View Full Version : 2016 EA Sports Cup
White Horse
01/08/2016, 8:49 PM
Congratulations to Limerick on reaching the final. It would be great to see the final at the Markets Field.
01/08/2016, 8:50 PM
That's some result up there for Limerick fc any idea when the final is on?
September 17th
01/08/2016, 8:50 PM
Congratulations to Limerick on reaching the final. It would be great to see the final at the Markets Field.
Surely it will be on there. Can guarantee a big crowd and atmosphere.
NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2016, 8:53 PM
How is it determined though? Coin toss or FAI just picking one?
01/08/2016, 8:54 PM
I am not surprised by the result. Didnt Limerick win the League cup in the brandywell in 2001/02 season?
fieldofmarkets
01/08/2016, 8:58 PM
On penalties.
01/08/2016, 8:58 PM
How is it determined though? Coin toss or FAI just picking one?
Supposed to be coin toss but I think they just decide themselves.
I am not surprised by the result. Didnt Limerick win the League cup in the brandywell in 2001/02 season?
Yup. It's not the biggest cup but to us it's huge considering our lack of success for so many years. The treble is still on :cool:
fieldofmarkets
01/08/2016, 9:00 PM
Markets Field would see 4 or 5 thousand (announced at the capacity 3050?) i would think. No idea how venue is set.
kksaints
01/08/2016, 9:06 PM
If we get to the final ideally it should be on in Richmond as we had to travel to Galway last year but things generally dont work like that. Can fit around 5000 in Richmond and its fairly easy to seperate the fans.
NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2016, 9:11 PM
It should be a neutral venue really, like any cup final. Galway would actually suit.
gufcfan
01/08/2016, 9:17 PM
It should be a neutral venue really, like any cup final.
It won't be and I agree with what the FAI do with it. Fans of many clubs don't care about it enough to travel so at least if it's a home match for one of the teams, you're guaranteed some kind of a crowd.
This will be the 14th season since they stopped playing it over two legs.
01/08/2016, 9:19 PM
If we get to the final ideally it should be on in Richmond as we had to travel to Galway last year but things generally dont work like that. Can fit around 5000 in Richmond and its fairly easy to seperate the fans.
Would you get 5,000 at Richmond Park for a League Cup final though?
If travelling I reckon we would bring around 1,500-1,700 max. Would Pats then get in the other 3,200?
If it's on in the Markets Field we should be able to get around 3,000+ on our own. It would all come down to what capacity is set also. If we had more stands erected could we possibly increase it, I'm not sure. We now have three big exits so should easily hold 4,000 safely.
thomas72
01/08/2016, 9:22 PM
Limerick will squeeze around 5 thousand into the ground like they did v finn harps last season in the playoffs.
One thing I do know Limerick fans will snap up tickets very quickly it will sell out within a week or less imo there was huge interest on this semi final tonight in Limerick.
One thing for sure the markets field will be rocking that night.
01/08/2016, 10:54 PM
There was no coin toss last year.
Final will be in Limerick this year. Hopefully Pats are the opposition
01/08/2016, 10:57 PM
On Derry's facebook page there's a few foreign lads abusing them...I guess a few bets fell apart.
02/08/2016, 9:12 AM
On Derry's facebook page there's a few foreign lads abusing them...I guess a few bets fell apart.
We seem to get that a lot. Some of the comments on our pre-season losses were hilarious.
Fair play to Limerick, better team won. I thought we were brutal. Shocking goal to give away, and we didn't (chose not to?) respond in any meaningful way. We don't seem to have a Plan B, just rigidly sticking to our five man midfield.
In saying that, we had enough chances to win, but when you're missing headers from 6m out, you don't really deserve to win. Limerick could have had a couple extra of their own too.
Surprised at Limerick's quality. They'd be a comfortable mid-table Premier team, judging on that performance.
Best of luck for the final, which will surely be at Markets Field.
For us however, we need to pick things up quickly or we'll see ourselves slipping down the table.
White Horse
02/08/2016, 9:21 AM
Their own fault for betting against Limerick.
legendz
02/08/2016, 9:59 AM
Fair play to Limerick! Unbeaten in the league and unbeaten in both cups so far as well. Mighty going :)
Johnnie C
02/08/2016, 1:45 PM
Great win and great commentary on 95fm for it. If Athlone's ground had an extra stand it should be the venue for the LC final every year given its location.
02/08/2016, 2:15 PM
Athlone's ground being the one furthest away from, and therefore least convenient for, all the finalists in the past 20+ years, yeah?
02/08/2016, 2:31 PM
Great win and great commentary on 95fm for it. If Athlone's ground had an extra stand it should be the venue for the LC final every year given its location.
If that's your logic then Longford would be a far better venue. Seated all the way around, an electronic scoreboard and clock and a massive car park. Anyway it shouldn't even be up for discussion, MF's is the ideal venue for this final.
02/08/2016, 11:07 PM
Exactly. There should be no argument. A potential Cork City v Waterford United final should be held in Athlone. Likewise a Sligo Rovers v Derry City final. It only makes sense.
03/08/2016, 6:33 AM
Dundalk v Drogheda? Why not Athlone?
Rovers v Bohs? Definitely Athlone.
Where would UCD v Cabinteely possibly draw any sort of a crowd? I'd say Athlone.
In fact, let's just take after the Gibraltar league and play all league games in the one ground. Where would be best, do you reckon?
Ezeikial
03/08/2016, 12:23 PM
I presume there are direct buses to Athlone?
The only clubs that come out for a league cup final are those for whom it's an achievement.
In 2014 Dundalk fans saw it as a big deal, Rovers fans didn't. If it happened now, they might view if differently.
There's no way the Galway v Pats final would have been better off in Athlone than Galway last year. It was a big deal for Galway to host it, and they got numbers out, but they'd have had a max of 500 travel, Pats would have had 300 and we'd have a cup final with less than 1,000 at it
ger121
04/08/2016, 12:00 AM
Dundalk v Drogheda? Why not Athlone?
Rovers v Bohs? Definitely Athlone.
Where would UCD v Cabinteely possibly draw any sort of a crowd? I'd say Athlone.
In fact, let's just take after the Gibraltar league and play all league games in the one ground. Where would be best, do you reckon?
The Bowl. Sure it's the only chance you'll have to fill it on a weekly basis.
PartySaint
09/08/2016, 11:17 AM
Decision on where the final is to be played to be made tomorrow morning. Hopefully it's in Limerick.
09/08/2016, 11:29 AM
Ya fingers crossed for Limerick. Could the Premier Leagues games affect the day it's on though since Eir are televising it? 6:30 on a Saturday would be ideal for a big crowd. We should sell out the home allocation if on in the Markets Field.
Edit: not much on premier league wise that day, the big game is Friday night - Chelsea vs Liverpool.
PartySaint
09/08/2016, 11:52 AM
Ya fingers crossed for Limerick. Could the Premier Leagues games affect the day it's on though since Eir are televising it? 6:30 on a Saturday would be ideal for a big crowd. We should sell out the home allocation if on in the Markets Field.
Edit: not much on premier league wise that day, the big game is Friday night - Chelsea vs Liverpool.
18:30 in the Market Fields would be perfect, would get a decent Pats crowd down and I'm sure it would be close to a sellout.
Cue the FAI putting it down for 12 o'clock in Richmond
09/08/2016, 3:38 PM
Coin toss in abbtstown tomorrow morning
Olander
09/08/2016, 3:53 PM
The final should be in the Markets Field, where it will be much more of an occasion, similar to when we played Pats in Terryland Park.
I doubt there would even be 2,000 at Richmond Park for it.
fionnsci
09/08/2016, 4:35 PM
The final should be in the Markets Field, where it will be much more of an occasion, similar to when we played Pats in Terryland Park.
I doubt there would even be 2,000 at Richmond Park for it.
Ah there would. Objectively, Markets Field would be better though, assuming they can accommodate the numbers. Temp seating needed I assume.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/08/2016, 5:39 PM
Coin toss in abbtstown tomorrow morning
Two headed coin with Limerick given the choice after Pats couple of statements the last week
09/08/2016, 7:10 PM
what the hell was Fran Gavin on about last night about the coin toss? mentioned someones name that I have never heard of before!
NeverFeltBetter
09/08/2016, 8:06 PM
Ah there would. Objectively, Markets Field would be better though, assuming they can accommodate the numbers. Temp seating needed I assume.
I doubt they'd go that far.
bluewhitearmy
09/08/2016, 10:45 PM
Had 5-6000 in first leg of play off last season what is Richmonds max?
09/08/2016, 11:08 PM
That was a bit of a mess though. Ground was clearly oversold and people were moving barriers out of the way all over the place to get standing somewhere they wouldn't be crushed.
Temporary stands would do no harm whatsoever, same as Wexford done the time they hosted the final.
bluewhitearmy
09/08/2016, 11:18 PM
That was a bit of a mess though. Ground was clearly oversold and people were moving barriers out of the way all over the place to get standing somewhere they wouldn't be crushed.
Temporary stands would do no harm whatsoever, same as Wexford done the time they hosted the final.
The only barriers that were moved were to gain access to the grass bank on the popular side that is now in use anyway just wasn't at that time cos grass hadn't fully grown. And to say barriers were moved so people wouldn't be crushed is being over dramatic a few moved them to go up on the hills to get a better view when some saw this more started to follow so guards made the call to have more barriers opened up so people could get up on the hill more easily.
Temporary stand costs a lot of money and you don't get much if anything from this final do you? From what I hear that final in Wexford cost them a hell of a lot of money.
10/08/2016, 12:38 AM
Two headed coin with Limerick given the choice after Pats couple of statements the last week
They've been using that coin for a good few years to be fair.
D24Saint
10/08/2016, 7:12 AM
not sure what the official max is but I'd say 4500 comfortable maybe 5000 at a push.
PartySaint
10/08/2016, 8:41 AM
not sure what the official max is but I'd say 4500 comfortable maybe 5000 at a push.
I think 5,500 is the official capacity. Would get about 2,000 for it at Richmond, Limerick is the smart choice, don't bother with the coin toss.
10/08/2016, 8:44 AM
The only barriers that were moved were to gain access to the grass bank on the popular side that is now in use anyway just wasn't at that time cos grass hadn't fully grown. And to say barriers were moved so people wouldn't be crushed is being over dramatic a few moved them to go up on the hills to get a better view when some saw this more started to follow so guards made the call to have more barriers opened up so people could get up on the hill more easily.
Temporary stand costs a lot of money and you don't get much if anything from this final do you? From what I hear that final in Wexford cost them a hell of a lot of money.
Wasn't trying to be over-dramatic, but an awful lot of people were piled into a corner at the end of the popular side and were pushed right up against the barriers. People were moved around to the away end terrace and more up onto the grass banks. That popular side was well oversold.
I'm pretty sure grass banks aren't permitted to be used either.
bluewhitearmy
10/08/2016, 10:19 AM
Wasn't trying to be over-dramatic, but an awful lot of people were piled into a corner at the end of the popular side and were pushed right up against the barriers. People were moved around to the away end terrace and more up onto the grass banks. That popular side was well oversold.
I'm pretty sure grass banks aren't permitted to be used either.
Oh it was oversold for sure but didn't think it was as bad as people being squashed from talking to peopple on that side that actually opened the barrier but I do think club were taken by surprise by just how many turned up.
I know the grass banks had to be checked at start of season before being allowed but I thought it wasn't too tbh
10/08/2016, 10:33 AM
The reason people pushed up to the bank was because of the view rather than lack of space. On the popular side the pitch is slightly higher than ground level and you have dugouts so unless you stand up against the fence you can't see anything. People went up on the bank for a better view rather than a space issue. People came from behind the south goal also onto the bank and it was for a better view. It was definitely over sold from the official maximum capacity though. I reckon the Markets Field needs to be re-assed because since the original capacity was set a new big exit has opened, one of the old buildings next to the stand has been knocked and the bank/terrace has been in full use.
10/08/2016, 12:30 PM
Markets Field September 17th.
D24Saint
10/08/2016, 1:09 PM
absolutely shocked , it should be a good occasion.Haven't been to Markets field yet & always enjoy the away trips in Limerick.
Philosophizer
10/08/2016, 1:15 PM
Link? Any idea of kick-off time?
D24Saint
10/08/2016, 1:17 PM
it could depend if its on the TV or not.
10/08/2016, 1:57 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0810/808278-ea-sports-cup-final-markets-field-limerick-pats/
No kick-off time yet.
pateen
10/08/2016, 2:04 PM
Draw has been made?