View Full Version : Clare District League 2014/15
Pages :
[
10]
younglawd
26/11/2014, 2:28 PM
Never said it was weaker talisman.. It would be good to see the Clare team with players from previous years to pick from who still could impact and improve squad. You'd want to be thick not to agree
talisman
26/11/2014, 4:36 PM
Never said it was weaker talisman.. It would be good to see the Clare team with players from previous years to pick from who still could impact and improve squad. You'd want to be thick not to agree
Not thick at all younglawd I was picking up on mouldedstuds comment. 14 travelling up last weekend is not good enough. What players are you referring to?
Second
26/11/2014, 6:09 PM
Not thick at all younglawd I was picking up on mouldedstuds comment. 14 travelling up last weekend is not good enough. What players are you referring to?
Steven kelly . Daithi o Connell. Alan brigdale . Matty nugent.david Reidy.darren murphy.thats just a few that are missing from last year..apparently murphy got a hump because manager gave out to him after conceding penalty ..murphy is probably the best full back clare have ever produced..manager should be calling to him to work it out.. ( without begging him )
Some interesting comments here. Out of curiosity, how many of ye, other than the players that are posting were in Castlebar on Sunday?
talisman
26/11/2014, 6:30 PM
Some interesting comments here. Out of curiosity, how many of ye, other than the players that are posting were in Castlebar on Sunday?
I was present
Second
26/11/2014, 8:35 PM
With all due respect first that's neither here nor there ... I wasn't in castlebar but I was in doora a few weeks back..nobody is insulting the players who were in castlebar majority are just saying it's a pity the squad wasn't bigger for that match . ( for whatever reasons) .. alot of good players missing. Do you not agree??
Not disagreeing or for that matter agreeing on what has been said I was just curious as to what the views were of Sunday other than the size of the squad and the players that weren't there.
Wolverine
26/11/2014, 9:02 PM
Any predictions for Sundays game, Newmarket v Avenue. I'll go 2-1 avenue.
I was present
Is lathair agus ceart.
Shuffleruns
27/11/2014, 3:44 PM
Steven kelly . Daithi o Connell. Alan brigdale . Matty nugent.david Reidy.darren murphy.thats just a few that are missing from last year..apparently murphy got a hump because manager gave out to him after conceding penalty ..murphy is probably the best full back clare have ever produced..manager should be calling to him to work it out.. ( without begging him )
thought he was a centre back..? Must of changed....
Second
27/11/2014, 7:22 PM
thought he was a centre back..? Must of changed....
Shows what you know..
FYI a lad can play more than 1 position.. He can play both centre back and right back and IMO he is the best right back in clare..but not the best centre back..
footballfriend
27/11/2014, 8:33 PM
Second he plays all his games at centre half bar the few times he has played right back for Clare. The are two very different positions and demand different things.
Second
27/11/2014, 8:45 PM
Second he plays all his games at centre half bar the few times he has played right back for Clare. The are two very different positions and demand different things.
No disrespect but what's the point to your post..as said above he can play both positions and IMO he's a great centre back.but an exceptional right back..
footballfriend
27/11/2014, 9:48 PM
My point if he has played 4/5 times at right back, its a big statement to say he is exceptional at right back. Considering he plays 95% of his games at centre half. But no doubt he is one of the top 4 backs in the county. Just think he should be playing in his 'normal' position.
AC Melon
27/11/2014, 9:54 PM
Was he playing right back or centre back for OT last year?
Shuffleruns
27/11/2014, 10:47 PM
Shows what you know..
FYI a lad can play more than 1 position.. He can play both centre back and right back and IMO he is the best right back in clare..but not the best centre back..
Ha. I played with the lad plenty and every game he was at centre half. Sure good players can play anywhere!
Darren is a very good centre half, a decent right back I'd imagine though I can't remember seeing him playing there but I think he has ended up in the centre half role to make up for the lacking infront of him through the years at club level.
If the Bridge could find another centre half I think he would make an excellent central midfielder.
Second
28/11/2014, 8:00 AM
Darren is a very good centre half, a decent right back I'd imagine though I can't remember seeing him playing there but I think he has ended up in the centre half role to make up for the lacking infront of him through the years at club level.
If the Bridge could find another centre half I think he would make an excellent central midfielder.
Good point but I'd worry about him in the centre as he isn't vocal enough. . Very quiet lad.. but no doubt has the ability to play there ..
Shuffleruns
28/11/2014, 10:24 AM
He should play upfront or behind the centre backs he's that good!
It's a disgrace the lad isn't shortlisted for the FIFA Ballon d'Or.
mouldedstuds
28/11/2014, 4:19 PM
avenue to beat newmarket? no chance.
a draw if they are lucky. league is over
Rider Cups
28/11/2014, 6:09 PM
Darren might be a pretty good defender but he must be an extremely sensitive soul if the manager can't have a word after he conceded what was a fairly sloppy penalty , which cost Clare the win.
OnMeHead
28/11/2014, 10:36 PM
Murphy wasn't enjoying playing for the manager, its that simple, he plays with the bridge because he likes playing soccer with his friends and enjoy his football, plenty teams knocking on his door offering him money to play and he said no, status isn't a priority for him, few of ye should get off his back on here.
AC Melon
29/11/2014, 11:57 AM
Murphy wasn't enjoying playing for the manager, its that simple, he plays with the bridge because he likes playing soccer with his friends and enjoy his football, plenty teams knocking on his door offering him money to play and he said no, status isn't a priority for him, few of ye should get off his back on here.
Fair enough he is dedicated to the bridge, but clearly doesn't want to better himself in football. He could be playing with alot better than what he is, not getting "on his back" as you say, but alot of lads would give their right arm to have the quality and opportunities that he has had.
Rider Cups
29/11/2014, 1:10 PM
Just a general point , i'm sure there were lads that didn't like playing for Loughnane or Fitzy but now they have all ireland medals , it.s a managers job to tell it as it is , it's not very nice but it has to be done.
avenueC
29/11/2014, 4:01 PM
most teams wouldnt be able to field 11 players if they all took the hump to a manager bollicking them at some stage.
thecritic
29/11/2014, 7:41 PM
probably The best full back clare has ever produced????? thats some statement to make shuffleruns you must have been round clare soccer for a long time to make a statement like that.
Shuffleruns
29/11/2014, 7:52 PM
probably The best full back clare has ever produced????? thats some statement to make shuffleruns you must have been round clare soccer for a long time to make a statement like that.
Where did I say that???
He's a centre back that plays full back too, so?
Not too long really know the clubs that's all!
Shuffleruns
29/11/2014, 8:07 PM
Predictions:
Newmarket Celtic A 1 v 2 Avenue Utd A (11am)
Bridge Celtic 1 v 2 Tulla Utd A (2pm)
Ennis Town 0 v 2 Bridge Utd A (11am)
Lifford 0 v 4 Shannon Olympic A (2pm)
Second
29/11/2014, 8:11 PM
It was me that made that statement.. and ya I've been watching junior football over 30 years..and can't think of a full back as good as him.. its just my opinion..
If you disagree who would you have up there
talisman
29/11/2014, 10:03 PM
[QUOTE=Second;1795200]It was me that made that statement.. and ya I've been watching junior football over 30 years..and can't think of a full back as good as him.. its just my opinion..
If you disagree who would you have up
Can think of a few currently Eoin O Brien & Matty Nugent at his best.
footballfriend
30/11/2014, 2:23 PM
Bridge 1 Rock 1
Newmarket 4 Avenue 0
Tage 1 Corofin 1.
League all over now.
fatronaldo
30/11/2014, 4:13 PM
Lifford 0 Olympic 8 shocking score line whats goin on there at all?
footballfriend
30/11/2014, 4:48 PM
Managerless at the moment anyways they are. Lenny gone back to Norway.
fatronaldo
30/11/2014, 4:57 PM
Were they missing players as well?with all there players there they should not be getting walloped like that. .
Second
30/11/2014, 5:10 PM
Were they missing players as well?with all there players there they should not be getting walloped like that. .
Lads maybe Olympic played well.. ever think of that..They have improved massively this year some very good additions from last year..
younglawd
01/12/2014, 11:38 AM
Anyone any report from bridge rock game? Doubt bridge will be happy looking at rocks league run so far
Hibs7772
02/12/2014, 2:27 AM
Lifford 0 Olympic 8 shocking score line whats goin on there at all?
Anyone have a report and/or scorers for this thumping olympic gave Lifford?
footballfriend
03/12/2014, 5:18 PM
Higgins to Newmarket I hear.
Shuffleruns
03/12/2014, 6:11 PM
Good on him
AC Melon
03/12/2014, 6:48 PM
Sky sports news or you know him personally?
footballfriend
03/12/2014, 7:17 PM
Sky sources I supp is what Id say :-) Just something heard. Just wanted to see if anyone knew anything. Good win Sunday for ye. What happend?
Wishicouldplay
03/12/2014, 7:32 PM
Dont think he'll leave in the middle of a great season for Olympic...one or two more good results and they could hold top five finish well don to them so far...
Side Cutter
04/12/2014, 8:10 AM
Dont think he'll leave in the middle of a great season for Olympic...one or two more good results and they could hold top five finish well don to them so far...
But he will win the league if he joins newmarket?
First
04/12/2014, 10:04 AM
FootballFriend where did you hear this?
footballfriend
04/12/2014, 5:16 PM
A little birdy told me as they would. He has told about previous signings before and was right every time. Not saying that its true this time around.
Second
04/12/2014, 7:00 PM
A little birdy told me as they would. He has told about previous signings before and was right every time. Not saying that its true this time around.
I hope it wasn't the same birdy that told you if you sign for avenue you'll win things..
footballfriend
04/12/2014, 9:35 PM
Great input as always Second. Really contributing to the conversation.
Second
04/12/2014, 9:41 PM
Great input as always Second. Really contributing to the conversation.
Says your man .. throwing out stupid transfer rumours.
footballfriend
04/12/2014, 10:13 PM
Its a local soccer forum for discussion on such matters not your snid remarks.