View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Netherlands 27th May 2016 & Belarus 31st May 2016 Friendlies
Pages :
[
8]
31/05/2016, 8:04 PM
Just when things were looking up. Dreadful defending again.
Ok it took a nick but Given didn't move.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:04 PM
Sorry but Christie and Keogh were awful again there. It must be said.
Too late now anyways. Have to make do with some players who don't belong on the plane.
I perish the thought of Given getting any game time.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 8:07 PM
Why risk Long ?
Long and holohan coming on. Dear lord if either picks up a knock it's curtains.
TheOneWhoKnocks
Why risk Long ?
I feel Doyle would make the difference in a game like this.
31/05/2016, 8:08 PM
Forde???? Seething!
O'Neill is really ****ing me off
Paddy Garcia
Jesus no Westwood - unbelievable
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:09 PM
Forde.
F*** sake.
I can't believe how much this game has ****ed me off and changed my mind towards MON. I look at some of the players likely to go and likely to be left at home and I'm frustrated. Will reserve judgment until the squad is announced I guess.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 8:10 PM
Forde.
F*** sake.
Given
F*** sake too
31/05/2016, 8:11 PM
Great goal.
31/05/2016, 8:11 PM
Nice finish, great touch from Long.
Lovely strike from Wardy. Great from Long too.
31/05/2016, 8:12 PM
Skstu I agree exactly
31/05/2016, 8:12 PM
Tribute to Glenn Whelan.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4qoymGCDYzU
31/05/2016, 8:13 PM
Should have passed
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:13 PM
Excellent finish Ward. He's been good tonight. Longy with the assist.
31/05/2016, 8:14 PM
O'Dowda getting a debut. Is he a sleeper for a chance?
31/05/2016, 8:14 PM
My father is after telling me Brendan odowda was a well known baritone singer
O'Dowda. Fair play to him.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:19 PM
Good layoff by O'Dowda. Another awful attempt by O'Kane.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 8:19 PM
My father is after telling me Brendan odowda was a well known baritone singer
He is right
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:20 PM
I would seriously consider bringing Doyle or Stokes on the basis of Keane's injury, and McGoldrick and Murphy's performances.
IsMiseSean
31/05/2016, 8:21 PM
I'd love to know what Westwood is thinking at the moment.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 8:21 PM
WHY did he not give O'Dowda a half???
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:23 PM
WHY did he not give O'Dowda a half???
McGeady improved in second half and McClean was one of best players.
I think it would be insanity to bring him in fairness.
It is Belarus and he has been on for five minutes.
I'd love to know what Westwood is thinking at the moment.
"Fckin hell, this cilice is killing me"
eekers
31/05/2016, 8:24 PM
Tonight should have been refining our first 11, getting our formation right and deciding between the 13 or 14 who could start.
Instead its been about deciding who is gonna be the last 2 on the plane (who will never get near the pitch in France).
Complete waste of time.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:25 PM
This means a lot to Belarus. Cute.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:26 PM
Dodgy defending again.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 8:27 PM
McGeady improved in second half and McClean was one of best players.
I think it would be insanity to bring him in fairness.
It is Belarus and he has been on for five minutes.
True, but he knows what McGeady can do, and in the dark its worth a shot!
31/05/2016, 8:27 PM
What did I say a about okane?
Seeing the real eunan today
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:28 PM
Awful defending. Again.
Good by O'Dowda. You know I think MON will select him.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:32 PM
Should have passed.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2016, 8:35 PM
Should have passed.
Yeah me too - in fact wish I had - had a great invite.
31/05/2016, 8:35 PM
Now for the really fun part... Who's taking the horse to France?
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:37 PM
Has Keogh played himself out of a start against Sweden? Clark MOTM and looked miles better.
Given - 4 (One Hollywood save; doesn't look like preventing goals); Christie - 5 (Good attacking, terrible defending), Keogh - 4 (Culpable for both goals; looked nervy), Clark - 6 (Confident; emerges with credit), Ward - 6 (Solid at back, good going forward; great goal), McGeady - 5 (Anonymous; better second half), Hendrick - 6 (Good touches; link up), Meyler - 5 (No frills), Gibson - 4 (Gave away the ball so many times), McClean - 6 (He tried; busted a gut); Murphy - 3 (Dreadful)
Ok. Awful stuff in general.
MON, please note the following:
No Murphy, no Given, no McGeady, no Gibbo, no Christie (I know).
Yes to O'Dowda, yes to Westwood, yes to Pilkington (I know)
This friendly created more issues than it solved. No to Cork friendlies in TC.
Fixer82
31/05/2016, 8:40 PM
Awful performance.
Thought O'Kane looked very good other than the shot on goal into row Z.
O'Dowda looked very positive but I'd never bring him.
Wouldn't be surprised if Westwood retired after this but hope he doesn't as Given and Forde will be gone after the summer.
Good finish by Ward.
Christie looks very ropy against a pacy winger.
Let's just hope Hoolahan, Long and Walters don't get injured
backstothewall
31/05/2016, 8:41 PM
Everyone be cool! It's all going to be OK!
We never got past 60% tonight. But it was about fitness for some and international experience for others.
We learned that we are vulnerable at the back when we are expected to control the game and fullbacks are pushed on etc, but luckily we won't be doing a lot of that in France.
Martin had a squad in his mind before kickoff and I fully expect him to go with that squad now. He's pretty conservative and I can't see any shocks like Stokes or O'Dowda.
Perhaps Westwood stayed on the bench because O'Neill decided on him in the playoffs and he's trying to decide between Given and Forde for 3rd goalie. That's speculation but we will find out before bedtime. Even if that's not the case neither of them are likely to play. In all likelihood tonight was the final cap for Given and Forde
but Martin could afford to do that tonight because he has his well established diamond system and a core of 13 or 14 players who he feels can rely on in that system.
The only player who started tonight who will be in contention to start in Paris was Clark.
Everyone be cool! It's all going to be OK
31/05/2016, 8:41 PM
Where else can ye have cork friendlies?
31/05/2016, 8:43 PM
Not too many positives from that. Confirms that if we lose a couple of players from our starting XI we're screwed.
Randolph,
Coleman, O'Shea, Clark, Ward/Brady
Whelan, McCarthy,
Walters, Hoolahan, Brady/McClean,
Long
Haha fair enough! Cork in general!!
31/05/2016, 8:49 PM
Awful performance.
Thought O'Kane looked very good other than the shot on goal into row Z.
O'Dowda looked very positive but I'd never bring him.
Wouldn't be surprised if Westwood retired after this but hope he doesn't as Given and Forde will be gone after the summer.
Good finish by Ward.
Christie looks very ropy against a pacy winger.
Let's just hope Hoolahan, Long and Walters don't get injured
if Westwood hangs around for the WC qualifiers it will be a similar story, he will be behind Randolph and Elliot according to sources in the know
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:52 PM
I find it quite amusing that the same people throwing Murphy the most vitriolic abuse are demanding for O'Dowda's call up. (Not on this forum)
I mean come on. Murphy was ****e but he hasn't played in two and a half months. O'Dowda has played 15 minutes against a team that lost 0-3 to NI.
Smacks of needing a new cause c'elebre after Arter's unfortunate injury.
IsMiseSean
31/05/2016, 8:52 PM
Perhaps Westwood stayed on the bench because O'Neill decided on him in the playoffs and he's trying to decide between Given and Forde for 3rd goalie. That's speculation but we will find out before bedtime. Even if that's not the case neither of them are likely to play. In all likelihood tonight was the final cap for Given and Forde
I thought that myself. More likely to be Given over Forde but definitely both shouldn't go.
I was all for bringing McGeady even though he hasn't played much, but after tonight's pathetic display he should be sent packing. He gave 15mins and stood there for the rest of the game.
You'd have to wonder why Pilkington wasn't kept around for these games?
Fixer82
31/05/2016, 8:54 PM
You'd have to wonder why Pilkington wasn't kept around for these games?
No idea why Pilkington was cut. When he cut Hayes as well I figured he just won't be using wingers too much this summer
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2016, 8:54 PM
Arter not ruled out yet according to the radio.
You'd like to think something has been learned from 2012, but perhaps not.