View Full Version : Richard Keogh
Pages :
[
11]
26/01/2021, 11:51 PM
I became curious about Richie and as I have been in that 'not knowing' space many time previous, I remembered that I could do a search on the WWW.
Search term (not my finest) <Richard Keogh why not learn to drive car>
lo and behold, up popped an article from the Daily Star
Derby ace Richard Keogh eyeing dream double of promotion...and passing his driving test (https://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/football/derby-ace-richard-keogh-eyeing-18727109)
I gather that both Richie's dreams remain unfulfilled.
Keogh is desperate to land a double and crack open the bubbly by passing his driving test into the bargain.
Keogh said: "I'm trying to learn, but I'm miles away from taking my test.
"I'm quite happy for the boys to chauffeur me around at the moment.
"When I was younger, everyone was getting behind the wheel, but to be honest it just didn't appeal to me.
"Now that I'm a bit older, I'm thinking 'I should've done that!'
"But yes, I need to start driving. I think it's just a mental block for me."
27/01/2021, 8:31 AM
One thing about this story that I find highly unusual is that Keogh doesn't drive. How can a professional footballer not drive? They love their cars, most of them. But surely getting to training every morning, going to different team nights, exercises etc. it's a pain in the hole not driving.
Very unusual!
Heard an interesting story recently about a reserve player getting a premier league chance due to Covid. Only on about a grand a week, but when he went up to the first for a few weeks they all had drivers who'd bring them training and wait around to bring them home. Came back to the reserves paying 500 quid of his grand a week to a driver and hasn't got a sniff of first team since.
27/01/2021, 8:39 AM
could be true, but why would first team players be paying drivers to being them to/from training - that's adding 25 people (if each member of the first team squad has a driver) to their secure bubble
27/01/2021, 9:39 AM
could be true, but why would first team players be paying drivers to being them to/from training - that's adding 25 people (if each member of the first team squad has a drive) to their secure bubble
That's a good point, I should have asked that question, but I've no doubt it's true.
11/05/2021, 2:04 PM
the inevitable outcome of his sacking.....
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0511/1220992-keogh-wrongfully-dismissed-by-derby-efl-hearing-finds/
dr_peepee
11/05/2021, 9:49 PM
I had read somewhere at the time that there was a contrivance to the “sacking” as a book keeping exercise. Ultimately everyone knew he would be compensated to his full entitlement. Maybe more. But it free’d up some finances in the immediate term and the source of the settlement comes from different budget because of how its awarded, or something to that effect...
Demesne Lad
17/07/2021, 12:24 PM
Richard has signed for Blackpool on a one-year deal, thereby playing in the EFL Championship again. (BBC Sport, 17 July).
01/10/2021, 9:34 PM
This is an amazing interview with Richard Keogh
https://amp.theguardian.com/football/2021/oct/01/richard-keogh-waking-up-paramedics-car-crash-derby-sacking-blackpool
DeLorean
01/10/2021, 11:16 PM
I'm not sensing much regret at his own lack of personal responsibility. It's all very - "poor me". Not realising that his teammate had drink taken, or at least very possibly had drink taken, seems unlikely at best.
I agree he was treated poorly, or at least disproportionately, by the club but I wouldn't stray too far down the victim route. Sympathy will be in even shorter supply now that he's recouped a couple of million for his troubles.
I've no doubt he went through some dark times since the incident, but ultimately it was an unfortunate situation largely of his own making.
Eirambler
02/10/2021, 6:58 AM
I wonder if he got his payout into his hand before Derby went into administration. If he didn't he might be an unsecured creditor and might never get it, or only a very small percentage.
liamoo11
02/10/2021, 8:07 AM
I'm not sensing much regret at his own lack of personal responsibility. It's all very - "poor me". Not realising that his teammate had drink taken, or at least very possibly had drink taken, seems unlikely at best.
I agree he was treated poorly, or at least disproportionately, by the club but I wouldn't stray too far down the victim route. Sympathy will be in even shorter supply now that he's recouped a couple of million for his troubles.
I've no doubt he went through some dark times since the incident, but ultimately it was an unfortunate situation largely of his own making.
I never really saw how keogh had any responsibility in this in any sort of legal way that would allow your contract be terminated. Unless his contract stipulated that if you got injured doing anything other than football you wouldn't be paid then it was a crazy concept. Even the responsibility to wear a seat belt that is on the driver , as the driver your the one to get the penalty points if your passenger isn't wearing a seat belt not them. For the lads to leave him in the car that's just an unbelievable act they were so lucky not to go to jail. Really hope he has that cash received from derby at this stage.
DeLorean
02/10/2021, 8:45 AM
I never really saw how keogh had any responsibility in this in any sort of legal way that would allow your contract be terminated.
And so it proved. The legal bit is only one side of it though, he messed up. It happens, people make mistakes, but I think he'd come across a lot better if he took more responsibility for his own misjudgement.
02/10/2021, 9:51 AM
This is how I'm reading it as well. Keogh was filmed in the pub with Lawrence and Bennett so "“I hadn’t spent the evening with Tom" is subjective to how you define "spent the evening". But adding to that there is an oddity as to why Keogh who admittedly "always got on well with Lawrence" would not be spending the evening with Lawrence on a team night out .... ??
Then came the ill-fated decision. Keogh had missed his lift home but his teammate Tom Lawrence was in his Range Rover, keys in the ignition, ready to go.
Anybody know why Keogh missed his initial lift home?
02/10/2021, 11:12 AM
I'd have a degree of sympathy for Keogh here. Many moons ago, I did exactly the same thing as he did - took a lift home from the pub from a friend who I thought was sober because she was driving. Turned out, she'd had a drink, and while I got home safely, she wrote off the car a week later after giving someone a lift to the airport after drinking.
Since then, I refuse point blank to get in the car if I know they've had a drink
02/10/2021, 12:45 PM
Not realising that his teammate had drink taken, or at least very possibly had drink taken, seems unlikely at best. My thoughts too.
Fizzer
02/10/2021, 1:00 PM
This tut-tutting stuff is ridiculous lads, how would you feel if Keogh had been killed by Lawrence, his own fault? He was treated shockingly by his team mates who left him for dead, and then by his club who abandoned him to try save a bit of cash.Luckily he was too tough for them and was fortunate to have a great woman backing him up.
DeLorean
02/10/2021, 1:43 PM
I think most agree he was treated badly. And it's surely a given that everybody would have been devastated for him had he been killed! That doesn't absolve him of all responsibility, which as the senior player and club captain the expectations would have been much higher. I think he could at least acknowledge that too. If that's tut-tutting, fair enough.
liamoo11
02/10/2021, 2:07 PM
I think most agree he was treated badly. And it's surely a given that everybody would have been devastated for him had he been killed! That doesn't absolve him of all responsibility, which as the senior player and club captain the expectations would have been much higher. I think he could at least acknowledge that too. If that's tut-tutting, fair enough.
I think that's very harsh. It's victim blaming. He was awfully treated by his team mates leaving him unconscious in a car that could have gone on fire then sacked by the club who kept on those very same players who also were drink driving .
02/10/2021, 3:37 PM
I think that's very harsh. It's victim blaming. He was awfully treated by his team mates leaving him unconscious in a car that could have gone on fire then sacked by the club who kept on those very same players who also were drink driving .He was awfully treated, absolutely. But I also struggle to believe he had no idea Lawrence was over the limit as they'd been in the pub together for ages, even if not at the same table. I mean, did he not even ask Lawrence how many had he had? That's all really. I struggle to believe in his incredulity at Lawrence being drunk. But everything else is pretty damning of his teammates.
liamoo11
02/10/2021, 5:07 PM
He was awfully treated, absolutely. But I also struggle to believe he had no idea Lawrence was over the limit as they'd been in the pub together for ages, even if not at the same table. I mean, did he not even ask Lawrence how many had he had? That's all really. I struggle to believe in his incredulity at Lawrence being drunk. But everything else is pretty damning of his teammates.
That's fair , amazing effort to get himself back playing at a good level ascwell
DeLorean
02/10/2021, 5:18 PM
That's fair , amazing effort to get himself back playing at a good level ascwell
Hang on, how is that fair and what I said "victim blaming"? It's basically the same thing!
Anyway, if it's an Ireland squad night out and, say, Connolly and Parrott are going driving at 3am or whatever I'm expecting Seamus Coleman to demand their keys and talk some sense into them, not hop into the back seat and say "away we go lads".
That's all, he obviously didn't deserve what happened to him subsequently but I would have expected a lot better judgement from a senior pro/club captain. For the life or me I can't see what's harsh about that.
And absolutely, it's a credit to him that he was able to recover to play again. He's been a brilliant professional over the years.
liamoo11
03/10/2021, 1:23 PM
Hang on, how is that fair and what I said "victim blaming"? It's basically the same thing!
Anyway, if it's an Ireland squad night out and, say, Connolly and Parrott are going driving at 3am or whatever I'm expecting Seamus Coleman to demand their keys and talk some sense into them, not hop into the back seat and say "away we go lads".
That's all, he obviously didn't deserve what happened to him subsequently but I would have expected a lot better judgement from a senior pro/club captain. For the life or me I can't see what's harsh about that.
And absolutely, it's a credit to him that he was able to recover to play again. He's been a brilliant professional over the years.
That's fair !!
03/10/2021, 7:35 PM
My guess, Richie just hopped into the back seat on auto pilot because that's what he's been doing all his life, cadging lifts from his mates. He probably still hasn't passed his driving test. It's without doubt that Derby sacked him for financial reasons and chance their arm on the legalities.
It was reported Richie didn't put on his seat belt, if so that was an act of carelessness, he didn't own up that in the interview, however that's not evidence that he isn't taking any responsibility for what happened. After all, he's hired a life coach!
03/10/2021, 8:20 PM
It was careless on his part, but it's up to the driver to make sure all passengers are using seat belts.
elatedscum
04/10/2021, 5:16 AM
My guess, Richie just hopped into the back seat on auto pilot because that's what he's been doing all his life, cadging lifts from his mates. He probably still hasn't passed his driving test. It's without doubt that Derby sacked him for financial reasons and chance their arm on the legalities.
It was reported Richie didn't put on his seat belt, if so that was an act of carelessness, he didn't own up that in the interview, however that's not evidence that he isn't taking any responsibility for what happened. After all, he's hired a life coach!
Pretty sure it was reported at the time that there were a load of golf clubs and other junk across the back seats, which meant he was sitting awkwardly on top of them and the seatbelts weren’t accessible and his knee was in a really vulnerable position because of the way he was sprawled on stuff
04/10/2021, 6:38 PM
It was careless on his part, but it's up to the driver to make sure all passengers are using seat belts.
The driver has a responsibility but ultimately under UK road law the 'unbelted' passenger is legally culpable and is liable for prosecution.
Demesne Lad
19/02/2022, 2:53 PM
Blackpool Head Coach Neil Critchley praises Keogh's contribution on and off the pitch (18 Feb). As benefit games are no longer so necessary, it's a pity there isn't a way of marking the special contribution of Keogh and others to the BIG before they fade from view.
Neil Critchley praises the impact of former Derby County man Richard Keogh as Blackpool defender faces spell on the sidelines | Blackpool Gazette (https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/neil-critchley-praises-richard-keoghs-impact-as-defender-faces-spell-out-3572981)
Demesne Lad
09/08/2022, 2:45 PM
A groin injury during a pre-season friendly v Everton has kept Keogh (35) out of the Blackpool team in recent weeks. Derbyshire Live reports that Ipswich (EFL 1) have made a couple of offers during the summer and that Keogh is keen to move, to be closer to his family. He was with the Ipswich academy as a youngster.
Demesne Lad
07/01/2023, 2:56 PM
Third outing of the season for Keogh, all in the FA Cup; this time at home to Rotherham, including Peter Kioso.
Olé Olé
30/04/2023, 10:09 AM
Interview with Richard Keogh and Kieran McKenna by Paul Rowan in the Times today.
I knew McKenna was a GAA man from Fermanagh but he refers to watching Keogh at the Euros "I watched the Euros as a supporter in 2016 and he was such a part of that."
McKenna also grew up a United fan and Roy Keane was his hero.
One for the shortlist of options for future Ireland manager.
Yard of Pace
30/04/2023, 4:06 PM
One for the shortlist of options for future Ireland manager.
Aye. Reading Jonathan Wilson's book Two Brothers at the moment and the way Keogh came back (even with a big cash settlement) and I can tell you he won over hugely sceptical Huddersfield fans, his character would remind you of another stubborn centre-half who managed Ireland successfully.
I like a guy with a chip on his shoulder and always something to prove.
02/05/2023, 3:19 PM
Funny thing is that many Ipswich fans were calling for McKenna's head when they slipped to third in January. A few astute signings in the window and they have been virtually unstoppable. Supporters aren't always right.
seanfhear
02/05/2023, 7:46 PM
I wonder is Richard Keogh managerial material ?
03/05/2023, 10:36 AM
McKenna is probably already beyond our reach. But seems an ideal eventual replacement for Kenny.
Demesne Lad
23/05/2023, 12:15 PM
Keogh (36) has been released by Ipswich Town, after just 4 starts in the 2022/23 season. (EADT, today).
With him turning 37 in August he'll surely call it quits this summer.
Demesne Lad
04/07/2023, 12:25 PM
With him turning 37 in August he'll surely call it quits this summer.
Not at all! Signed for Wycombe Wanderers, new manager Matt Bloomfield's first addition to the squad. Keogh kicks off summer signings! - Wycombe Wanderers (wwfc.com) (https://www.wwfc.com/news/2023/july/04/keogh-kicks-off-summer-signings-/)
Demesne Lad
17/01/2024, 9:46 PM
Having been told that he would probably get less minutes on the pitch during the rest of the season, Keogh has left Wycombe Wanderers. (Derby Country News, 17 Jan).
09/02/2024, 8:33 PM
Signed for Forest Green Rovers
https://www.fgr.co.uk/news/keogh-signs-for-rovers
03/05/2024, 1:21 PM
Announced his retirement earlier
Eirambler
03/05/2024, 2:46 PM
Best of luck to him, he was a hard working player who deserved a year or two in the Premier League but didn't quite get there. I happened to have Sky on this week when they were showing highlights of the Derby v QPR playoff final from 10 years ago where he had his career moment to forget (aside from the car incident). He was unlucky that day but at least he got his shot at the big time with Ireland at Euro 2016.
07/05/2024, 7:03 PM
Badly treated by Derby. I wish him well.
21/08/2024, 11:30 AM
Appointed interim manager of Blackpool, who've sacked their manager (Neil Critchley) two games into the new season. Critchley was in his second spell in charge - his three full seasons saw promotion to the Championship for the first time in six years, consolidation there (their highest league placing in eight years), and - after someone else got them relegated - they missed out on the League One play-offs on the final day last season.
Two league defeats this season (plus a Cup win) and he's sacked. Daft stuff.
17/05/2025, 8:36 PM
Joining Barnsley as assistant head coach
https://www.barnsleyfc.co.uk/news/2025/may/17/coaching-staff-changes/