View Full Version : Richard Keogh

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11

30/10/2019, 6:23 PM
Sacked by Derby. Bit harsh but suppose he was club captain.

30/10/2019, 6:39 PM
They can justifiably sack him given he is club captain?? You are confused Paul, this ain't the army. It's a football club where the club captain does not have extra contractual burdens, if the club captain does not meet the standards of being club captain, then the role is given to somebody else.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11696/11849457/richard-keogh-derby-county-defenders-contract-terminated-over-drink-drive-incident

30/10/2019, 6:40 PM
They can justifiably sack him given he is club captain?? You are confused Paul, this ain't the army. It's a football club where the club captain does not have extra contractual burdens, if the club captain does not meet the standards of being club captain, then the role is given to somebody else.

Sacked by Derby. Bit harsh but suppose he was club captain.

Ya was always going to be made the scapegoat given he was club captain and his time out.

30/10/2019, 6:42 PM
What a load of sh1te

"As we have said from the outset, the club will not tolerate any of its players or staff behaving in a manner which puts themselves, their colleagues, and members of the general public at risk of injury or worse, or which brings the club into disrepute."

All sounds like a pay off thing they are trying to sort out and come to an agreement

30/10/2019, 7:17 PM
Ya was always going to be made the scapegoat given he was club captain and his time out.

You were dead right from the start, Paul. First one to call it. Maith an buachaill.

Fizzer
30/10/2019, 7:27 PM
This is dreadful treatment from Derby. I expect it’s just a stunt as Paul says, as a preamble to negotiations. I would think that Keogh could rely on estoppel based on the clubs’ previous statement re ‘integration’ back into the squad to claim specific performance of his contract. I hope he’s been advised completely independently of the clubs’ solicitors throughout this. Derbys’ behaviour since this occurred has been shameful.

30/10/2019, 7:41 PM
If he was in his mid-20’s this would not happen. As Roy Keane has always said, players are just pieces of meat and can easily be discarded once their usefulness has come to an end. Ruthless game.....and the two lads who actually committed a crime can carry on playing for the club?!

CraftyToePoke
30/10/2019, 7:44 PM
If he was in his mid-20’s this would not happen. As Roy Keane has always said, players are just pieces of meat and can easily be discarded once their usefulness has come to an end. Ruthless game.....and the two lads who actually committed a crime can carry on playing for the club?!

That's the head shaker in it all yes. Poor aul RK only fell asleep in a motor ****ed up after all. 34 is clearly a bad age to do that.

seanfhear
30/10/2019, 7:55 PM
if Keogh was an Irish TD , I am sure he would be suing the Driver of the Car for Compensation . Contact Fine Gael headquarters Richard .

gastric
31/10/2019, 12:46 AM
This is dreadful treatment from Derby. I expect it’s just a stunt as Paul says, as a preamble to negotiations. I would think that Keogh could rely on estoppel based on the clubs’ previous statement re ‘integration’ back into the squad to claim specific performance of his contract. I hope he’s been advised completely independently of the clubs’ solicitors throughout this. Derbys’ behaviour since this occurred has been shameful.

I think you are on the money. If it went to court, I am sure on the basis the real culprits are still there and playing, Keogh would win. Just as an aside, Keogh has never learnt to drive which is quite odd and has always relied on team mates to get around. Not anymore!

01/11/2019, 8:15 AM
Interesting take from a random twitterer that might be on point. Derby aren't exactly strangers to playing fast and loose with FFP.

"FFP loop hole? Sack him, take wages out of the calc, he now appeals, they "settle out of court" at full value of his contract but it's then a legal expense and exempt from FFP?"

01/11/2019, 11:38 AM
Interesting theory!

Olé Olé
01/11/2019, 11:47 AM
Very interesting. The reputational damage arising from the decision is hard to quantify. I think there have been a lot of podcasts and forum posters and Twitter users who have highlighted the double-standards involved here by Derby in not sacking either of the valuable, contracted, younger players. And when you line that fact set up with the contents of their statement announcing the sacking it becomes even more baffling.

Fixer82
01/11/2019, 12:19 PM
Interesting take from a random twitterer that might be on point. Derby aren't exactly strangers to playing fast and loose with FFP.

"FFP loop hole? Sack him, take wages out of the calc, he now appeals, they "settle out of court" at full value of his contract but it's then a legal expense and exempt from FFP?"

I would say that’s fairly bang on

DeLorean
01/11/2019, 12:34 PM
I suppose it should be remembered that Keogh was offered a pay cut, supposedly still earning £12k a week, despite being worthless to the football club. So they didn't just sack him.

DeLorean
01/11/2019, 1:01 PM
Although The Times are reporting that he was 'only' offered £3k a week - https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/derby-sacked-richard-keogh-for-not-wearing-a-seat-belt-hdrwlmvrw?region=ie&t=ie

05/11/2019, 3:31 PM

"Keogh was club captain at Derby. That was one of the reasons given for the club's harsh decision to sack him as it was argued that his age and responsibility from that captaincy role should have led him to find any way home from the team's night out apart from being driven by a pal who had been drinking."

07/11/2019, 10:09 PM
"Keogh was club captain at Derby. That was one of the reasons given for the club's harsh decision to sack him as it was argued that his age and responsibility from that captaincy role should have led him to find any way home from the team's night out apart from being driven by a pal who had been drinking."
Nonesense as usual, utter tripe
Please inform where Derby stated in their press release that Keogh being club captain was a factor.
There was only one factor in their decision, economy, and they haven't a leg to stand on (even less that Richie has) when it comes to the appeal.

10/11/2019, 8:35 PM
I only quoted that from an article I read it wasn't something I said. I'd like to think the journalist wouldn't be just making things up.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/aidan-fitzmaurice-arters-tory-boy-tag-cannot-compare-to-richard-keoghs-utter-hurt-38661785.html

DeLorean
12/11/2019, 8:22 AM
Their owner, Mel Morris, elaborated a little bit on the whole episode here - https://www.derbytelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/morris-keogh-drink-drive-derby-3511068

12/11/2019, 1:33 PM
Is that supposed to have cleared things up? Jaysus.

I would fully agree with a decision from DCFC to hold Keogh to a higher standard as a result of him being club captain and terminate him but, based on Mel's response, I don't see any real reason in there as to why him and not the other two. Based on that response, if Keogh had been younger, i assume he wouldnt have been fired? GTFO of here.

DeLorean
12/11/2019, 1:49 PM
Yeah, I'm just taking it to mean that sacking the other two wouldn't be a punishment, as they'd find another club and get a nice signing on fee. Whereas it's very much a punishment in Keogh's case. There's a bit of logic in there I suppose, but it stinks to the high heavens.

seanfhear
12/11/2019, 1:51 PM
I wonder was Richard planning to go down the pundit / coach route . This probably wasn’t the way to bow out if he was .

Fixer82
12/11/2019, 1:54 PM
I think he has a case because the other two weren’t fired.
If it was just him who was blind drunk and got injured I don’t think he’d have a case

Fizzer
12/11/2019, 2:03 PM
If Mel is being ‘logical’, and I would suggest that his logic is totally warped, given that he feels perfectly fine to cast a crippled Keogh aside based on nothing but economics, then ‘logically’ the message to the squad is so long as you’re a valuable enough player, feel free to commit criminal acts.Not only will you face no more than a 6 week fine, we’ll also continue to pick you in the first 11 as ‘punishment’.Derby are an utter, disgusting, disgrace.

Fixer82
12/11/2019, 2:08 PM
Football is ruthless.
If Roy Keane’s famous interview for MUTV had happened three years earlier, Ferguson wouldn’t have gotten rid of him.
Keogh’s age is the biggest thing going against him

DeLorean
12/11/2019, 2:11 PM
I think he has a case because the other two weren’t fired.
If it was just him who was blind drink and got injured I don’t think he’d have a case

Yes, that's fair. I mean, I'd be okay with them standing by him even in the second scenario, but they'd have every right to sack him too. Mick put forward a very dubious defence for Richie!

If Richard has got in an Uber and the Uber driver was drunk I don’t think they would have sacked him.

13/11/2019, 9:14 AM
Yeah, I'm just taking it to mean that sacking the other two wouldn't be a punishment, as they'd find another club and get a nice signing on fee. Whereas it's very much a punishment in Keogh's case. There's a bit of logic in there I suppose, but it stinks to the high heavens.

There's only logic in it if you are trying to excuse yourself. He is putting monetary loss/value/gain against the whole club ethos he mentions previously.

This line gives his BS away:

"So it's not as simple as people think when they think about these issues. And I actually think, in the case of two of the lads,they have to come out and face our crowd every game now and the only way they can improve on this is on the field, that's all they can do."

Couldn't he just ban them for a couple of months? Footballers want to play football they don't want to be playing reserve or not playing at all. Its complete horseSh1te.

Get tha fcukoutta ere in saskatchewan saskatoon

Olé Olé
15/11/2019, 8:18 PM
I see he's in with the Ireland squad at present, obviously not in a playing capacity. I think it's a nice touch by Mick. What he did cannot be condoned but he was silly and he has paid a serious price for his silliness, as bad as he could have imagined. I'm sure the decision is absolutely eating him up. No harm give him something to be involved in to take his mind off that.

15/11/2019, 11:18 PM
I only quoted that from an article I read it wasn't something I said. I'd like to think the journalist wouldn't be just making things up.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/aidan-fitzmaurice-arters-tory-boy-tag-cannot-compare-to-richard-keoghs-utter-hurt-38661785.html
Are you quoting people who have similar standards as yourself in order to support your claim? :)
Unlike yourself Paul I had listened to the BBC podcast in its entirety by the Derby County centric sports reporter.

The reported quoted from the owner speak volumes. The theory that he was captain was a factor in his sacking is ridiculous. It was a 100% economic based decision on a player who rejected an offered 3k pw salary, a player who had no further value to the club and who had by dint of his own poor choice made himself unavailable for work.
That he was team captain he definitely had a responsibility on the night, that goes without saying even if we don't know details but his captaincy did not come with a contractual responsibility.

Demesne Lad
03/08/2020, 4:04 PM
Richard (33) may be recruited by Paul Lambert at Ipswich Town (DerbyshireLive, 3 August 2020)

Trequartista20
03/08/2020, 10:32 PM
Hopefully he's used at least some of all the downtime that's inadvertently come his way priming for his theory test.

zero
07/08/2020, 10:54 AM
Signs for league one mk dons.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0807/1157851-hungry-keogh-commits-to-mk-dons/

07/08/2020, 8:01 PM
Only 33 years old!
Not mentioned was the phonecall from Kenny. Has he or hasn't he.....?

DeLorean
29/09/2020, 8:52 AM
Made his return at the weekend - https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40056479.html

seanfhear
29/09/2020, 9:21 AM
Made his return at the weekend - https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40056479.html
He is a good fella . Hope it works out for him.

Eirambler
16/01/2021, 5:05 PM
Apparently heading back to the Championship, his new club hasn't been confirmed yet.

Eirambler
17/01/2021, 2:10 AM
Looks to be possibly Huddersfield that he's going to.

20/01/2021, 2:58 PM
To be known in future as Richie Rich Keogh (https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/no-comment-from-derby-on-reports-that-richard-keogh-in-line-for-2m-payout-after-contract-termination-39990463.html)

Olé Olé
20/01/2021, 3:50 PM
Says a lot about him that he was willing to come back from the injury and play football and even seek to test himself at a higher division at his age, if that figure is true.

20/01/2021, 5:41 PM
Straight into the Huddersfield starting XI tonight

20/01/2021, 10:11 PM
I watched a bit of that game he had with MK Dons and understandably he was way off the mark even for that level. It would be of some concern if he was thrown in straight away at Huddersfield.

Colbert Report
25/01/2021, 2:11 AM
Apparently he's been awarded two million euros by an unemployment tribunal, could put Derby in a major bind financially speaking.

Trequartista20
25/01/2021, 5:05 PM
I heard it was 2m pounds.

Olé Olé
25/01/2021, 5:16 PM
And to add insult to injury, the prizes young assets that they were protecting in Mason Bennett and Tom Lawrence have not fared so well since. Bennett is now with Millwall. And Lawrence has no goals in 13 league appearances this season.

26/01/2021, 7:58 PM
Derby sealed their own fate, the dogs in the street could see through their stroke to reduce Keogh's contract on false pretenses, meanwhile going easy on the 2 culprits, both uninjured and still on contract.

Fixer82
26/01/2021, 9:27 PM
One thing about this story that I find highly unusual is that Keogh doesn't drive. How can a professional footballer not drive? They love their cars, most of them. But surely getting to training every morning, going to different team nights, exercises etc. it's a pain in the hole not driving.
Very unusual!

26/01/2021, 9:49 PM
Could be an ethical thing - ecofriendly and all that - or just that there was never a need. It's not like he can't afford the odd taxi fare.

DCWA
26/01/2021, 10:03 PM
You would assume transport is laid on by the club for him no problem they will be aware of his status as a non driver and will have official taxi partners or taxi firms as sponsors anyway.

I kinda like the fact he doesn’t drive.

elatedscum
26/01/2021, 10:28 PM
Footballers often end up living as next door neighbours to each other, partly because the club helps them in finding housing when they arrive and partly because they’re often renting because of the short term nature of their stays and partly because they’re shopping at the higher end of the market and its relatively limited in options.

You’ll often see footballers driving to training together, just because, bonding or handiness or whatever.

Certainly unusual he doesn’t drive though...