View Full Version : Republic of Ireland V Poland - Sunday, 29th March 2015 - Euro 2016 Qualifier
Pages :
[
6]
Crosby87
24/03/2015, 9:56 PM
http://www.fai.ie/ireland/pick-your-top-10-songs-for-the-stadium-playlist
Are you gonna be my girl by Jet? Someone planning on proposing at the half?
The full Poland squad is as follows;
Goalkeepers: Artur Boruc (Bournemouth), Lukasz Fabianski (Swansea), Wojciech Szczesny (Arsenal);
Defenders: Thiago Cionek (Modena), Kamil Glik (AC Torino ), Jakub Wawrzyniak, Rafal Janicki, Grzegorz Wojtkowiak (all Lechia Gdansk), Marcin Komorowski (Terek Grozny), Paul Olkowski (FC Koeln), Lukasz Szukala (Al-Ittihad);
Midfielders: Maciej Gajos (Jagiellonia Bialystok), Michael Gyro, Tomasz Jodlowiec, Michael Feldman (all Legia Warsaw), Grzegorz Krychowiak (Sevilla), Karol Linetty (Lech Poznan), Sebastian Mila (Lechia Gdansk), Slawomir Peszko (FC Koeln) Maciej Rybus (Terek Grozny), Krzysztof Maczynski (Guizhou Renhe);
Fowards: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Arkadiusz Milik (Ajax Amsterdam), Luke Teodorczyk (Dynamo Kyiv).
Balls.ie (http://balls.ie/football/795681-poland-squad-missing-key-players-for-ireland-game/)
i always think looking at the clubs players in the squad are with is a reasonable indication of the teams quality and based on that i'd immediately think they are defensively vulnerable.
we're going to have to go for it.
Crosby87
24/03/2015, 11:54 PM
But Terek Grozny has one of the finest defenses ever assembled.
25/03/2015, 8:00 AM
i always think looking at the clubs players in the squad are with is a reasonable indication of the teams quality and based on that i'd immediately think they are defensively vulnerable.
we're going to have to go for it.i bet that's what Celtic felt when they drew Legia!
I expect these guys will be decent, but thoroughly beatable if we get our sh1t together for once.
DeLorean
25/03/2015, 9:07 AM
You got me doing a bit of idle research to find out a little more. All eight defenders started their most recent club games. Only Olkowski of Koln didn't complete ninety minutes, subbed off after an hour with his side trailing 1-0. They went on to draw 1-1 against Werder Bremen courtesy of a late penalty.
Thiago Cionek (Modena) - 28
13th in Italy's Serie B but have one of the best defensive records in the division, only conceding 27 goals in 32 games.
Played centre back at the weekend in a 2-1 defeat.
Kamil Glik (AC Torino) - 27
7th in Serie A, conceding 30 goals in 28 games.
Stated in the centre of a back 3 at the weekend, won 2-0.
Jakub Wawrzyniak (31) Rafal Janicki (22) Grzegorz Wojtkowiak (31) (all Lechia Gdansk)
7th in the Ekstraklasa, conceding 28 goals in 25 games.
Wawrzyniak and Janicki played centre back with Wojtkowiak right back in a 1-0 win at the weekend.
Marcin Komorowski (Terek Grozny) - 30
9th in the Russian Premier League, conceding 19 goals in 20 games.
Played centre back at the weekend in a 1-0 defeat.
Paul Olkowski (FC Koeln) - 25
12th in the Bundesliga, conceding 32 goals in 26 games.
Played right back at the weekend in a 1-1 draw, substituted after 59 minutes.
Lukasz Szukala (Al-Ittihad) - 30
3rd in Saudi Pro League, conceding 20 goals in 20 games.
Played centre back at the weekend in a 1-0 win.
DannyInvincible
25/03/2015, 9:26 AM
McClean pulled up in training today (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/james-mcclean-limps-out-of-ireland-training-1.2151130) - was taken for a scan on his ankle but now doubtful for Saturday.
McClean insists he'll be ready as it's nothing major and just some bruising to the bone: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2015/0325/689575-james-mcclean-plays-down-fitness-concern/
There are "concerns" over Gibson though. Whether or not that means he's a doubt, I'm not sure. I can't imagine it's too serious or I'm sure there'd have been more in the news about it.
McClean was sent for a scan on Tuesday after limping out of training at Gannon Park in Malahide, leaving manager Martin O'Neill with his fingers crossed.
However, the Wigan midfielder has insisted he will be ready for the Group D clash even if he may not train again until later in the week.
McClean told the Irish Independent: "The ankle should be fine. I said I'd give it a go in training, but unfortunately it was just too sore to carry out the session.
"I went and had a scan and thankfully it's just some bone bruising. It should be cleared up in time for the weekend's game, which is obviously positive news.
"I will just need to rest it now with plenty of ice and re-evaluate it in the morning to see if I can train. If not, then hopefully I'll be able to get a training session or two in before the game."
However, O'Neill still has concerns over full-back Stephen Ward and midfielder Darron Gibson, who are struggling with ankle and groin problems respectively.
By the way, you might need to re-jig your weekend plans. Game's on Sunday night! :p
DeLorean
25/03/2015, 10:17 AM
Stating the obvious but it's such a massive game. If we win I would see us as favourites for second place, with the fixtures we have out of the way. The Scotland game becomes a massive opportunity for us to take a firm grip on our own destiny, with huge confidence that a long awaited big win would give. Another win there and we would be genuinely challenging Germany for top spot. Of course, in that scenario, Germany would just come to Lansdowne and win but still! If we draw or lose, third place will look extremely doubtful and the Scotland game becomes a high pressure, must win fixture that we don't really excel in.
ArdeeBhoy
25/03/2015, 11:16 AM
Really really have a bad feeling for this...we definitely won't win.
We just aren't good enough any more.
DeLorean
25/03/2015, 11:35 AM
There are "concerns" over Gibson though. Whether or not that means he's a doubt, I'm not sure. I can't imagine it's too serious or I'm sure there'd have been more in the news about it.
It sounds pretty dodgy if Gibson himself is concerned, knowing his own body and all that. More here- (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/james-mcclean-injury-worry-as-martin-oneill-also-sweats-on-darron-gibson-320343.html)
Darron Gibson missed out again today. He’s got a groin, I’m not sure of the medical term, and he’s a bit concerned. It’s too early for me (to be concerned). I just said to him, ‘we’ll play it day by day.
Although having a groin, in itself, shouldn't be too much of an issue :p
DeLorean
25/03/2015, 11:47 AM
Apparently Thierry Henry will be covering the game for Sky. They're trying to work out ways to get him past a hostile Irish crowd.
http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/625/media/images/81879000/jpg/_81879029_zz38.jpg
The actual story behind this (http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-wales-south-east-wales-32039197?ocid=socialflow_facebook)
TheOneWhoKnocks
25/03/2015, 12:30 PM
I think we are going to get a severe wake up call because of two or three questionable and backwards selection decisions and it will be too late to get anything out of the campaign after this Sunday.
I hate to be as pessimistic as Ardee but we can't have passengers playing in three... potentially four crucial positions and expect to get anything out of this game.
Best case scenario... the draw we invariably end up playing for and the inevitable fist pumps and back slaps after the game.
ArdeeBhoy
25/03/2015, 1:45 PM
Yeap.
And the future looks bleak, very bleak.
We always knew this day was coming but really is p*sh now it has.
:(
25/03/2015, 1:59 PM
Predict a statistically likely outcome
Add cloud of ambiguity
Add pessimism or optimism as suits the mood
Claim to be vindicated afterwards
= astrology
Razors left peg
25/03/2015, 2:14 PM
I'm gonna be traveling during the game on Sunday and it's not on TV in the US so can't record it. Does anyone know if the games are usually available to download anywhere shortly after games?
25/03/2015, 2:15 PM
Add cloud of ambiguity
= astrology
Sounds like a Pisces.
DannyInvincible
25/03/2015, 2:45 PM
Why the gloominess? Our players don't play at an inferior standard to that of their Polish counterparts. It'll be a tight game with neither side being over-run.
DeLorean
25/03/2015, 2:47 PM
5 reasons to be optimistic (https://stadium.aviva.ie/aviva-stadium-experiences/fan-blog/5-reasons-to-be-optimistic/)
CraftyToePoke
25/03/2015, 2:54 PM
Our players don't play at an inferior standard to that of their Polish counterparts. It'll be a tight game with neither side being over-run.
A lot like the Scots so :)
Going to end up watching this through my fingers.
25/03/2015, 3:06 PM
Gibson out with a groin problem: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/580758395868811264
.@D_gibson4 (https://twitter.com/D_gibson4) has withdrawn from the ROI squad to face Poland on Sunday in @AVIVAStadium (https://twitter.com/AVIVAStadium) with a persistent groin injury. #IrlPol (https://twitter.com/hashtag/IrlPol?src=hash)
25/03/2015, 3:07 PM
Gibson out...
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2015/0325/689575-james-mcclean-plays-down-fitness-concern/
DeLorean
25/03/2015, 3:16 PM
Feck. It never seems to run smoothly. Is the team starting to pick itself a bit?
Forde
Coleman
O'Shea
Clark
Wilson
McGeady/Walters
Whelan
McCarthy
McClean (McGeady if Walters on right)
Hoolahan
Two from Hoolahan/Keane/Long/Walters
25/03/2015, 3:27 PM
Add cloud of ambiguity
= astrology
If the outcome is not as predicted, then all one has to do to claim vindication is to put the blame on the unexpected arrival of Lady Luck onto the scene, who intervened to alter the natural course of events.
DannyInvincible
25/03/2015, 3:29 PM
Gibson out with a groin problem: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/580758395868811264
Balls!
Martinez strikes again!
Gibson out with a groin problem
Balls!
Evidence please.
DannyInvincible
25/03/2015, 5:47 PM
Interview with Roy:
https://vimeo.com/123223205
25/03/2015, 7:58 PM
Balls!
Martinez strikes again!
International football claims another victim.
At this rate, Arter might be a St. Arter by default.
25/03/2015, 8:49 PM
Gibson's absence won't be a disaster if it means Wes starts.
25/03/2015, 8:56 PM
Not sure they were really playing for the same spot.
Crosby87
25/03/2015, 9:27 PM
Chaps don't forget about the Irish going tomorrow night vs Witchita state. Notre Dame will get the good vibes going for you. Slight underdogs on the vegas line.
25/03/2015, 9:38 PM
Not sure they were really playing for the same spot.
That's besides the point Charlie, logic only goes so far when it comes to us starting with players of technical ability, it's rare that we will have one, never mind two starting, therefore Stutts' statement holds weight
I can't say I'm too excited atm about what we are going to bring to this game. It's more a case of 'show me what you've got, MON'.
Like a few here, I'm of the opinion that we have the players for a team that can do it at this level, hopefully it will take shape against Poland.
A win will set our qual campaign in full swing.
DannyInvincible
25/03/2015, 10:32 PM
I can't say I'm too excited atm about what we are going to bring to this game. It's more a case of 'show me what you've got, MON'.
Like a few here, I'm of the opinion that we have the players for a team that can do it at this level, hopefully it will take shape against Poland.
A win will set our qual campaign in full swing.
O'Neill did well to pull victory out of the bag in Georgia. That must be recognised and, for it, he must be praised. We were on top in that game and my nervous fear towards the end was not of losing but of possibly not scoring by the time the ref blew for time. Poland beat Georgia 4-0 in Tbilisi, but I think it would be unfair to denigrate our tight result there on that basis; Georgia aren't a walkover when they're up for a game and ours was the opening game of the campaign.
Gibraltar was a picnic. Not sure how much insight can be taken from it really.
Germany was ectasy; a terrific result. We killed the game dead, absolutely stifled Germany to the point where they almost forgot how to play football and we nearly made it through with what we'd gone there for unblemished, bar a solitary lapse. When they took the lead, O'Neill made the changes necessary to get our equaliser. That must also be applauded.
He failed the Glasgow test. Admittedly, it was a close game that either side could probably have won had chances been taken, but a loss against a direct competitor, whilst not the end of the world, simply shouldn't have been on the cards; a draw would have us in a much more comfortable position right now and O'Neill failed on that account.
This is another massive test and I'm with you, geysir, in that I won't be fully convinced until O'Neill shows Poland (and Ireland, the nation) that we are genuine contenders for automatic qualification from this group. I don't think anyone has any concrete idea or certainty as to how O'Neill will approach this one as he hasn't really stamped a consistent style on things yet, but here's hoping he can prove his worth on Sunday and produce something penetrative.
I think it's a must-win and, thankfully, O'Neill has at least paid lip service to the need to attack in recent days/weeks. Failing to win won't put us out mathematically obviously but I think it'd be a good indicator as to whether or not we're up to qualification. I think a significant sense of my urgency is rooted in a desperate and weathered desire to see this team really re-plant itself in the spotlight and recapture the nation's imagination. Qualification is still very much in our own hands and I'd like for us to really grasp it by the balls. We'll see what transpires, but given our present position, it's up to us to do that, so we can't be playing it overly cautious waiting for mistakes and opportunities to arise. We must go out and make sure we create or force as many of them as we can ourselves. We need the boost after Glasgow and I fear a draw would only delay the petering out of the campaign that I think would inevitably come with such a customary and unremarkable result. Do we really deserve to go through if we can't at least look like beating our direct competitors at home? If we don't show that we're capable of doing the business on Sunday now that it really matters, I don't think we'll ever get round to doing what we need to in this group.
I'm gonna hope for a closely-fought 2-1 victory, although I fear it'll probably be a dreaded 1-1, which'll leave us thinking we did OK, but nothing to get very excited about. A loss is simply unimaginable. That'd be the end of it.
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 9:13 AM
I'd agree with most of that bar maybe the very start, which I think is a bit generous. The only guy I'd credit for the result in Georgia is Aiden McGeady. We were poorly set up, and I think looking reasonably comfortable in terms of not losing the game was a minimum requirement. We appeared the more likely winners, but a win didn't appear too likely! It was early days in fairness and by hook or by crook we got the result.
I actually found the Gibraltar selection quite refreshing in the sense that he demonstrated flexibility and it was well thought out, even if one eye was clearly (and rightly) on Gelsenkirchen. It certainly represented some sort of progress compared to Trap's rigidness even if the result was never in doubt.
Fully agree with your assessment of the Germany game, but Scotland was a heart-breaker, two steps forward ten steps back! The only allowance I would make is that we had some key players missing but it was no excuse really for his primitive and, dare I say, seemingly uneducated team selection.
I agree with Stutts also that Gibson's absence should pave the way for Hoolahan's inclusion. Obviously he's not a direct replacement but if O'Neill was thinking of a midfield three of Whelan, McCarthy and Gibson further forward then I think Hoolahan is a more favourable replacement than the likes of Quinn or Meyler. This is all assuming we're going to shift from the dreaded 4-4-2, which may be a foolish assumption.
From the midifeld that started against Scotland, we have our centre partnership out injured, one of our wingers after picking up a knock and the other short of match fitness. Not ideal but we have reasonable options at the same time which is a testament to our strength in depth if used properly.
26/03/2015, 9:26 AM
yes, I'd agree the Georgia assessment was generous alright. Scotland was very primitive and the only quality on display was on their side, not ours. But I think we can put out a better XI than that night even with some injuries. I actually think this game sees fewer injuries than usual and we have about 16 good enough players to choose from over the 90. I think Brady was in good form pre-holegate and a young lad like him will be fresh and sharp still.
Any optimism is based on MON being assertive in both selection and approach. I think he knows how to handle big home games of this sort. He certainly used to.
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 10:17 AM
A depressing walk down memory lane (http://balls.ie/football/how-poland-cost-one-of-irelands-best-ever-teams-a-shot-at-glory/)
the doc
26/03/2015, 10:37 AM
Tough game to call this one, but never bet against the Irish when people are writing us off.
I'd be more optimistic of getting a result with Mr Trapattoni in charge as we'd be more organised defensively as a team.
In contrast with the current management set up, who don't seem to have decided on a way to set up and style of play.
Do we have a go at Poland and risk being done on the counter attack?
Or do we keep it tight and look to get in behind them?
First goal is the key as in most games, but in games like these it can make a massive difference as the team that goes behind then has to come out more and play.
I really hope we turn up and win this game, my heart says a win but my head says a loss.
Either way I will be there in my compo premium seat, cheering the lads on.
COYBIG
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 10:50 AM
I think he knows how to handle big home games of this sort. He certainly used to.
Yeah well I suppose he has to be credited for making Celtic Park the fortress is remained until very recently. I remember his Aston Villa side were more of a threat on the road though, as they were more suited to counter attacking with their quick attacking players. It's unlikely that he'll turn the Aviva into Celtic Park or the old Lansdowne, but I'd settle for him turning it into a place that gives us a distinct advantage against teams of similar ability, as any team playing at home should have and something that's been severely lacking for some time.
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 10:59 AM
I actually found the Gibraltar selection quite refreshing in the sense that he demonstrated flexibility and it was well thought out, even if one eye was clearly (and rightly) on Gelsenkirchen. It certainly represented some sort of progress compared to Trap's rigidness even if the result was never in doubt.
Fair point actually. It was certainly refreshing to see us bang seven past a team, no matter how amateurish they might have been. A Trap team would have won that game 3-0 and most of us would still be recovering from the boredom!
Fully agree with your assessment of the Germany game, but Scotland was a heart-breaker, two steps forward ten steps back!
Definitely took the wind out of our sails and is really soul-destroying as, had we drawn, we'd still be talking about riding that wave, but let's hope we can get back on that crest again.
Either way I will be there in my compo premium seat, cheering the lads on.
You don't have a high-profile link to behind the scenes, do you? One would never have thought! :p
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 12:14 PM
Is Quinny trying to tell us something?
(http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2015/0325/689762-stephen-quinn-ireland-poland/)
When we got promoted from the Championship he (Robbie Brady) played most of his games there. He was a real threat, and this season, he has started to do it again [from] left wing-back. I think it suits him coming on to the play. Him and Seamus Coleman are big threats from wing-back.
Maybe...
------------------------------ Forde ------------------------------
-------------- O'Shea ------- Clark --------- Wilson ---------------
Coleman ---------------------------------------------------- Brady
26/03/2015, 2:34 PM
A depressing walk down memory lane (http://balls.ie/football/how-poland-cost-one-of-irelands-best-ever-teams-a-shot-at-glory/)
I have this memory etched, or memories, of when we played back then it was always warm and sunny and we always looked so much more refreshing, it looked like a great day out, everybody seemed to be geared up and enjoying themselves much more, and the anticipation was always much greater, childhood naïvety probably but from mid 90s on I have never had the same sunshine outlook - results aside that is.
I'd agree Deloreans assessment about the games bar Germany, certainly Georgia was the Aiden McGeady show even though apart from that nothing much was done from anyone, himself included, on the pitch for the rest of the game. We were as bad as anything under Trap.
Germany's results have gone onto show the post world cup hangover has it the 2'oclock in the day point for them now, another few games they will be back on song. They have been very poor up to now since Summer last year. I think there is a slight arrogance that they don't need to over-exert themselves to get the wins they need and they are caught napping. Our result was good but put into context I'm not sure we did an awful lot of nullifying rather Germany nullified themselves. Certainly I don't think MON had much to do with it and it shows how bad we were in Scotland, as we went with the same approach.
Poland look a lot better than most we have entertained as 2nd/3rd seeds in a group in a long time, their scoring prowess so far is worrying given how dodgy at the back we can be from game to game. I think if we won this it would be bigger than any other home/away game since Holland 2001.
1-1 but i suspect we will be more attacking than most for a good 20-30 mins overall, I suspect we will get caught out at the back at least once, hopefully only once.
26/03/2015, 2:41 PM
I have this memory etched, or memories, of when we played back then it was always warm and sunny and we always looked so much more refreshing, it looked like a great day out, everybody seemed to be geared up and enjoying themselves much more, and the anticipation was always much greater, childhood naïvety probably but from mid 90s on I have never had the same sunshine outlook - results aside that is.
I'd agree Deloreans assessment about the games bar Germany, certainly Georgia was the Aiden McGeady show even though apart from that nothing much was done from anyone, himself included, on the pitch for the rest of the game. We were as bad as anything under Trap.
Germany's results have gone onto show the post world cup hangover has it the 2'oclock in the day point for them now, another few games they will be back on song. They have been very poor up to now since Summer last year. I think there is a slight arrogance that they don't need to over-exert themselves to get the wins they need and they are caught napping. Our result was good but put into context I'm not sure we did an awful lot of nullifying rather Germany nullified themselves. Certainly I don't think MON had much to do with it and it shows how bad we were in Scotland, as we went with the same approach.
Poland look a lot better than most we have entertained as 2nd/3rd seeds in a group in a long time, their scoring prowess so far is worrying given how dodgy at the back we can be from game to game. I think if we won this it would be bigger than any other home/away game since Holland 2001.
1-1 but i suspect we will be more attacking than most for a good 20-30 mins overall, I suspect we will get caught out at the back at least once, hopefully only once.
(http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2015/0325/689762-stephen-quinn-ireland-poland/)
Maybe...
I hope not! we need more than 5 players!
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 2:44 PM
Clark was bibbed in training today with Coleman, O'Shea and Wilson, so that looks like the back line. Keogh was unbibbed.
Olé Olé
26/03/2015, 2:46 PM
Maybe...
Looks a very good way to set up the side. That back 5 is a pretty good, PL level bunch. I'd also note that O'Shea, Clark and Wilson are all quite comfortable on the ball also. In fact, all three have played central midfield for a spell. Furthermore, it allows us to play 3 in midfield and have Keane and Walters up front (which I'd imagine will happen no matter what the formation, even if it's 4-3-3 then Walters will be expected to support Keane the most).
There's a bit of flexibility too if it doesn't work out i.e. revert to four at the back with Wilson and Coleman at full-back and Brady the left side of midfield or top left in a 4-3-3.
Olé Olé
26/03/2015, 2:48 PM
Clark was bibbed in training today with Coleman, O'Shea and Wilson, so that looks like the back line. Keogh was unbibbed.
I don't have too much against Keogh but Clark is clearly a better option. I wouldn't like to see MON favouritism see Keogh on ahead of Clark. It's clear he loves McGeady and McClean but I can understand that because McGeady has won us matches and McClean hasn't let him down either.
TheOneWhoKnocks
26/03/2015, 2:51 PM
While we are on the subject of Clark being a better option..
http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2015/03/24/ciaran-clark-aston-villas-best-defender-so-far-this-season/
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 3:00 PM
What about Brady?
Edit:- Actually just tell us the team :)
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 3:26 PM
I hope not! we need more than 5 players!
There was six on my list!
--------------------------- Forde ----------------------------
---------- O'Shea ----------Clark -------- Wilson -------------
Coleman ----------------------------------------------- Brady
------------------ Whelan --------- McCarthy ----------------
---------- McGeady ---------------------- McClean ----------
--------------------------- Keane ----------------------------
Not what I'd choose personally, more representative of MON's perceived favourites.
DannyInvincible
26/03/2015, 3:29 PM
What about Brady?
Edit:- Actually just tell us the team :)
Ha, I was texted the above info and am guessing it was an educated guess based on a media photo, but am awaiting clarification. :good:
26/03/2015, 3:57 PM
352 would be a real departure but would be a real statement and a stamp of MON's personalitee.
I'd still pick Shay over Forde though, much as I like and appreciate Forde!
With two attacking full / wing backs, does that not negate the need for proper wide players, calling for a more compact midfield, a playmaker like Hoolahan and two upfront?
................Given..............
........O'Shea Clark Wilson
Coleman.........................Brady
........McCarthy...Whelan.......
.................Wes..............
.........Keane Long/Walters
DeLorean
26/03/2015, 4:09 PM
Yeah Forde is my third choice but I just think he'll play. That's true about the wingers and why it would definitely be pointless starting McClean and Brady on the same wing. McGeady is kind of different as he tends to drift infield and could create space for Coleman. I find it hard to see McGeady being left out unless he's looking very rusty in training.
Wolfman
26/03/2015, 5:05 PM
McCarthy out acc.to Twitter.