View Full Version : 2016 EA Sports Cup

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

02/05/2016, 11:33 PM
Good battling performance tonight against what was still a quality Cork side.
Cork started well and got their goal. I think we could have defended it better, wall was fairly weak and Gerard didn't move for it.
Probably slightly fortunate to go into the break level. Great wee finish from McNamee.
Second half we played a lot better, and didn't tire as I thought we would. Soaked up most of the Cork pressure well, though at the cost of a few yellows.
I thought we were great in extra time, really dominated. Cork seemed slightly tired and lacking in ideas. Good header from Jarvis for the winner. He nearly got himself sent off for a second yellow earlier though.
Held on after that, and really should have scored again. Patterson had a one-on-one, and then missed from what must have been a metre out towards the end.

Really poor crowd at the game though, under 1,000. Definitely the lowest crowd I've seen at TC.

Also, it really wasn't that cold. I know we're from the icy north, but we were wearing t-shirts all night.

Pablo Escobar
03/05/2016, 7:04 AM
Good battling performance tonight against what was still a quality Cork side.
Cork started well and got their goal. I think we could have defended it better, wall was fairly weak and Gerard didn't move for it.
Probably slightly fortunate to go into the break level. Great wee finish from McNamee.
Second half we played a lot better, and didn't tire as I thought we would. Soaked up most of the Cork pressure well, though at the cost of a few yellows.
I thought we were great in extra time, really dominated. Cork seemed slightly tired and lacking in ideas. Good header from Jarvis for the winner. He nearly got himself sent off for a second yellow earlier though.
Held on after that, and really should have scored again. Patterson had a one-on-one, and then missed from what must have been a metre out towards the end.

Really poor crowd at the game though, under 1,000. Definitely the lowest crowd I've seen at TC.

Also, it really wasn't that cold. I know we're from the icy north, but we were wearing t-shirts all night.

Well, I was absolutely freezing last night anyway :D

Derry deserved it on balance, but if we're not going to take it seriously we deserve nothing less. The decision to take off Ian Turner with 15 minutes left was bizarre as he's one of the fittest players in the league. Danny Morrissey went to the right and instantly suffered with cramp, but played for the full 120 mins. We were totally gassed by the end of ordinary time.

Paddyfield
03/05/2016, 11:39 AM
I'm looking forward to my first ever visit to The Markets Field evening. I've seen Limerick City/FC play in Rathbane, Pike & Jaclman Park. I never got the opportunity to see them in Thomond. I'm delighted to see them doing well this season. Their supporters were brilliant in Terryland last season; they brought more fans to Galway for a relegation battle than St Pat's brought for the 2015 EA final (and Pat's brought a lot).

The League Cup should be taken seriously by both Clubs although it's an unfortunate sequence of events that we have an away fixture to Dundalk in three days time. I suspect that Tommy Dunne will have a strong bench and 4 or 5 fringe players will start. I'm hoping the new centre back signed from Sweden will make his debut after a long lay off with injury.

LK37oldskool
03/05/2016, 12:08 PM
Any idea if yer bringing a big crowd? Away support in Div 1 is awful, would love a good away crowd to create a good atmosphere.

gufc4life
03/05/2016, 12:59 PM
Any idea if yer bringing a big crowd? Away support in Div 1 is awful, would love a good away crowd to create a good atmosphere.

There is a bus going with about 20 on it and Im sure another 70/80 will drive down that would be my guess but that could be well off you never judge these things until kick off.

03/05/2016, 1:09 PM
100 or so travelling fans for a Tuesday night EA Cup tie would be a very decent following!

03/05/2016, 2:48 PM
Everyone wants to see First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC. There's another bus coming from Cork and three buses from Dublin afaik.

CraftyToePoke
03/05/2016, 3:23 PM
Everyone wants to see First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC. There's another bus coming from Cork and three buses from Dublin afaik.

This is it, rumours of a charter flight coming in from Leicester later too, to witness the finest of the fine that Shanonside has birthed.

McNasara
03/05/2016, 5:48 PM
No O'Flynn and Greene, Limerick's two of the top scorers, in their squad for tonight's game... Strange

El-Pietro
03/05/2016, 6:05 PM
I'm surprised Cork rested so many players.

The EA Sports Cup is a decent bit of silverware and it is a long time since Cork won anything of note.

Wait really? A win would have been nice but you realise this was our third straight Monday with a game? We're in the middle of a spell of 8 games in 26 days. I don't think there is anything wrong with using some of the fringe squad players in a game like this, and given the scoreline it almost worked out.

No one is going to be heartbroken at going out of the League Cup.

CraftyToePoke
03/05/2016, 6:07 PM
No O'Flynn and Greene, Limerick's two of the top scorers, in their squad for tonight's game... Strange

Galway make seven changes though, and include a debut at the back.

03/05/2016, 8:22 PM
Limerick win 2-0.

thomas72
03/05/2016, 8:23 PM
Limerick 2 Galway 0

Attendance was given a 937 which drew roars of laughter from the stand there was more tonight than there was for Saturday's game v Waterford which was 1,457

NeverFeltBetter
03/05/2016, 8:39 PM
Again, with the opposition making so many changes, it's hard to really use this game as a metric for what level Limerick are at. But who cares, a cup semi!

Tempting fate, but a final in the Market's Field would be quite the occasion...

03/05/2016, 8:47 PM
Thought it was a little bit smaller than waterford myself, much less in the stand but a bit more around the ground.

Still looked a bit more than 937 though....

On the game galway came into it a bit in the second half without ever really bothering us. We were down to the bare bones at that stage.

galways failure to score against First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC is a stain on their club.

gufc4life
03/05/2016, 8:47 PM
Fair play to Limerick, lovely set up down there I enjoyed visiting last season and this season. We made too many changes 7 in all but with 3 games in 7 days you need to rest some of the lads in fairness. when we brought on Connolly and Sullivan in the second half we got more into the game. If we lose either to injury this season we are screwed foley is no where near them and we are a completely different team without them.Good crowd for a Tuesday night.

03/05/2016, 8:48 PM
Also well done to Anthony buttimer for blowing up the first half on 44 minutes.

We'll have to get a bigger scoreboard and a guide dog for him.

Olander
03/05/2016, 9:18 PM
Congrats to Limerick, they were very worthy winners tonight. We were very poor.

We took a chance making 7 changes and it totally backfired. You can't do that against a team who are essentially top 5/6 quality in the Premier Division and flying high, winning each week. Several Limerick players would walk into our team no bother.

A loss in Dundalk will conclude a forgettable week for us.

04/05/2016, 8:51 AM
Semi-final draw is to be made today, apparently.

bluewhitearmy
04/05/2016, 10:32 AM
I know this isn't exactly a surprise but my god Buttimer is one of the worst refs I've ever seen, the amount of clear as day fouls happening right in front of his face that he let's go is madness and that's for both teams linesman on 4 or 5 occasions signalled for free from double the distance away as him. Lino in front of main stand just as bad at times.

PartySaint
04/05/2016, 11:18 AM
Semi-final draw is to be made today, apparently.

I'm pretty sure the last time we got a home draw in the LC was in 2012.

Please don't give us Derry away, the other 2 I can live with.

Limerick away in the final would be great tho

04/05/2016, 11:31 AM
I'm pretty sure the last time we got a home draw in the LC was in 2012.

Yep. 9 away draws in a row (including the final last year).

PartySaint
04/05/2016, 11:34 AM

Just checking on soccerway there,

8 of our last 10 have gone to Extratime as well. Mad all round

04/05/2016, 11:44 AM

That's quite impressive actually, a 1/512 chance of getting that.
Home draw would do grand for me. Or maybe Limerick away, just because I missed the match at Markets Field last year and would like to see it.

Draw is at 14:00.

joey B
04/05/2016, 2:12 PM
Derry v Limerick
Rovers v Pats
August 1s

04/05/2016, 2:14 PM
Derry v Limerick
Rovers v Pats
August 1s

We've a match on the Saturday, so I'd guess our game will be on 2nd.

joey B
04/05/2016, 2:31 PM
We've a match on the Saturday, so I'd guess our game will be on 2nd.

Will that game be in Buncrana Brendy? Might even head to it for the craic if it was!

04/05/2016, 2:54 PM
Will that game be in Buncrana Brendy? Might even head to it for the craic if it was!

It probably will be, aye. Work on the Brandywell is due to start in July, or slightly later if the contractor thinks the work can be done quicker.
It would be a nice game to start with at Maginn. There was a great crowd at the Cockhill-Sligo LC game a few years back.

04/05/2016, 2:59 PM
August 1st, Jesus Christ that's ages away :rolleyes:

Paddyfield
04/05/2016, 3:08 PM
Thought it was a little bit smaller than waterford myself, much less in the stand but a bit more around the ground.

Still looked a bit more than 937 though....

On the game galway came into it a bit in the second half without ever really bothering us. We were down to the bare bones at that stage.

galways failure to score against First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC is a stain on their club.

Limerick are very strong and the Market's Field was a pleasant surprise. The chairman of the Club came over to the away supporters and thanks us for coming. Good luck to Limerick on your journey and I hope ye win the League Cup. We won it as a First Division Club in Turner's Cross against Cork City so it's very doable.

thomas72
04/05/2016, 3:40 PM
Limerick v Galway goals

https://youtu.be/EXcYWAU2EZk

04/05/2016, 4:38 PM
Limerick are very strong and the Market's Field was a pleasant surprise. The chairman of the Club came over to the away supporters and thanks us for coming. Good luck to Limerick on your journey and I hope ye win the League Cup. We won it as a First Division Club in Turner's Cross against Cork City so it's very doable.

I remember in 01/02 Limerick won the League Cup whilst in the First Division. Think they beat Derry City on penos..

04/05/2016, 4:41 PM
I remember in 01/02 Limerick won the League Cup whilst in the First Division. Think they beat Derry City on penos..

You are correct. I was there. Final was over two legs (won 2-1 at home, lost 1-0 away, no away goals) and we finished bottom of the First Division that year. Beat Galway (1-0), Cork (1-0) and Shamrock Rovers (1-0) en route to the final.

sullanefc
04/05/2016, 4:43 PM
Handy for the dub clubs to have the draw regionalised all the way to final.

04/05/2016, 6:12 PM
You are correct. I was there. Final was over two legs (won 2-1 at home, lost 1-0 away, no away goals) and we finished bottom of the First Division that year.

Indeed.
Liam Could was raging afterwards. Tried to throw his medal into the crowd and it landed on the roof of the old Jungle.

Candystripe
04/05/2016, 10:42 PM
You are correct. I was there. Final was over two legs (won 2-1 at home, lost 1-0 away, no away goals) and we finished bottom of the First Division that year. Beat Galway (1-0), Cork (1-0) and Shamrock Rovers (1-0) en route to the final.

I was also there. The FAI had to clarify to the ref at half-time in that game if away goals counted like they did in previous years.

I was also at the 1st leg and how Derry after going 1-0 up didn't put it to bed is still a mystery to me :)

oldyouth
05/05/2016, 7:44 AM
August 1st, Jesus Christ that's ages away :rolleyes:

With the league title officially in the bag by then, you can concentrate on the cup

PartySaint
05/05/2016, 7:59 AM
Handy for the dub clubs to have the draw regionalised all the way to final.

Handy for Cork to get their 2 games at home...

05/05/2016, 10:45 AM
I was also there. The FAI had to clarify to the ref at half-time in that game if away goals counted like they did in previous years.

The league cup was never decided by away goals

05/05/2016, 11:27 AM
Did the ref know that though? Even if it never happened before!

MattB11
05/05/2016, 12:31 PM
Bit naive to expect refs in the LOI to know the rules

05/05/2016, 12:55 PM
Did the ref know that though? Even if it never happened before!

No idea. Previous games had been decided by penalties.

06/05/2016, 10:37 AM
I can just imagine the phone call (and probably happened) - Ref ringing up to ask what to do next.

01/08/2016, 2:07 PM
Derry-Limerick tonight is the first semi-final up.

Many Limerick ones up for it? Bank holiday would help, but still a pain. It's not a bank holiday in the north and I'd say our crowd will be low enough.
Don't know what to think of how this will go. Limerick have been scoring for fun, but we'll be the best opposition they've played this season. Should be interesting.

Odds are Derry 5/4, draw 23/10, Limerick 21/10.

LK37oldskool
01/08/2016, 3:15 PM
7.45 kick off on a Monday night is ridiculous. If ye had moved it to a 5.30 or 6.00 start I think more would be heading up. I heard around 100 or so but an earlier start about you would have doubled the travelling support. Can't go myself as I have a 6am start in the morning 😴

El-Pietro
01/08/2016, 3:21 PM
7.45 kick off on a Monday night is ridiculous. If ye had moved it to a 5.30 or 6.00 start I think more would be heading up. I heard around 100 or so but an earlier start about you would have doubled the travelling support. Can't go myself as I have a 6am start in the morning 

And they would lose even more off their home support, its not a holiday in the North. Makes no sense for them to play it early.

sullanefc
01/08/2016, 3:23 PM
7.45 kick off on a Monday night is ridiculous. If ye had moved it to a 5.30 or 6.00 start I think more would be heading up.
Em, did you not read brendy's post?

It's not a bank holiday in the north

01/08/2016, 7:08 PM
Derry 0-1 Limerick

01/08/2016, 8:45 PM
FT.

Surely the Markets Field for the final.

thomas72
01/08/2016, 8:47 PM
That's some result up there for Limerick fc any idea when the final is on?