View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Poland - Sunday, 29th March 2015 - Euro 2016 Qualifier
Pages :
[
7]
26/03/2015, 5:13 PM
McCarthy out acc.to Twitter.
Out at Nando's: https://twitter.com/ChrisJohnston77/status/581140174089928704
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 5:14 PM
Where are you seeing that? I can't find anything about him withdrawing.
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 5:28 PM
If this is a lie I want Wolfman banned. If this is true I want Wolfman banned.
26/03/2015, 5:32 PM
Out at Nando's: https://twitter.com/ChrisJohnston77/status/581140174089928704
wtf is a nandos?
"came for a cheeky nandos today. All gents"
TrapAPony
26/03/2015, 5:36 PM
wtf is a nandos?
"came for a cheeky nandos today. All gents"
https://everplaces.com/users/7402b023034b4aa08f68ab847bc456b7/places/8e473ccade8b4e9fbb9c33e8dcb628ad/images/69ee2493afb64be7b63b66adeb8d6cba.jpg
TheOneWhoKnocks
26/03/2015, 5:39 PM
F'ing Nando's.. You wouldn't have to pay me a hundred grand a week to stick to a diet of pasta, grilled chicken, boiled rice, cous cous, tuna, fish, pitta, whole wheat bread, fruit, nuts and veg.
I wonder if the Poles are going to have a cheeky Nando's.
26/03/2015, 5:42 PM
The Poles are all going to Crackbird.
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 5:50 PM
I heard James and the lads were all so stuffed, they couldn't even finish their second helpings of chocolate cheesecake with double cream and toffee ice-cream for dessert. Shame on them!
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 5:52 PM
If this is a lie I want Wolfman banned. If this is true I want Wolfman banned.
It's a load of baloney, by the way. Absolutely nothing anywhere about McCarthy being injured or having pulled out. Here are the latest tweets mentioning him: https://twitter.com/search?f=realtime&q=james%20mccarthy&src=typd
26/03/2015, 5:54 PM
It's a load of baloney, by the way. Absolutely nothing anywhere about McCarthy being injured or having pulled out. Here are the latest tweets mentioning him: https://twitter.com/search?f=realtime&q=james%20mccarthy&src=typd
It might be on the secret twitter than the YBIG lads use. You know, the ones who actually travel to games.
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 6:04 PM
What about Brady?
Edit:- Actually just tell us the team :)
It was mentioned on Off the Ball yesterday that it was something their reporter in Malahide had specifically commented on in relation to Clark, but they didn't go on to disclose who they thought would make up full team nor if it was a full 11 versus 11 or just smaller drills he'd been watching. Dan McDonnell seems to think Walters is a certainty to start and that Given is also very likely.
26/03/2015, 7:25 PM
Wolfman cries wolf.
27/03/2015, 9:52 AM
you know the rules wolfman, if you read something like that online, provide a link.
DeLorean
27/03/2015, 12:07 PM
Jonas Eriksson of Sweden is the referee. He reffed three games at the World Cup last year, don't think anything too controversial happened in any of them. I suppose we've had mixed luck with Swedish referees (albeit with the same outcome!). Frisk was good to us in 2002, Hansson slightly less so in 2009!
Wolfman
27/03/2015, 9:43 PM
you know the rules wolfman, if you read something like that online, provide a link.
Saw it on social media, didn't think about the link. Was a photo of a Twitter post. Which looked like one from the FAI.
TheOneWhoKnocks
27/03/2015, 9:51 PM
You're no Winston Wolf.
27/03/2015, 10:36 PM
Saw it on social media, didn't think about the link. Was a photo of a Twitter post. Which looked like one from the FAI.
http://i57.tinypic.com/xbjxph.png
27/03/2015, 10:40 PM
That's a really strange thing for the FAI to tweet. You'd think they'd have learned their lesson after the racist thing.
27/03/2015, 10:59 PM
What was the racist thing?
27/03/2015, 11:10 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/european/2014/1216/667296-fai-hits-out-at-really-uncool-racist-henry-tweet/
27/03/2015, 11:40 PM
Should the FAI return to comatose state and just ignore it, or should they deal with it differently?
27/03/2015, 11:43 PM
They dealt with it already.
#reallyuncoolman
Crosby87
28/03/2015, 1:02 AM
Various news agencies reporting the Polish team is driving around Reykjavik looking for their hotel.
samhaydenjr
28/03/2015, 1:19 AM
Lads, I've just had a terrible realisation - have a look at this video from when North America changed to Daylight Savings Time a few weeks back:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=br0NW9ufUUw
Then ask yourselves, how will this weekend's time change affect the Irish team? Especially when you consider that most of the Polish team are not going to be experiencing a time change at all (one hour back to travel, one hour forward to Summer Time). Will they show up an hour late? Will they need to take a nap in the middle of the second half? Is this part of a UEFA conspiracy? We're doomed, doomed I tell you! Stupid, stupid cows.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 2:21 AM
Rousing article from Ian Rush of all people.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/forget-the-hype-poland-are-beatable-and-oneill-knows-it-31101066.html
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 2:44 AM
And a not so rousing article from Liam Brady.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/why-i-fear-for-this-irish-team-320934.html
- Thinks team will be Forde; Coleman, Keogh, O'Shea, Wilson; McClean, McCarthy, Whelan; McGeady; Walters, Long
- Thinks Hoolahan should start either in the No. 10 role or a wide position coming inside
- Doesn't think O'Neill will start him
- Thinks Long should start ahead of Keane
- Thinks Brady at LB is a risk
- Thinks Forde should start
- Interesting comments regarding McCarthy: "Without doubt, McCarthy and his clubmate, Seamus Coleman, are the best players we have operating in the Premier League but it is a worry to see McCarthy miss games for Ireland and then, the following week, play for Everton.I don’t know whether he’s just shy or really has a passion to play for Ireland".
28/03/2015, 3:01 AM
I'm gonna be traveling during the game on Sunday and it's not on TV in the US so can't record it. Does anyone know if the games are usually available to download anywhere shortly after games?
http://forum.rojadirecta.es/forumdisplay.php?15-Partidos-en-descarga-%28Full-matches%29
You might get it here. some download are free, other, the bigger files are not.
You usually get the bigger games, Italy France Spain etc.., Poland is a bit borderline, but it being a qualifier should help.
28/03/2015, 3:08 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/why-i-fear-for-this-irish-team-320934.html
- Thinks team will be Forde; Coleman, Keogh, O'Shea, Wilson; McClean, McCarthy, Whelan; McGeady; Walters, Long
- Thinks Hoolahan should start either in the No. 10 role or a wide position coming inside
- Interesting comments regarding McCarthy: "Without doubt, McCarthy and his clubmate, Seamus Coleman, are the best players we have operating in the Premier League but it is a worry to see McCarthy miss games for Ireland and then, the following week, play for Everton.I don’t know whether he’s just shy or really has a passion to play for Ireland".
Brady needs to stop reading foot.ie and do the job he's paid for. Clark will start ahead of Keogh, nothing surer. The McCarthy comments are second-rate and unfair, but presumably regurgitated from somebody else who pays as little attention as him.
edit: I realise I've gone out on a paul oshea on the Clark call but if I'm wrong I'll own up to it. But he will start because he's our best centre half right now. And he's left footed.
Irwin3
28/03/2015, 3:28 AM
McCarthy played the next game for Everton and then missed 12 of their next 15 games. Clearly shyness or passion were his problems, it had nothing to do with that hamstring of his. As someone with no attachment to Brady's playing days, his media appearances generally leave me with a low impression of the man.
DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 3:34 AM
Daft comment from him about McCarthy. Interesting? Probably one of the laziest, most tiresome and uninteresting things you could say about the lad actually.
DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 3:41 AM
Brady needs to stop reading foot.ie and do the job he's paid for. Clark will start ahead of Keogh, nothing surer. The McCarthy comments are second-rate and unfair, but presumably regurgitated from somebody else who pays as little attention as him.
edit: I realise I've gone out on a paul oshea on the Clark call but if I'm wrong I'll own up to it. But he will start because he's our best centre half right now. And he's left footed.
And he was wearing a bib in training. ;)
28/03/2015, 10:37 AM
And he was wearing a bib in training. ;)
Charlie doesn't need actual evidence in order to form a strong opinion.
the doc
28/03/2015, 11:00 AM
Charlie doesn't need actual evidence in order to form a strong opinion.
Here here!
I quite like Chazza.
Big game for the lads, long flight ahead for me.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 11:09 AM
Don't agree with Brady on the passion part RE: McCarthy but he has worked with him, knows people that know him and has spent considerable time talking to him so it probably puts him in a stronger position to make an accurate judgment on his character than anyone here; so (some of) the condemnation of his comments is quite peculiar.
Still, not in agreement with it.
TrapAPony
28/03/2015, 11:13 AM
Brady hasn't a good thing to say about Ireland when they are not managed by Trapattoni.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 11:22 AM
Yes. He does come across as very sycophantic whilst talking about Trapattoni.
He says that Trap squeezed the last drops out of Given, Dunne, Kilbane, Duff and Keane as if it was some kind of miracle.
Alternatively, you could say that MON doesn't have the same standard of established players to work with that Trap had and is inhibited in this sense.
Dunne, Duff and Keane were all in their late-twenties to very early thirties when Trap "got the best out of them". That's their peak years as a professional football for Gods sake.
I also found it pretty condescending to talk about Dunne, Duff and Keane in this sort of context TBH, found it a little bit demeaning.
SwanVsDalton
28/03/2015, 11:32 AM
I'll be mightily annoyed if Clark doesn't play. Talk about a form choice. Been having visions of him crunching Lewandowski after five minutes and setting the tone ala Roy against Holland.
Of course, he'll probably try it and get sent off but here's hoping.
28/03/2015, 11:33 AM
Emmet Malone thinks Keogh is a likely starter too. Jaysus. Surely CD is right though it pains me. Clark is nailed on.
Chuck: I took the young fella to Tallaght last night. Despite an awful game he loved it and is now proud owner of the Rovers away kit! Really good crowd I thought.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 11:34 AM
Could be a repeat of Portugal so. Lucky days.
TheOneWhoKnocks
28/03/2015, 11:41 AM
Kerr has some very interesting things to say vis-à-vis O'Neill's methodology.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/james-mccarthy-needs-to-stand-up-and-deliver-if-ireland-are-to-win-1.2156236
"O’Neill can be hard to read regarding selection. That’s a good thing. It matters. Take the inclusion of Stephen Quinn in Georgia to Keane’s exclusion in Glasgow, there is usually a little surprise to throw off the opposition’s best-laid plans.
I never understood Trap’s logic when publicly naming the team well before the game. It gave our opponents a clear advantage. On the other hand, O’Neill’s delay in informing his own players of the starting XI, which only seems to happen at the stadium, isn’t helpful tactically or when it comes to set piece organisation. Exhibit A being Shaun Maloney’s preventable goal in Scotland’s 1-0 victory last year".
DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 11:41 AM
Brady was filling space with lazy and idle speculation that plays on the insecurities of fans. He had that debate here with Dunphy from 03:00 onward after listening to McCarthy talk passionately about having just played for us and then making vague and suggestive gestures about "a few [of his] pull-outs":
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-YlYsCIw8Q
If Brady had anything concrete, he had his chance to say it then, but all he can do is "hmm..." and ask questions. He doesn't even offer a solid judgment; he just admits his uncertainty. He's not in the know. Besides, for how long did he work with McCarthy anyway? McCarthy made his senior debut in the same year that Brady left the assistant role. Not sure which game was Brady's last.
Edit to add: Also, we all know Trap didn't have much time for perceived time-wasters or those of questionable mentalitee. Trap had a very good relationship with James and the way he spoke about him always suggested he believed he was an honest and dedicated lad. The respect was mutual: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24050440
McCarthy added: "It took me a while to get into the [Republic] team and thankfully I got in.
"He [Trapattoni] stuck by me and gave me my chance. He's been good for me. I'm disappointed to see him go. I'm gutted, to be honest. The players enjoyed working under him."
28/03/2015, 11:43 AM
Robbie & MON press conference today, live (http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/live/4/) on rte player, available worldwide
EDIT, sorry that link is not good anymore, the world moves on.
the doc
28/03/2015, 11:47 AM
I'll be mightily annoyed if Clark doesn't play. Talk about a form choice. Been having visions of him crunching Lewandowski after five minutes and setting the tone ala Roy against Holland.
Of course, he'll probably try it and get sent off but here's hoping.
Clarky deserves his chance, started off 5th choice at Villa but took his chance after injuries to CBs ahead of him.
He's still prone to diving in and making rash challenges, they will cost us at some point, hopefully not tomorrow.
Good luck to him.
DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 11:50 AM
That's the spirit, doc. :good:
DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 11:59 AM
Robbie K press conference today, (co starring MON) live (http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/live/4/) on rte player, available worldwide
Dang, just managed to catch the end of it.
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/pressco_zpsm784bbnh.png
Those dark green-light green hooped polo shirts were really green.
Crosby87
28/03/2015, 12:53 PM
Don't forget about the Irish going against 37-0 Kentucky tonight lads. Good things happen in three's. Good juju for Ireland. Just trust me on this one.
DannyInvincible
28/03/2015, 12:56 PM
Martin, who is working with James at this very moment and has been doing so since 2013, also jumps to his player's defence against Brady's lazy insinuation: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/martin-oneill-defends-james-mccarthy-after-liam-brady-questions-his-passion-for-ireland-31101716.html
[Brady's] comments were put to O’Neill in his pre-match press conference ahead of tomorrow’s crucial Euro 2016 showdown with Poland.
“I don’t think I’ve any need to question anyone’s passion to play for Ireland,” said O’Neill. “I genuinely don’t think that. It’s not just a soundbite, I genuinely feel that. They might not perform as well but that doesn’t mean the players don’t want to play.
“James has had a few problems, as you know, he had hamstring problems way back some time ago and had to take quite a few weeks out. In one year, he has only played one game for us. He’s back, he’s played a number of games now in quick succession and he’s got a couple of days here to get over things, as did Seamus Coleman.”
Interestingly, the team did try 3-5-2 in training:
O’Neill again kept his cards close to his chest with regard to team selection, although his group did appear to be practising a 3-5-2 set-up in training with Robbie Brady and Seamus Coleman as full backs. The Derryman inferred that he was merely exploring his options so players would be familiar with different systems in case change was necessary.
“Some players here play that system at club level,” he says, “It’s something that they’re used to. Some players, they would have to adapt. I think if some particular system solved every problem, everybody would be using it. There are advantages in a certain system, whatever system you want to play.”
28/03/2015, 1:13 PM
Nathan Murphy on Newstalk (just back from Malahide) speculating that we're going 3-5-2.
Forde
McShane-O'Shea-Wilson
Coleman- didn't hear- Hoolahan - didn't hear - McGeady
Robbie-Walters
28/03/2015, 1:46 PM
Worrying we are trying out a new formation 2 days prior to an important qualifier. Even if we don't play a 3-5-2, why are we wasting time trying it out so close to kick-off?
28/03/2015, 1:55 PM
Emmet Malone thinks Keogh is a likely starter too. Jaysus. Surely CD is right though it pains me. Clark is nailed on.
Chuck: I took the young fella to Tallaght last night. Despite an awful game he loved it and is now proud owner of the Rovers away kit! Really good crowd I thought.
Haha yeah, if anyone was going to keep up an interest in going to Rovers after last night, it certainly wouldn't have been because of the football. Great atmosphere though and great crowd. Bodes well for the season with three successive gates of 4,000+ although it'll be hard to maintain when the likes of Bray and Limerick visit. Delighted to hear your young lad enjoyed it, you'll have to get him watching the rare live game on RTE player :D