View Full Version : World Cup qualifying group C

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8

12/10/2012, 5:54 PM
5 minutes injury time in Kaz.
They should already have learned the hard way with us scoring 2.

12/10/2012, 5:55 PM
It's a draw Kaz 0 Aust O

12/10/2012, 6:13 PM
throw another shrimp on the barbie!

abcd
12/10/2012, 6:24 PM
This Faroes game on Tuesday is looking more and more treacherous. Hopefully they'll have shot their bolt this evening!

Fixer82
12/10/2012, 8:58 PM
Maybe Trap will use the game to try out Brady, Clifford.....awwww what's the point?

gastric
12/10/2012, 9:33 PM
I am now terrified ahead of the Faroes game. Kerr will be pi##ing himself laughing!

14/10/2012, 10:53 AM
After the Faroes Sweden game, Zlatan took off his shorts and gave them to a ballboy,
the boy was obviously delighted but said that maybe Zlatan misunderstood him as he had just asked him for his shirt.

http://gfx.aftonbladet-cdn.se/image/15602401/481/normal/9fbdded63d7d8/1Bardell.jpg

15/10/2012, 4:12 AM
Zlat'll Fix It...

15/10/2012, 8:10 PM
That's well below the belt.
If there's a online discussion place lower than Goodwin's Law, you'll get there in a jiffy, Stu :)

The not to qualify odds for the World Cup, for those with survivalist type mentality, i.e. 'things could be worse'.

1-7 Ireland
1-100 Scotland
1-250 Wales
1 - 999 NI

15/10/2012, 8:43 PM
throw another shrimp on the barbie!

lets not!
i only came upon this now.quality.

15/10/2012, 9:39 PM
That's well below the belt.
If there's a online discussion place lower than Godwin's Law, you'll get there in a jiffy, Stu :)

That would be subsection b. after the Bonnie subsection a. pertaining to Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid.

15/10/2012, 11:02 PM
doesn't subsection b deal with the inevitability of a Saipan mention?

16/10/2012, 8:51 PM
F***** unbelieveable. Sweden back from 4-0 down to get a draw against the same shower of incompetent bratwurst munching ****** who dicked us raw last friday!!! Never mind nails in our coffin -that's the concrete cap on our grave.

16/10/2012, 8:53 PM
Can't believe that.

Maroon 7
16/10/2012, 8:56 PM
Germans managed to fcuk us twice in 4 days. Cannot believe they let a 4-0 lead slip.

CraftyToePoke
16/10/2012, 8:59 PM
That's done my head in. Completely. How the fuc...

writerbk1969
16/10/2012, 9:01 PM
Kraut *******s. Just when you want the *******s to do you a favour. Hopefully the players were tazered back in the dressing room and well as the **** in charge of them. Pathetic.

swinfordfc
16/10/2012, 10:16 PM
Only a point behind Swedan - in March, are we home or away to Swedan and Austria?

SwanVsDalton
16/10/2012, 10:17 PM
Only a point behind Swedan - in March, are we home or away to Swedan and Austria?

Away to Sweden, then home to Austria.

16/10/2012, 10:19 PM
Freaky stuff in Germany, there will be no hiding place for Low after that.

Are the match highlights online anywhere?

swinfordfc
16/10/2012, 10:23 PM
Away to Sweden, then home to Austria.

Great ...especially if we have Dunne and ST ledger back ... them central back with O'SHEA right back and Wilson left .... have Coleman in front of O'Shea as well

16/10/2012, 10:28 PM
Great ...especially if we have Dunne and ST ledger back ... them central back with O'SHEA right back and Wilson left .... have Coleman in front of O'Shea as well
There is no guarantee Dunne will play for Ireland again. At the moment, he might not have too many Aston Villa games left. Coleman has to start at right back now, he has comfortably eclipsed O'Shea.

swinfordfc
16/10/2012, 10:30 PM
There is no guarantee Dunne will play for Ireland again. At the moment, he might not have too many Aston Villa games left. Coleman has to start at right back now, he has comfortably eclipsed O'Shea.

well then O'Shea to be drop cause he useless at central back ... got beaten for the header in tonight game and was very poor in the Germany game but i guess if Dunne doesn't come back, then it be him and St Ledger

16/10/2012, 11:21 PM
I wouldn't drop O'Shea, but likewise I don't think he can continue at centre half without Dunne, or at the very least a proven organiser, beside him.
Don't forget, O'Shea and Dunne started Trapattoni's reign as the starting centre half pairing

17/10/2012, 7:12 AM
Fair play to Sweden - what a result.

O'Shea isn't a CB. If we have to play him then keep him at FB where he can do less damage.

17/10/2012, 9:57 AM
Highlights of the Germany Sweden game here

Germany v Sweden goals (http://rutube.ru/video/e0977602b8a30a628b89718bf78d93dc/#.UH6Ab2gx8Rk)

Edit - Maybe a better source here
http://www.sportschau.de/Medien/fussball/national/videodeutschlandgegenschwedenalletore102.html

14/11/2012, 8:26 PM
Masterclass from Zlatan this evening.
What other player has scored 4 against England at Wembley?

14/11/2012, 8:40 PM
Zlatan hasn't for a start; that game's in Sweden.

14/11/2012, 8:55 PM
Zlatan hasn't for a start; that game's in Sweden.

Scored 4, but not at Wembley, a mere detail :)

22/03/2013, 5:34 PM
2-0 to Deutschland in Kazakhstan...

ArdeeBhoy
10/06/2013, 9:22 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2013/jun/10/world-cup-2014-qualifiers-talking-points

10/06/2013, 9:44 AM
Guardian guy reckons the Faroes can beat Sweden tomorrow? Interesting view. Good article nonetheless.

ArdeeBhoy
10/06/2013, 9:48 AM
Well, just a different perspective is good to hear.

Don't share his optimism!

DeLorean
10/06/2013, 11:52 AM
It's surprising how positive the English media are about Ukraine's 4-0 win in Podgorica. "England's rivals slip up" was the headline on BBC as well. Do they not realise that Ukraine are only a point behind them and still have to play San Marino twice. They also have England in Kiev to come. If I was English I'd be far more worried now than I was before that result.

DeLorean
10/06/2013, 12:04 PM
I'm not all that bothered about the whole 'worst 2nd placed team' anymore. If we manage to finish 2nd, I think we'll should probably have got enough points to avoid that. Here are the groups/teams in contention for that particular fate...

Group B

Bulgaria (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43936/index.html)

Czech Republic (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43995/index.html)

Denmark (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43941/index.html)

Group C

Austria (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43934/index.html)

Republic of Ireland (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43953/index.html)

Sweden (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43970/index.html)

Group D

Hungary (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43950/index.html)

Romania (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43964/index.html)

Turkey (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43972/index.html)

Group E

Albania (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43932/index.html)

Iceland (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43951/index.html)

Norway (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43961/index.html)

Group E definitely looks our best bet but surely at least one of those three will have a 2nd placed side with less points than ours.

ArdeeBhoy
10/06/2013, 12:34 PM
And another follow-up, not too dissimilar to Stutts's post the other day,
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=588673364486059&set=a.383117871708277.90025.369909666362431&type=1&theater

10/06/2013, 2:36 PM
"The Republic will draw the curtain on a long campaign in New York, but minds are already turning to September and the crunch Group C clashes with Sweden and Austria which will go much of the way to determining which of them finishes in second place behind Germany."

May be a case of schrodinger's cat but imagine if we had held on and beaten Austria, we would be in serious control of second place in the group, with 2 draws in September probably being enough, but perhaps had we beaten Austria they wouldn't have beaten Sweden.

DannyInvincible
10/06/2013, 3:03 PM
May be a case of schrodinger's cat but imagine if we had held on and beaten Austria, we would be in serious control of second place in the group, with 2 draws in September probably being enough...

That's true, but we could just have easily lost to Kazakhstan were it not for the exceptionally late comeback. Things tend to even out and we get what we deserve. Still doesn't negate the disappointment of conceding so late to Austria, mind.

10/06/2013, 3:06 PM
I'm willing to accept that cat is alive. In the bag.

10/06/2013, 3:49 PM
"The Republic will draw the curtain on a long campaign in New York, but minds are already turning to September and the crunch Group C clashes with Sweden and Austria which will go much of the way to determining which of them finishes in second place behind Germany."

May be a case of schrodinger's cat but imagine if we had held on and beaten Austria, we would be in serious control of second place in the group, with 2 draws in September probably being enough, but perhaps had we beaten Austria they wouldn't have beaten Sweden.
True, but I suppose we got lucky in Kazakhstan too. Those two kind of balance each other out. Austria have the momentum though.

10/06/2013, 4:19 PM
True, but I suppose we got lucky in Kazakhstan too. Those two kind of balance each other out. Austria have the momentum though.

hopefully they lose that momentum over the summer like Slovakia did last qualifying

11/06/2013, 3:18 AM
Faroe Islands are 12-1 to get a draw tomorrow.
They drew with Austria at home in 2008 but even I am not optimistic enough to predict any else but a hammering (for the Faroes not Sweden!!).

ArdeeBhoy
11/06/2013, 8:07 AM
And of course famously beat them (Austria) in their first ever proper game, albeit in Sweden...

IsMiseSean
11/06/2013, 3:34 PM
If Zlatan gets himself booked tonight he'd be out of the game in Lansdowne in Sept (if my calculations are correct)

11/06/2013, 3:45 PM
That would be a major plus for us. How is his general record though? He would be pretty stupid to get booked against the faroes.

DeLorean
11/06/2013, 3:55 PM
He's a bit of a hot-head so it's possible alright. He got sent off for PSG against Valencia not so long ago for something fairly petulant. It was stupid as well because I think it was in injury time and he missed the return leg.

11/06/2013, 5:04 PM
That would be a major plus for us. How is his general record though? He would be pretty stupid to get booked against the faroes.

our teams saviour wes hoolahan managed to do so last Friday against the faroes. was needless

ArdeeBhoy
11/06/2013, 5:06 PM
Why? Does he miss the Sweden game?

DannyInvincible
11/06/2013, 5:51 PM
Sweden have just taken the lead against the Faroes through Ibrahimović.

DannyInvincible
11/06/2013, 6:15 PM
Working stream here, by the way, for anyone keen on watching: http://tykestv.eu/streams/tykes/tykes-4/