View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2014/15
Pages :
[
2]
Langerdan007
05/08/2014, 10:05 PM
How do men - been out of the loop for a while - no surprise to hear teams struggling to field teams - things very slow getting going for ourselves this year
I'd be for playing a nice few games early on - i'd doubt all clubs would play every Friday but it would help getting a few extra games on the board before any weather delays or anything - I'd also like to see the few B teams there are in the leagues being the ones getting the most games played early - they always struggle later missing out for Munster Junior/FAI and things their A's are stuck in which unbalances the leagues
last man back
05/08/2014, 10:31 PM
That's a good point about b teams. Was talking to a friend who plays in north tipp. They play diviosnal shield over first 2 weeks, Wednesday / Sunday / Wednesday / Sunday . I think we should do the same with league cup would also give teams a chance to get squad together .
This was done about 8 years ago but some clubs objected saying if they were out of contention in January they'd have nothing left to play for and it was scrapped
last man back
06/08/2014, 4:15 PM
No change to date for start of season. First games Sunday 17th August .
fanaticfan
06/08/2014, 11:55 PM
Thought the league was starting on the friday 15th no? friday and sunday for the first two weeks. Could be wrong though
sportsfanatic
07/08/2014, 10:21 AM
No it's starting Sunday 17th and then games the next Friday and Sunday, it was announced at the meeting Tuesday night
Langerdan007
07/08/2014, 1:52 PM
That's a good point about b teams. Was talking to a friend who plays in north tipp. They play diviosnal shield over first 2 weeks, Wednesday / Sunday / Wednesday / Sunday . I think we should do the same with league cup would also give teams a chance to get squad together .
This was done about 8 years ago but some clubs objected saying if they were out of contention in January they'd have nothing left to play for and it was scrapped
I was only thinking about that the other night LMB - the league cup used last 3-4 weeks - allowed teams play into the start of the season and got the majority of the GAA boys back into the fold before the league started BUT I can see the reasoning on why it was changed - its true you could be playing for nothing by January and last season we went on a run to the final which kept us going up to the end, we'd have had zero to play for with 5 or 6 games left and as is the tradition with teams in that position, finding it hard to field a team
fanaticfan
08/08/2014, 10:45 AM
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting,but I've been following this site for the last couple of years and I think it's great. I have been going to desmond league games for the last 20 + years. I try and see as many games as I can,from premier right down the divisions. I know its only pre-season,but there are two teams that I think will have a season. First is Newcastle. I was told by a good friend that they are going after 5 top players and they should have them by the start of the season. The second is a team in division 1.Pallaskenry. they got in a new manager and they have a premier manager from town doing there pre-season training with them and they got in a number of new players. Two weeks ago I watched them play summervill A and the final score was 3-3. I must say they played some great ball.well they are the two teams I will be keeping a close eye on
you must be watching newcastle rovers old man. if your talking about newcastle west afc then you must be mad. Havent they lost seoirse joyce,adam collins,padraig kinahan and peter shanahan to ncw rovers? And scott hurley to broadford? And michael quilligan to rathkeale? Going by someones post earlier the fitzgeralds have left as well? i guess we wont know until.the league actually starts i suppose.
fanaticfan
08/08/2014, 10:55 AM
Who is everyone tipping to win the league? im going to go for rathkeale this year. Heard they brought in peter and declan nash from the city league and michael quilligan from newcastle west.. they went to the final game of the season with broadford so ill tip them if they have brought in those players.
Im going to tip newcastle west and killeaney to go down to the first division. Killeaney are like yoyos going down then back up and down again and then back up. Im only tipping newcastle to go down from the reasons that supposedly they have lost alot of their players from last year
sexyfootball
08/08/2014, 1:05 PM
I heard Declan Nash signed alright as well as Micahel Quilligan, apparently Seoirse Joyce was training with them too! Didn't hear anything about Peter Nash though, Keith Hartnett was supposed to be going back aswell (I know it's said every year) but i think he's out injured at the moment! Still reckon Broadford are the team to beat though, they just seem to play well together, don't understand how they haven't won more to be honest! And with Scott Hurley & Tony Quaid joining them (apparently), they will take beating. I reckon Abbey will be there or there abouts too myself.
sportsfanatic
08/08/2014, 8:36 PM
Ballingarry won 6:1 against Adare with a mix of A and B players. Heard Danny Neville signed for Rathkeale this year which will be a big boost for them
fanaticfan
08/08/2014, 8:40 PM
For Win or Promotion
Premier:- NCW Rovers or Rathkeale
1st Division:- Kildimo or Athea
2nd Division:- Askeaton or Shauntrade
Did you not see how athea finished last season? Athea finished in top half of the table. Glin and rockhill got relegated from the premier
sportsfanatic
08/08/2014, 9:53 PM
Doubt Keith Hartnet would go from being paid at Pike to Rathkeale, he is injured at the moment so is helping out with management supposedly
Abbeyman
09/08/2014, 1:52 PM
At the rate they are going will there be anyone from Rathkeale playing for Rathkeale this year ?
last man back
09/08/2014, 8:04 PM
I've been told newcastlewest will only have one team this year
Langerdan007
10/08/2014, 9:40 PM
If true thats huge! Will leave Div 2 a team short (Does that mean only one relegated then??) but more importantly would be a big indication that they have lost many of their players as discussed up the thread!
sexyfootball
11/08/2014, 8:39 AM
I hope this is just speculation, bad news if it is true. I hope they get a team together for both there A's & B's. Nobody likes to see good club just turn. It's like what happened to Askeaton... there trying to rebulid there again this year.
I heard from a few people that clubs are going to meet the league committee to try & get the start of the league season pushed back a week or 2 also.
sportsfanatic with regards to Danny Neville, I heard that too.. however with him being involved with Limerick his involvement will probarbly be up until early December, & you're right about Keith Hartnett he has done a few trainings for them.
old man
11/08/2014, 10:16 AM
you must be watching newcastle rovers old man. if your talking about newcastle west afc then you must be mad. Havent they lost seoirse joyce,adam collins,padraig kinahan and peter shanahan to ncw rovers? And scott hurley to broadford? And michael quilligan to rathkeale? Going by someones post earlier the fitzgeralds have left as well? i guess we wont know until.the league actually starts i suppose. like I said a good friend told me they are after 5 top players. Everything this man has every told me befor has been spot on.those anybody know why all these players are leaving newcastle
fanaticfan
11/08/2014, 10:45 AM
I heard yesterday that newcastle will have only one team this year. That the B team players are playing with the As this year to fill a team
nathanbrown
11/08/2014, 11:33 AM
What players have ye brought in at Pallaskenry Old Man? If you feel ye are capable of going from relegation contenders to potential champions ye must have brought in a lot
Horan01
11/08/2014, 1:22 PM
Is the desmond league website gone??
old man
11/08/2014, 1:39 PM
What players have ye brought in at Pallaskenry Old Man? If you feel ye are capable of going from relegation contenders to potential champions ye must have brought in a lot
I have nothing to do with Pallaskenry or any other team.i enjoy going to matchs. All I know is they got in a few lads and they are
Training hard the last few weeks. I saw them Saturday play against breska. They won 2-0. By the way breska looked good. Cant see why they won't go straight back up to division 1
Langerdan007
11/08/2014, 1:54 PM
Was it ever there????
Get the nets
11/08/2014, 2:41 PM
New desmond league website, ldfl.leaguerepublic.com, next Sundays fixtures are up too!
sexyfootball
11/08/2014, 2:48 PM
I've been saying that for ages... Why won't anybody listen to me!!! don't know what the story is... completley gone like!!
twotouch
11/08/2014, 2:56 PM
10/08/14List of fixtures for 1st day of the 2014-15 seasonSunday 17th August
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Broadford Utd V Athea Utd 1130 (J. Roche)
Killeaney V Carrig Celtic 1130 (D. O?Gorman)
Newcastle West V Shannonside FC 1130 (G. O?Connor)
Rathkeale V Ballingarry 1130 (T. Fitzmaurice)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Feenagh V Old Mill 1130 (D. Wallace)
Glin Rovers V Rathkeale B 230 (P. Manning)
Pallaskenry V Kildimo Utd 1130 (P. O?Connor)
St. Itas V Glantine 1130 (C. Dalton)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Adare Utd V Askeaton 1130 (L. O?Connor)
Creeves Celtic V Granagh Utd 1130 (S. Hartnett)
Ferry Rangers V Bally Rovers 1130 (P. O?Donnell)
Shountrade V Breska Rovers 1130 (P. King)
Weekly Observer Division 3
Askeaton B V Feenagh B 230 (P. O?Brien)
Ballingarry B V St. Itas B 230 (J. Molyneaux)
Carrig Celtic B V Glin Rovers B 1130 (P. O?Brien)
Glantine B V Athea Utd B 230 (C. Dalton)
Knockaderry V Newcastle West Rovers B 230 (E. Barrett)
Shannonside FC B V Broadford Utd B 230 in Shanagolden (P. King)
got from http://ldfl.leaguerepublic.com/
also worth noting that Abbeyfeale have a free weekend for the 1st weekend of the season ..... start the way they mean to go on by haveing a pile of fixtures at the end of the season again
Langerdan007
11/08/2014, 3:14 PM
Haha - very annoying, as regulars will have seen me go on about before - neither their A's or B's have a game
NWRvrs have a B team as well - is Newcastle West big enough for 4 junior teams?
last man back
11/08/2014, 4:33 PM
Ah that's a bit of a joke free weekend for 1st rd of fixtures. They should be made play midweek to fulfill the fixture. Sports fanatic that meeting you speak of was held last Tuesday night as far as I know
southern kid
11/08/2014, 7:10 PM
Hey guys, did not post in a while as I was away so not really in touch wit local football, That is a shame if it's true about ncw, how does tings go so bad so fast for dem, I kno dey have a few dead ducks on committee one was on the Desmond schoolboys committee a few yrs back,goin by all the rumours it's goin to be btwn ratkeale an brdf to fight it out for lge, will da senior gaa effect both of them tho? Sh side shud do ok wit their new signings,carrig impressed in lge cup final last yr so will do ok, abbey have lost good few players by all acc so u wud expect dem to struggle, on a desperate note, wat difference does it make wat wknd a club uses their free wknd, if it's first wk fifth wk or tenth wk it's the same ting, here's hoping for good standard of football for season....
sweeper
11/08/2014, 7:30 PM
Doubt Keith Hartnet would go from being paid at Pike to Rathkeale, he is injured at the moment so is helping out with management supposedly
Wouldn't think he was getting paid,i think pike only pay maybe 3 or 4 of the top players petrol money to keep them sweet.
Langerdan007
11/08/2014, 8:26 PM
Its not when a free weekend is used Southern Kid that the issue is with - all clubs have weddings/stags/occasions that must be fit in during the season, thats fine, they may even fall on the first weekend which is also fine - the issue is that every season (to me anyway & maybe a few more posting here) Abbeyfeale A's or B's never seem to play any games till the new year, they always seem to end up with loads of games in hand and playing batches of games together at the end, possibly, not always the case but sometimes against teams that at that point of the season have little to play for and might be caught with fellas going to play GAA rather than fulfill a full fixture program. The point we are making is that there should be more of an effort to have even games played across the division. TBF, they have a serious pitch and they also have lights, there is no reason why with a bit of common sense they couldnt get the same games played as everyone else, the fact neither plays the 1st week just compounds the perception, maybe we'll be proven wrong.
I'd say there's fellas in there getting more than petrol money somehow!
last man back
11/08/2014, 9:26 PM
To be fair lads we have to give credit where its due, new website looks a big improvement. We can be a bit critical at times but i'd say a bit of work went into it
fanaticfan
12/08/2014, 12:02 AM
Hey guys, did not post in a while as I was away so not really in touch wit local football, That is a shame if it's true about ncw, how does tings go so bad so fast for dem, I kno dey have a few dead ducks on committee one was on the Desmond schoolboys committee a few yrs back,goin by all the rumours it's goin to be btwn ratkeale an brdf to fight it out for lge, will da senior gaa effect both of them tho? Sh side shud do ok wit their new signings,carrig impressed in lge cup final last yr so will do ok, abbey have lost good few players by all acc so u wud expect dem to struggle, on a desperate note, wat difference does it make wat wknd a club uses their free wknd, if it's first wk fifth wk or tenth wk it's the same ting, here's hoping for good standard of football for season....
whats wrong with newcastle west committee? is there something going on in the club that some people dont know about?
what players have shannonside brought in this year?
what players have left abbeyfeale?
fanaticfan
12/08/2014, 12:10 AM
The website looks very good also. Lets hope they keep the cup competitions upto date also. The last website had cup competitions from few years back and not update.
sexyfootball
12/08/2014, 8:30 AM
In fairness, sometimes having a back log of fixtures can be a bad thing, they didn't exactly stay up with ease last season, plus if any club gets a run in the Munster junior or FAI, those fixtures take precedent sure NCW had a share of back fixtures also & Broadford will be in the same situation with the Munster Senior & that Champions cup this season!
I think the reason for the postponement of both games is one of the Abbey players is getting married over the weekend & the game has been booked off since last season by all accounts.
The new website looks good now alright, fair play to whoever is running it, hopefully it is updated now!
Here's to a deadly Desmond League Season!!
Langerdan007
12/08/2014, 9:39 AM
The website is hugely improved on its predecessor! I'm sure if you've gone to the effort of getting it made it will be used, fingers crossed.
Yes cup runs complicate things alright but no team should be able to get into a situation where they are more than 2 games behind anyone else in their division - Everyone plays or nobody plays, the teams that go 3, 4 or 5 games ahead only end up having 2 or 3 weeks between games at the end anyway, I dont see how an even spread cant be maintained even if it means only 2 games get played in a division on a weekend in October when conditions are good to catch teams up - the men that make the fixtures will probably disagree and say that games have to be played when they can and as ever Irish weather cannot be counted on from mid November so it is very much a juggling act
WhoShotJR
12/08/2014, 10:14 AM
Ah sure here we go again, Abbeyfeale missing games already, to be fair its quiet unfair on teams in the same league as the way the league goes teams play their season spread out and this has teams putting in inconsistant performances as they don't exactly have a run of games to keep a bit of form going. You would have then the GAA and other sports breaking up between games so you are switching between sports. Like then for Abbeyfeale when it comes to the end of the season they have 6-7 matches in a row which makes it easier to get into form and play a better standard of football as you are playing soccer constantly and its not being broken up. for me I think it offers an unfair advantage to them
limerick4liam
12/08/2014, 11:06 AM
kildimo 1 Prospect 4....Kildimo certainly have a lot of work of work to do from what I saw, fitness levels extremely poor. apparently they were missing some of their better players through work/J1s but not good signs ahead of the new season. Pallaskenry have been training hard for the past few weeks but I would have them as a team who could go down this year. Looking forward to a good season
Have It
12/08/2014, 1:11 PM
Any bookies do prices for the local leagues?
Also the new website says there is only one Friday night game at the start of the season and it's not next week it's the 29th. Thought they were playing 2?
Langerdan007
12/08/2014, 1:55 PM
Collins' in Askeaton used to price up the soccer anyway - not sure if still the case
nathanbrown
12/08/2014, 2:09 PM
Wheres the new website, cant seem to find it. Old address still comes up as suspended and its not in google search.
WhoShotJR
12/08/2014, 2:15 PM
http://ldfl.leaguerepublic.com/l/league/6093030.html
Langerdan007
12/08/2014, 2:42 PM
twotouch posted it with the fixtures for next weekend other than that I'd say we'd all still be in the dark with it
http://ldfl.leaguerepublic.com/ (http://ldfl.leaguerepublic.com/)
walkover
12/08/2014, 2:54 PM
Any bookies do prices for the local leagues?
Also the new website says there is only one Friday night game at the start of the season and it's not next week it's the 29th. Thought they were playing 2?
I think it was decided to play one Friday night game on the 29th only, as the youths league was starting on Sat the 23rd.
So would be hard on junior teams with youth players, as young lads would be playing 3 games in the weekend.
Have It
12/08/2014, 3:23 PM
That clears that up nicely. Thanks lads
fanaticfan
12/08/2014, 9:20 PM
Its.going to be tight this year to win the premier division. All teams have signed good players this year. Shannonside signed daniel power, anthony o donnell and tony quaid from newcastle west.
Newcastle rovers signing darragh woods from killeaney.seoirse joyce ,adam collins , peter shanahan and the kinahan and woods guys from newcastle also.
Broadford have signed scott hurley from newcastle west
Rathkeale have signed peter nash and declan nash from the district league and michael quilligan from newcastle west
Any Others signings going through??
i dont Know if they are 100% certain though
old man
14/08/2014, 2:49 PM
Saw Pallaskenry beat creeves 4-1 Tuesday night.saw kildimo beat ballysteen 5-2 last night.i cant understand why people would think Pallaskenry would go down this year.but saying that division 1 looks very tough this year.i cant see kildimo doing as well this year as they did last year
thomas72
14/08/2014, 7:54 PM
Carew park 3 Rathkeale 0
old man
14/08/2014, 9:12 PM
Just watched breska beat kildimo 2-0 .breska will surely get promoted this year
nathanbrown
15/08/2014, 6:22 AM
Who have Pallaskenry signed that makes you think they are so good this year Old Man?
nathanbrown
15/08/2014, 6:34 AM
Premier League: Rathkeale. Dark horses: NCW Rvrs
Division 1: St Itas. Dark Horses: Abbeyfeale B (Tough division to call)
Division 2: Askeaton. Dark Horses: Shountrade
Division 3: I honestly have no idea what any team is like
Desmond Cup: Broadford. Dark horses: Askeaton
Just a couple of predictions. Mainly based on what I have heard of how teams are going. Rathkeale seem to have made some very good signings. Askeaton apparently have the same team back together that got them to Premier a few years ago, depending on the draw they could put a dent in Desmond Cup if things dont fall apart for them again