View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Poland - Sunday, 29th March 2015 - Euro 2016 Qualifier

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13

Crosby87
28/03/2015, 2:06 PM
Your colleagues on the Polish board are no match for you fiery chaps. MOL "Does anyone know of a good footballer with Irish Grandparents?" The Guanlet has been thrown.

http://polishsoccer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=16288&start=100

28/03/2015, 2:23 PM
To be fair, that is pretty much what MON goes around saying.

DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 2:41 PM
http://weszlo.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/21-02-14Martin_ONeill_vagueonthehow_cc2.jpg

To be fair, that is pretty much what MON goes around saying.

I don't think it's remotely accurate, to be honest.

Rather, doesn't O'Neill say: "Anyone know of a someone who can kick a ball with an Irish grandparent?"

28/03/2015, 2:55 PM
Worrying we are trying out a new formation 2 days prior to an important qualifier. Even if we don't play a 3-5-2, why are we wasting time trying it out so close to kick-off?

I dunno. I like to think professional footballers can change system, as long as they are asked to perform roles that suit their abilities. I think it's refreshing rather than worrying, although I'd accept its not without risk.

But:
We have two good attacking options from full back.
We have decent centre backs, all of whom have played full back.
We get overrun when we play just two in midfield.
We are short upfront when we play three in midfield
We are predictable in 442 and our wide players aren't always effective.
442 often means leaving one or two decent players out

352 addresses a lot of those issues.

As for wasting time if we don't use it, MON said specifically it was as a contingency.

28/03/2015, 3:00 PM
One of the dangers with 3-5-2 is for, particularly technically limited sides like us, it just becomes an ultra-defensive formation.

28/03/2015, 3:12 PM
Also it's not such a great difficulty for a a decent team to defend against and find weaknesses. But if it meant Hoolahan was on the pitch, then I would be attentive.

Crosby87
28/03/2015, 3:49 PM
Indo preview:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/five-things-you-must-know-about-group-ds-pacesetters-poland-31101072.html

Crosby87
28/03/2015, 3:52 PM
Balls.ie simulated match 2-2
http://balls.ie/football/381923-ireland-vs-poland-on-football-manager-2015/

IsMiseSean
28/03/2015, 4:00 PM
I hope there is no truth in the 352 rumour. Madness to go with a new untested formation in such a crucial game.

28/03/2015, 4:12 PM
The formation would be ok but it would be more mad to go with the selection that bs put forward! !We get awful overrun and countered with that!

TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 4:16 PM
Nathan Murphy on Newstalk (just back from Malahide) speculating that we're going 3-5-2.

Forde
McShane-O'Shea-Wilson
Coleman- didn't hear- Hoolahan - didn't hear - McGeady
Robbie-Walters

Elaboration: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/is-martin-oneill-about-to-try-a-352-formation-against-poland-tomorrow-31101854.html

No surprise but Robbie thinks Martin O'Neill should go with Keane & Walters up front rather than Long as the lone striker.

So Shane will reach his thirties without playing two consecutive competitive games from the start at this rate. I don't know how Walters keeps getting shoehorned into the team every time with talent like Hoolahan, McGeady, McClean, Brady, Long and an in form Murphy available. It continues to boggle the mind.

It doesn't breed confidence at all but here's hoping Keane and/or Walters prove my skepticism wrong on Sunday. I sincerely, sincerely doubt it: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/robbie-keane-i-will-stop-playing-and-stop-scoring-goals-when-i-literally-cant-walk-31101917.html

28/03/2015, 5:38 PM
I wouldn't be adverse to us using 3-5-2 tomorrow. MO'N has deployed it at club level and had success and with a number of our players now using the system at club level it'll be interesting to see how it pans out.

Hopefully it means Hoolahan gets a start.

Nailed on certainties for a start include (rightly or wrongly): O'Shea, Coleman, Whelan, McCarthy, McGeady. The rest of the places are up for grabs. I hope Long gets the nod, along with Brady and Hoolahan.

Not a big fan of Walters. Works hard but I think having him up there means it's too tempting for the back 4/3/5 to lump it long or down the channels.

I used to be an optimist when it came to our national team but a bit of realism has kicked in over the years. I think we'll draw and live to fight another day.....which really isn't the result we need in this group. I'm praying for an aggressive, high tempo easy 3 nil victory. 2 quick goals and then sit back and enjoy the game! This is a massive game, I hope the players try to make amends after the Scottish performance.

28/03/2015, 6:31 PM
352 was what was needed in the spl at that time to counteract the defensive 451, Celtic didn't need 4 players to mark one and needed to break down the massed defence with speed. Celtic needed to win every game, any 2 points dropped was serious stuff.

DeLorean
28/03/2015, 6:31 PM
I hope there is no truth in the 352 rumour. Madness to go with a new untested formation in such a crucial game.

Funny you say madness. Isn't that overused cliché, defining insanity as doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results, the absolute epitome of what we've been doing for the last two or three years. Incidentally, Wales debuted a 3-5-2 of sorts this evening, at least I don't think they trialled it previously. Worked out okay.

28/03/2015, 7:51 PM
I was thinking more of his time with Leicester.

After suffering through 4-4-2 under the Trap for so long I'd welcome any tweak and laud it as a revolution if it actually works!

I don't think we have the central midfielders to play 4-4-2.

28/03/2015, 7:58 PM
Even McLeish worked out a way to beat 352, with a 433 and fast counterattacking with Lovenkrands.
Anyway, it isn't really about systems, is it?

28/03/2015, 8:38 PM
Not really no, a point I keep trying to make for my Sunday morning team. If you've got 11 donkeys it doesn't matter what formation you end up playing!!

28/03/2015, 8:44 PM
Not really no, a point I keep trying to make for my Sunday morning team. If you've got 11 donkeys it doesn't matter what formation you end up playing!!
And how did they take you calling them 11 donkeys? :)

28/03/2015, 8:50 PM
Same as Shamrock Rovers took it when you called them 11 donkeys........ all season long.

28/03/2015, 9:23 PM
I think these euros are going to be woeful when they come around.

I distinctly remember stutts giving out (maybe a bit strong)about mons outdated tactics and systems Mon loves 3-5-2 but today he is backing this formation tomorrow.

abcd
28/03/2015, 10:46 PM
In all honesty after the Scotland game I'd just be happy to see Ireland offer some sort of attacking threat to start with and under the formation to date we've created next to nothing even against Georgia. I'm taking it for granted we'll concede at least 1 so we need to do something different to give us a chance of the win we need. To hell with a draw keeping us involved or that kind of thing. In my mind really it has to be 3 points tomorrow.

28/03/2015, 10:52 PM

I distinctly remember stutts giving out (maybe a bit strong)about mons outdated tactics and systems Mon loves 3-5-2 but today he is backing this formation tomorrow.
We'll need the doc to act as a tiebreaker.

28/03/2015, 11:15 PM

Paul, you might actually recall that my first EVER post on a soccer website, the old soccercentral.ie, was advocating 352. I think MON's tactics are outdated but I will withdraw that accusation if he goes bold with a good 352. I love it and I think it'd suit us. We have the players for it and as I said above it immediately addresses weaknesses we have, whilst simultaneously it plays to some strengths we have.

28/03/2015, 11:17 PM
I don't see how Walters being picked over Long boggles the mind. He scores more goals than Long and is a physical handful. Give him credit. He's having a good season. Some folks' capacity for exaggeration is what really boggles the mind.

Irish_Praha
28/03/2015, 11:48 PM
Paul, you might actually recall that my first EVER post on a soccer website, the old soccercentral.ie, was advocating 352. I think MON's tactics are outdated but I will withdraw that accusation if he goes bold with a good 352. I love it and I think it'd suit us. We have the players for it and as I said above it immediately addresses weaknesses we have, whilst simultaneously it plays to some strengths we have.

Ah good old soccercentral.
Hello my old friends.

29/03/2015, 12:02 AM
While we are on the subject of Clark being a better option..

http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2015/03/24/ciaran-clark-aston-villas-best-defender-so-far-this-season/

Clark is flying high in the stats whcih you all put so much faith in too, at #60
Not only does come out as the best defender at villa he is also their best player according to the stats!!!

Also our best player (unles Dunne has come out of retirement)

29/03/2015, 12:13 AM
Various news agencies reporting the Polish team is driving around Reykjavik looking for their hotel.

Well let's f**king hope so, it's our best chance of 3 points!!!

29/03/2015, 2:39 AM

Oh really?

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/fb/11/e5/fb11e54fa8476521eaf54b24eaa179e0.jpg

gastric
29/03/2015, 9:01 AM
Will make my prediction now due to the vagaries of time difference. Ireland to win 2-1 after they concede a shocking goal.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/03/2015, 11:59 AM
I don't see how Walters being picked over Long boggles the mind. He scores more goals than Long and is a physical handful. Give him credit. He's having a good season. Some folks' capacity for exaggeration is what really boggles the mind.

I usually agree with most of what you say but will have to strongly disagree on this one. Long & Walters goalscoring records at PL level are neck & neck. Right now Walters has more because he has started every game whereas Long has started a dozen or so and a small handful in his preferred position. As far as Ireland, Walters is guaranteed to start every single game since Duff retired and Doyle... well you know, whereas Long has been continuously shafted - he hasn't even started consecutive competitive games yet! I don't see how Walters is a handful for opposition defenders. He has no vertical leap, he is poor in the air and most of his layoff passes don't come off. I think playing him is a signal of intent to the opposition of our gameplan; play long balls, lump it in the air for Walters, Walters "holding it up", Walters giving it large to the opposition defenders. Tactically, it does not work. I simply think playing him plays to the opposition. Playing better technical players or faster players like Brady, McClean or Long would be a signal of us trying to be more positive.

I would like to see Long utilised because he has a better spring, he is better at heading the ball, he wins free kicks, he has the pace to capitalize on counter attacks, he is tailor made to play with lads like Hoolahan & McClean.

If Grant Hanley was sent off for scything him down in Glasgow like he should have been, it would have been a completely different game.

I also must admit, I am not enamored with the idea of someone who is recovering from a fractured cheekbone and whom is wearing a mask being expected to hold up the ball, win the ball and be the fulcrum of our physical game.

29/03/2015, 12:02 PM
I can handle us winning or them winning but I fear the draw, the slow painful, drawn-out, execution of our qual hopes.

mark12345
29/03/2015, 12:48 PM
Clark is flying high in the stats whcih you all put so much faith in too, at #60
Not only does come out as the best defender at villa he is also their best player according to the stats!!!

Also our best player (unles Dunne has come out of retirement)

No faith in Alex Pearce then?

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/03/2015, 12:55 PM
Completely forgot about him.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/03/2015, 1:30 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/polish-nazis-target-aviva-football-fans-31102479.html

Well... hopefully this is much ado about nothing.

29/03/2015, 1:53 PM
I usually agree with most of what you say but will have to strongly disagree on this one. Long & Walters goalscoring records at PL level are neck & neck. Right now Walters has more because he has started every game whereas Long has started a dozen or so and a small handful in his preferred position.
Walters almost never plays in his preferred position but for some reason he doesn't get this wheeled out to excuse his lack of goals.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/03/2015, 2:17 PM
I appreciate your saying that and you may be justified but Walters has started virtually every game this season and has actually played up top a good bit whereas Long has been rotated all season and played up front a sum three times - and this is in response to a broad statement that Walters scores more goals.

Walters has started every competitive game over the last two campaigns inclusive whereas Long has started about three or four competitive games and never consecutively.

I understand there is a bit of favoritism on my part because I really rate Long, but also pragmatism.

The lad is 28 years old and his Intl. career has been a washout up to now.

He is playing at a good level, he is a good age and he has more campaigns in him than our other options. He should be utilized in a better way. He shouldn't be dropped because Walters was shoehorned into the team with him and cramped his space in Glasgow.

29/03/2015, 2:25 PM
I think it's beyond myopic to say Walters cramped his space in Glasgow. It sounds like you think Long is the only player on the pitch and it's everybody else's job to accommodate him.

On Walters, he very rarely starts up top for Stoke from what I can see, and never as a lone striker which I suspect would be his preferred role. The evidence of the past few years, at multiple clubs, is that Walters scores as many goals from the wing as Long does up front. I suspect the reason they're both played on the wing is the same - while their strongest position is central striker, neither is considered good or clinical enough to do it at a high level.

29/03/2015, 3:25 PM
Walters most definitely did not cramp Long's space. He was much more withdrawn of the two. They played very well together in the past, notably Bosnia. Long just didn't have that good a game.

This is all beginning to sound like Worm and David Connolly all over again.

29/03/2015, 3:41 PM
Walters 27 starts 8 up front 10 goals http://www.football-lineups.com/footballer/12592/
Long 17 starts 7 up front 5 goals http://www.football-lineups.com/footballer/1903/

Admittedly a lazy summary. Anyway Walters has no effect on the fact that Long doesn't score enough and he'd probably admit that himself and blaming formation/manager/systems/teammates is a cop out.

Crosby87
29/03/2015, 4:20 PM
What time is this game?

29/03/2015, 4:22 PM
What time is this game?
19:45 BST

2 hours 22 minutes from now

29/03/2015, 4:26 PM
What time is this game?

http://bit.ly/1xLOk8r

Crosby87
29/03/2015, 4:31 PM
It was really not that easy to find. Still hung over from Notre Dames heart break last night.

Fergie's Son
29/03/2015, 5:24 PM
Any provide a stream (if that is allowed). Cannot find my password information for my cable provider and thus watch it on ESPN 3.

29/03/2015, 5:31 PM
Any provide a stream (if that is allowed). Cannot find my password information for my cable provider and thus watch it on ESPN 3.
Shouldn't be allowed but haven't seen any infractions for it before:
Republic of Ireland v Poland
UEFA Euro 2016 Qualification
KICK OFF//19.45BST//20.45CEST//14.45EDT//04.45AEST
SS5 - Acestream (acestream://e72bb7060e8e4780e65ed45e81bf09bf352f496b)
LIVE POWER - Browser (http://www.softsportstv.eu/stream2.html)
STADIUM LIVE - Browser (http://www.stadium-live.biz/Channel17.html)
CRICFREE - Browser (http://cricfree.sx/sky-sports-5-live-stream)
FEED2ALL - Browser (http://www.gofeed2all.eu/watch/279465/1/watch-sky-sports-5.html)
SOCCERJUMBO - Browser (http://www.soccerjumbotv.me/ch-2.html)
VIP BOX - Browser (http://www.vipleague.is/football/293384/1/r.-of-ireland-vs-poland-live-stream-online.html) - Browser (http://www.vipleague.is/football/293384/2/r.-of-ireland-vs-poland-live-stream-online.html) - Browser (http://www.vipleague.is/football/293384/3/r.-of-ireland-vs-poland-live-stream-online.html) - Browser (http://www.vipleague.is/football/293384/4/r.-of-ireland-vs-poland-live-stream-online.html) - Browser (http://www.vipleague.is/football/293384/5/r.-of-ireland-vs-poland-live-stream-online.html)
STOPSTREAM - Browser (http://www.fixalen.tv/20150329/vv-1036201-football-55176885875dc7.51838697.html)
SPORTLEMON - Browser (http://sportlemontv.eu/?watch=Y52imJmsY6KZq2OdmKqdmJmjY2VkbGppbGOoraSZY6i jmJW)
ATDHE - Browser (http://goatd.net/108132/watch-ireland-vs-poland)

Fergie's Son
29/03/2015, 5:32 PM
Thanks. I am sure I could have used Google as well :)

29/03/2015, 5:34 PM
Given
Coleman
O'Shea
Wilson
Brady
Whelan
McCarthy
McGeady
Hoolahan
Keane
Walters

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/03/2015, 5:41 PM
A McGeady who hasn't played in months and Walters in wide positions, Keane up front and Given in goal I do not agree with at all. One positive is that Keogh isn't starting.

The positivity in starting Hoolahan is nullified by who he is playing with.

It's ridiculous that McClean isn't starting when he has been our best player umpteen times under O'Neill and it's ridiculous that Long is left on the bench again. They are the best two options to link up with Hoolahan.

There is absolutely no pace in that team!

We are going to pay for it.

DeLorean
29/03/2015, 5:43 PM
Jaysus... 4-2-2-2??

29/03/2015, 5:46 PM
7 changes from the Scotland game. (Gibson, Hendrick, Keogh and Ward, plus the TOWK 3, Forde, Long and McClean)