View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Poland - Sunday, 29th March 2015 - Euro 2016 Qualifier
Pages :
[
3]
Crosby87
21/02/2015, 10:19 PM
Do you think Brady is in with a shot of starting at left back against Poland instead of Ward? What's Ward's club form like?
Just did some crack research for you. Apparently, Claret fans were clamoring for some guy named Ben Mee to be dropped for Ward recently, but Ben Mee had a good go vs Chelsea today and now they are retracting that. I don't think Ward played today. Source: Burnley fan chats.
Crosby87
21/02/2015, 10:22 PM
Now that I look at it Mee scored the goal today. Ward buried on the bench and should stay there, so say many Burnley fans.
DeLorean
22/02/2015, 2:51 PM
Great seats in the Premium Level, well worth it.
Even better when there compos with lounge passes!
Not really, the ones available are behind the goals. Plenty far better seats in non Premium sections for less than half the price.
22/02/2015, 3:26 PM
Seems to be plenty of Irish getting game time and hitting form at the moment. Can't be a bad thing, though a month is a long time especially with managers getting precious about their players. Walters is said to be managing an injury but I'd say he'd walk over coals to play this one. McGeady and, to a lesser extent, Gibson seem to be the ones most in need of game time. I have a feeling Given may start in March.
22/02/2015, 4:43 PM
Apart from that brief fateful cameo, Gibson has been away so long that his return will be akin to an unearthing of a new talent.
22/02/2015, 6:27 PM
It's a tough team to pick or to predict. I can't even tell what shape he'll go for. Instinct says 442 something like below,must 352 could be a brave call, or Hoolahan could feature in a 451 of sorts. If fit I think Brady has a great chance of starting.
If 442:
Given
Coleman O'Shea Clark Wilson
------Whelan McCarthy----
McClean ------------------Brady
-------Walters------Keane
TrapAPony
22/02/2015, 6:39 PM
It's a tough team to pick or to predict. I can't even tell what shape he'll go for. Instinct says 442 something like below,must 352 could be a brave call, or Hoolahan could feature in a 451 of sorts. If fit I think Brady has a great chance of starting.
If 442:
Given
McGeady will 100% start for O'Neill if fit. Take away McClean.
Irwin3
22/02/2015, 10:30 PM
Apart from that brief fateful cameo, Gibson has been away so long that his return will be akin to an unearthing of a new talent.
Gibson's played in 4 of the last 6 Ireland games.
DannyInvincible
23/02/2015, 12:35 AM
Ramsey also, rightly I believe, said that it's not a football specific problem, it's a societal problem but that football is so pervasive it reflects society's problems. But that said, football should use this incident and the attention it's getting to continue to ram home the fact that this is unacceptable, not to mention illegal, behaviour. Ramsey was more articulate on this issue than I thought he was answering questions on his job!
Football is making big progress in tackling issues surrounding race, gender equality, sexual orientation tolerance etc., just as broader society is generally more enlightened than a decade ago. I hope this progress continues.
Turns out one of those Chelsea fans suspected of being involved in the incident on the Paris Métro is Richard Barklie, a former member of the RUC from Carrickfergus who served in Belfast and Derry: http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/feb/22/former-ruc-officer-thought-to-be-one-of-chelsea-fans-in-paris-metro-incident and http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/ex-ni-policeman-at-centre-of-chelsea-incident-denies-he-is-racist-1.2113228
Curiously, he presently works as a director with the World Human Rights Forum and insists he is not a racist. I think his recorded actions speak louder than his words, but it will be interesting to hear his explanation of the context and circumstances in full (if such is made public). It should be noted that he has also issued an apology "for the trauma and stress suffered" by Souleymane S; why he would have issued this if not guilty of anything, however, I'm not sure...
23/02/2015, 1:45 AM
Do you think Brady is in with a shot of starting at left back against Poland instead of Ward? What's Ward's club form like?
Ward's been injured for the past two months - Saturday was his first day back on the bench, and I'd imagine he won't have much football before Poland. I'd say O'Neill will play him if he's fit though, although Clark could be an option too as he's doing well for Aston Villa at CH.
francesco_1
23/02/2015, 8:31 PM
Well lads have not been on in awhile. Does foot.ie users still offer spare tickets to games. I was out of the country and need to get some for this game. Going with my partner and child. If not feel free to move or delete post. Regards
Wolfman
23/02/2015, 10:10 PM
Anyone see Ireland winning?
Can't myself, even though we need to or it's goodbye 2016.
DeLorean
23/02/2015, 10:29 PM
We slight favourites in the bookies at the moment which I was a bit surprised about.
24/02/2015, 7:29 AM
It's hope rather than expectation for me. A win could be the start of something, a defeat just keeps us in the doldrums.
Littlest Hobo
24/02/2015, 9:12 AM
Turns out one of those Chelsea fans suspected of being involved in the incident on the Paris Métro is Richard Barklie, a former member of the RUC from Carrickfergus who served in Belfast and Derry: http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/feb/22/former-ruc-officer-thought-to-be-one-of-chelsea-fans-in-paris-metro-incident and http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/ex-ni-policeman-at-centre-of-chelsea-incident-denies-he-is-racist-1.2113228
Curiously, he presently works as a director with the World Human Rights Forum and insists he is not a racist. I think his recorded actions speak louder than his words, but it will be interesting to hear his explanation of the context and circumstances in full (if such is made public). It should be noted that he has also issued an apology "for the trauma and stress suffered" by Souleymane S; why he would have issued this if not guilty of anything, however, I'm not sure...
Danny, this is not the relevant thread to discuss that incident in Paris. I started this thread to discuss the Poland game. So I would appreciate if you could remember this the next time you post. Cheers mate.
Littlest Hobo
24/02/2015, 9:22 AM
If 442:
Given
Hmm, interesting team. I'd go with following lineup;
Forde
Coleman O Shea Keogh Wilson
Mc Geady Mc Carthy Whelan Brady
Walters Keane
24/02/2015, 10:03 AM
Forde
Coleman OShea Clark Wilson
McCarthy
McGeady Gibson Brady
Hoolahan
Long
Think we look best with Hoolahan in team as for me that necessitates a lone striker role. Long is the most suited player we have for that role. Gone with Gibson instead of Whelan - just think he now offers more in a positive sense and thought he looked good when he came on for Everton at the weekend.
Lukenho
24/02/2015, 1:54 PM
Just looking at the Poland team they are not the greatest side we have played but saying the they do play good football and often come up victorious when playing sides that are seen to be equal to them. I think it will be down to the was we play, we need to select the players that will play ball and give it a go instead of some of the headless chickens we have in the squad. if we are going by form at the moment id say start with Forde in goal because hes been fairly solid for us this campaign with a back four of Coleman O'shea Wilson and Clark. Two defensive mids of McCarthy and Whelan with three in front of them with Brady Hoolahan and Mcgeady if hes fit. Up front is where well habe difficulties, Long is only back from injury while Keane hasnt been playing due to the MLS season finishing up a few months ago. McGoldrick looked a good player against the US anbut is only coming back from injury too. So Walters is looking like the first choice at the moment having been playing well recently but in my opinion hes not good enough to lead the lines.
TrapAPony
24/02/2015, 2:04 PM
4 3 2 1 formation
Given
Whelan McCarthy Gibson
McGeady Brady
Keane
i'd expect o'neill to start mcclean, mcgeady and gibson if they are fit.
forde
coleman o'shea wilson ward
mcgeady mccarthy gibson brady
walters mcclean
DannyInvincible
24/02/2015, 4:09 PM
Danny, this is not the relevant thread to discuss that incident in Paris. I started this thread to discuss the Poland game. So I would appreciate if you could remember this the next time you post. Cheers mate.
Sorry, I'll get back to discussing Dortmund and FFP. :p
Lukenho
24/02/2015, 5:03 PM
The big debate will be whole will actually start up front for us against Poland. Longs been injured, Keane hasnt been playing due to his season just finished, Walters in my opinion just isnt good enough, McGoldrick has been out injured as well, Doyle doesnt have it anymore and Stokes will probably not even make the bench. Looks like were gunna have to look to Sammon for knowledge
SwanVsDalton
24/02/2015, 7:03 PM
Tough team to predict. McGeady, Brady, Walters and Hoolahan into three spots is probably the tightest call. Think he'll go with the first three, and try to keep the game wide and stretched before turning to Wes later.
Good chance Clark might get in here, maybe for Ward.
-------------Forde-----------------
Coleman---O'Shea---Clark---Wilson
-------Whelan------McCarthy
McGeady--------------------Brady
------Walters--Keane------------
p2011
25/02/2015, 11:01 AM
Forde
Coleman OShea Clark Wilson
McCarthy
McGeady Gibson Brady
Hoolahan
Long
That's something like what I would like to see. Harsh maybe on McClean, who hasn't been doing a lot wrong for us lately and whose attitude for us is great. Brady seems to be in decent form. McGeady is probably undroppable after Georgia away. I wouldn't mind seeing Whelan as one of two defensive midfielders as long as Hoolahan is in front of them to link things up. Hendrick mightn't be far off playing his way into the team either.
The emergence of Wilson and Coleman as ball-playing attacking full backs was about the only positive of the black hole that was Trap's last campaign and I think Wilson should stay a left back for us, particularly given the lack of other options and the fact that Clark/Delaney/whoever can probably slot in competently enough beside O'Shea.
It's also hard to read MON/RK's thinking on who or how we should play up front. The went with Keane alone up front v Germany away, when it probably would have made sense to have some physicality and ability to make the ball "stick" up front (i.e. one of Long or Walters) and Keane predictably had almost zero impact on the game, and then against Scotland away they went for the battering ram of Walters and Long when it probably (in advance and in hindsight too) would have made more sense to try to play some more ball (i.e. Hoolahan behind Keane or Long) against the more rugged Scots. It all doesn't make sense and they don't seem to know their best team.
4 3 2 1 formation
Whelan McCarthy Gibson
That looks like three more deep-lying midfielders in a row to me, without a Hoolahan-like link up player a bit further forward.
The argument against Hoolahan seems to be that managers don't trust him and he is in and out of the team for Norwich, but plenty of lads have had indifferent club form and done heroic things in Irish jerseys over the years. We always look better with him in the team, and he presses and puts himself about enough for my eyes.
We really need to be winning this game. If we don't, 4th is looking a real possibility.
DeLorean
25/02/2015, 11:27 AM
What I'd like to see....
---------------------------Westwood---------------------------
Coleman---------O'Shea---------------Clark---------------Wilson
--------------------McCarthy-------Gibson----------------------
---------------------------Hoolahan----------------------------
------------McGeady--------------------------Brady------------
----------------------------Keane------------------------------
Ideal sub options if nobody gets injured would be:
Long/Walters for Keane... no tiring defender would like to see either of them appear for the final twenty or so.
Hendrick for Hoolahan, who rarely plays ninety minutes anymore. At least he got a rare start last night and an inevitable assist.
McClean for Brady/McGeady... a Stephen Hunt type impact to give us a bit of energy.
I actually think we have the bones of a very good squad if MON uses the players the right way (i.e. my way :)).
For me, Whelan and Ward shouldn't really be options unless there's a bit of a crisis. They're both great pros and have served us well in terms of attitude, commitment and many adequate and semi adequate performances, but I feel we have a list of better options than both.
I'd only consider Whelan if three out of McCarthy, Gibson, Quinn and Meyler were unavailable.
Ahead of Ward I'd have converted centre backs in Wilson or Clark or a converted winger in Brady or possibly even McClean. I reserve the right to change my mind on the latter two who are obviously completely unproven.
Anyway the team will probably be...
Forde
Colaman-O'Shea-Wilson-Ward
McGeady-Whelan-McCarthy-McClean
Walters-Keane
25/02/2015, 12:08 PM
I think we have the bones of a good team too. Better than people think. Whelan is a conundrum. Never seems to do much, but is missed when absent. I can't figure him out. 18 months ago I was beyond my wit's end with him. Now I'm much less sure, and even think he might be necessary. Gibson and Hendrick didn't get hold of the game in Glasgow, McCarthy flatters to deceive in Green.
I have an inking O'Neill might go 3 at the back to allow bodies in midfield and two up front.
25/02/2015, 12:32 PM
Whelan is a conundrum. Never seems to do much, but is missed when absent. I can't figure him out. 18 months ago I was beyond my wit's end with him. Now I'm much less sure, and even think he might be necessary. Gibson and Hendrick didn't get hold of the game in Glasgow
if whelan had played in scotland i believe we would have got at least a draw. ctre mid was a real problem that night
DeLorean
25/02/2015, 12:54 PM
The best we could have expected Whelan to do in Glasgow would have been to help limit the Scots. That was the one thing we actually did fine without him, probably the only thing, bar the goal obviously, which was scored when Gibson was gone off. The system/tactics against Scotland was infuriating, depressing and majorly concerning, a far greater reason for the defeat than Whelan's absense, in my opinion.
I think we have the bones of a good team too. Better than people think. Whelan is a conundrum. Never seems to do much, but is missed when absent.
When was he missed do you feel? He certainly wasn't missed in Stockholm or against Italy at Craven Cottage, probably our best two midfield performances in relatively recent times... maybe it's Paul Green or Meyler we've been missing? :) Hammerings to the likes of Germany and Portugal were not really any different to the hammerings we got with him playing in the Euros, except we were missing key players at the back.
I actually thought Gibson did his job pretty well in Scotland but, no, we didn't control midfield at all. Has Whelan ever controlled midfield though? It was ridiculous playing Hendrick in that role with the likes of Quinn available and one of the most baffling decisions MON has conjured up, along with McCarthy in the advanced role in Tblisi. That's what worries me most, does he know our players main attributes? You'd imagine he would have to and just made calls that didn't work out the way he expected.
If he's tempted to go three at the back I hope he's done his homework on Poland. If they have decent, quick wide players I think it would be a suicidal formation, but I don't really know too much about them.
25/02/2015, 1:47 PM
I'm not going to argue Whelan much with you because I struggle to see what he brings, except that - as I commented after Gelsenkirchen - he clogs up valuable opposition space. Also, as Stephen Hunt alluded to, he's a personality on the pitch, a talker.
Maybe the CM pairing in Glasgow was up against it from the start. I too was aghast at the approach to that game. I just have a feeling that had Whelan played we'd have come away nil-nil and everyone would be moaning about his lack of impact in a game!
Lukenho
25/02/2015, 4:40 PM
Whatever the team is id really like to see Brady somewhere in there for me hes a class player that Ireland need right now. His free kick ability is great and exactly what we need if were going to compete with teams that are better than us. Clark for me deserves a chance as well if its on the left taking wards spot or if its in the middle next to O'Shea it doesnt matter, even tho Villa have been shaky at the back he seems to be playing solid at least.
DeLorean
26/02/2015, 8:36 AM
Fair enough but I don't think there's much evidence to support your gut feeling, not that you're saying there is. If we'd conceded late in Sweden people might also have pointed to Whelan's absence, but we were obviously capable of seeing it out without him. We threw the match away in injury time a few days later with Whelan playing, he certainly didn't appear to do much talking, organising or closing down vital space in that scenario. I'm not blaming him or anything, I just think it's a pretty flimsy suggestion that we'd have had a better result if he was playing. Gibson going off would be a more credible factor for me, as we had looked pretty safe for the 70 minutes he was on the pitch.
Crosby87
26/02/2015, 10:44 PM
Is Nawalka going with Szczesny or Boruc in net? BC they both stink. We may have an advantage here chaps. Get word to the FAI.
CraftyToePoke
27/02/2015, 12:38 AM
I'm not going to argue Whelan much with you because I struggle to see what he brings, except that - as I commented after Gelsenkirchen - he clogs up valuable opposition space.
Did he come under scrutiny for the space David Alaba of Austria enjoyed for that equalizer in Dublin ? Or shouldn't his position at least been such that the ten yard ball on the ground to Alaba wasn't available ?
DannyInvincible
27/02/2015, 12:48 AM
Did he come under scrutiny for the space David Alaba of Austria enjoyed for that equalizer in Dublin ? Or shouldn't his position at least been such that the ten yard ball on the ground to Alaba wasn't available ?
He cleared a ball and was stuck on Alaba for a while before drifting off him (seemingly to try cover Weimann, or the space between both at once) only seconds before Alaba received the ball:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_cfAXjSujk
DeLorean
27/02/2015, 7:46 AM
Jaysus, that's worse than being reminded of Paris.
At this moment in time, are everybody who are realistically in contention fit except for McGeady and McGoldrick?
DeLorean
27/02/2015, 9:16 AM
He cleared a ball and was stuck on Alaba for a while before drifting off him (seemingly to try cover Weimann, or the space between both at once) only seconds before Alaba received the ball
Easy with hindsight but his original clearance should have been out for a throw in. At least that would have allowed us a chance to get organised again, aimlessly kicking it back to them only added to the frenzy.
If MON is to persist with the inexplicably indispensable Whelan, maybe he would he be tempted to do something similar to what Martinez did last night? I certainly think Whelan would be of more value and less exposed in this kind of a system and maybe something he'd be more used to at Stoke...
---------Goalkeeper--------
Coleman-O'Shea-Clark-Wilson
-----Whelan-McCarthy------
-----------Gibson-----------
McGeady------------McClean
-----------Striker-----------
musicinmouth
01/03/2015, 11:58 AM
Aw, man. Sunday Times says Brady is set to miss the Poland game after picking up a "horrible calf injury" (Bruce) in training on Friday. :( Was hoping we'd get to see some of his set pieces and crosses.
DeLorean
01/03/2015, 4:04 PM
That's a big blow after his performance against the US.
the doc
01/03/2015, 7:23 PM
Clark deserves his chance, he's done well for Villa recently.
He's still making mistakes in games and has got away with them recently
These mistakes will be punished at International level, that said I wish him well and urge everyone to put bias and dislikes of players aside as we need positive results in the remaining games.
COYBIG!
DeLorean
01/03/2015, 7:40 PM
More on Robbie Brady (http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/Steve-Bruce-Hull-City-s-Robbie-Brady-months/story-26099211-detail/story.html)
DannyInvincible
01/03/2015, 11:22 PM
I wish him well and urge everyone to put bias and dislikes of players aside
You're urging us to put bias and dislikes of players aside?
http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view3/1770123/robert-de-niro-o.gif
02/03/2015, 3:36 PM
More on Robbie Brady (http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/Steve-Bruce-Hull-City-s-Robbie-Brady-months/story-26099211-detail/story.html)
and here...
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/english/2015/0302/683946-hull-hole-hell-for-robbie-brady/
doesn't look good
02/03/2015, 4:47 PM
Jeez, some guys just get no luck. How do you fall down a hole in training?
DannyInvincible
02/03/2015, 5:02 PM
Jeez, some guys just get no luck. How do you fall down a hole in training?
That's a shocker. And bizarre. Bruce just mentions the falling down of a hole in the training ground without further explanation as if this is a fairly common occurrence: "Unfortunately Brady has fallen down a hole in the training ground and it looks an awful injury, I have to say."
Why was there an open hole there in the first place and what was Brady doing near it? :confused:
Bruce suggesting he'll be out for weeks, if not the season, from first glance pre-scans.
Lukenho
02/03/2015, 5:06 PM
Looks like Brady is ruled out would have loved to see him get his chance against poland
SwanVsDalton
02/03/2015, 5:36 PM
Ireland's beyond parody injury woes continue. Brady was looking like a key man.
02/03/2015, 5:44 PM
Back to Andy Keogh it is so.
02/03/2015, 5:46 PM
That's a shocker. And bizarre. Bruce just mentions the falling down of a hole in the training ground without further explanation as if this is a fairly common occurrence: "Unfortunately Brady has fallen down a hole in the training ground and it looks an awful injury, I have to say."
Why was there an open hole there in the first place and what was Brady doing near it? :confused:
Bruce suggesting he'll be out for weeks, if not the season, from first glance pre-scans.yes it's like "unfortunately it's a grade 3 falling down a hole which often means three months out. We were hoping the scans would should it's only a grade one falling down a hole injury and he'd be back after a couple of weeks. Falling down holes can have varying degrees of severity and unfortunately for Robbie this was a sinkhole rather than a mere pothole."
03/03/2015, 12:41 PM
brady out for 6 weeks it appears...
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2015/0303/684099-robbie-brady-out-for-six-weeks-with-calf-injury/
real pity given his recent form and performance v USA
DeLorean
03/03/2015, 1:01 PM
A shame but could be worse. At least it's only a 'Grade 2' and he should be available for June!