View Full Version : European Qualifying 2013.

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14]

sheao
24/07/2013, 12:01 PM
Anyone know if Cliftonville brought many over to Celtic?

Disappointing for Sligo not to score over two legs.

Around 1,000 from what i've heard anyway.

Sean South
25/07/2013, 11:51 AM
Sligo just don't get it how to play against teams in European competition, like trying to show your grandmother how to use a computer.

Ah here, Norwegian, Slovakian & Ukrainian football is of much higher standard then the league of Ireland. Anyone expecting to beat those clubs aren't really living in reality. The Albanian mob probably were beatable but didn't have the experience. The draw in Poltava was a cracking result for the club and should have held Molde to a draw in The Showgrounds but one mistake resulted in a well taken goal. The standard of football around the league has fallen in the league over the past few years, we can see this from results in Europe.

dong
25/07/2013, 1:04 PM
A lot of people just assume that because they have never previously heard of a club they should be beatable without even looking at the finances involved which cannot be compared.

25/07/2013, 1:15 PM
A lot of people just assume that because they have never previously heard of a club they should be beatable without even looking at the finances involved which cannot be compared.
That's definitely true. Every team the LOI faced this year (bar Pats) was not only the seeded team, but from a higher ranked country too. Pats was clearly a disappointment.

Really was a bad year draw wise for the LOI. Even Pats got the toughest possible opponent from their 5 team group Next year will see 1/2 teams win and we're back thinking everything is OK.

horton
25/07/2013, 3:43 PM
Apparently the visiting Turkish media were having great craic laughing when they saw the away facilities(or lack thereof) at the Brandywell yesterday. It is staggering just how vastly different the finances/set up of the two teams are. O/T slightly, i've been following a few turkish fans on twitter(nutjobs in the main) but some of their comments on the state of the stadium is embarrassing, they've even compared it to a bloody farm! I'm hoping for a narrow Derry win tonight, but doubt we can make up for the away leg.

dejadem
25/07/2013, 4:14 PM
Apparently the visiting Turkish media were having great craic laughing when they saw the away facilities(or lack thereof) at the Brandywell yesterday. It is staggering just how vastly different the finances/set up of the two teams are. O/T slightly, i've been following a few turkish fans on twitter(nutjobs in the main) but some of their comments on the state of the stadium is embarrassing, they've even compared it to a bloody farm! I'm hoping for a narrow Derry win tonight, but doubt we can make up for the away leg.

It is a different world alright. I heard that the Trabzonspor players weren't overly impressed with the changing room facilities in Tallaght for the called off friendly earlier this year. Can't imagine what they would have thought of United Park.

25/07/2013, 5:09 PM
It is a different world alright. I heard that the Trabzonspor players weren't overly impressed with the changing room facilities in Tallaght for the called off friendly earlier this year. Can't imagine what they would have thought of United Park.

That's just insane altogether. I've been in the away dressing room in Tallaght, and I can honestly say, it stands right up alongside any I've ever been in, including Anfield.

dundalkfc10
25/07/2013, 6:46 PM
Anyone know if Cliftonville brought many over to Celtic?

Disappointing for Sligo not to score over two legs.

Judging by the Pics, They had 2/3 of the away section full.

Id say 2,000

DannyInvincible
25/07/2013, 6:46 PM
Apparently the visiting Turkish media were having great craic laughing when they saw the away facilities(or lack thereof) at the Brandywell yesterday. It is staggering just how vastly different the finances/set up of the two teams are. O/T slightly, i've been following a few turkish fans on twitter(nutjobs in the main) but some of their comments on the state of the stadium is embarrassing, they've even compared it to a bloody farm!

According to Setanta, Trabzonspor initially thought the Brandywell was a training ground with the match to be played up the road in Celtic Park!

gufc2000
25/07/2013, 6:50 PM
Any online streams for this?

DannyInvincible
25/07/2013, 7:19 PM
http://www.coolsport.tv/stream9.html

DannyInvincible
25/07/2013, 7:49 PM
I see Xanthi are 1-0 up against Linfield but down to ten men.

Second half just about to kick off in the Brandywell. Derry need to push on a bit.

ger121
25/07/2013, 8:00 PM
Good wins tonight for Luxemborg and Icelandic teams against superior teams from Austria and Holland. It used to be LOI teams doing that:(

25/07/2013, 8:01 PM
Idiots.

ger121
25/07/2013, 8:02 PM
Oh and Hibs getting destroyed at home by Malmo. Kinda puts Drogs performance into perspective.

25/07/2013, 8:05 PM
That was a shocking goal to concede. Unlucky the ref missed a clear handball in the build-up but some shocking touches and decisions in the meantime.

Straightstory
25/07/2013, 8:35 PM
Can't believe Hibs are losing 7-0 at home! Apart from Celtic, Scottish football has gone to hell.

ger121
25/07/2013, 8:38 PM
Hopefully Linfield can grab a goal to have some Irish interest in the next round.

25/07/2013, 8:48 PM
Can't believe Hibs are losing 7-0 at home! Apart from Celtic, Scottish football has gone to hell.

St Johnstone just knocked out Rosenburg! (gets Motherwell seeded at same time- or am i wrong)

Wow - whats happening with the Icelandic teams!!

25/07/2013, 8:49 PM
Hopefully Linfield can grab a goal to have some Irish interest in the next round.
Sure Celtic are still in it.

swinfordfc
25/07/2013, 8:56 PM

Why dont you move to Glasgow if your so big with Celtic!!!!!!

Straightstory
25/07/2013, 9:03 PM
Eh.... apart from Celtic... and St Johnstone.

abcd
25/07/2013, 9:04 PM

I don't know whether to laugh or cry!!

25/07/2013, 9:16 PM
Why would I move to Glasgow? Celtic are an Irish team. I'd be in a completely different country from the team I support, which would just be ludicrous.

MeathDrog
25/07/2013, 9:37 PM
Drogs could have done Hibs if they had somehow gotten past Malmo.

26/07/2013, 4:17 AM
Wow - whats happening with the Icelandic teams!!

Geysir bribed all the opposition so he could do the told ye so on foot.ie

ger121
26/07/2013, 9:27 AM
I see for the 2014 ranking list we are down to 41st. Big drop from 29th a few years ago. Didn't realise all 5 Finnish teams out already too.

http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/crank2014.html

dundalkfc10
26/07/2013, 11:03 AM

Why dosnt Ger121 move to Northern Ireland if he wants to follow Linfield?

ger121
26/07/2013, 11:07 AM
Why dosnt Ger121 move to Northern Ireland if he wants to follow Linfield?

I can't quite tell if that's a dig at me or swinfordfc? I'll go with the latter:wink:

dundalkfc10
26/07/2013, 1:12 PM
I can't quite tell if that's a dig at me or swinfordfc? I'll go with the latter:wink:

It was directed at Swinfordfc :)

26/07/2013, 1:14 PM
Drogs could have done Hibs if they had somehow gotten past Malmo.

Please pass around that spiff you're smoking. Obviously great gear.

26/07/2013, 2:18 PM
Especially if they had played the home leg in Oriel Park!!!!

legendz
27/07/2013, 11:28 AM
Not to state the obvious even though I'm going ahead to do so - disappointing not to see at least one club through a round. There was some tough draws this year and with qualifiers being knock-out in nature, year's like this are going to happen. I think UEFA should allow all champions the safety net of Europa League i.e. Sligo dropping into the next EL round but UEFA care about money so that aint going to happen.

I'd like to see a fresh debate/discussion on the merits of a summer league. It was a positive move in terms of looking to give the league's clubs a competitive edge in the qualifiers and possibly have had raised the profile of the league through a few good performances in Europe. Is it a good idea though to be up against the GAA championships which seem to take up the spotlight? Obviously much more to this debate than these few points. European football is a bonus after a good season. What can be done within current structures to raise the league's profile? I know the FAI have poor finances but surely they could make some effort to promote the league using the example of international players who've come through the league and promoting up and coming talented players in the league. All competitions have their star players. It usually these players that do the promotion of the game on the pitch.

punkrocket
27/07/2013, 12:30 PM
..but some of their comments on the state of the stadium is embarrassing, they've even compared it to a bloody farm!... They must have heard of the sheep shaggers songs that Harps get treated to.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2013, 10:15 AM
I see Soccerway (http://uk.soccerway.com/international/europe/uefa-cup/20132014/2nd-qualifying-round/r21220/) added salt to the wounds of the other evening:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BQG6JwTCQAACcud.png

MeathDrog
31/07/2013, 7:02 PM
FT

Molde
1 - 1 (http://www.livescore.com/soccer/champions-league/qualifying-round/molde-vs-legia-warszawa/1-1520132/)
Legia Warszawa

swinfordfc
01/08/2013, 2:03 PM
We be down to 44th in the co-efficient table next year ...... thats how far the league of ireland football has fallen!

02/08/2013, 4:24 PM
One decent season will have us mid 30's again, calm down. We won't get the same kind of horrific draw we did this year every season.

DannyInvincible
08/08/2013, 6:08 PM
Žalgiris are leading Lech Poznań 1-0 away from home at the minute; they're 2-0 up on aggregate and looking good to progress.

08/08/2013, 6:38 PM
What the hell is going on with the Luxembourg league?! Differdange - having already put out someone I've never heard of and then Utrecht - are now 1-0 up on Tromso, and 1-1 on aggregate. If they win, and pick up another win in the next round, the Luxembourg league goes level with us. Amazing stuff!

Dunno whether it's good or bad that Zalgiris are doing well. Is it a case that Pat's put up a good fight against them in hindsight, or is it just that the bottom nations are now getting so close together that an LoI team could easily have gone on the run they've gone on, so we were just unlucky this year?

08/08/2013, 6:39 PM
I for one welcome our new Luxembourgian overlords.

cob655
08/08/2013, 7:44 PM
http://m.uefa.com/news/1979895/
More money this season for first/second/third and play off rounds.
Pity we didn't get any teams progressing this year..

DannyInvincible
08/08/2013, 7:53 PM
Dunno whether it's good or bad that Zalgiris are doing well. Is it a case that Pat's put up a good fight against them in hindsight, or is it just that the bottom nations are now getting so close together that an LoI team could easily have gone on the run they've gone on, so we were just unlucky this year?

Lech pulled it back to 2-1 on the night but Žalgiris have gone through with their away goal.

08/08/2013, 8:03 PM
What the hell is going on with the Luxembourg league?! Differdange - having already put out someone I've never heard of and then Utrecht - are now 1-0 up on Tromso, and 1-1 on aggregate. If they win, and pick up another win in the next round, the Luxembourg league goes level with us. Amazing stuff!

They are doing quite well, arent they? Still think they are a sh**e team though, but well done to them. But seems this year will have a lot of weak teams in the group stages of the europa.
But what about the three Romanian teams getting into the next round - Petrolul Ploiesti, Pandurii Tārgu Jiu, Astra Giurgiu - where the hell does these teams come from!!!

08/08/2013, 9:35 PM
Differdang went all the way to penalties against Tromso before losing 4-3. Mad stuff happening this year!

Edit - also out on penalties are St Johnstone, after a first-ever home defeat in Europe (seven previous home ties)

TheBoss
08/08/2013, 11:24 PM
But what about the three Romanian teams getting into the next round - Petrolul Ploiesti, Pandurii Tārgu Jiu, Astra Giurgiu - where the hell does these teams come from!!!

I think you answered you own question

08/08/2013, 11:25 PM
Them Roma are everywhere though.

09/08/2013, 5:47 AM
I think you answered you own question

Well yeah, but where in Roma land - good to see some new names in euro competition though:D

09/08/2013, 12:42 PM
Celtic have drawn Shakhtar Karagandy in the Champions League. It'll be interesting to see if they can emulate their Irish brothers with a win out there.

09/08/2013, 12:59 PM
One decent season will have us mid 30's again, calm down. We won't get the same kind of horrific draw we did this year every season.
The bigger the hole a league digs, the harder it is to get a decent season and climb up. Pats were seeded in the EL draw and got a lowly unseeded team who had finished 2nd in Lithuania, no big deal but it just so happened that team was in top form this season. You could say Pats were unfortunate to get such an uppity unseeded team but on the other hand the Lithuania champions Ekranes (who were seeded) were knocked out by an unseeded Icelandic team.
The other LOI teams in European competition were not seeded.
One decent season will not get the LOI up to the mid 30's, possibly 4 or 5 seasons with fortunate 1st and 2nd round opponents, total of 8 wins or 6 wins 2 draws etc).
Afaiu, Pats coeff 4.7 Sham Rov coeff 5.0, would not be seeded in the 2nd round of next years CL qual draw, should they qualify.
LOI clubs would only be seeded in the Europa league 1st round draw. it's not going to get easier.