Walters, McGoldrick.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjzUL8OUkAAPafy.jpg

31/05/2016, 5:42 PM
So there's a chance we'll never see Robbie in an Ireland jersey again. A shame but removes a headache for MON

31/05/2016, 5:48 PM
Gutted for Arter. Pity O'Kane isn't getting a crack tonight....

Gibson gets another chance to try and impress.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 6:09 PM
Gutted for Arter. Pity O'Kane isn't getting a crack tonight....

Gibson gets another chance to try and impress.

Why? He's just getting rested.

Everything people say about Long being suited to a "super sub" role could equally be applied to Walters surely? Long tires the defenders. Then the barrel comes on.

I mean he didn't close down the cross going in to De Jong, he failed to clear the first man with a simple cross, McClean was stretching the Dutch defence but had no support, he didn't link up the play...

We're well stocked with players that can play the wide role too.

I'm not against him starting per se. I just fail to see why he is a nailed on starter.

Long a far more important player IMO as is Hoolahan.

Edit: Excuse me. Just seen news breaking.

31/05/2016, 6:18 PM
Why? He's just getting rested. Sounds like it's more than that. Has travelled back to England for treatment. Media reporting he's probably ruled out of the 23. A shame because he looked like he offered more than Meyler or Quinn on the ball but no big deal.

31/05/2016, 6:22 PM
I smell no goals.

31/05/2016, 6:27 PM
Great interview with Seamus Coleman.why are the country lads always so humble and down to earth that's probably why along with all the second generation with humble country parents, we have such a togetherness in the squad

backstothewall
31/05/2016, 6:36 PM
I smell no goals.
Against this lot that's almost impossible if their performance in Belfast on Friday is anything to go by.

31/05/2016, 6:36 PM
O'Neill says he knows the 23 barring injuries tonight.whats the point in the game then and waiting till now :D
Keane seems to be picking up injuries more often.

backstothewall
31/05/2016, 6:40 PM
Is the game on TV tonight?

31/05/2016, 6:43 PM
Premier sports.

It's on my TV!

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 6:44 PM
Surely Murphy will break his drought tonight?

Lafferty, Grigg and Washington all scored against this lot.

Very disappointing that Given is starting and Westwood is on the bench; but expected.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 6:50 PM
Great cross by Wardy, lovely confidence by Clarky and excellent technique by Jeffy.

Murphy very slow there to react I honestly think Keane is perfect for that type of ball.

Murphy should have got something on that. Great from Clark.

Goal?

31/05/2016, 6:51 PM
I just noted the betting was suspended.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 6:52 PM
That turn by Gibson. Oh my days.

31/05/2016, 6:52 PM
Ward pushing so far forward. Wow.

31/05/2016, 6:53 PM
That turn by Gibson. Oh my days.

I hope he said "see ya" as he waltzed by.

31/05/2016, 7:02 PM
This is hard enough watch. They seem to be handling the bobble of the pitch with their "superior technical" players....

31/05/2016, 7:04 PM
Belarus much better

backstothewall
31/05/2016, 7:05 PM
If O'Neill knows the 23 as he says he does, would it be fair to assume that the 11 who have started here are all on the plane?

There doesn't seem much point in playing them then saying cheerio after the game.

And there ye go!Westwood would have saved it :D

Meyler has played himself out of it.

Given looked very poor for that to me. And where was the defence?

31/05/2016, 7:06 PM
I had a feeling they got beat 3-0 by the north so they were gonna want to put in a good effort.

31/05/2016, 7:06 PM
My father won't stop saying 'theyre every ball why are they so much quicker than our players to the ball"

31/05/2016, 7:07 PM
Great finish, used Christie as a shield to perfection.

I certainly was not going to back us at 8/11.

TheOneWhoKnocks
Christie and Keogh see Duffy's mistake and raise him.

SwanVsDalton
Watching on a fairly rubbish stream, thought that was a foul on Meyler but the picture quality ain't great and if it wasn't a foul it was just awful play.

Stephen Quinn must be laughing away to himself. Is Jeff Hendrick even on? Martin O'Neill's job gets easier by the second.

31/05/2016, 7:08 PM
McGeady looks like a player who's never played 11 a side football before and Meyler is just an irrelevance, Hendrick and Gibson have been sloppy too. If Darly Murphy offers more than Kevin Doyle the I give up too.

31/05/2016, 7:08 PM
If only Glenn was there.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 7:10 PM
Great play by Christie. We're seeing the good and bad of him.

31/05/2016, 7:10 PM
I thought there was a foul in the BLR half prior to the goal but there was probably a foul by Murphy just before it. Shocking 10 minute spell there. Murphy is terrible.

By the way. We get it Tricky, you gamble. Well done.

Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 7:11 PM
Any streams?

31/05/2016, 7:11 PM
Our right back is our best attacking player!

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 7:12 PM
Doyle>Murphy
Delaney>Keogh
O'Kane>Gibson
Hayes/Pilkington>McGeady

31/05/2016, 7:12 PM
http://www.eplsite.org/stream10.html

31/05/2016, 7:13 PM
Referee is dodgy as f*ck.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 7:14 PM
Kin hell Christie...

More questions than answers tonight.

I thought there was a foul in the BLR half prior to the goal but there was probably a foul by Murphy just before it. Shocking 10 minute spell there. Murphy is terrible.

By the way. We get it Tricky, you gamble. Well done.

I was using the bookmakers price as part of a literary construct, ie essential it was not about gambling at all, more of a metaphor.

31/05/2016, 7:15 PM
F*ck off Murphy.

eekers
31/05/2016, 7:16 PM
Ireland tonight: 10 lads trying not to get injured before the tournament and James McClean.

TheOneWhoKnocks
OMG Murphy is so dreadful.

Murphy did the exact same thing versus Scotland when he kicked the ball forward anr straight into them.he doesn't have the touch.what is O'Neill at. Doyle is 20 times the player