View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Netherlands 27th May 2016 & Belarus 31st May 2016 Friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

backstothewall
28/05/2016, 10:35 AM
I'd be looking at the guys who haven't have a chance so far. People are going to be let down so it's important for the future that they all get a crack of the whip. We will need those players again next season so it doesn't seem like great idea for moral to bring them away from their families at the end of a season for a training camp, then ditch them from the squad without ever even giving them a chance. Someone may well put in a cracking performance and give Martin a problem, but like Roy Hodgson with Rashford, it's a great problem to have.

-------- Westwood --------
Christie Duffy Clark Ward
---------- Gibson ---------
----- O'Kane Brady ------
-------- McGeady --------
------ Doyle Keane ------

I'd be using the subs to move towards having the 11 who will start against Sweden on the pitch at the final whistle.

DeLorean
28/05/2016, 11:24 AM
The most important players in this squad are the first 11 and 3 or 4 others but often we spend too much time figuring out the nr 15 to nr 23 squad positions.

Not sure about that, loosely speaking the squad is made up of two players for each position, so a starter and the best player to provide cover. It's not as simple as having our eleven best players in their positions and our three or four subs who will ideally be used. It's important to have the right cover for every eventuality so well worth the discussion and scrutiny I think.

The Netherlands were always likely to dominate possession I think, as Tricky said, our strengths lie elsewhere. Agreed though, Hoolahan is pivotal to the fluency of our attack.

28/05/2016, 1:47 PM
I understood Geysirs point to be more that the first XI and front line subs are the most important, but arguing over the rest is marginalia. Yes, it is important to get the balance of the squad right but I think only 15 or 16 will get on the pitch, even including the luxury of "sentimental" subs like Carsley and Reid in Yokohama. I don't see that happening in Lille but we can only hope.

DeLorean
28/05/2016, 2:38 PM
That's what I understood it to mean as well, but don't think it's that straight forward. Only 15 or 16 will get on the pitch, but not necessarily the 15 or 16 you would hope. With injuries, suspensions, red cards, etc. you need the best possible back up for each position. Maybe some of the debating (nicer word than arguing :)) is splitting hairs, but isn't that part of the fun.

DannyInvincible
28/05/2016, 3:02 PM
The Dutch started to come into the game more after Whelan came off. I thought that was very noticeable. They were able to penetrate more, were able to find more space in our half and had us under greater pressure. I know we'd made three substitutions when Whelan went off, which can disrupt fluidity, but I would say Whelan's absence had a lot to do with it.

Had completely forgotten about Randolph kicking it against their attacker. Randolph's kicking has generally been very good - we have him to thank for setting Long up against Germany, after all - but that was lucky alright.

DeLorean
28/05/2016, 3:15 PM
Westwood did something similar against Brighton recently to be fair, although I think Randolph might have done it in the last friendly as well.

DannyInvincible
28/05/2016, 3:21 PM
Westwood did something similar against Brighton recently to be fair, although I think Randolph might have done it in the lady friendly as well.

Randolph plays for our women's team too?

DeLorean
28/05/2016, 3:23 PM
I actually thought I edited it in time dammit.

28/05/2016, 4:03 PM
Westwood did something similar against Brighton recently to be fair, although I think Randolph might have done it in the last friendly as well.
Right on both counts

28/05/2016, 4:05 PM
That's what I understood it to mean as well, but don't think it's that straight forward. Only 15 or 16 will get on the pitch, but not necessarily the 15 or 16 you would hope. With injuries, suspensions, red cards, etc. you need the best possible back up for each position. Maybe some of the debating (nicer word than arguing :)) is splitting hairs, but isn't that part of the fun.most of us split hairs, Geysir argues.

28/05/2016, 4:56 PM
The more I look at it I think Randolph could have been braver. He seemed to spot that Duffy was in trouble early enough to cover for him, but instead of coming like a wrecking ball he seemed to freeze.

Geysir - I think it's too early to decide if Arter is first XI material or not, he did enough last night to indicate he just might be. And in terms of ball retention, he kind of had the monopoly on that, would you not think? Especially that spell of possession near the first half which he orchestrated, although I'd accept that wasn't representative of the ninety minutes. I'd agree he doesn't deserve to start against Sweden, if that's what you mean, but in general terms I think he could very easily be a starter in time.

Well he could hardly not spot him. He has an unmarked defender right ahead of him in acres of space, however where is the communication?

Someone has to say something Randolph for one.

Something seriously wrong with the organisation in defence.

28/05/2016, 5:10 PM
Watched the game with a West Ham-following friend of mine, said Randolph did something similar for them too this season

28/05/2016, 7:18 PM
Does nobody else think it was just a super cross? Our goal was badly defended from a Brady cross, theirs was similar. We wax lyrical about Brady's cross yet don't comment on how Duffy was unmarked.

I think the cross tempted Randolph out when he might have stayed put but even if he'd stayed put it was still prob a goal. The striker knew he only had to put it in the middle. He could easily have put it wider if Randoloh was on his line.

Great cross, loss of concentration by Duffy, fcuked with the keeper, probable goal against anyone. I've seen Petr Cech do what Randolph did all his career.

DeLorean
28/05/2016, 7:30 PM
Their defending was atrocious for our goal. Our defending was atrocious for theirs, everything from Walters getting sucked in to Duffy's ball watching to Randolph's indecisiveness. The cross was good but very defendable.

28/05/2016, 8:44 PM
Does nobody else think it was just a super cross? Our goal was badly defended from a Brady cross, theirs was similar. We wax lyrical about Brady's cross yet don't comment on how Duffy was unmarked.

I think the cross tempted Randolph out when he might have stayed put but even if he'd stayed put it was still prob a goal. The striker knew he only had to put it in the middle. He could easily have put it wider if Randoloh was on his line.

Great cross, loss of concentration by Duffy, fcuked with the keeper, probable goal against anyone. I've seen Petr Cech do what Randolph did all his career. That's the nature of being a fan in a nutshell. We do over analyse goals conceded. Not a bad thing. But you always have to take it with a pinch of salt, football teams score goals. It's part of the game. Duffy made a minor mistake he'll get away with in the championship. The same mistake might even out over the course of a season in premiership. But in 3 tournament games, we'd be hoping that it doesn't happen.

But it will, and people will find someone to blame, and life will go on. C'est la vie

28/05/2016, 9:46 PM
Byrne and Browne didn't make the bench for the Switzerland and Slovakia games.

O'Dowda is on the bench tonight.

So it looks a bit indulgent to me.
Byrne went back to the under-21s for an important qualifier and Browne was injured.

DeLorean
28/05/2016, 9:53 PM
I wouldn't expect a response to that one Charlie.

29/05/2016, 1:44 AM
Yeah somebody questioned whether we can afford a luxury like McGoldrick, I think the answer is a straightforward no. Not to be harping on about McGeady, but I think that McGoldrick offers considerably less than him.

Whelan was good alright, a 7/10 along with some others, not stand out good but very controlled and effective. Overall I think this had been his best campaign/spell for us, but there are still some frighteningly poor games mixed in with the better ones.

No man's land is a dangerous place for a goalkeeper, I fear the evidence is starting to stack up. And he kicked another ball straight to the striker also, who thankfully miscontrolled

I had forgotten about the incident where he kicked it into a player, that could have been disastrous, then there is the goal incident itself, the keeper has a role to play in ensuring the defence is as it should be. That is a big part of his job.

29/05/2016, 1:46 AM
Yeah somebody questioned whether we can afford a luxury like McGoldrick, I think the answer is a straightforward no. Not to be harping on about McGeady, but I think that McGoldrick offers considerably less than him.

Whelan was good alright, a 7/10 along with some others, not stand out good but very controlled and effective. Overall I think this had been his best campaign/spell for us, but there are still some frighteningly poor games mixed in with the better ones.

No man's land is a dangerous place for a goalkeeper, I fear the evidence is starting to stack up. And he kicked another ball straight to the striker also, who thankfully miscontrolled

I had forgotten about the incident where he kicked it into a player, that could have been disastrous, then there is the goal incident itself, the keeper has a role to play in ensuring the defence is as it should be. That is a big part of his job.

You could say both incidents show a lack of awareness of danger, I'd a top keeper would have made sure the goal scorer was marked, but maybe be was ball watching too, I guess he has to but he also has to be aware of other dangers.

29/05/2016, 1:59 AM

Great cross, loss of concentration by Duffy, fcuked with the keeper, probable goal against anyone. I've seen Petr Cech do what Randolph did all his career.

May have been a great cross, and it was but our defence looked very disorganised, I have had a look at it again, it was a good cross but he had a huge target
to aim at a striker in acres of space.

Anyhow it was shocking, we have to do better, remember Holland failed to qualify.

29/05/2016, 7:35 AM

Come on its not Subbuteo. It was a split second thing. If anyone needs to communicate to Duffy that he has let his man in behind its just as much O'Shea's role.

As a keeper I'd often glance at my back 4 to see if they were OK, then look out to the wings at the ball and by the time that has all happened the forward has lost his marker.

I'm not going big on Randolph here. The least of his errors was communication I'd say. He isn't a line keeper like Shay. That's what you get with a keeper who sees it as his job to take dangerous crosses. Yes it was a split second misjudgment but I still think he'd had had his work cut out to save a free header from 8 yards.

Every goal ever scored has been avoidable in hindsight.

DeLorean
29/05/2016, 9:53 AM
I like Duffy and felt bad for him because he was so good otherwise, but it wasn't a minor error, it was a major one. He was ball watching and left his man unmarked in the middle of the penalty box, a few yards from goal. I don't think it's nitpicking to point this out instead if admiring the cross. And I think it's a mistake that would be punished in the Championship pretty often also. It was really poor defending I'm afraid.

29/05/2016, 11:19 AM
I agree, but I think there was enough pace and bend on the cross for Randolph to be exonerated. Not wholly blameless but very very slight degree of culpability.

As for tricky's point about communication, it's hard for a keeper to look up the pitch when the ball is wide. O'Shea should really have spotted Duffy's position as Duffy would have been in the same line of sight as the ball. But even still, Duffy's instinct let him down. Live and learn...

29/05/2016, 11:32 AM
I just read Sunday Times in a coffee shop. From what I recall, Paul Rowan thinks Stephen Quinn has a chance due to O'Neill's loyalty. He also thinks that O'Neill would like to pick Arter and McGoldrick but the numbers don't add up. Interestingly he thinks Keane may be playing for his place on Tuesday, and clearly Murphy is a candidate to make way for either Arter or McGoldrick. Rowan is the first I've read to explicitly say Keane's place is under threat. Interesting...

29/05/2016, 2:58 PM
I'd be extremely surprised if Keane wasn't brought along. He might not get any game time next month but he'd be good to have around the camp. It would also cause a massive sh** storm.

I'd prefer Doyle over Murphy but MO'N seems to rate Murphy.

Arter has to be in.

Fixer82
29/05/2016, 8:28 PM
Team I'd like to see start Tuesday:

--------- ----Westwood ----
-----Christie Clark Keogh Ward
McGeady Gibson Meyler McClean
--------- ---- Hoolahan
-----------Doyle/Keane

4 of these in my opinion are fighting for their place.
The formation can be changed with these players with Hoolahan dropping deeper and McGeady playing number 10.

30/05/2016, 2:22 AM
I agree, but I think there was enough pace and bend on the cross for Randolph to be exonerated. Not wholly blameless but very very slight degree of culpability.

As for tricky's point about communication, it's hard for a keeper to look up the pitch when the ball is wide. O'Shea should really have spotted Duffy's position as Duffy would have been in the same line of sight as the ball. But even still, Duffy's instinct let him down. Live and learn...

Yes granted it is easy to point the finger, but we could have been better organised, however it was only Shanes 3rd cap and he has played alongside
a different player each time, second game ahead of Randolph though.
I have never been a great fan of how we defend but then we don't concede too many so it works most of the time.

30/05/2016, 7:23 AM
The Dutch started to come into the game more after Whelan came off. I thought that was very noticeable.

that and the introduction of Gibson. he is always a few yards off where he should be when we don't have the ball. its always far too easy for the opposition to play around him

DeLorean
30/05/2016, 7:42 AM
Well it's common knowledge at this stage that whenever we concede a goal without Whelan present, it's because Whelan wasn't present. :)

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/05/2016, 11:27 AM
that and the introduction of Gibson. he is always a few yards off where he should be when we don't have the ball. its always far too easy for the opposition to play around him

Everton were unbeaten for something like 30 games when Gibson was a regular in the team.

30/05/2016, 12:38 PM
Everton were unbeaten for something like 30 games when Gibson was a regular in the team.

I can only comment on what I see when he plays for Ireland and he continually fails to close down opposition players quick enough particularly on the edge of our box.

Fixer82
30/05/2016, 1:01 PM
Out of loyalty I think O'Neill will bring McGeady. And because he tried to get regular football and was proactive in doing so.
By the same token, I think this will also hinder Gibson's chances as he stayed put with Everton.
I think Arter has done enough.
Can't see McGoldrick making the plane ahead of Murphy.
Can't see Doyle making it but wouldn't be surprised to see Quinn. Though I'd take McGoldrick over Quinn.

Robbie is on the plane, no question

30/05/2016, 1:12 PM
Read a while back a quote attributed to McClean where it was understood he didn't feel part of the Euro2012 squad as he wasn't part of the team that got us to the championships. That sentiment weighs heavily among players and management alike. Loyalty to those involved in the qualification campaign will select the squad.

Fixer82
30/05/2016, 2:52 PM
If that's the case you'd expect room for McGeady, Gibson, Quinn and Meyler

30/05/2016, 3:02 PM
who did McClean replace in the squad in 2012?

DeLorean
30/05/2016, 3:12 PM
Not sure, this was the squad (http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/euro-2012-squad-named) including the stand by list. Obviously James McCarthy wasn't in contention either, wasn't his old man ill or something?

30/05/2016, 3:14 PM
who did McClean replace in the squad in 2012?
Liam Lawrence most likely. He and Coleman were the two wingers not to make the squad (Coleman was on standby).

30/05/2016, 4:07 PM
Not sure, this was the squad (http://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/euro-2012-squad-named) including the stand by list. Obviously James McCarthy wasn't in contention either, wasn't his old man ill or something?
Yep it was announced well in advance that his dad was getting cancer treatment although I suspect there was a hint of PR about the way it was choreographed, as the media at the time were still desperate to highlight rifts between Trap and McCarthy. There was strong suspicion that Trap wouldn't pick him anyway as far as I can recall.

30/05/2016, 4:51 PM
Robbie Keane out of the Belarus game. Arter pulled up with a muscle injury in the open training session. McCarthy still training on his own but closer to fitness. Doyle not in Cork and on standby list but could still make the full squad.

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/05/2016, 5:03 PM
Paul O'Hehir is now tweeting that Robbie Keane and Harry Arter are serious Euro 2016 injury concerns.

30/05/2016, 5:29 PM
O'Neill seemed to say Arter may not play against Belarus, which infers he has a chance of being fit by tomorrow, but I'd say it's hard to know without him getting properly checked out.

IsMiseSean
30/05/2016, 7:19 PM
What's the deal with bringing in replacements for injured players after the official squad is named?

DeLorean
30/05/2016, 7:34 PM
They said on TV3 there that Kevin Doyle was due to fly in from Colorado but that instead he's been demoted to the stand by list and, as things stand, will not make the Euro squad.

Drumcondra 69er
30/05/2016, 7:50 PM
http://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.ie/2016/05/pass-dutchie.html?m=1

Blog on Dutch game plus thoughts on tomorrow's squad selection. Apologies in advance for any typos, not had time to proof read yet.

30/05/2016, 8:45 PM
They said on TV3 there that Kevin Doyle was due to fly in from Colorado but that instead he's been demoted to the stand by list and, as things stand, will not make the Euro squad.
Whereas rumours spread on Twitter that Robbie is out. Ok, it was only irelandfootballshirts I think, but it's still a rumour!

CraftyToePoke
30/05/2016, 8:50 PM

Yeah, stand by list, last line - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0530/792080-robbie-keane-out-of-belarus-game/

30/05/2016, 9:13 PM
Most obvious like for like replacement for Robbie is probably McGoldrick - or Stokes! We have quite a few no. 9 options, not many no. 10s.

CraftyToePoke
30/05/2016, 9:41 PM
There's no replacement for Robbie Keane Mr Stuttgart88, took us 100 years to produce one of him and I am resigned to probably never seeing his likes in green in my lifetime again. I just hope it doesn't end like this, on an injury two weeks out from a finals for the man.

DeLorean
30/05/2016, 9:59 PM
I was kind of hoping he'd get one of those 'handy' hat-tricks tomorrow night to bring him up to an even 70.

Sorry, yeah, Charlie had already broken the news about Doyle being on stand by, I was just saying that TV3 seemed to report it differently i.e. that he won't make the squad barring pull outs.

31/05/2016, 10:35 AM
Right, so I watched the game Sunday evening, after returning from a stag, so my concentration might not have been the best. I think the worst thing I did was read the performances of players here first, as being honest, no one really stood out and it made sense to me(the inconsistencies in analysing individual performances), as Kerr on the radio was very different to what was said on the papers and lots of differing opinions on here. I think geysir pointed out that he didn't feel Arter did that much, or McGoldrick for that matter. I think he was the only one wrt Arter, kerr also didnt really point out Arter, but did say Quinn played well. In my opinion I didn't really notice any of them to be honest, the only one who did stand out for me was Glenn Whelan, which kinda proved how average we must have been on Friday. It had a very much end of season thing about it, rather than the bite and hunger to go into a tournament all geared up on the back of a good performance and a win.

Randolph is getting worse, in my opinion, the more games he plays, but I never rated him that much anyway. A keeper coming out for a cross that is not inswinging is always a bad idea, it was curling back away from him, he would have had to climb all over yer man to get on it. He completely misjudged the flight of the ball. But what duffy was at was even worse, these lads have played together a few times now, they should be communicating well. I think O'Neill is a bit naive to dismiss the incident, which he has done in interviews. One good thing was Randolph came out again and got a good strong punch on another cross, but I think that over-confidence in himself could also be a hindrance. Time will tell.

I thought coleman looked good, it doesn't seem like Everton has affected him too much or his injuries. We always looked good down the right. Brady is very uncomfortable when he is defending facing goals, he is obviously uncomfortable on his right side, and you can see he wants to defend well, keeping the ball, but is a little unsure, probably because of past experiences like Poland - but I think thats a good thing, he shouldn't make mistakes easily. O'Shea looked good I thought, he didnt seem rusty. Duffy seemed good but the goal really worries me, as it looks like he is taking his club form into the international fold, even though we hadn't seen it before.

Midfield was ok, Mcgoldrick had a few nice touches but I don't think he does enough really, if we are happy that he doesn't offer any real defensive assitance or ability, then he needs to do more from an attacking threat and I didn't see that from him. Arter was very willing always putting in tackles and trying to get on the ball, but I didn't think he was oustanding or did enough, just that he was more busy than anyone else. I did like the turn in the first half though and run towards the box, he does seem to find a bit of space around there. Quinn I think did enough to be included, he was always willing to help out in attack, to get on the ball in tight spaces, and keep the ball, he gave it away a few times but he was still willing to do it again and again, no one else really offered that, and he also helped defensively too.

Walters was brutal, not sure what he was at half the time, he looks more uncomfortable in a central position. Game passes him by more. Luckily he is a cert from the qualifying campaign otherwise I am not sure he would be going anywhere. Long did ok, he ran around a bit and pulled them apart now and again, but I still prefer him coming off the bench.

For the first half we were very slow to start and get going, not sure why really, but in the second half for the first 20 mins we looked composed and assured, even a bit of a swagger about us.

I thought our set pieces looked much better, and more organised. We looked like we had a few different tricks up our sleeves and had worked on a few different formations/options from the set pieces.

All in all, I wasn't overly impressed with the performance and it didn't leave a lasting impression.