View Full Version : Richard Keogh

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11

Olé Olé
25/06/2015, 6:39 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/jun/24/richard-keogh-newcastle-derby-steve-mcclaren

The Guardian are normally quite reliable for this type of thing but seem to state as bid hasn't been made. Credit West Brom and Sunderland with interest too so it's looking like Keogh might have earned the chance to test himself at PL after all.

25/06/2015, 8:15 PM
And regardless of what some think if say fair play. It's not as if he's done it the easy way.

Olé Olé
25/06/2015, 10:12 PM
He has his critics on here. He seems to have more than his fair share of plaudits here and in the media and in football in England. And who'd have thunk Damien Delaney and Paul McShane would have done as well as they have done in the PL in the past 2 seasons?

DannyInvincible
25/06/2015, 11:32 PM
How he is ahead of delaney as 4th/5th centre half is hard to understand

I don't think that's necessarily the case. It seems Delaney wasn't guaranteed a starting place by O'Neill so felt it better to focus on extending/safeguarding his club career. O'Neill seemed to be understanding. I'm not criticising Delaney as I know he is into his mid-30s now and overcame a life-threatening injury, but he might well be ahead of Keogh in the pecking order if he was willing to play a squad role for us.

26/06/2015, 8:29 AM
He has his critics on here. He seems to have more than his fair share of plaudits here and in the media and in football in England. And who'd have thunk Damien Delaney and Paul McShane would have done as well as they have done in the PL in the past 2 seasons?

Critic I would say.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/06/2015, 12:17 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/newcastle-focusing-on-new-arrivals-31329380.html

Meanwhile, sources on Tyneside were mystified by reports overnight that the former Derby boss wants to bring Rams and Republic of Ireland defender Richard Keogh to St James' with the club's focus in that department lying elsewhere.

DeLorean
18/08/2015, 9:06 AM
Keogh 'not moaning' about losing captaincy (http://m.derbytelegraph.co.uk/Derby-County-video-Richard-Keogh-answers-critics/story-27623558-detail/story.html)

Seems like a really positive guy, somebody that constantly reminds himself (and maybe everybody else) what he's achieved. Not sure if that's a good or a bad thing but whatever works for him I suppose.

DeLorean
23/10/2015, 11:17 AM
Richie knows the same three Bosnia players as most of the rest of us :o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oeD-z8G-rk

24/10/2015, 9:37 PM
He looks completely deranged 90% of the time. The other 10% of the time he's dementedly begging managers to call him into the ireland squad.

25/10/2015, 8:17 PM
Keogh just likes to talk.

That looks like a glasgow kiss bruise on his forehead.
Has he ever been tested for banned substances?

25/10/2015, 8:25 PM
Is crack banned?

25/10/2015, 8:57 PM
Haha it would appear so

25/10/2015, 10:29 PM
Crack? Yes
Craic? No.

31/10/2015, 3:43 PM
Surprise, surprise, with an international coming up Keogh scores a goal for Derby. Pathetic how desperate he is to get a game, he'll be moaning in his interview later I'm sure.

31/10/2015, 4:54 PM
The ball was in the air, inviting the header. Everything went into slow motion. He saw it, he attacked it, he thought "must aim for the 80% of the goal that's wide open not like the last time I had a great chance to score".

zero
03/11/2015, 7:56 PM
keogh assists weimann to put derby one up against QPR. lots of irish players playing in the championship tonight.

03/11/2015, 8:31 PM
keogh assists weimann to put derby one up against QPR. lots of irish players playing in the championship tonight.

all here: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/Live

DeLorean
04/11/2015, 1:47 PM
keogh assists weimann to put derby one up against QPR.

A lovely little assist (https://youtu.be/4kLnDAIEkS4?t=1m11s) it was too.

The ball was in the air, inviting the header. Everything went into slow motion. He saw it, he attacked it, he thought "must aim for the 80% of the goal that's wide open not like the last time I had a great chance to score".

Ha ha! Not quite though... (https://youtu.be/iBX5ghuAxOo?t=1m33s)

Probably overthinking it but his teammates seemed really thrilled that he scored. I suppose it was his first goal in nearly two years.

04/11/2015, 10:11 PM
Maybe, just maybe, Keogh is a likeable, hardworking, passionate professional who wears his heart on his sleeve. A normal enough human being guilty only of not being brilliant at what he does. Yet a strong cult of personality syndrome has made people think he's some kind of half-rate chancer gatecrashing our precious football team which by right should be made up of Liam Bradys and Paul McGraths in every position.

DeLorean
06/11/2015, 12:47 PM
Yet a strong cult of personality syndrome has made people think he's some kind of half-rate chancer gatecrashing our precious football team which by right should be made up of Liam Bradys and Paul McGraths in every position.

'People' might be stretching it.

DeLorean
12/11/2015, 8:46 AM
"must aim for the 80% of the goal that's wide open not like the last time I had a great chance to score".

Richie thinks you're a hard taskmaster Stutts.

I've relived it a little bit, for sure. But I've looked back at it a few times and, if anything, I thought it was a decent header really. You know, the guy just missed it by about an inch in front of me so I did well to just hit the target. I headed it down, the 'keeper made a decent save and, on another day, he could've pushed it into the net or it could've fallen back to me or anything. It wasn't meant to be.

12/11/2015, 10:15 AM
Can Joe article links result in a reprimand of sorts please Tets?

12/11/2015, 10:34 AM
Can Joe article links result in a reprimand of sorts please Tets?
hmmmm, maybe if you find something on joe.ie, or sportsjoe.ie, that's clearly taken from somewhere else (twitter, instagram, youtube, etc), just link to the original source instead?
I did ask for something like that before for balls.ie links, but it didn't take

DeLorean
12/11/2015, 10:54 AM
I hate Joe myself, I even stopped following it on Twitter, etc. Balls.ie have a lot of desperation articles as well but isn't as bad overall I don't think.

Anyway, this was a direct quote from Keogh and I took out the relevant bit, but I think linking to where you saw something is just common cyber manners :)

12/11/2015, 11:41 AM
there's pros and cons on both sides. personally, I prefer to link to the original source as much as possible, even if I saw it somewhere else. That encourages the source to keep doing it. Linking to these aggregator type sites (balls/joe/sportsjoe/buzzfeed*/etc) gives the source extra views, but it also encourages these sites to keep using other people's content, and makes them money from it, but allows them to produce their own content.

If I could give an example, a friend of mine is a rugby coach, and records the games for his team. In one game, a player executed a George North-like lift of an opponent and drove him back. He put it on vimeo, and it ended up on balls.ie, and subsequently got a mention on an Australian rugby news round up, crediting balls.ie. Did they deserve that, because that's where the news team saw it, or should they have mentioned my friend's club/player/video channel? Here's the link, if you're interested: https://vimeo.com/119632732

Anyway, this is all very off topic.

*don't link to buzzfeed. ever.

DeLorean
12/11/2015, 12:13 PM
I agree and, for the record, I actually did a copy & paste on Keogh's quote and put it into a Google search to see if it originated elsewhere and I could link something less crap. I'm sure it must have, but the only result I got was Joe's article.

I'm not familiar with buzzfeed but now I'm intrigued, well done Tets!

12/11/2015, 12:27 PM
I agree and, for the record, I actually did a copy & paste on Keogh's quote and put it into a Google search to see if it originated elsewhere and I could link something less crap. I'm sure it must have, but the only result I got was Joe's article.
that's fine, you put some effort in, and if it's not available elsewhere, well it's not available.

I'm not familiar with buzzfeed but now I'm intrigued, well done Tets!
prepare yourself for endless lists and reaction GIFs

DeLorean
12/11/2015, 12:37 PM
that's fine, you put some effort in, and if it's not available elsewhere, well it's not available.

Fair enough, I'm converted. Joe's link destroyed also!

DeLorean
09/02/2016, 11:32 AM
Keogh reinstated as Derby captain (http://www.derbytelegraph.co.uk/Derby-County-Richard-Keogh-reinstated-Rams/story-28698652-detail/story.html)

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/03/2016, 3:18 PM
.... sorry Tets.

http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/03/28052759/22Keogh.jpg

http://www.balls.ie/gaming/pes-euro-2016-game-ireland/328817

Eminence Grise
29/03/2016, 11:39 PM
When did he leave County for their bitter Shire rivals?

29/03/2016, 11:48 PM
.... sorry Tets.

http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2016/03/28052759/22Keogh.jpg

http://www.balls.ie/gaming/pes-euro-2016-game-ireland/328817

He looks like something Rob Liefeld has nightmares about

DeLorean
30/03/2016, 7:23 AM
He was having almighty craic entertaining Long and JOSH on the bench last night during the second half.

Olé Olé
30/03/2016, 8:54 AM
No wonder. His place was fairly sure already but not getting a run has surely clearly showed he's on the plane for France. With O'Shea, MON wanted to give him a run-out as he hasn't had that many games. For McShane and Pearce, it was a case of fighting for their places.

DeLorean
18/04/2016, 9:28 PM
Nice article about Keogh.

The Man Who Can't Be Moved (http://www.derbytelegraph.co.uk/Derby-County-Richard-Keogh-gets-vote-Rams-player/story-29130889-detail/story.html)

DeLorean
19/04/2016, 7:48 PM
And right on cue he's having one of his bad ones by all accounts. Supposedly at fault for both Bristol City goals as Derby trail 2-1 at half time.

Edit- no major harm done as Derby recover to win 3-2. They are now guaranteed a playoff spot.

25/04/2016, 9:59 PM
Announced as Derby's player of the year, and player's player of the year tonight: http://www.dcfc.co.uk/news/article/keogh-named-player-of-the-year-at-end-of-season-awards-dinner-3080476.aspx
short interview here: https://twitter.com/dcfcofficial/status/724715568587132928

DeLorean
26/04/2016, 9:51 AM
Some man for mopping up the individual awards. That second player of the year award is selected by the supporters.

26/04/2016, 9:55 AM
yeah, what a selfish so and so.

DeLorean
26/04/2016, 9:57 AM
I heard he campaigns for votes too :)

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/04/2016, 12:16 PM
Ok, ok I deserve that. But:

Some of his competitors for that prize were Johnny Russell, Chris Martin, Jason Shackell and Tom Ince (who didn't exactly light up the PL).

I distinctly remember when I was trying to big up Scotland before our campaign started some of ye were pointing out how we were considerably better than Scotland precisely because of how average the likes of Russell & Martin are.

Just saying.

I personally think Keogh acquitted himself well when he deputised for us. I'm not the only one who raises doubts about him. Other people do that often enough without me piping up.

DeLorean
26/04/2016, 12:37 PM
Russell and Martin don't get on the Scottish team very often but I do remember thinking we had the edge defensively, as John O'Shea and Marc Wilson would have been PL regulars at the time compared to Hanley and Russell Martin (the individual, not to be confused with Johnny Russell & Chris Martin!). I would still worry about Keogh in there to be honest but hard to fault him so far.

DeLorean
28/04/2016, 4:11 PM
Only saw this (https://youtu.be/udOjR5uGPS0?t=1m30s) now. Keogh claiming responsibility for Cyrus Christie's Irish call up :)

Cy, got him into the Irish family sharpish...

28/04/2016, 4:49 PM
I'd be more disappointed at how he pronounces his name at the beginning of that video!

28/04/2016, 6:29 PM
Only saw this (https://youtu.be/udOjR5uGPS0?t=1m30s) now. Keogh claiming responsibility for Cyrus Christie's Irish call up :) Shameless from Keogh, he'll claim credit for anything, like he invented the question mark.

28/04/2016, 7:09 PM
He won't claim credit for his mistakes, he's very quick to pass the buck for those onto his fellow players.

Fixer82
29/04/2016, 10:07 AM
Shameless from Keogh, he'll claim credit for anything, like he invented the question mark.

did he?????????

29/04/2016, 10:13 AM
did he?????????

and now you owe him a licensing fee

DeLorean
02/05/2016, 12:41 PM
Some man for mopping up the individual awards. That second player of the year award is selected by the supporters.

Got this wrong as the supporters vote (http://mobile.dcfc.co.uk/news/article/201516-jack-stamps-player-of-the-season-voting-now-open-3082362.aspx) is only taking place now. No idea who selects that second player of the year award he won.

DeLorean
07/05/2016, 9:36 AM
Well he's only gone and won that (http://mobile.dcfc.co.uk/news/article/richard-keogh-named-derby-countys-201516-jack-stamps-trophy-winner-3099433.aspx) too.