15/02/2014, 8:34 PM
FT Sligo 3-0 Harps.

15/02/2014, 9:08 PM
Mickey Funston is a looper.

poster
16/02/2014, 12:16 AM
Must be great craic following Harps.

Imagine how steamed you'd have to get following that muck around the First Division!

16/02/2014, 12:32 AM
Are you lot that bored that Rovers are no longer contenders that you have to pick fights with Harps? I know it must be difficult when you have no natural rivals but it seems a bit desperate picking on a team who aren't even in your division and manage to maintain a decent team in the middle of Gaa country. Much like Rovers with Bohs and Pats, I'd imagine Harps are far more concerned with Derry than you.

ATFC-1887
16/02/2014, 12:38 AM
Must be great craic following Harps.

Imagine how steamed you'd have to get following that muck around the First Division!

Because Sligo were always a top team!!!

poster
16/02/2014, 12:38 AM
I'd imagine Harps are far more concerned with Derry than you.

I'm not picking on anyone.

Think watching Harps tonight brought me back to following Rovers years ago and how tough it was at times.

Those days are never far away Charlie!

poster
16/02/2014, 12:39 AM

Best days of my life.

16/02/2014, 12:43 AM
I'm not picking on anyone.

Think watching Harps tonight brought me back to following Rovers years ago and how tough it was at times.

Those days are never far away Charlie!
Well it just seems to me - completely unscientific, by the way - that since Rovers have started being crap Sligo fans on here have started ****ting on Harps a bit which is a bit mad considering Harps are one of the best clubs going and have done nothing deserving of any scorn.

poster
16/02/2014, 12:46 AM
No, we'll always be ***ting on Shams. At any opportunity.

16/02/2014, 1:08 AM
You'll need to up your game then. It was easy when we were on top of the table. It's times like this you need to be creative. The Bohs set the standard a few years ago.

16/02/2014, 8:57 AM

Best days of my life.

I've had better years! :p Though I'm pretty sure we beat Sligo last day of the season...

Sean South
16/02/2014, 9:49 AM
Harps giving Sligo a bit of confidence from their pre-season exploits. 2-0 at half time there courtesy of goals from Paul O'Connor and Danny North.
Good win and a decent little workout but no disrespect it won't be much of a confidence booster. Rovers never needed to get into second gear as Harps were just terrible. I know the first division is atrocious and it's hard to go by one preseason friendly but it doesn't look good for Harps this year if that's the standard of football that they are playing.

16/02/2014, 9:58 AM
According to our manager, the gulf in class was frightening and a massive wake up call to the coaching staff and squad.

Harps are paying pennies in truth and it shows at times but I wouldn't be concerned at getting beat 3-0 in a pre-season friendly against a side with hopes of winning the Premier league.

Also, a side that paid out €1.6 million in wages last season should be miles better than a side who paid out less than €130,000 in wages last season.

A few games this week again now with a select side playing Derry tomorrow in Greysteel at 3pm. Also playing Irish Schools on wed night and UCD next Saturday.

poster
16/02/2014, 10:48 AM
Also, a side that paid out €1.6 million in wages last season should be miles better than a side who paid out less than €130,000 in wages last season.

Think you're mixing up the two Rovers Sam. Take about €600,000 off that figure and you'll be closer to the Sligo figure.

16/02/2014, 11:32 AM
Are you lot that bored that Rovers are no longer contenders that you have to pick fights with Harps? I know it must be difficult when you have no natural rivals but it seems a bit desperate picking on a team who aren't even in your division and manage to maintain a decent team in the middle of Gaa country. Much like Rovers with Bohs and Pats, I'd imagine Harps are far more concerned with Derry than you.

Never saw Bohs and Pats as GAA people. Probably explains the high ball.

16/02/2014, 12:12 PM
Think you're mixing up the two Rovers Sam. Take about €600,000 off that figure and you'll be closer to the Sligo figure.

I'd be far more concerned for Sligo if their fans realistically believe this.
The 1.6m figure came from a board member.

16/02/2014, 12:19 PM
In fairness what heard was that 1.6 million was turnover as well.

Sean South
16/02/2014, 12:33 PM

It is around one and a half million to run the club annually. Not all wages... But saying that, one of the best run clubs in the league with the biggest profit last year, and having a profit every year since 2009. I think we're okay....

16/02/2014, 1:21 PM
Harps have turned a profit over the past 3 seasons.

We also had posted profits in 9 of the 10 seasons previous to 2008 where we lost approx €250,000.

I wouldn't get so comfy on the high horses lads, just saying.

PartySaint
16/02/2014, 2:01 PM
People on here read way too much into pre season friendlies

Sean South
16/02/2014, 3:26 PM
Harps have turned a profit over the past 3 seasons.

We also had posted profits in 9 of the 10 seasons previous to 2008 where we lost approx €250,000.

I wouldn't get so comfy on the high horses lads, just saying.

No one is on high horses or no one is concerned as previously mentioned. Like I said I think we're okay... Every league of Ireland club is only a couple of poor decisions away from getting into financial trouble. What's it with the anoraks on this forum adding two and two together and getting five.

cheifo
16/02/2014, 4:36 PM
Don't begrudge Sligo their income or expenditure figures. As long as the money keeps getting spent on the right quality they will feel they can keep in profit. Certainly Spillane, O'Conner and the lad Eric up front looked the part last night. Waterford lost 4-0 to Rovers and its fair to assume the disparity in budget between top premier teams and first divsion will become very apparant in these games.
A big problem for Harps is not just the GAA, so many USL and Donegal league teams are now paying players money means that the money raised for the game in the county is dispersed all over the place rather than it going into improve the senior club. Having said all that this time last year we were beating Dundalk 3-0 in Oriel in a preseason game so as some above sayes you can read far too much into these games.

redobit
16/02/2014, 6:00 PM

Thanks for your concern, but in fairness what would you know about how our club is run or what our fans do or do not know. The annual AGM lays out what was spent and where, so fans are well in the loop. The 1.6m figure is turnover and was a couple of years ago. Its down a nice wee bit from that.

Fivesilver
17/02/2014, 9:03 AM
For the record, I'd love to see Harps back in the Premier. I occasionally slag them here but it's just joking. Always enjoyed trips to Ballybofey.

My biggest worry about our supposed budget reduction and clearly smaller squad this season is the fear that the people running the club might be thinking a couple of seasons of mid-table 'consolidation' will be alright while we tart up the ground. We've seen often enough in the LoI that it doesn't take an awful lot to start a downward spiral. I don't see us making any of the mistakes made by some of the clubs that self-destructed over the past decade, but a slip in playing standards and you could very quickly see your crowds drifting away.

17/02/2014, 1:27 PM
Was at the Astro friendly on Sat nigh and saw enough to know that we will be, at worst, top three this season again. O'Connor, Russell and Adhiambo are serious additions and Danny is fit and mad to go.

oriel
17/02/2014, 2:27 PM
People on here read way too much into pre season friendlies

Totally, it's all about trying out formations, having a look at all your players, and the squad working on their fitness.

A near full strength DLK lost 2-1 away to Galway last week,last min winner and we had plenty of subs coming on, but still no need for alarm bells. Decent result for the home side mind, but that's it really.

Fivesilver
17/02/2014, 2:34 PM
Was at the Astro friendly on Sat nigh and saw enough to know that we will be, at worst, top three this season again. O'Connor, Russell and Adhiambo are serious additions and Danny is fit and mad to go.

Sounds encouraging. I know we can field a first 11 as good as any in the league - my worry is when the injuries inevitably hit. Fingers crossed we have plenty of luck.

17/02/2014, 5:34 PM
Derry 4-2 Harps

played earlier today. Harps were missing McHugh, McCarron, J Mailey, P Mailey, Cowan, McNulty, J Bonner and Doherty as they were working.

Derry had a very strong line up. They were far surperior in the first half with it 3-0 at half time through Patterson, Stewart and an OG.
They made a raft of changes at half time and went 4 up with Paddy mcEleney scoring.

Ruari Keating got 2 for Harps and looked very impressive through the middle.

In truth Shaun Patton the Harps under 19's keeper made a string of top class saves to keep the scoreline mildly respectable.

18/02/2014, 12:14 AM
What's it with the anoraks on this forum adding two and two together and getting five.

Standard LoI budgeting practice! Tisch - as if ye didnt know Sean?!?!

18/02/2014, 12:37 PM
Shels vs Limerick next week cancelled due to Limerick heading to Spain on a training camp.

Darklordsbane
18/02/2014, 10:04 PM
Limerick are supposed to play Longford on the Saturday 22nd will that be cancelled as well do you think?

18/02/2014, 10:44 PM
Limerick are supposed to play Longford on the Saturday 22nd will that be cancelled as well do you think?

No that's definitely going ahead. I heard Limerick are borrowing the LTFC private jet and are flying out from Abbeyshrule airfield after the game.

18/02/2014, 11:06 PM
No that's definitely going ahead. I heard Limerick are borrowing the LTFC private jet and are flying out from Abbeyshrule airfield after the game.
Absolute bull**** if true. Limerick have a fleet of private jets they could use.

bluewhitearmy
18/02/2014, 11:10 PM
Should still be on anyway we leave for Spain the day after.

19/02/2014, 7:09 AM
Absolute bull**** if true. Limerick have a fleet of private jets they could use.

You haven't flown until you've been on the Town jet. Don't shoot the messenger Charles :D . Limerick confirmed the game is still on on their Twitter yesterday by the way.

19/02/2014, 9:04 AM
It is around one and a half million to run the club annually. Not all wages... But saying that, one of the best run clubs in the league with the biggest profit last year, and having a profit every year since 2009. I think we're okay....
Wasn't 2008 the year of emergency fundraising drives so the club could see out the season?

19/02/2014, 10:57 AM
Yep - the same year that the Banks went belly up but The BitoRed didn't takle any bail out from the taxpayer. As Tony Soprano might say ' we kept it in the family'.

Sean South
19/02/2014, 12:55 PM
Wasn't 2008 the year of emergency fundraising drives so the club could see out the season?

You know 2008 is before 2009 yeah?

Trainee
19/02/2014, 8:20 PM
Result
Sligo 2 ( Rutherford & Keane peno) Galway 1 (Shanahan)

19/02/2014, 8:40 PM
Shamrock Rovers 5-1 Drogheda
Wexford 1-4 Athlone
Sligo 2-1 Galway

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/02/2014, 8:50 PM
Result
Sligo 2 ( Rutherford & Keane peno) Galway 1 (Shanahan)

Galway win 6-5 on aggregate

L.T.F.C.
20/02/2014, 10:21 AM
You know 2008 is before 2009 yeah?
Are you twelve or something?

20/02/2014, 12:54 PM

You know eleven comes before twelve yeah?

Sean South
20/02/2014, 11:22 PM
Something.
If you read back Macy quoted me when I said the club made a profit every year since 2009, then asked what seemed like a stupid question. And as the saying goes...

20/02/2014, 11:40 PM
Something.
If you read back Macy quoted me when I said the club made a profit every year since 2009, then asked what seemed like a stupid question. And as the saying goes...
... if there's a stupid question Sean South will be the first to answer it?

Fester
21/02/2014, 8:50 PM
Br*y 1 - 0 Wexford Youths FT

Fester
21/02/2014, 8:51 PM
Shels 1 - 1 Bohs FT

adamd164
21/02/2014, 9:57 PM
Should still be on anyway we leave for Spain the day after.

Seems bizarre that Limerick are going off to Spain given that their budget has come down so much for the season. I'd have thought the playing budget would take priority. Maybe it's the manager's choice.

22/02/2014, 10:36 AM
Seems bizarre that Limerick are going off to Spain given that their budget has come down so much for the season. I'd have thought the playing budget would take priority. Maybe it's the manager's choice.

It's the managers choice alright. I presume it is working out manageable cost wise otherwise they wouldn't head over. They are going to Bilbao. I don't think all the squad are heading over either.

22/02/2014, 4:12 PM
UCD 1-1 Finn Harps FT