View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2014/15

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15

PatRooney
15/05/2015, 12:17 PM
Glin and Kildimo did finish on the same points?

Langerdan007
15/05/2015, 12:39 PM
Glin and Kildimo did finish on the same points?

Sorry I was looking at the "Detailed" table and looked at the wrong column as points! So they did

seaniefitz
15/05/2015, 1:55 PM
[QUOTE=UnitedweStand;1818863] Would you honestly rather Kildimo's first class facilities of heated car seats to change in and a shower of a bottle of Ballygowan thrown over you. Plus a loveley tree to protect you from the rain.. No offence to the Kildimo players or management meant here but I know where I would rather go on a cold wet Sunday morning..

Just to be clear........Kildimo United do not supply the Ballygowan.........Ye need to bring that yourselves :-) Don't want people showing up in Kildimo next season expecting to be spoiled!!!

fanaticfan
15/05/2015, 2:16 PM
The issue isn't about facilities or whatever. It is about the playoff / relegation saga. It was always the case if rathkeale b won the division 1 then 2nd and 3rd get promoted but all of a sudden its not now??? The league haven't a clue what they are doing. Carrig finished 2nd last so should go down. Even tho they have decent dressing rooms and stand and kildimo don't. Hopefully it will be sorted asap

Langerdan007
15/05/2015, 2:34 PM
Is GLIN-v-KILDIMO fixed for the weekend?

Is it being played????

Crazy Lady
15/05/2015, 3:42 PM
Well said fanaticfan, it has nothing to do with facilities. People seem to be missing the point here. Glin & Kildimo were both informed that they were promoted, it was even in The Weekly Observer & on Live 95FM that both Kildimo & Glin had been promoted. Therefore one couldn't blame either team for not pushing 100% in the closing stages of the league when they'd already been informed that they were both going up.
Then when the league was concluded this all happened & all of a sudden these play-offs were conjured up out of thin air, it's a disgrace! Maybe the Desmond League are looking for 2 pay days in Clonreask.
And to correct ye I most certainly am not anti-Carrig but this has really ****ed me off as they had 9 months to keep themselves up, wern't good enough & then wern't willing to just accept their fate. Just because it's a rule in another rule doesn't make it a rule our league. And phrase it whatever way ye like, objecting to or questioning it is all the same! Have really lost a lot of respect for them as a club since this incident & also have even less respect for Desmond League now than I previously had, which wasn't much!
What would happen if the losers of Sunday's playoff refuse to play Carrig?

Crazy Lady
15/05/2015, 3:43 PM
Yeah it's on Sunday in Clonreask at 11.30 and it's going ahead alright

last man back
15/05/2015, 4:12 PM
League have dealt with this badly i agree but just for the record ncw rovers played broadford b in a div 2/3 playoff about 15 years ago, i think it was because villa rovers pulled out exact same situation with rovers finishing 2nd from bottom and broadford 3rd in div below. So mabey the rule was there all along

Langerdan007
15/05/2015, 4:50 PM
If that is the case Last Man Back it reflects even worse on the league! I'm sure the League PRO didn't go on a solo run with his announcing of the promotions to all and sundry! The left hand has zero idea about what the right hand is doing if he did!!

UnitedweStand
15/05/2015, 5:54 PM
Well inn airless crazy lady , you are the one who brought up the facilities and now everyone is missing the point because they are talking about it.just say abbey b Rathkeale b now rovers b and broad ford b finished top 4 in division 1, would you want 5th and 6th getting promoted to the premier? To me the best teams should be in the premier league to make it as competitive as possible. Playoff decides this.

fanaticfan
15/05/2015, 9:13 PM
I remember few years ago real Madrid's second team (real Madrid castilla) or something like that, well they came 1st,2nd or 3rd in the second division (i cant rememeber) and couldn't get promoted because Real Madrid were in the LA Liga. The team below them went up and there was no playoff with a team that got relegated from the premier. Carrig got relegated this year so should rightly go down to the second division and rightly so.

mad4it
15/05/2015, 9:51 PM
First time I've heard carrig, kildimo and glin mentioned in the same breath as Real Madrid!!

old man
16/05/2015, 12:23 AM
Who do ye think will go up.i think kildimo will beat glin 3-0 at least.carrig will also beat them. I have said in the past kildimo facilities aren't up to standard,But those that mean they should not go up.cop on.

fanaticfan
16/05/2015, 12:39 AM
I was talking about the situation mad4it. I think glin will beat kildimo but glin vs carrig is a close one to call

old man
16/05/2015, 12:51 AM
Saw glin 5 times this year,only once before Christmas .by far a better team before Christmas , I was very surprised they finished 3rd after the last 4 times I saw them.Saw kildimo a good few times. If kildimo turn up with a full team,I can't see them losing.as for carrig I'd say they would want glin

UnitedweStand
16/05/2015, 11:35 AM
In my mind bottom 2 go down, top 2 go up. Glin or
Kildimo won't finish in te top 2 so why do they deserve a place in the premier instead of carrig.

Crazy Lady
16/05/2015, 11:44 AM
I've heard that the match off tomorrow as both Kildimo & Glin are refusing to play (and rightly so), any truth in this?

fanaticfan
16/05/2015, 3:25 PM
In my mind bottom 2 go down, top 2 go up. Glin or
Kildimo won't finish in te top 2 so why do they deserve a place in the premier instead of carrig.

Ya your right there but all along was if a B team won the first division then second and third go up so why should it be different now? Carrig finished second last in the premier so should go down. End of

fanaticfan
16/05/2015, 3:29 PM
I've heard that the match off tomorrow as both Kildimo & Glin are refusing to play (and rightly so), any truth in this?

Hopefully it is right. Both deserve to go up before all this stuff came out. They should show the league that they ain't taking any of this c**p. Fair play to both sides for not playing if it is true

tricky
17/05/2015, 8:57 AM
What a load of, that playoff is to find out who finished 2nd or 3rd which would have to happen anyway,

fanaticfan
17/05/2015, 5:00 PM
Premier league cup final
Abbeyfeale 2-2 Carrig
Abbey win 5-4 on pens

PatRooney
18/05/2015, 9:32 AM
Did Glin and Kildimo play yesterday?

Langerdan007
18/05/2015, 10:36 AM
As I understand PatRooney it didnt - Tricky I know technically its to decide 2nd/3rd in the league but if its played it would give the league the chance to fix a "Relegation Final" between the 3rd placed team and Carrig - i think the 2 clubs are right to stand together on the issue rather than let the loser fight it out on their own!

I dont understand why the relegated team is getting the huge advantage in this situation.

I have no idea how the season panned out for Carrig but I think its fair to say not very well since they were 2nd last
Again I dont know how their squad was throughout but potentially they could have lost key players to GAA/work/myriad of other reasons and as a result didnt secure enough points to stay up BUT now they have a one off game where potentially if they had fellas missing for a large chunk of games get them back in for the relegation final and possibly stay up!

Glin/Kildimo on the other hand have accumulated 38 points each, they've had to maintain their form over an extended period to keep themselves up and around the top of their table and ultimately been 2nd and 3rd and now all that consistent effort can be wiped away by a playoff that appeared out of nowhere at the end of the season.

Doesn't seem right really

UnitedweStand
18/05/2015, 11:22 AM
To me it doesn't seem right to have a 3rd place team being promoted either. As mentioned in a previous post, what if 4 B teams finished in the top 4 positions. Would it be right for a 5th & 6th place team to get promoted? Desmond league got it wrong by not having something in place for a scenario like this but the playoff seemed like the right solution and I am guessing they got this idea from other leagues around Munster. Doesn't look like anything is going to happen anytime soon. Bit of a sour taste at the end of the season.

sexyfootball
18/05/2015, 12:35 PM
Langerdan007 stop talking so much sense, no place for that here :eek: !!
Carrig have lost on pens to Abbey in both the Desmond Cup & League Cup... Abbey who now have a chance of the treble, so are obviously not a bad side. I was very surprised they were in the position they were, don't know what happened there.
Really need this sorted sooner rather than later though, reminds me of a few seasons ago when Rathkeale put in an objection in relation to the Desmond Cup... the season will be dragging on for the 3 teams concerned 'do we go training, do we need too, have a GAA match that weekend, Holidays etc. it's just a mess at this stage!
Whats gonna happen if neither Glin nor Kildimo decide to play?

Shoot
18/05/2015, 12:59 PM
All clubs should go on strike in support of Kildimo and Glin

tricky
18/05/2015, 1:26 PM
I am sorry but a third placed team could finish 10 points behind second, or if 4 or 5 b teams come top of the first division then team 6 and 7 go up!!! It is def unfortunate for all teams involved, I would like to see the playoffs as they would be very interesting games

snafu
18/05/2015, 1:31 PM
So we have heard what people think is "fair" and what is right for humanity etc. etc, but does anyone actually know what the rules state on this issue?

All this does is overshadow the fact that Abbeyfeale are one game away from completed an unprecedented treble, I cant imagine that this has been done many times before.

Apologies if i have offended anyone in my most recent post.

Langerdan007
18/05/2015, 4:39 PM
I'm told there is no rule snafu but there must be something in the league rules

I understand the argument about what if there were 4 or 5 B teams who couldn't go up and that 4th or 5th in a division doesn't really deserve to go up but if they win a playoff does that make them worthy?
Actually there was talk earlier about goal difference not counting - ya there can be some "weird" score's due to a number of things that could skew the goal difference but was it ever considered to use the Head to Head to separate teams???

Fair play to Abbey so far - is that Desmond Cup Final on this weekend?

fanaticfan
18/05/2015, 6:18 PM
I think broadford, rathkeale or Newcastle West won did the treble few year ago

PatKing
18/05/2015, 10:12 PM
Just heard that there's no playoff, glin and kildimo up, carrig down, rule introduced starting next season that playoff will decide promotion if a B team wins a league, which could very well happen next season given the quality of Rathkeale B throughout the season across the competitions. Fair play to Abbey, saw win against Moyross, totally dominated.

Langerdan007
19/05/2015, 9:40 AM
Good to see a decision was made - finally - interesting choice of username :D

mad4it
19/05/2015, 7:54 PM
Has there been a meeting to decide that? Do glin and kildimo still have to playoff for 2nd and 3rd?

southern kid
23/05/2015, 11:54 AM
Hi guys, any news on that playoff situation in Desmond league? Is Desmond cup final on tonight??

Johnnie C
24/05/2015, 2:05 PM
Desmond Cup final is next Saturday evening. Glin B beat Broadford B 4-1 in Div 3 League Cup final last Friday evening. There was a piece in Carrig notes in paper this week about the promotion/relegation situation. There was no rule in place about Division 1 being won by a B team and who would then be promoted/relegated so Carrig approached the 3rd place team looking for a play off but they refused so Carrig accepted relegation. Glin and Kildimo did finish level on points so I don't know if they will playoff for runnerup medals ?

Johnnie C
29/05/2015, 1:26 PM
Live coverage of the cup final tomorrow evening on West Limerick 102FM from 6.45.

southern kid
30/05/2015, 10:12 AM
Best of luck to both teams tonight, it should be good game of ball as both teams play the game in right manner. I always like Desmond cup night as it's a night anything can happen out there, I remember kilcolman taking a serious ratkeale to reply an likewise at itas to ncw an glin be beating a much fancied ncw a few yrs back.. Hopefully a crowd turns up to support an are not ripped off at the gate..

Johnnie C
30/05/2015, 7:52 PM
Treble for Abbey, won 3-1.

southern kid
06/06/2015, 10:21 AM
Well done to abbeyfeale on an excellent season an also to ratkeale B on a brill season, I was at the game sat nite, I thought ratkeale worked their socks off but abbey always looked in control wit out playing the same way I say them against moyross and ncw rovers. I'm sure they will not be too bothered though. Is that the season finally over in Desmond lge.. On a seperate note, I was talking to an old buddy of mine an he told me the over 35s were cancelled due to Desmond lge committee not allowing it over insurance. I could not believe they would stop so many people that has giving so much to the game out there playing what was always a very enjoyable couple of wks... SHAME ON YOU COMMITTEE. Looks like it was one farce after another in last few months! Rant over. Well done to all winning teams this season, enjoy break

sexyfootball
09/06/2015, 11:32 AM
Yeah great season for Abbeyfeale winning the treble not often done, on top of that reaching the last 8 of the Munster Junior.
Fair play to Rathkeale B too, great season for them Div 1 winners and Desmond Cup finalists...
Personally delighted to see Askeaton win Div 2, hopefully they can challenge in Division 1 next season.
On a side note great win for the Desmond League team yesterday in UL against Donegal in the Kennedy Cup!

southern kid
09/06/2015, 6:31 PM
Ya and they beat cork 2 nil an won 4-1 this eve to too the group so well done to all players managers involved

sexyfootball
10/06/2015, 7:55 AM
Well done to the players & management is right.
They're Playing Dundalk at 1pm today in the quarters... flying the Limerick flag!

sexyfootball
10/06/2015, 1:44 PM
Desmond beat Dundalk 3-0, now play Kerry (who beat Galway 2-0) in the semi final tomorrow at 1 o'clock.
Deadly stuff!

southern kid
11/06/2015, 12:45 PM
Nil all half time, Kerry were better team in 1st half.. Big crowd here in ul

sexyfootball
11/06/2015, 4:50 PM
Lost 11-10 on Pens... I think, lost count!! played in front of a great crowd at the 'UL Bowl'.
Played very well in the second half, equalising almost straight away after falling behind.
Then Kerry were reduced to 10, after their keeper was sent off (deservedly) Desmond were well on top.
Bryan Nix very unlucky with a free kick off the bar & soon after a great header (couldn't see who) JUST wide.
The lottery of penalties is a terrible way to decide the winners of such a great game and the Semi-final of an All Ireland especially.. both keepers pulled off great saves... Kerry prevailed.
Well done to all, they played exceptionally well & hopefully can win the 3rd/ 4th place match tomorrow... regardless of the result what an achievement by all concerned! Well Done.

southern kid
11/06/2015, 8:15 PM
Ya I agree with that, very harsh way to loose after great performance, ddsl to win it anyway but well done to all for such an enjoyable game of ball. The only problem now for managers of clubs at that age group in Desmond is trying to stop clubs like kilcornan trying to sign up ther players!!

Langerdan007
12/06/2015, 9:17 AM
Ya I agree with that, very harsh way to loose after great performance, ddsl to win it anyway but well done to all for such an enjoyable game of ball. The only problem now for managers of clubs at that age group in Desmond is trying to stop clubs like kilcornan trying to sign up ther players!!

Congrats to the lads for getting to the Semi Final - great achievement despite the loss

Southern Kid, what is the reasoning on calling out Kilcornan for signing players?

nathanbrown
12/06/2015, 10:38 AM
Kilcornan?? Poachers?? Thats a new one. Im pretty sure they didnt even have an under 16 team this season, so they didnt do a very good job of poaching kennedy cup players last year.
Any truth that ye are joining Kildimo this year Langerdan?

Langerdan007
12/06/2015, 3:00 PM
Kilcornan?? Poachers?? Thats a new one. Im pretty sure they didnt even have an under 16 team this season, so they didnt do a very good job of poaching kennedy cup players last year.
Any truth that ye are joining Kildimo this year Langerdan?

I was fairly surprised to see the suggestion myself being honest if anything we've been ravaged over the years by bringing through young lads and losing them when we get to junior level.

No truth in Kildimo Nathan but there is moves to join with another club. I'm not sure what stage of discussion we're at yet though.

nathanbrown
12/06/2015, 6:06 PM
Its good to see ye looking to join I think. If a few more teams did it we would have a much more competitive league. The likes of Kildimo/Pallas Granagh/Ballingarry. Im guessing ye are going with Adare. That would be a few strong amalgamations around that area with shannonside and GB rovers. With the exception of abbeyfeale, NCW, Rathkeale and Broadford I think most teams need it to be bigger and better teams and more competitive outside of limerick

If nothing else it will increase yer poaching power.

Will ye hold on to the Kilcornan lads from Kennedy cup?