View Full Version : Leinster Senior Cup
Yeah sure be grand the draw will be in the herald on Tuesday probably. 🙄
Bray Head
21/03/2016, 3:29 PM
UCD v Bluebell is another q/final as per Twitter.
At at this rate the 3rd quarter final pairings will be announced next week. This competition is the best kept secret
That leaves Dundalk, Bohs, Bray, Shamrock Rovers/Collinstown
hollocaine
22/03/2016, 9:50 AM
UCD v Bluebell is another q/final as per Twitter.
At at this rate the 3rd quarter final pairings will be announced next week. This competition is the best kept secret
That leaves Dundalk, Bohs, Bray, Shamrock Rovers/Collinstown
It’s not that much of a mystery Bray Head. The Bohs site has that their quarter final is home to Dundalk. Date TBC
Seagull
23/03/2016, 9:46 AM
Collinstown v Bray according to Wanderers Facebook page.
23/03/2016, 2:15 PM
So what have we got?
Wexford v Longford - or is it Longford v Wexford?
UCD v Bluebell
Collinstown v Bray
Dundalk v Bohs - or is it Bohs v Dundalk?
This is like the 19th century FA Cup draws, which were published in the paper and clubs were expected to spot the draw and get on with it.
Bohs v Dundalk on Mon 4 April
23/03/2016, 4:55 PM
So what have we got?
UCD v Bluebell
Collinstown v Bray
This is like the 19th century FA Cup draws, which were published in the paper and clubs were expected to spot the draw and get on with it.
Wexford are the home side
23/03/2016, 5:13 PM
So what have we got?
UCD v Bluebell
Collinstown v Bray
where in Dublin are Collinstown again?
Clondalkin. Game might be switched
shizzle787
26/03/2016, 8:09 PM
And so the quest for the unprecendented octuple beings....
League, FAI Cup, League Cup, Setanta Cup, President's Cup, Leinster Senior, Malone Cup, Champions League.
If I'm not wrong, is the Malone Cup just a preseason competition between the same two teams?
27/03/2016, 4:39 PM
If I'm not wrong, is the Malone Cup just a preseason competition between the same two teams?
correct!
oldyouth
03/04/2016, 4:11 PM
Word is that Youths v Longford tomorrow moved to Carlow IT at 8pm
03/04/2016, 8:36 PM
Word is that Youths v Longford tomorrow moved to Carlow IT at 8pm
heard somethin about this tonight. Why the change in venue?
oldyouth
03/04/2016, 9:02 PM
Our pitch is waterlogged, Carlow IT has an approved floodlit astro. We train there every week
03/04/2016, 9:16 PM
Carlow IT astro pitch is absolutely top quality. Nothing in the way of spectator facilities on their astro pitch. Pity they couldn't use the GAA pitch doubled up as a football pitch, superb main stand in it. Might take a run in to that game tomorrow though.
04/04/2016, 12:25 PM
Game goes ahead after Town protested over having to play on a plastic pitch tonight. Seems TC is terrified of any more injuries, we train on Astro though so don't see the problem.
oldyouth
04/04/2016, 12:54 PM
We have 4 players missing playing for the Defence Forces today and others will be rested. You'll be grand. Last thing either club wants is this outstanding fixture dragging on, so I don't expect a fiery contest
Town Legend
04/04/2016, 1:03 PM
Why would TC want it called off? He'll be playing all the young players who aren't in the first 11 so I don't see why he would want it called off. Sounds like a man feeling the heat already.
04/04/2016, 1:27 PM
Why would TC want it called off? He'll be playing all the young players who aren't in the first 11 so I don't see why he would want it called off. Sounds like a man feeling the heat already.
Squad is down to its bones already if the kids start getting injured it's curtains
Town Legend
04/04/2016, 1:30 PM
TC has only himself to blame for that in not signing 3 or 4 more seasoned pros. Saturday could be one of the darkest days I've witnessed as a Town fan in the near 30 years of going to games. All I can say is thank god they sold Towell. We might have a chance of not letting it get into double figures!
04/04/2016, 1:33 PM
TC has only himself to blame for that in not signing 3 or 4 more seasoned pros. Saturday could be one of the darkest days I've witnessed as a Town fan in the near 30 years of going to games. All I can say is thank god they sold Towell. We might have a chance of not letting it get into double figures!
Last years 0-0 draw in oriel was my highlight of last season. I'm praying we can do something remotely similar however with Pat Sully and Ricer I don't think we have the characters. cant see Skinner playing like hunt did in that game either considering he's let the ball through his legs in the last 2 games only to rescue it on the line.
04/04/2016, 1:34 PM
Also fully expecting us to he outnumbered by away support which will be demoralising
hollocaine
04/04/2016, 2:00 PM
If TC is short a wide player for tonight, he could do a lot worse than calling up Town Legend. A persistent whinger to take on the Wexford defence
Town Legend
04/04/2016, 2:56 PM
And what do you mean by that Hollocaine? Seeing as you know everything!!
Last time I looked this was a forum where fans were allowed to put their view across. If you don't like it don't read it. Or are you like Ron Burgundy in that you have to read everything put in front of you?!!!
hollocaine
04/04/2016, 3:58 PM
And what do you mean by that Hollocaine? Seeing as you know everything!!
Last time I looked this was a forum where fans were allowed to put their view across. If you don't like it don't read it. Or are you like Ron Burgundy in that you have to read everything put in front of you?!!!
*winger.
Persistent winger is what I mean't to type!
04/04/2016, 7:55 PM
1-1 at half time between youths and Town. Surprised to see us go with such a strong line up but from reports Don looks on fire! Great news
04/04/2016, 8:16 PM
from reports Don looks on fire! Great news
Carlow is that kind of a place alright.
Dalymountrower
04/04/2016, 9:19 PM
Bohs 4 Dundalk 3.Spectacular hat trick from Kurtis Byrne.
Entertaining game.
Wheels coming off for Dundalk.
04/04/2016, 9:43 PM
Town lose 2-1 AET. Watched the second half on periscope, sully really unlucky not to score a second with a header off the bar and Josh hit a good chance straight at the keeper. Tired towards the end and youths got on top a small bit but overall a good run out and would expect us to beat them with a full squad in the league again. Big bonus of the night, Don Cowan getting through the game unscathed and on form!
05/04/2016, 12:19 AM
Yup our season is in tatters! Longford fans have nothing to worry about at all as we were a one man show for the last 2 seasons and he has left so favourites tag in the bin. Not the prediction thread but I say 4-0, a Gary Rogers howler, Gartland own goal, O'Donnell to lose the plot and see red, Kenny complains about it not being fair to have to play on real grass. The same weekend Shamrock Rovers and Derry draw 3 all and Youths squander a 3 goal lead to Cork but floodlight failure after 10 minutes causes match to be abandoned.
I really liked the LSC so don't like surrendering it at all even if the young lads put in a good display. Have to go for the traditional domestic clean sweep now...
oldyouth
05/04/2016, 6:50 AM
Youths worth the win last night in a game that was more like an U19 pre-season friendly. Not one of or starting 11 against Bray began the match and Craig Wall had played 65 minutes for the Defence Forces earlier in the day. Great to see a lot of them play their 1st game of the season to get rid of the cobwebs. They'll be needed in a long season to come
The difference between the 2 sides was our introduction of 3 senior players as subs towards the end. Our winner came from Chris Kenny, who also scored for the Defence Forces earlier in the afternoon. Must be some sort of record that. Lovely surface, but there is no real substitute for grass. About 75 there, including 2 experienced Carlow IT attendees who brought their own portable seats :)
Youths worth the win last night in a game that was more like an U19 pre-season friendly. Not one of or starting 11 against Bray began the match and Craig Wall had played 65 minutes for the Defence Forces earlier in the day. Great to see a lot of them play their 1st game of the season to get rid of the cobwebs. They'll be needed in a long season to come
The difference between the 2 sides was our introduction of 3 senior players as subs towards the end. Our winner came from Chris Kenny, who also scored for the Defence Forces earlier in the afternoon. Must be some sort of record that. Lovely surface, but there is no real substitute for grass. About 75 there, including 2 experienced Carlow IT attendees who brought their own portable seats :)
Stats nirvana..... that's a gem. :-)
05/04/2016, 4:35 PM
Oldyouth you dont have a list of our subs that came on last night by any chance? couldnt make game at all as I wanted to give them a break as paid a lot in money to go to two Ireland home matches and the majority of our home and away games..
oldyouth
05/04/2016, 6:26 PM
Oldyouth you dont have a list of our subs that came on last night by any chance? couldnt make game at all as I wanted to give them a break as paid a lot in money to go to two Ireland home matches and the majority of our home and away games..
Sorry, I tend to focus on our own lads and don't really notice the coming & goings of the opposition. Forza Forth from our forum was there and usually takes detailed notes, you might try him
26/04/2016, 11:50 AM
Last two quarters on tonight so - Collinstown v Bray and UCD v Bluebell.
Then a wait for the semis draw I guess.
Seagull
26/04/2016, 8:51 PM
Collinstown 2-1 Bray.
26/04/2016, 9:58 PM
Worth noting Bray were down to ten men after 20 minutes.
UCD 4-3 Bluebell (aet) in the other quarters. Jason Byrne made his debut.
So UCD, Bohs, Wexford and Collinstown in the semis.
Our first semi in any competition since the 2007 FAI Cup I think. But still an overriding feeling that it's the Leinster Senior Cup...
Ezeikial
27/04/2016, 8:02 AM
Our first semi in any competition since the 2007 FAI Cup I think. But still an overriding feeling that it's the Leinster Senior Cup...
Shame on you!
The venerable Leinster Senior Cup is one of the oldest and most prestigious competitions in football. A little more respect and decorum please
27/04/2016, 9:26 AM
It's also the first thing we won as a senior club.
But - meh.
Decent bench for Bluebell last night btw. Keith Foy (won the U-16 European Championship with Ireland), Robert Bayly, Ger Rowe and Andy Noonan. Twas like going to a lower-league game in England and finding a random player from years ago you'd completely forgotten about.
seand
27/04/2016, 10:11 AM
Andy Noonan?! There's a blast from the past (assuming itsthe same one), one of the strugglers in the worst Dundalk team in modern times, around 2004.
27/04/2016, 10:26 AM
Same guy. Ex-UCD as well.
An interesting character, shall we say. He's actually been manager at Bluebell since 2011.
seand
27/04/2016, 10:57 AM
Same guy. Ex-UCD as well.
An interesting character, shall we say. He's actually been manager at Bluebell since 2011.
Ooh, you big tease! Do tell.
I popped in toward the end of extra time in Belfield. Not many there but those I spoke to said it was a cracking game. UCD have the goals up on youtube but apparently missed Waters' winner.
27/04/2016, 11:06 AM
I popped in toward the end of extra time in Belfield. Not many there but those I spoke to said it was a cracking game. UCD have the goals up on youtube but apparently missed Waters' winner.
Twas an awful game for the first hour, but in fairness, it got better as it went on.
Reckon there was about 60 for the first half, 40 for the second and 20 for extra-time. Twas absolutely baltic though - and the first day of summer coming up at the weekend. Bloody April...
Ooh, you big tease! Do tell.
Have a google. :)
joey B
27/04/2016, 11:39 AM
http://m.herald.ie/news/protest-as-man-arrested-in-delany-shooting-made-top-soccer-club-manager-27992247.html
Ezeikial
27/04/2016, 12:39 PM
http://foot.ie/threads/13797-Andy-Noonan-scores-for-Dundalk!
Jayzus, I don't remember hearing any of that. I feel a League of Ireland Crime Call XI coming on.
TheBoss
27/04/2016, 6:13 PM
Twas absolutely baltic though - and the first day of summer coming up at the weekend. Bloody April...
To be pedantic, summer begins in and around 20-22 June, actual date depends on the year, its based on the summer solstice. This year it is June 20 at 22:34.
JC_GUFC
28/04/2016, 6:53 AM
To be pedantic, summer begins in and around 20-22 June, actual date depends on the year, its based on the summer solstice. This year it is June 20 at 22:34.
Surely that is midsummer so summer starts 44 1/2 days before that.
28/04/2016, 8:19 AM
Yup - summer in Ireland has always started on 1 May.
In England and the rest of Europe, it starts on 1 June - but that means November is autumn, Feb is winter, etc, which is weird. Met Éireann use this and call it "meteorological summer". Midsummer is big in some scandinavian countries in particular, but they still have summer starting on 1 June, which is just a flat contradiction.
In the US, summer starts on 22 June, which I've never gotten my head around. This is technically "astronomical summer" - but I've never heard anyone in Ireland use it.
The difference between Irish seasons and other seasons is that others group months by temperature, while we group them by the grand aul stretch in the evening - partly because, as the last week has shown, the weather here is just too unreliable to base anything off.