View Full Version : 2016 FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

mcgonigle
07/11/2016, 2:25 PM
Was just scrolling through the posts here and was about to post my congratulations to Cork.

Then I seen disgrunteld's post, try and enjoy your win lad and get the Champions off your mind for a minute or are ya's that obsessed?

rebel
07/11/2016, 2:35 PM
Was just scrolling through the posts here and was about to post my congratulations to Cork.

Then I seen disgrunteld's post, try and enjoy your win lad and get the Champions off your mind for a minute or are ya's that obsessed?

Yeah it's a bit silly in fairness. Lots of bitterness over on the orielweb forum as well. No need for it, I met a couple of Dundalk fans queuing for the dart after the game yesterday and we got on grand and wished each other the best.

patrickccfc
07/11/2016, 4:41 PM
Yeah to be fair a few dundalk fans came over to me to congratulate us which was very nice of them considering the manner of the defeat. The ones that were giving lip were probably the same ones that went out of there way to goad us in oriel in 2014.

Ezeikial
07/11/2016, 4:43 PM
Yeah it's a bit silly in fairness. Lots of bitterness over on the orielweb forum as well. No need for it, I met a couple of Dundalk fans queuing for the dart after the game yesterday and we got on grand and wished each other the best.

I really don't get the fixation that people have about bitterness

To me bitterness means a resentment over some type of unfairness or injustice. This is very different from being disappointed.

Anyone who was emotionally invested in Dundalk winning yesterday would likely be feeling disappointed at the outcome- this could range from being mildly discontented to be extremely devastated - this is not bitterness.

White Horse
07/11/2016, 5:32 PM

Fans over there are disappointed but bitter is something else. No one is disputing the result, Cork scored a fair and legitimate goal, we didn't.

jinxy lilywhite
07/11/2016, 6:44 PM

Oh Grow up and enjoy your victory. It's hardly bitterness in OW. More disappointment on the facts of the game and missed opportunites

Calcio Jack
07/11/2016, 7:01 PM

Kettle pot black accusing him of being obsessed in such a condescending manner... when your own club had an official banner celebrating your league win last year that read something like " We won it in Talaght" - being gracious in victory or defeat costs nothing.

White Horse
07/11/2016, 7:05 PM
Kettle pot black accusing him of being obsessed in such a condescending manner... when your own club had an official banner celebrating your league win last year that read something like " We won it in Talaght" - being gracious in victory or defeat costs nothing.

Our club did not have anything to do with that banner, the kit supplier made it and displayed it at their function.

If you are going to point the finger at others, get your facts right.

Calcio Jack
07/11/2016, 7:41 PM
Our club did not have anything to do with that banner, the kit supplier made it and displayed it at their function.

Oh dear the " we were only following orders " defence - the banner if I recall was used at your kit launch attended by players and management.

Still if you believe it was nothing to do with the club but only to do with your sponsor so be it, I'll leave it to others to decide their view

White Horse
07/11/2016, 7:45 PM
Oh dear the " we were only following orders " defence - the banner if I recall was used at your kit launch attended by players and management.

Still if you believe it was nothing to do with the club but only to do with your sponsor so be it, I'll leave it to others to decide their view

Did you not say it was an official club banner?

Ezeikial
07/11/2016, 8:13 PM
Oh dear the " we were only following orders " defence -

Nonsense!

the banner if I recall was used at your kit launch attended by players and management.

Correct - the banner was commission by the kit manufacturers and displayed at their kit launch, which was obviously attended by players and management.

It's well documented, as is the cringe factor felt by many surrounding the misguided message on the banner

Still if you believe it was nothing to do with the club but only to do with your sponsor so be it

AT least you are pretending to get it now - but then you knew that all along!

Calcio Jack
07/11/2016, 9:12 PM

Nonsense!

Correct - the banner was commission by the kit manufacturers and displayed at their kit launch, which was obviously attended by players and management.

It's well documented, as is the cringe factor felt by many surrounding the misguided message on the banner

AT least you are pretending to get it now - but then you knew that all along!

I get it alright but I'm not going to engage in a tit for tat argument as I suspect we'll just go around in circles dancing on the head of a pin, you hold your views and I'll hold mine but in the great scheme of things I doubt anyone else is interested.

White Horse
07/11/2016, 9:15 PM
I get it alright but I'm not going to engage in a tit for tat argument as I suspect we'll just go around in circles dancing on the head of a pin, you hold your views and I'll hold mine but in the great scheme of things I doubt anyone else is interested.

Its not about opinions, it about facts.

You said the banner was an official club banner. It wasn't and I think you knew that all along.

Philosophizer
07/11/2016, 9:46 PM
I doubt anyone else is interested.

You're right.

El-Pietro
07/11/2016, 11:28 PM
Just in the door from the homecoming tonight. I missed last nights revelry unfortunately. Felt really good seeing the cup in person again after 9 years.

I could type an essay here talking about the emotional rollercoaster I've been on for the last few days but I won't bore you.

For the first time yesterday I didn't think we could win. I've seen too many heartbreaking defeats and I thought our time would never come. Even after the goal I was sure they were gonna snatch it somehow just to make it worse.

It was a scrappy game with no clear better team but we came out on top and I'm delighted. I'm actually even happier that the goal was a terrible goal. It was the perfect goal to settle that game.After the past few years this win means so much. I hope its not the last one and I'm confident it won't be.

Some Dundalk fans have been saying sure its only the cup, we're still the better team, and we don't care anyway. Maybe it is only the cup, but if you feel like it doesn't matter I pity you. I pity you the way I pity Man United and Barcelona fans. Fans who have seen so many victories that they are numb to them. They expect them, and its the losses that provoke real emotion.
I'm not suggesting all Dundalk fans are this way, and the photos of the goal show the players certainly wanted to win it but there is a portion who are being very blasé about the cup. You have been brilliant ove rthe past three years, but this is the LOI and nothing lasts forever. You have to savour the moments you get. I've been following City for over half my life and I've seen us win one league, two cups, one LC and one Setanta and I've loved every one. I've see teams from Louth lift.... 8 trophies?

The winter is going to be interesting. Most clubs are ready to do their business now, they know who will be gone, who they need to replace, where they need to strengthen. Dundalk aren't finished yet, and don't know if they will make the next round of Europe yet. Do they replace X Y and Z? Or.... of course that has a knock on effect for other clubs who are waiting to see if Dundalk players want to move, or if their players are willing to stay or will they move to Dundalk.

I have a million more things to say but I have work tomorrow so I'll leave it there. A mess of semi coherent, semi connected ramblings. One last point. Sean Maguire may well have played his last game for us, and we'll have a job replacing him. But 29 goals. Holy hell thats an incredible season. I think we've only had a player better that once, Morley in 1992/93 and he had a couple in the MSC. Seans goals have won us this cup, got us to the Europa League third round and kept us hot on the tail of "The Greatest team in LOI History"' for 90% of the season.

Next year is gonna be fun.

Calcio Jack
08/11/2016, 7:21 AM
Its not about opinions, it about facts.

You said the banner was an official club banner. It wasn't and I think you knew that all along.

" it's not about opinions, it's about facts"..... followed by inaccurate speculative opinion - Rico in his pomp would have been proud of that juxtaposition.

White Horse
08/11/2016, 8:05 AM
" it's not about opinions, it's about facts"..... followed by inaccurate speculative opinion - Rico in his pomp would have been proud of that juxtaposition.

Are you still maintaining that the banner was an official club one?

White Horse
08/11/2016, 8:29 AM
Next year is gonna be fun.

All interesting points and not at all rambling.

It will be fascinating to see how both teams move forward. No one can afford to stand still. Keeping and recruiting the right players will be crucial.

Congratulations on the win, enjoy it. We've all seen more disappointment than success while following our teams.

Calcio Jack
08/11/2016, 9:38 AM
Are you still maintaining that the banner was an official club one?

A very wise woman once gave me the following advice " Calcio do you want to be 'right' or happy" I chose happy.

08/11/2016, 9:40 AM
Some Dundalk fans have been saying sure its only the cup, we're still the better team, and we don't care anyway. Maybe it is only the cup, but if you feel like it doesn't matter I pity you. I pity you the way I pity Man United and Barcelona fans. Fans who have seen so many victories that they are numb to them. They expect them, and its the losses that provoke real emotion.
I'm not suggesting all Dundalk fans are this way, and the photos of the goal show the players certainly wanted to win it but there is a portion who are being very blasé about the cup. You have been brilliant ove rthe past three years, but this is the LOI and nothing lasts forever. You have to savour the moments you get. I've been following City for over half my life and I've seen us win one league, two cups, one LC and one Setanta and I've loved every one. I've see teams from Louth lift.... 8 trophies?

Any Dundalk fans that are saying 'only the cup' have very short memories!!!

The League Cup was savoured 2 years ago AND was a major win to set the ball rolling if you pardon the pun. To have the Malone Cup, Presidents Cup, LS Cup, FAI Cup and League Trophy all sitting on a table at functions was an impressive sight even if 2 trophies were for friendlies, and one was a reserve and youths cup, I am still annoyed that we we went out on penalties in the semi of the LC to Galway and not have a chance to complete the set.

disgruntled
08/11/2016, 10:11 AM

No obsession here mate, just enjoying the moment.
If you can't take a bit of friendly slagging then you might like to follow a different sport ;)

Dundalk are a fine side & we have many friends in Dundalk. Genuine League of Ireland folk who have been through thick & thin with the club.
So good luck you in your endeavors till we meet again & try not to take life so seriously :D

disgruntled
08/11/2016, 10:13 AM
All interesting points and not at all rambling.

It will be fascinating to see how both teams move forward. No one can afford to stand still. Keeping and recruiting the right players will be crucial.

Congratulations on the win, enjoy it. We've all seen more disappointment than success while following our teams.

What other way could it be when following the LOI :D

sbgawa
08/11/2016, 10:46 AM
so true but it makes the odd win more sweet

08/11/2016, 1:24 PM
I understand that the Preston Chairman was at the game looking at Horgan and Maguire.

oriel
08/11/2016, 2:20 PM

Regardless of who said what, I still think it was a ridiculous thing for the kit sponsor to sanction having the mention of 'talla'. Rovers were not even a rival to the league last season. A simpler solution would have been 'two in a row and we did it in style'

Just a point from yesterday, one of the Cork lads on here suggesting some Dundalk fans saying 'it was only the FAI Cup' etc. Well I can tell you one thing, I was very disappointed we didn't win, and why wouldn't I, its the second biggest trophy on offer.

The best team will always win the league, but the cup is still a very decent achievement. Cork fans should rightly enjoy the celebrations.

The Presidents Cup should be fun in Feb!

patrickccfc
10/11/2016, 8:05 PM
The Presidents Cup should be fun in Feb!

Would it be correct to presume it will be in oriel this year? Since it was down here last time

11/11/2016, 8:22 AM
Would it be correct to presume it will be in oriel this year? Since it was down here last time

Don't presume anything. It's the FAI we're talking about and there's been no real precedent so far

I'd guess it'll be Oriel too but they make it up as they go along

CityBoy
11/11/2016, 9:21 AM
Anyone know how much Cork City get for winning the Cup and Dundalk for coming second?

GCdfc
11/11/2016, 10:43 AM
Probably €0 each after the FAI take their cut as fines from the flares.

11/11/2016, 10:45 AM
Afaik, it's 25k for the winner

ToberonaTornado
11/11/2016, 11:00 AM
Probably €0 each after the FAI take their cut as fines from the flares.

Spot on.Haven't seen it mentioned anywhere else here but Shams got hit with a HUGE fine for fans displaying flares @ a home match in Tallaght v Dundalk Same images will be used by the FAI & SSE etc.to promote the game here!!

sbgawa
11/11/2016, 1:17 PM
Spot on.Haven't seen it mentioned anywhere else here but Shams got hit with a HUGE fine for fans displaying flares @ a home match in Tallaght v Dundalk Same images will be used by the FAI & SSE etc.to promote the game here!!

Yes that is true afaik it was €6000 because of the flares against Dundalk bringing fines for the season to over 10k
That's a mad amount of money for a loi club

oriel
11/11/2016, 1:36 PM
Anyone know how much Cork City get for winning the Cup and Dundalk for coming second?

I think the prize fund is €50k for winning the FAI Cup. This was a new arrangement afaik when the finals switched to the Aviva. Previously it was the clubs who got involved directly, and some made a loss on the final. The fai take direct control now so regardless of the attendance the winners get €50k, not sure what the runners up get, prob €20k?

For the league, I think Dundalk pick up €115k, an increase from the 100k on offer for previous seasons. For the runners up, I'm not sure, might be 50-60k, but the real money is entrance to the CL and the route following that if you get get past a few rounds.

It's mental to think Dundalk's draw away to AZ was worth more in a bonus payment (140k) that winning the league over 33 games, or almost 3 times the money for winning the cup.

11/11/2016, 1:42 PM
I don't think it's anywhere near 50k for the winners. Stand to be corrected, but there's €121,000 prize money between FAI Cup, League Cup and Fair Play league. I can't see how 50k of that would go to the FAI Cup winners alone.

El-Pietro
11/11/2016, 1:49 PM
I think the prize fund is €50k for winning the FAI Cup. This was a new arrangement afaik when the finals switched to the Avila. Previously it was the clubs who got involved directly, and some made a loss on the final. The fai take direct control now so regardless of the attendance the winners get €50k, not sure what the runners up get, prob €20k?

For the league, I think Dundalk pick up €115k, an increase from the 100k on offer for previous seasons. For the runners up, I'm not sure, might be 50-60k, but the real money is entrance to the CL and the route following that if you get get past a few rounds.

It's mental to think Dundalk's draw away to AZ was worth more in a bonus payment (140k) that winning the league over 33 games, or almost 3 times the money for winning the cup.
League winners get €110k. Draw in the EL Group stage is worth €120k, win €360k, unless they have made changes in recent weeks.

11/11/2016, 2:43 PM
I don't think it's anywhere near 50k for the winners.
it is exactly 50k for winning the FAI Cup

11/11/2016, 3:06 PM
50k for the Cup winners, ~25k for runners-up leaves about 50k for EA Sports Cup + fair play together. Sounds about right.

oriel
11/11/2016, 3:16 PM
League winners get €110k. Draw in the EL Group stage is worth €120k, win €360k, unless they have made changes in recent weeks.

Yep, I stand corrected, 110k for the league, 120k not 140k for a draw in EL group. 360k also correct per win.

Its def 50k though for the FAI Cup.