View Full Version : Pre Season 2014
04/02/2014, 11:43 PM
That'll be fantastic for everyone else if Roddy Jr actually becomes a first choice defender. Thomas McMonagle would be mad to stay there too ahead of first team football at Finn Harps. He's got great potential, but he'll not start for Derry.
I find it strange he went back there at all considering the amount of giving out and downright slating he did about Derry while at Harps.
05/02/2014, 10:11 AM
Galway v limerick
thursday 7.45pm Eamonn Deacy Park
http://galwayfc.ie/index.php/dunne-limerick-test/
culloty82
05/02/2014, 11:32 AM
Chris Tsonis was on trial with us last weekend. Scored v Mervue but wasn't offered a deal.
Cork City playing the Kerry Oscar Traynor team twice this weekend: this Friday at Mounthawk Park at 7.30 p.m. and on Saturday at 4 at Killarney Celtic's ground.
adamd164
05/02/2014, 12:59 PM
According to the Kerry District League, it's part of the wonderfully-named "Denny Invitational Tournament". Mmmm... bacon!
http://www.kerrydistrictleague.ie/3082/kdl-fixtures-we-will-try-one-more-time/
05/02/2014, 2:29 PM
Which part?
Not worried about the result as it's first game back, and a lot of new faces. Plus Galway were always going to be a bit more motivated (DISCLAIMER: NOT A DIG AT GALWAY - PUT DOWN THE STICK).
Worried about depth because we're giving playing time to U19s who are losing nearly every game at their own level. They're demonstrably not the standard. What happens if we lose North? Or Henderson? And you're not going to go a season without a few knocks to key players. If we have half the injuries we had last season or the previous one, we could find ourselves in a very deep hole.
Yeah, I was asking about the depth of younger players. Did the 19s not win the Northern League last season or is the Northern League just crap?
Fivesilver
05/02/2014, 5:23 PM
I think their results since go a long way toward answering that. Even if you're one of the outstanding players in the U19 elite division, I would consider LoI Division 1 a significant step up. The Premier is a further big jump, and the top half of the Premier another one. How anyone can think our U19s, who are struggling desperately in their league, can slot in and hold their own against the Premier's best is beyond me. People have romantic ideas about young local talent, but apart from one schools' title for Summerhill, Sligo, for whatever reason, just hasn't been producing it in recent years.
05/02/2014, 5:38 PM
How many local players have become first team regulars in recent years, just Cretaro?
That'll be fantastic for everyone else if Roddy Jr actually becomes a first choice defender. Thomas McMonagle would be mad to stay there too ahead of first team football at Finn Harps. He's got great potential, but he'll not start for Derry.
I find it strange he went back there at all considering the amount of giving out and downright slating he did about Derry while at Harps.
He's apparently off to America in the summer
Darklordsbane
05/02/2014, 8:12 PM
Bray 1 Longford 0 didn't see the match so can't report anyone see the game?
05/02/2014, 8:15 PM
Bray 1 Longford 0 didn't see the match so can't report anyone see the game?
Eh? It was called off yesterday? Unless they had a super secret training game on an all weather pitch somewhere.
L.T.F.C.
05/02/2014, 8:17 PM
Thats what they had. It was in Enniskerry. Couldn't get down myself.
05/02/2014, 8:20 PM
Thats what they had. It was in Enniskerry. Couldn't get down myself.
Ah right. Was it last night? Awful night for a game you wouldn't want to be standing out in it anyway. Tonight's not much better.
wandererfan
05/02/2014, 8:23 PM
game was played on the all weather in enniskerry tonight, kicked off at 6:30. anyone know the scorer for bray ??
Darklordsbane
05/02/2014, 9:15 PM
1 nil to Bray
ATFC-1887
05/02/2014, 9:58 PM
Any Longford lads know how the CCS pitch is holding up and do ye expect the game to be on Friday night?
05/02/2014, 10:20 PM
He's apparently off to America in the summer
He was meant to be off to Canada before the start of the season, gave that as the reason why he wasn't signing with Harps, no matter how much the club tried to convince him otherwise. Big loss either way to us.
poster
05/02/2014, 10:28 PM
Rovers are playing Ards on Friday night in Bangor.
05/02/2014, 11:17 PM
Any Longford lads know how the CCS pitch is holding up and do ye expect the game to be on Friday night?
Was out there last night didn't see any surface water and pitch is heavily sanded so we might get away with it.
ATFC-1887
05/02/2014, 11:21 PM
Hopefully. Decent crowd of us going over considering its a friendly. Looking forward to it.
06/02/2014, 1:01 AM
anyone at the Bray Longford town friendly was there a teamsheet produced as I am looking for a copy of it. What was the town team does anyone know?
Fivesilver
06/02/2014, 5:19 AM
How many local players have become first team regulars in recent years, just Cretaro?
Unless, I'm overlooking someone, that's about it. And Raf's no spring chicken now. We've had some good fortune tapping/pillaging Mayo, Galway and Donegal - long may it continue - but our own well has run pretty dry.
Darklordsbane
06/02/2014, 6:43 AM
Sorry Wandererfan, Thought you asked the score not goal scorer. I don't know but I will ask a lad from Bray that was at the game if he knows will post later
Hulsey
06/02/2014, 8:49 AM
game was played on the all weather in enniskerry tonight, kicked off at 6:30. anyone know the scorer for bray ??
Not sure who scored but know it was a trialist. The starting line up was:
Redmond,Mcglynn Webster Mitchell .S.o'Connor, J.Kelly zambra cassidy Shane Byrne (trialist) Hanlon , S. O'Neill.
Unsure of the longford team but they have a good squad this year so a win is a good result
poster
06/02/2014, 11:51 AM
Unless, I'm overlooking someone, that's about it. And Raf's no spring chicken now. We've had some good fortune tapping/pillaging Mayo, Galway and Donegal - long may it continue - but our own well has run pretty dry.
Conor O'Grady also.
littlebray
06/02/2014, 2:49 PM
Not sure who scored but know it was a trialist. The starting line up was:
Redmond,Mcglynn Webster Mitchell .S.o'Connor, J.Kelly zambra cassidy Shane Byrne (trialist) Hanlon , S. O'Neill.
Unsure of the longford team but they have a good squad this year so a win is a good result
Not being listed as a match, more a training exercise - scratch teams (whoever was available at short notice), no team sheets, no substitution records, and regulation time not played.
Bray scorer thought to have been a Ciaran Byrne, but may have been the trialist listed above.
06/02/2014, 4:29 PM
No need to pay referees either!
gufc2000
06/02/2014, 7:08 PM
Galway FC playing Dundalk next Tuesday night in Fahy's Field, Mervue.
Latest from Deacy Park tonight is Limerick are 1-0 up, Shane Tracy with the goal.
Fivesilver
06/02/2014, 7:33 PM
Conor O'Grady also.
Yep, I didn't forget Conor but didn't think it was worth mentioning him as he's retired.
That explains a few things. Is it physical or mental do you know?
http://www.wlz-fz.de/var/storage/images/haz/nachrichten/kultur/uebersicht/borat-mit-waltz-und-dicaprio-im-neuen-tarantino-western/15580572-1-ger-DE/Borat-mit-Waltz-und-DiCaprio-im-neuen-Tarantino-Western_ArtikelQuer.jpg
Darklordsbane
06/02/2014, 7:49 PM
I'm told by an ex work mate who had to stand tight to the bus to try and get a bit of shelter (lousy night weather wise) that it was Ciaran Byrne as well, nice goal, moved to a ball just outside the box curled it up over the longford players (who should have ran to close him down but didn't) and into the top of the net, Hunt had no chance, lots of running and passing but not much end product from both teams, keepers had very little to do over the 90 odd mins,
Latest from Deacy Park tonight is Limerick are 1-0 up, Shane Tracy with the goal.
thats a FT score now.
gufc2000
06/02/2014, 8:47 PM
It ended Galway FC 0-1 Limerick FC in Eamon Deacy Park tonight.
06/02/2014, 11:01 PM
Galway look like a decent side. We weren't great tonight with a lot of younger lads getting a run. Galway look to be playing decent football though and i'd imagine they'll do well this season.
poster
07/02/2014, 11:37 AM
It ended Galway FC 0-1 Limerick FC in Eamon Deacy Park tonight.
Decent crowd?
07/02/2014, 11:57 AM
Decent crowd?
About 150 maybe 200 at a push.
Olander
07/02/2014, 11:58 AM
Decent crowd?
I'd say max 200.
Fivesilver
07/02/2014, 7:38 PM
Rovers 2-0 up at halftime against Ards (North & Odhiambo). Something a bit closer to a full-strength side out tonight - although being bottom of the ILP Ards must be muck.
07/02/2014, 7:44 PM
Athlone are 1 up at HT at a somewhat wet and windy CCS. Disgraceful from LTFC, have they no pride or passion for the jersey :mad:
Fivesilver
07/02/2014, 8:00 PM
We bring on three of the kids, and five minutes later Ards get one back #teachablemoment
Fivesilver
07/02/2014, 8:20 PM
Finished Rovers 3-2 Ards after being 3-0 up and subbing in the young lads. Worries about depth not laid to rest.
Darklordsbane
07/02/2014, 9:07 PM
I thought the 2nd half was slightly better not much though lovely goal from Athlone new signings didnt fill me with confidence early days man of the match for me was the groundsman
07/02/2014, 9:12 PM
I thought the 2nd half was slightly better not much though lovely goal from Athlone new signings didnt fill me with confidence early days man of the match for me was the groundsman
I wasn't there but I'd read absolutely nothing into a pre season game played on a night like this, in terms of the team or individuals. 8 new players settling in too. Galway away March 7th is what it's all about.
Drogs defeated Dundalk tonight in the annual Jim Malone Cup match. Decent competitive game given the conditions. We went 1-0 up through G. Brennan and should have put the game to bed long before they equalised with the final kick (head) of the game. Game went to penos - Andrews missed for us & O'Donnell and Horgan missed for Dundalk. A worthwhile game on a night that wasn't made for football.
And we're going to win the league.
White Horse
07/02/2014, 9:54 PM
Drogs defeated Dundalk tonight in the annual Jim Malone Cup match. Decent competitive game given the conditions. We went 1-0 up through G. Brennan and should have put the game to bed long before they equalised with the final kick (head) of the game. Game went to penos - Andrews missed for us & O'Donnell and Horgan missed for Dundalk. A worthwhile game on a night that wasn't made for football.
And we're going to win the league.
That's the spirit.
I thought both sets of players were a credit to themselves. That was a horrible night to play football.
I think Drogheda will be the happier team with their performance. They looked tight and were creative when they had the ball.
Dundalk had a lot of the ball but did very little with it.
Darklordsbane
07/02/2014, 11:05 PM
Totally agree with you Longfordian don't care if they lose all the friendlies
ATFC-1887
07/02/2014, 11:25 PM
Yeh weather didnt help tonight. We were the better team but neither team could do too much with that horrible wind and rain.
07/02/2014, 11:38 PM
Yeh weather didnt help tonight. We were the better team but neither team could do too much with that horrible wind and rain.
Sure ye're the big Premier Division team gracing the neighbours with a glamour friendly ;)
Totally agree with you Longfordian don't care if they lose all the friendlies
We usually do. Can't remember the last time we won a pre season game tbh.
Waterford United v Bohs abandoned at half time due to the weather last night. I saw a clip online and it's a wonder the game even started due to torrential rain causing pools of water on the pitch. 1-1 was the score.
OldNassau
08/02/2014, 9:27 PM
Reasonable lineup by Longford, four ex premier team players in starting 11. Athlone's starting 11 contained 8 of Roddy's squad from last year. Cooke's squad looks light overall. Could be a problem with a view to survival.
ATFC-1887
09/02/2014, 3:13 AM
Most of our new players didnt start though. Although i do agree we need a few more signings.