View Full Version : 2016 EA Sports Cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

NeverFeltBetter
19/04/2016, 10:34 PM
They'll be harder games to come, hopefully in both cups. Seems fairly clear Youths weren't super committed to competing seriously for the League Cup, but good to see Limerick advance.

oldyouth
20/04/2016, 6:43 AM
Fair play to Limerick, they're rampant this season. Best of luck in the next round.

As an amateur club, with a big squad, Youths have to give game time to fringe players. So far, we've made wholesale changes for every game in the LSC & EA Cups. Disappointing that they didn't give Limerick a tougher match tonight but they are very young (and a bit small IMO) but they put in the same sacrifices and the same effort in training as the senior lads.

Forza Youths

PartySaint
20/04/2016, 9:10 AM
Any idea when the draw is? I assume it's going to be fairly soon as the next round is down for the start of May

20/04/2016, 9:51 AM
I think it'll be announced this afternoon

PartySaint
20/04/2016, 10:07 AM
I think it'll be announced this afternoon

Cheers.

Shels away please

20/04/2016, 10:53 AM
This was on extratime's live feed of Bray v Bluebell last night -

Bray wanders Win and meet cup holders St Patricks Athletic in next round.

No idea if it's correct.

PartySaint
20/04/2016, 10:56 AM
This was on extratime's live feed of Bray v Bluebell last night -

No idea if it's correct.

They must have been just looking at the pool, it's an open draw this round AFAIK

NeverFeltBetter
20/04/2016, 11:19 AM
Caught between naturally wanting an easy draw but also wanting a decent test for the team. I guess Bray would be a nice middle-ground, if they played a full team.

bluewhitearmy
20/04/2016, 11:23 AM
Caught between naturally wanting an easy draw but also wanting a decent test for the team. I guess Bray would be a nice middle-ground, if they played a full team.

Watch us get Derry away now haha. I'll take a test in a semi easiest draw possible please.

20/04/2016, 12:14 PM
They must have been just looking at the pool, it's an open draw this round AFAIK
Would make sense alright.

Definitely an open draw from the quarters.

20/04/2016, 12:48 PM
Not the most enthralling game of the football at the Brandywell yesterday, but job done. Two fairly strong teams out, so it was pleasing to get the win, and not concede. Surprised at how well Sligo played considering their league position. They started both halves well and caused us problems. I'd imagine they'll start picking up wins soon enough if they play like that.

Obviously would like a home draw for the quarters, but with the matches being played on a bank holiday, could be a sneaky excuse for an overnight stay on the Sunday somewhere if we were drawn away.

20/04/2016, 1:45 PM
It seems like Sligo have played some really good football this year without getting results.

NeverFeltBetter
20/04/2016, 4:16 PM
Galway at home. That'll be a hard test alright, Galway doing very well this season.

El-Pietro
20/04/2016, 4:22 PM
Cork City v Derry City

If we're lucky the other clubs will announce their ties and we'll figure out the whole draw

venkman
20/04/2016, 4:35 PM
Would rather Derry were at home but Cork was very poor at the Brandywell. Derry's record in Cork is awful though.

NeverFeltBetter
20/04/2016, 4:36 PM
Cork - Derry
Limerick - Galway
Shelbourne - Shamrock Rovers
Bray - St Pats

All May 2nd.

refjohn
20/04/2016, 5:04 PM
They almost managed to keep it regionalised :-)

20/04/2016, 7:23 PM
They almost managed to keep it regionalised :-)

Could we swap with Limerick?

Worst draw possible for us. May get that weekend away out of it though.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/04/2016, 8:39 PM
It seems like Sligo have played some really good football this year without getting results.

Cant expect too many wins when you score 3 goals in 9 games

21/04/2016, 9:11 AM
Bray - St Pats
Ha!

Extratime knew... :)

NeverFeltBetter
21/04/2016, 11:13 AM
Limerick are playing Waterford on Saturday the 30th of April, so don't think the the QF with Galway will go ahead until Tuesday 3rd.

LK37oldskool
21/04/2016, 11:27 AM
That depends on whether Waterford still exists as a club.

NeverFeltBetter
21/04/2016, 5:34 PM
I suppose, in this league, you could put ..."dependent on the clubs continued existence" after any comment on scheduling.

LK37oldskool
21/04/2016, 7:59 PM
Looking at the press release by Waterford things are a bit glumy down East coast way

WoodquayBoy
21/04/2016, 10:54 PM
Quarter-finals scheduled for Monday May 2 as per fixture list issued before Christmas. Therefore I'd imagine United would need to agree to moving the game to Tuesday, and given we are away to Dundalk the following Friday, I can't see that being a popular move. But I presume FAI have final say and can insist on fixture change?

NeverFeltBetter
22/04/2016, 5:40 PM
Club FB says the game will be 7.15 on the 3rd.

joey B
02/05/2016, 12:15 AM
Galway are 13/2 to beat Limerick that is a mad price!

thomas72
02/05/2016, 7:37 AM
Galway are 13/2 to beat Limerick that is a mad price!

That is insane especially the way limerick are defending who won't get away with that at premier league level

D24Saint
02/05/2016, 10:35 AM
Got 11/2 with PP still a decent price for a premier team v a first division side.

02/05/2016, 11:25 AM
Especially in the League Cup when you can't be sure how strong the line ups will be

02/05/2016, 11:57 AM
Galway win and both to score 11/1 on PP at the moment. If Galway put out a strong team that would be a very good bet.

eL Bettor
02/05/2016, 12:34 PM
LImerick are unlikely to be resting anybody to save them for league games.
Galway are away to Dundalk on Friday and will surely make changes.

Olander
02/05/2016, 1:20 PM
Galway win and both to score 11/1 on PP at the moment. If Galway put out a strong team that would be a very good bet.
TBF that probably reflects things accurately. But if you were in our shoes would you play a strong team? Nah. We're away to Dundalk on Friday and Limerick moved the game to Tuesday from Monday which has a major effect on things. That's their preogative I suppose, but it screws us over big time; our hand is forced and we've a number of injuries to key players to contend with at the moment also.

02/05/2016, 3:22 PM
10 changes for the Cork side tonight, so I'm assuming it'll be quite a young side.
Derry at 6/1 looking more tempting now.

bluewhitearmy
02/05/2016, 3:31 PM
TBF that probably reflects things accurately. But if you were in our shoes would you play a strong team? Nah. We're away to Dundalk on Friday and Limerick moved the game to Tuesday from Monday which has a major effect on things. That's their preogative I suppose, but it screws us over big time; our hand is forced and we've a number of injuries to key players to contend with at the moment also.

The game was moved because we played Saturday would have been ridiculous to play again Monday.

Olander
02/05/2016, 3:37 PM
The game was moved because we played Saturday would have been ridiculous to play again Monday.
I know why the game was moved, but it still doesn't change the fact that it screws us over big time. That is your choice as a club anyway as you're hosting the game so we'll just have to get on with it and take our oil.

patrickccfc
02/05/2016, 3:37 PM
10 changes for the Cork side tonight, so I'm assuming it'll be quite a young side.
Derry at 6/1 looking more tempting now.

It's likely that the likes of Mark O'Sullivan, Gavin holohan, Colin Healy, Danny Morrissey will be starting. Would love a strong team out to get us through but with since its been Monday/Friday for the last few weeks changes need to be made. Still confident of getting through though. Will Derry be doing something similar in regards to changes? Another 11 days and ye will be down here again, not ideal I'm sure.

02/05/2016, 3:43 PM
Will Derry be doing something similar in regards to changes? Another 11 days and ye will be down here again, not ideal I'm sure.

I assume it'll be a strong side. Shields has been saying he wants to try and win the LC, and there's no point putting on younger players.
In saying that, we're a tired side at the moment, and it's a long trip. Added to that we've a run of five games in fourteen days, including two trips to Cork, you could see his thinking if we made some changes.

patrickccfc
02/05/2016, 3:55 PM
I assume it'll be a strong side. Shields has been saying he wants to try and win the LC, and there's no point putting on younger players.
In saying that, we're a tired side at the moment, and it's a long trip. Added to that we've a run of five games in fourteen days, including two trips to Cork, you could see his thinking if we made some changes.

Should be an interesting game anyway. League Cup is the only one I haven't seen us win so would love it personally. Think Derry might could edge this one the more I think about it but let's hope I'm wrong now.

02/05/2016, 4:46 PM
TBF that probably reflects things accurately. But if you were in our shoes would you play a strong team?

Ya to be honest.

No offence to Galway but you're not going to win the league.

Two games from a cup final. I'd be raging if there was players rested.

02/05/2016, 5:11 PM
Add to that Galway should have enough to stay up this season so a cup run should be a target for them. The main reason for resting players should be injury.

Olander
02/05/2016, 5:37 PM
Ya to be honest.

No offence to Galway but you're not going to win the league.

Two games from a cup final. I'd be raging if there was players rested.
No offence taken. I don't think you'll find many (or any) Galway United fans who think we're going to win the league in fairness... Top 4 is attainable though if we keep injury free, but that's already starting to take its toll.

The league is the priority.

Add to that Galway should have enough to stay up this season so a cup run should be a target for them. The main reason for resting players should be injury.
Should stay up? Is that a joke?

patrickccfc
02/05/2016, 6:15 PM
I assume it'll be a strong side.

You were right there anyway ye have a strong line up tonight. Ours is as I would've expected

placid casual
02/05/2016, 6:56 PM
[QUOTE=Olander;1868868]No offence taken. I don't think you'll find many (or any) Galway United fans who think we're going to win the league in fairness... Top 4 is attainable though if we keep injury free, but that's already starting to take its toll.

The league is the priority.

Should stay up? Is that a joke?[/QUOTE

Top 4 attainable for Galway. Now that is a joke.
Galway will finish a good deal behind cork, dundalk,pats & Rovers.

Olander
02/05/2016, 7:20 PM
Top 4 attainable for Galway. Now that is a joke.
Galway will finish a good deal behind cork, dundalk,pats & Rovers.
Hardly a crazy claim. Realistically we should finish outside of the top 4, the clubs you listed have much bigger budgets, but it's not all about that. If we stay injury free, I'd back us to finish in the top 5 anyway, but we've already lost Folan, Cunningham and Devaney to long-term injuries.

patrickccfc
02/05/2016, 7:37 PM
1-1 at the cross at half time. We were doing well there for the most part until Derry scored. They hadn't really troubled us before that. Christ I hope it doesn't go to extra time it's bloody freezing

Candystripe
02/05/2016, 9:30 PM
1-1 at the cross at half time. We were doing well there for the most part until Derry scored. They hadn't really troubled us before that. Christ I hope it doesn't go to extra time it's bloody freezing

Cork had one shot during the entire 1st half which was there goal while Derry had 9 (4 on target) so I don't see how you came to that conclusion.

1-2 AET to Derry.

White Horse
02/05/2016, 9:47 PM
Cork had one shot during the entire 1st half which was there goal while Derry had 9 (4 on target) so I don't see how you came to that conclusion.

1-2 AET to Derry.

I'm surprised Cork rested so many players.

The EA Sports Cup is a decent bit of silverware and it is a long time since Cork won anything of note.

Ezeikial
02/05/2016, 9:54 PM

The EA Sports Cup is a decent bit of silverware and it is a long time since Cork won anything of note.

Strange decision by Caulfield. But then again, I suppose that phrase has been uttered quite a few times

02/05/2016, 11:14 PM

Strange decision by Caulfield. But then again, I suppose that phrase has been uttered quite a few times

Probably battling with Galway for fourth. :good: