View Full Version : 2016 FAI Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

patrickccfc
11/09/2016, 5:04 PM
this Ellis for cobh where did ye get him from?

He's on loan from us

Ezeikial
11/09/2016, 5:43 PM
I might make Cork favourites. The cup might have slipped down Dundalks list of priorities. Whatever about that, we are rightly 4th in the betting. After a solid enough first half yesterday we almost threw it away. Fair play to Cobh, and to their travelling support who were very vocal.

I agree that Cork are the most likely cup winners and Dundalk are a very poor value bet at 6/4 at this point.

As it stands the Cup Semi-finals are scheduled for the weekend of Sat/Sun 1/2 Oct. Dundalk are likely to have a league match on Mon 26 Sept followed by Maccabi Tel-Aviv on Thurs 29 Sept and then the semi-final 2 or 3 days later. It's also likely that there will be another back league match scheduled for the following Tues 4 Oct.

As the league is the stated number one priority, it is likely to be a significantly weaker team that plays the FAI Cup semi (probably similar to the side against UCD).

If Dundalk did make it to the final, playing in Aviva on the Sunday immediately after Zenit St Petersburg away, would be another huge ask.

All things considered, Dundalk may be more rightly 4th in the betting!

nr637
12/09/2016, 1:54 PM
Shams 0 Cork City 5
Att:1500+
Wexford 1 Derry City 3
Att:500+
UCD 0 Dundalk 1
Att:500+
St Pats 3 Cobh 2
Att:600+

Estimated 3,000+ total attendances at the FAI Cup Quarter-Finals.

12/09/2016, 2:41 PM
You can drop a fair bit off that top crowd too

placid casual
12/09/2016, 6:39 PM
You can drop a fair bit off that top crowd too

Were you at the game?
or sitting at home counting the people on the tv?

sbgawa
12/09/2016, 7:48 PM
There were easily 1500 at the match. I was there and attend almost all home matches. It looked bad on TV because everyone was jammed up at the back of the main stand to avoid rain. When it stopped people didn't move down cos seats were wet plus it looked like it might start as well. TV and weather hit the crowd...still thought it was dissapointing tbh

12/09/2016, 10:46 PM
Were you at the game?
or sitting at home counting the people on the tv?
Neither. Just what I was told from people there

Others disagree, so fair enough

Yossarian
13/09/2016, 7:38 AM
Semi final draw:
Dundalk v Derry
Pats v Cork

White Horse
13/09/2016, 7:38 AM
Always nice to get a home draw.

Ezeikial
13/09/2016, 7:55 AM
FAI Cup holders Derry City have been handed a home semi-final in this year's competition after the draw on RTÉ's Morning Ireland paired the two teams together.

Dundalk's hectic schedule continues apace and as well as their European fixtures, they will now face the Candystripes on the weekend of 2 October in the Cup.

The other semi-final sees form team Cork City travel to St Patrick's Athletic.
Cork booked their place in the drawn with a 5-0 thrashing of Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght and the draw keeps alive the chances of a repeat of last season's final between the Rebels and Dundalk.

Both games will take on that weekend of 2 October with coverage on RTÉ Television.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0913/816177-dundalk-and-cork-kept-apart-in-fai-cup-draw/

So it was all a dream after all - Derry won the cup last year!

13/09/2016, 7:58 AM
Noticed it on the News Now channel alright. Went to watch the draw at 8:55 and it was already done.

13/09/2016, 8:43 AM
Pats-Cork on the Friday, Dundalk-Derry on the Sunday.

We avoided Pats, which is the main thing. They may have beaten us. Though I'd have liked them to be away from home, you'd like to think Cork can put them out. Which is the only thing I want from this year's cup, being realistic.

13/09/2016, 8:45 AM
FAI press release says they're both Sunday?

Both games will take place on Sunday October 2nd and will be screened live on RTE television.

13/09/2016, 8:52 AM
Yeah, both Sunday.

A repeat of 2012 and 2014 is the most logical.

Then next year will be Cork v Dundalk again

El-Pietro
13/09/2016, 9:04 AM
Thats really handy for me, I have a stag in London that weekend, just need to figure out what flight to get back to Dublin.

White Horse
13/09/2016, 10:12 AM
Kenny Shiels is some boy.

"I would imagine that Dundalk are not happy with this draw because they’ll know that we will probably dominate possession and that’s something that they’re not use to.

They’re crying about having to go to Amsterdam but I’m sure my players would prefer to get on a plane for a one and half hour flight than take a six hour bus journey for the second time in a week.

Our players will be tired. And they have two squads. Of the three possible opponents we could have had, all are littered with former Derry City players so we’re going to be up against it because we will be playing against quality players who have left Derry City.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/kenny-shiels-schedule-gives-dundalk-cup-advantage-over-derry-1.2789428?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=dlvr.it

seand
13/09/2016, 10:21 AM
Shiels is gas craic. Like Mourinho but without the charisma.

disgruntled
13/09/2016, 10:44 AM

"I would imagine that Dundalk are not happy with this draw because they’ll know that we will probably dominate possession and that’s something that they’re not use to.

They’re crying about having to go to Amsterdam but I’m sure my players would prefer to get on a plane for a one and half hour flight than take a six hour bus journey for the second time in a week.

Our players will be tired. And they have two squads. Of the three possible opponents we could have had, all are littered with former Derry City players so we’re going to be up against it because we will be playing against quality players who have left Derry City.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/kenny-shiels-schedule-gives-dundalk-cup-advantage-over-derry-1.2789428?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=dlvr.it

Wouldn't take much notice of Shiels to be honest but I would beware of his team in the semi final.

13/09/2016, 10:45 AM
Shiels is gas craic.

Ah, he's brilliant. Love his wee talks. Half truth, half a wind-up.
He forgot to add in Dundalk's hour bus to Dublin/Belfast airport, and then the bus on the other side, mind.
I'd also add that we do have five away matches in a row. Not that I really think travelling is all that gruelling for any LoI side.

White Horse
13/09/2016, 10:52 AM
I would beware of his team in the semi final.

I'd have them favourites for the tie.

We have a big game against Tel Aviv on the Thursday before the game and probably a league fixture a couple of days later.

The second 11 were good enough to get past UCD but Derry are a different matter.

White Horse
13/09/2016, 10:53 AM
He forgot to add in Dundalk's hour bus to Dublin/Belfast airport, and then the bus on the other side, mind.
I'd also add that we do have five away matches in a row. Not that I really think travelling is all that gruelling for any LoI side.

I'd say Sunday lunch is something else at his place, especially when Dean is there.

oriel
13/09/2016, 10:54 AM
Thats really handy for me, I have a stag in London that weekend, just need to figure out what flight to get back to Dublin.

You better take it easy on the Sat night if your match is on first, usually they have 13.55 and 15.55 kick offs for these matches if both played on the same day.

Some commitment, London, Dublin and Cork if you're based there. Fair play.

13/09/2016, 12:34 PM

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0913/816177-dundalk-and-cork-kept-apart-in-fai-cup-draw/

They're also two teams judging by that first sentence.

I suppose having two separate sets of contracts wouldn't be anything new for them.

13/09/2016, 6:28 PM

Maybe they never gave the trophy back after 2012 ?

13/09/2016, 6:31 PM

[I
Of the three possible opponents we could have had, all are littered with former Derry City players so we’re going to be up against it because we will be playing against quality players who have left Derry City.”[/I]

He can have Shane McEleny and Mark Timlim back if that's any help ?

14/09/2016, 7:18 AM
He can have Shane McEleny and Mark Timlim back if that's any help ?

Nah, ye're grand, thanks.

14/09/2016, 8:03 AM

It is refreshing to here such a comment from a supporter of a club that do have the one of the greatest distances to travel as the way some people talk about travel on this Island, football related or not, you would think they were talking about a Russia sized country. There was less said when it took an hour to get through Abbeyleix or Balbriggan etc back in the day. I get it when people have to get time off work and that but really the coaches now it is sitting comfortably. No more old Anchor Tours like buses that Dundalk fans would know years ago where you were almost out to push the damn thing!! Maybe those buses were just used for dundalk fans:p

14/09/2016, 9:52 AM
It is refreshing to here such a comment from a supporter of a club that do have the one of the greatest distances to travel as the way some people talk about travel on this Island, football related or not, you would think they were talking about a Russia sized country. There was less said when it took an hour to get through Abbeyleix or Balbriggan etc back in the day. I get it when people have to get time off work and that but really the coaches now it is sitting comfortably. No more old Anchor Tours like buses that Dundalk fans would know years ago where you were almost out to push the damn thing!! Maybe those buses were just used for dundalk fans:p

It's crazy isn't it. You tell people you are going to watch a game 2 hours away and they react as if you are going to Mars and back. It's a strange mentality considering the island is so small

ToberonaTornado
20/09/2016, 11:48 AM
Semi-final schedule

Sunday 2nd October

Dundalk v Derry 1:45 pm

St.Pats v Cork 3:55 pm

El-Pietro
20/09/2016, 1:05 PM
Handy for me, 10 am flight back to Dublin is easier than a 6 am flight. Not ideal but at least I'll make the game!

patrickccfc
21/10/2016, 1:07 PM
Our cup final jersey

https://mobile.twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/789431343373484033?p=p

26/10/2016, 4:18 PM
Anyone know the story with anyone that has an FAI season ticket? Feee bump up to premium is it? Can they buy extras as well or?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/10/2016, 6:45 PM
Anyone know the story with anyone that has an FAI season ticket? Feee bump up to premium is it? Can they buy extras as well or?

Free bump up to premium. You should have gotten a mail about it. Just swipe your card at the premium turnstiles. You can buy premium on ticketmaster I think but don't remember them saying anything about buying more with your season ticket

oriel
26/10/2016, 7:45 PM
Our cup final jersey

https://mobile.twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/789431343373484033?p=p

Nice top, and for me a much better one that the current version with the white stripe, this one is a classic and simple design. Will this be the new top for next year?

That top, white shorts and white socks would be cool.

patrickccfc
26/10/2016, 7:57 PM
Nice top, and for me a much better one that the current version with the white stripe, this one is a classic and simple design. Will this be the new top for next year?

That top, white shorts and white socks would be cool.

Yeah I much prefer that jersey than our current one too. No this jersey will be for the cup final only which is a pity. Will have to pick one up while I can

27/10/2016, 8:29 AM
No stitching with the date and opponents?

When these one-off shirts are released, they usually have that stitching on them (maybe not in Ireland though alright).

patrickccfc
27/10/2016, 4:46 PM
We had it in 2007 alright against longford

https://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.wixstatic.com%2F media%2F5e75b5_ac91ac8c65b6bd42be15e3acf18f1be2.jp g_512&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fmring007.wix.com%2Fcork-city-fc-jerseys%23!__2007-fai-cup-final&docid=VHI6oe-aFWqVIM&tbnid=M_dVCZKq5o4T2M%3A&w=767&h=512&itg=1&hl=en-IE&client=ms-android-hms-tef-ie&bih=615&biw=360&ved=0ahUKEwipnu3otvvPAhUkJsAKHXGdAKUQMwggKAUwBQ&iact=mrc&uact=8

It is nice to have the opponents and date on it, a nice little memento or collector's item

27/10/2016, 4:58 PM
We had it in 2007 alright against longford

https://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.wixstatic.com%2F media%2F5e75b5_ac91ac8c65b6bd42be15e3acf18f1be2.jp g_512&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fmring007.wix.com%2Fcork-city-fc-jerseys%23!__2007-fai-cup-final&docid=VHI6oe-aFWqVIM&tbnid=M_dVCZKq5o4T2M%3A&w=767&h=512&itg=1&hl=en-IE&client=ms-android-hms-tef-ie&bih=615&biw=360&ved=0ahUKEwipnu3otvvPAhUkJsAKHXGdAKUQMwggKAUwBQ&iact=mrc&uact=8

It is nice to have the opponents and date on it, a nice little memento or collector's item

that jersey ye had in 07 in fai cup final was that a home version that ye wore that day?

El-Pietro
27/10/2016, 5:15 PM
That was a one off jersey. We moved from O'Neills to Hummel that winter.

28/10/2016, 4:59 PM
That was a one off jersey. We moved from O'Neills to Hummel that winter.

I assume that was a home jersey that was worn that day?

ger121
28/10/2016, 5:47 PM
Is the Premium route worth it for the FAI Cup Final? Couple of Ireland regulars I know going, so thinking about seeing how the other half live.

El-Pietro
29/10/2016, 11:51 AM
I assume that was a home jersey that was worn that day?

Again, it was a one off. It was never worn again. It was not a home or away jersey. It was a one off white jersey we only wore at the RDS.

ger121
01/11/2016, 9:11 PM
How are ticket sales going? Sure with this non-stop marketing by the FAI, it's sure to be a sell-out!

legendz
01/11/2016, 9:18 PM
How are ticket sales going? Sure with this non-stop marketing by the FAI, it's sure to be a sell-out!
There's an obsession with the FAI and marketing. The bulk of the support will come from the clubs contesting the final.

ger121
01/11/2016, 9:45 PM
The bulk of the support will come from the clubs contesting the final.

Really? I wasn't aware of that fact:roll:Be nice thing if they could market the game to all those people not associated with either of the 2 clubs contesting the final. You'd almost think they want to keep it a secret from the wider sporting public.

01/11/2016, 10:07 PM
There's an obsession with the FAI and marketing. The bulk of the support will come from the clubs contesting the final.

The bulk of the crowd would be nuetrals if it was full. Which is kinda the point...

sbgawa
01/11/2016, 10:17 PM
I'm going and bringing 6 kids
(Only 1 of my own) 3 of them have never been to a live game of football . Rovers had a great poster last season advertising a game and saying "don't let your kids grow up thinking football is a TV event" . Looking forward to it.

02/11/2016, 7:35 AM
Surprised to see Cork at 2/1 for this game with PP given Dundalk's Russian trip. I'd have Cork favourites myself in the circumstances.

White Horse
02/11/2016, 8:20 AM
Surprised to see Cork at 2/1 for this game with PP given Dundalk's Russian trip. I'd have Cork favourites myself in the circumstances.

That's nuts. If Cork don't win the cup on Sunday, they may as well take up hurling.

02/11/2016, 10:41 AM
I've stuck a tenner on, apologies in advance Cork fans.