View Full Version : Clare League 2012/13

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

footballfriend
04/04/2013, 12:00 PM
Connolly V Tage 2 all...Draw probl a fair result. tage went up 1 nil after ten mins but Connolly got 2 goals from set pieces before half. Tage fought hard in second half and got deserved equaliser. Greg howard sent off for two yellows. Both sides had chances to win. Also think another connolly player sent off at the end, think Yan feck. Connolly dangerous from set plays but thats about it. Pitch out there doesnt help either.

Planners
04/04/2013, 12:28 PM
Looks like Newmarket are out of the chase for the title after their bad loss to Lifford , - just woundering with the loss of Stephen , Enda Kelly , Kieran Devitt { the former Rovers lads } has this taken the bite out of the push for the 3 in a row . Avenue's to lose now IMO .

04/04/2013, 2:06 PM
It looks like the league is over alright and Avenue's results have been impressive. Planners, the lads you mentioned would be a big loss to any team. Its also hard to keep a run like theirs going for as long as they managed it.

mouldedstuds
09/04/2013, 7:47 AM
i agree planners, the rineanna boys were massive additions to nwmkt n contributed to their success, without them they havent reached the heights of last 2 seasons, hard to keep it going every year, cant see avenue blowing the lead they have,, cup should be interesting with strong teams left in qf's when is the draw?

LegendStriker10
09/04/2013, 9:04 AM
Newmarket only had the Rineanna boys last season they won the league the year before as well

First
09/04/2013, 9:34 AM
You would think the league was over. Newmarket have 9 games left and if they were to win them all, and they are capable of it, they won't be too far off.

footballfriend
13/04/2013, 11:39 AM
Stupid by Connolly to play an illegal player in the cup considering they have member on the Clare committee.

fifty50
14/04/2013, 12:20 AM
Must be an embarrassment to mike Leydon, have kilkishen been awarded the tie?

old git
14/04/2013, 3:01 PM
Must be an embarrassment to mike Leydon, have kilkishen been awarded the tie?

is leydon also involved in management of connelly as well .. if so does not look good that a senior league figure involved in this :ball:

First
14/04/2013, 5:07 PM
Going to assume this was an error by Connolly and the league will give a report on the outcome if of course Kilkishen have lodged an objection. Have they?

Anyway, on another matter well done to Avenue in finally moving into their new home in Roslevan. Well done and the best of luck with it all. Although I do hope there are more home losses than wins there. :)

funkyplunket
14/04/2013, 11:35 PM
Ya Kilkishen have lodged an appeal which is going in front of the clare league at a meeting on Monday night. Rather embarrasing for Lydon alright espically considering he was at the match in question. Kilkishen even had three players suspended for the match aswell but didnt play any of them obviously. Have it good authority that connelly arent going to contest the appeal so not sure what happens next. Do Kilkishen get the result or what happens?

mouldedstuds
15/04/2013, 7:26 AM
if connolly played an illegal player then kilkishen will be awarded the tie.
congrats to avenue on the new grounds, looks decent

rubadubdub
15/04/2013, 10:21 AM
Going to assume this wasan error by Connolly and the league will give a report on the outcome if ofcourse Kilkishen have lodged an objection. Have they?

Oh I'm sure it was just a simple mistake, the wrong name on the card must've been a error too... :wink:

First
15/04/2013, 3:12 PM
Mountshannon Celtic W/O Burren United Scr.

Are they going to give everyone a WO?

On the league table they have 0 points, they had 3, have they pulled out?
No update on the CDSL site.

dirtfree
15/04/2013, 3:44 PM
If you give a walkover you also lose an additional 3 points

old git
15/04/2013, 10:39 PM
Mountshannon Celtic W/O Burren United Scr.

Are they going to give everyone a WO?

On the league table they have 0 points, they had 3, have they pulled out?
No update on the CDSL site.

another embarasment for clare league football chairman of clare league involved with the burren also .. intresting to see how donnie will sort this one out ;)

MikeBassett
16/04/2013, 7:11 AM
another embarasment for clare league football chairman of clare league involved with the burren also .. intresting to see how donnie will sort this one out ;)

Donie not involved with them this season. Disgraceful stuff to be throwing out walkovers in the Premier. Burren will be in big trouble if they give another one.

Rule 47:
a) Teams failing to fulfill fixtures shall be fined €125 and deducted 3 (three) points where applicable for each failure.
c) A Junior team who fails to fulfill a fixture on 2 (two) occasions during a season, shall be automatically suspended from the Clare League for the rest of the season and the following one. This team will also have to pay a bond of €250 to come back into the League.

funkyplunket
16/04/2013, 10:42 AM
Kilkishen Celtic won their appeal against Connelly Celtic last night and are into the last eight instead of connelly

mastermind1
19/04/2013, 6:04 PM
Cup draw

Newmarket v Avenue
Tulla v Mountshannon
Kilkishen v Lifford
Corofin v Ruan

footballfriend
23/04/2013, 9:40 AM
Clare people tipping Newmarket for the cup win. Surely avenue would be slight favourites considering the form of both teams.

dirtfree
23/04/2013, 12:49 PM
That rag of a paper . Sure what would they know..But I presume it's because the holders are drawn at home..

First
28/04/2013, 4:12 PM
The rag got it right. Great game today.

Planners
29/04/2013, 10:13 AM
Well done to Newmarket - could they catch AVE in the league ?
On a light note some goal scored by the Conolly keeper v Rineanna yesterday to draw the match - video is on facetube

mouldedstuds
09/05/2013, 7:17 AM
how did rhine/ave game finish last night? how it was played is beyond me, the rain n wind forthe first half i thought it would be called off,closing in forthe league now,well deserved at this stage, grreat scramble for the relegation play off place..

First
09/05/2013, 10:27 AM
Congratulations to Bridge Utd and Corofin on getting promoted. Good to see the Bridge back where they belong.

fifty50
09/05/2013, 10:34 AM
I hear corofin pulled a bit of a stunt last night with there Newmarket b fixture, anyone care to shed some light on it??

First
09/05/2013, 10:36 AM
how did rhine/ave game finish last night? how it was played is beyond me, the rain n wind forthe first half i thought it would be called off,closing in forthe league now,well deserved at this stage, grreat scramble for the relegation play off place..

Relegation playoff place looks interesting, hard to say who will end up there.

First
09/05/2013, 10:39 AM
I hear corofin pulled a bit of a stunt last night with there Newmarket b fixture, anyone care to shed some light on it??

What did you hear? Was wondering why it was called off, assumed it was the weather.

newlad
09/05/2013, 2:11 PM
What did you hear? Was wondering why it was called off, assumed it was the weather.

Newmarket manager, was suposed to have given permision for a date change,so they said, very dishonest from corofin,will it backfire like the NET saga!!
Bad form!!

fifty50
09/05/2013, 3:13 PM
The nets going 'missing' was a joke, but with 2 games left in the season and they in a title battle, the league can't turn a blind eye to this one, apparently they only had 6 players available.

car_friend
11/05/2013, 1:15 PM
any predictions for the cup semi finals tomorrow?

First
13/05/2013, 2:13 PM
Celebrating at half time is never a good idea.

fifty50
13/05/2013, 5:35 PM
@first Lifford???

Wolverine
18/05/2013, 10:52 PM
Can anyone explain the fixture listings for the end of season game with Newmarket on the 31st and their cup final game on the 1st.???

old git
19/05/2013, 4:01 PM
Can anyone explain the fixture listings for the end of season game with Newmarket on the 31st and their cup final game on the 1st.???

that Is a question for the fixture secretary to answer :confused:

LegendStriker10
20/05/2013, 9:17 AM

I think you are seeing things , looking at the site Newmarket are down to play the cup final on the 1st of June with no fixture on the 31st

On another note good result for Lifford yesterday, it's great to see teams with nothing to play for still give their all . It helps keep the Clare league honest if nothing else .

footballfriend
20/05/2013, 1:01 PM
Nothing to play for?! Sure if they didn't win they could have been dragged into 3rd place playoff.

newlad
20/05/2013, 5:38 PM
Two big games this week for bridge and corofin for league title, and predictions??

Wolverine
20/05/2013, 8:19 PM
Not seeing things. On Clare leagues face book page cup final was fixed for the 1st and on their web site we were down to play them on the 31st.they changed it today.Hmm something's a miss. When has a cup final finished before the league.But what do you expect from the Clare league

fifty50
20/05/2013, 8:23 PM
Ya 2 big games alright, bridge v Olympic tomorrow could be a cracker, if bridge win they have one hand on the trophy but a win for Olympic would at least ensure a playoff for 3rd, Newmarket b at home to corofin could go either way, if Newmarket have a reasonable squad available to them I could see a potential upset here.. Corofin are a big physical team who seem to bully teams rather than out play them.

Fair play to lifford for beatin avenue Sunday, there safe now and it keeps things interesting for another week at least.

Also credit to kilkishen on back to back promotions, great achievement..
A club going in the right direction.

Who are peoples favorite to get the playoff for premier/first division?? Rock/Connolly/Tulla/Tage???

old git
20/05/2013, 9:20 PM
Not seeing things. On Clare leagues face book page cup final was fixed for the 1st and on their web site we were down to play them on the 31st.they changed it today.Hmm something's a miss. When has a cup final finished before the league.But what do you expect from the Clare league

you are correct match was fixed for 31st and fixture on website .. changed now tough schedule ahead for Newmarket match thur 23rd / sunday 26th cup final sat 1st june and possible league clinching gamev avenue on Tuesday 4th june league could have pushed last game out untll Thursday to give them a few days to recover :ball:

old git
20/05/2013, 9:26 PM
Ya 2 big games alright, bridge v Olympic tomorrow could be a cracker, if bridge win they have one hand on the trophy but a win for Olympic would at least ensure a playoff for 3rd, Newmarket b at home to corofin could go either way, if Newmarket have a reasonable squad available to them I could see a potential upset here.. Corofin are a big physical team who seem to bully teams rather than out play them.

Fair play to lifford for beatin avenue Sunday, there safe now and it keeps things interesting for another week at least.

Also credit to kilkishen on back to back promotions, great achievement..
A club going in the right direction.

Who are peoples favorite to get the playoff for premier/first division?? Rock/Connolly/Tulla/Tage???

bit over the top there on corofin being a big physical team who bully teams I have seen them 3-4 times this year and they are no more physical than other teams and they can play a nice bit of football to, would fancy bridge to be to strong for Olympic.

fifty50
23/05/2013, 2:13 AM
I think tonight proved my point about corofin, on a decent pitch against a footballing side there easily found out. Newmarket were a far superior side..only pity is its corofin getting promoted not Newmarket b..

Corofin will not contribute to the premier next season..

And before people come on here saying I've an anti corofin agenda, I don't, I just think that Clare league has come along way since the medieval style tactics that teams such as corofin employ..
Their not the sole offenders here....

Second
23/05/2013, 8:40 AM
I think tonight proved my point about corofin, on a decent pitch against a footballing side there easily found out. Newmarket were a far superior side..only pity is its corofin getting promoted not Newmarket b..

And before people come on here saying I've an anti corofin agenda, I don't, I just think that Clare league has come along way since the medieval style tactics that teams such as corofin employ..

What a stupid post corofin are promoted for the simple reason that they were the 2nd best team in the division this year.you say they were found out by a decent side on a decent pitch corofin have won plenty of matches this year on decent pitches so your comment is pointless . Yes Newmarket b are a good team but not in the top 3 of the division. The table doesn't lie. And corofin are also in cup final in doora where they played there semi final too.im sure they wanted to win last night but were also keeping 1 eye on cup final

old git
23/05/2013, 8:57 PM

The league table does not lie .. corofin lost only 4 games this year to nemarket b 8 games ! and finished 7 points ahead of Newmarket with 1 game to play so they must have been doing something right all season and in the cup final also ,beating a premier league team in the semi final by the way I don't think Newmarket b can get promoted because their A team are in the premier and is there not a rule teams from the same league cannot play in the same division ?

outleft
25/05/2013, 7:07 AM
Yes they did a lot right but will they get away with hiding nets and changing fixtures in the premier

Second
25/05/2013, 11:29 AM
Don't think they will even get a point in the premier but unfortunately they deserve to be there. A big gap between premier and first at the moment. Bridge united will struggle too as very young but I'd expect them to stay up next year and build on that .

First
25/05/2013, 12:07 PM
There seems to be a lot of ill feeling towards Corofin. They are promoted, deserve their place in the Premier and it's up to them how they approach it. The gap between the first and the premier is fairly big if you measure it against Newmarket and Avenue but if you look at it from the point of the rest you can set yourself a target to survive and build from there. Both Corofin and Bridge imo will survive as more established clubs seem to be slipping. The Bridge especially if they add a few to their squad they seem a bit light in a few areas. Mountshannon have showed it can be done, having just avoided relegation last season they could realistically finish second this season. They deserve a lot of credit for that.

I also expect Corofin to give Newmarket a tough game in the Cup final and if they win it they deserve credit, I don't understand the ill feeling towards them.

Second
25/05/2013, 5:18 PM
Probably because they are in trouble nearly every year. Between threatening refs and opposition they are a disgrace. One of there supporters hit a bunratty player this year and they keep getting away with it

First
26/05/2013, 10:26 PM
Congratulations to Avenue.