View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2012/13
hotspur
23/08/2012, 9:18 PM
are carew strong enough to challange pike this year lads?
Don't think so,Pike will be too strong for them over the season,they very well could pick up a trophy though,they have a good squad,boro still nursing a hangover from their MJ win.
Fairkop
23/08/2012, 10:26 PM
poor enough game in the boro lacking in quality.pike the better team,thought hartnett and mullins prominent all through,good goal from hanrahan.boro were lifeless ,several of their players looked way off the pace and the keeper looks unfit,hard to know what type of game boro were trying to play as AOB said too many balls lumped in the in the general direction of mullins and enrights head.where did deady come from anyone.?
Fairkop
23/08/2012, 10:32 PM
that shannon hibs result would be a worry.results like that not good for the premier league.
Hollywood Hogan
23/08/2012, 10:36 PM
Deady was with limerick. Boro need to regroup before the first rounds of the fai and munster junior. League is probably gone for them already. Draw for fai will be interesting, last thing boro need now is to draw pike in the local rounds
oscar
23/08/2012, 10:39 PM
stop putting ideas in their heads:)
23/08/2012, 10:42 PM
Ya Martin Deedy was with Cobh Ramblers and then moved to us when he was going to college in UL. Was a good left back for us, quick and good in attack also. Was actually hoping for him to return to us.
old git
23/08/2012, 11:07 PM
that shannon hibs result would be a worry.results like that not good for the premier league.
do you not re-call last season pike beat ashling 10-0 at start of season and a few other heavy defeats for teams as season went on. but hibs need to get it sorted as soon as possible 3 games played 3 defeats and 18 goals against a terrible start so far.
lankyboy26
23/08/2012, 11:58 PM
Carew park 8 Shannon hibs 0, jamie Kelly, gary griffin, Jonathan Grant, Brian ahern, Steven Grant, kyle mcgrath 2, dale mac.
CArew park bench john boyle, pa boyle, dale mac, jamie o Sullivan, mark sla couple of lads had a few knocks.
Tough game for Shannon they need to regroup best of luck to them for the rest of the season.
Hate to see score-lines like that, no matter what division it is. There's been a few already
mrman
24/08/2012, 12:48 AM
who is the manager in the Boro, is it Shane, Daithi, Braddish or Brown, the 4 of them seem to be telling players to do different things, who really is the manager there.
Hibs7772
24/08/2012, 1:57 AM
do you not re-call last season pike beat ashling 10-0 at start of season and a few other heavy defeats for teams as season went on. but hibs need to get it sorted as soon as possible 3 games played 3 defeats and 18 goals against a terrible start so far.
Yeah I also Recall Pike and Boro Hammering teams by 7 and 8 last year...we had a player sent off after 30 mins so that didn't help even though we were 4-0 down at that stage anyway, No excuses though. At least things cant get any worse, the only way is up:p
hotspur
24/08/2012, 2:25 AM
who is the manager in the Boro, is it Shane, Daithi, Braddish or Brown, the 4 of them seem to be telling players to do different things, who really is the manager there.
Hahaha,like I said already,your some man.
prawnsandwich2
24/08/2012, 7:26 AM
TEAM PL W D L F A PTS
Pike Rovers 3 3 0 0 11 2 9
Carew Park 3 2 1 0 15 3 7
Geraldines 3 2 1 0 8 1 7
Wembley Rvs 3 1 1 1 8 8 4
Fairview Rgs 3 1 1 1 5 5 4
Ballynanty Rs 3 1 1 1 4 4 4
Regional Utd 3 1 1 1 5 6 4
Corbally Utd 3 0 3 0 5 5 3
Janesboro 3 1 0 2 6 8 3
Aisling Ann 3 1 0 2 7 12 3
Kilmallock 3 0 1 2 3 8 1
Shannon Hibs 3 0 0 3 3 18 0
Results
Thur 23/08/12
Corbally Utd 0-0 Kilmallock
Geraldines 3-0 Ballynanty
Wembley Rovers 1-2 Fairview
Regional Utd 4-1 Aisling Annacotty
Carew Park 8-0 Shannon Hibernian
Janesboro 0-3 Pike Rovers
wembley 1 fairview 2
not a bad game to watch...
fairview had two great chances in the first half to take the lead,although wembley probably had more possession.
wembley took the lead with about 20 mins gone in the second half from a long(very long!) throw.
fairview introduced colm heffernan just after that,and himself and jason mullins combined well with ten to go,when mark mcgrath headed home from colm's cross.
with a minute to go fairview were awarded a penalty when mullins got behind wembley,and was taken down.
it was a stone wall penalty,although wembley could have an arguement that he was off side in the first place.
scanlon scored penalty.
a draw would probably been the fairest result,as when fairview were pushing for an equaliser,wembley had at least two great chances to go 2-0 up.
a draw would have been the fairest result,but something similar happened to fairview against carew on sunday last.
wembley are a good footballing side,and will easily hold their own,and on their display last night will not drop too many points at home to anyone
dirtfree
24/08/2012, 8:06 AM
Yeah I also Recall Pike and Boro Hammering teams by 7 and 8 last year...we had a player sent off after 30 mins so that didn't help even though we were 4-0 down at that stage anyway, No excuses though. At least things cant get any worse, the only way is up:p
You expect pike and balla to beat teams like that but to use that as an excuse is shocking..Carew are a good team but had 3-4 of there better players on the bench.. 18 goals in 3 games is shocking .. It's going to be a long season for hibs.. Let's just hope players keep trying and don't just pack it in..
Hahaha,like I said already,your some man.
and dont you ever forget it, and I told you its Mr to you.
passandmove
24/08/2012, 9:39 AM
Wembley 1 Fairview 2, spot on with the match report prawn i thought it was a very good game between 2 good sides,hard to take for us having been 1 up with 5 minutes to go but when you can bring on someone of heffernans quality you always have a chance,best of luck to the view for the season.
DSMALL1
24/08/2012, 9:42 AM
Hibs777 , missing Eddie for three games is going to be a loss. But also heard Jay Regan is gone back to Olympic & Davy Wall Newmarket. Any truth in these rumours?
24/08/2012, 9:43 AM
100% genuine question lads and I'm not trying to be smart but, where is the enjoyment for players playing premier the last few years that aren't involved in the top two? Unless you have come up through a club like corbally or killmallock for example and want to play with them as they are your own club what is the appeal of watching pike winning the division year after year? Is it just to be able to say you are playing premier? It must be very disheartening for some players going out and being beaten heavily by the top few.
There seems to be a lot more players getting fed up of fighting relegation or sitting mid table every year and are returning to the clubs where they are from or where they started out.
passandmove
24/08/2012, 9:59 AM
So what do you suggest jof? We all give up and let pike and boro play in their own league?Clubs should relish playing these teams not fear it,test your club against the best thats what playing premier is all about.
passandmove
24/08/2012, 10:15 AM
If you had no pike and boro league wouldnt be worth talking about end of story,if you dont like it dont post about them or go watch them....simple really.
prawnsandwich2
24/08/2012, 10:26 AM
i think you mean if the players involved with pike and the boro were not around...there is a difference.
My-right-boot
24/08/2012, 10:26 AM
Hibs777 , missing Eddie for three games is going to be a loss. But also heard Jay Regan is gone back to Olympic & Davy Wall Newmarket. Any truth in these rumours?
If that's true its a big loss to hibs, Davy has the experience of playing in the premier and jay is a great player. Cant understand why lads leave a newly promoted team, would they not want to try and test themselves at the highest division (ken & gav going to Shannon town)?
passandmove
24/08/2012, 10:28 AM
Sorry prawn yes i meant the players involved.
hotspur
24/08/2012, 10:50 AM
i think you mean if the players involved with pike and the boro were not around...there is a difference.
Prawn when ye were winning everything and signing everyone you hadn't a problem had you?
prawnsandwich2
24/08/2012, 11:45 AM
Prawn when ye were winning everything and signing everyone you hadn't a problem had you?
please insert "legally" where appropriate
24/08/2012, 12:01 PM
So what do you suggest jof? We all give up and let pike and boro play in their own league?Clubs should relish playing these teams not fear it,test your club against the best thats what playing premier is all about.
No quiet the opposite actually. The reason I ask the question is cause so many see the league is over already after 3 games. No doubt pike are the best squad in the league but it's 11 v 11 on the pitch and surely if players and clubs want to play premier they should always fancy there chanes of getting a result and putting it up to them. The general attitude seems to be if the Boro don't beat them it's game over. I don't see why on their day with a bit of luck why Carew couldn't beat them of take points off them and the same goes for a few other team too.
mrman
24/08/2012, 12:56 PM
Are you ever going to grow up no?and Carew won't by the way,now if you wanna invest a few €,I'd be more than willing to take it off you,I'll await your answer.
no problem, Ill put €100 on Carew to take points from Pike or Boro give me 10/1 and you have a deal, now hop along and get a good days sleep you have to be up for work for 5 in the morning, get in loads of ot and hand it over Ha!Ha!,Ha!
prawnsandwich2
24/08/2012, 1:27 PM
anyone got a match report from the dines/balla and boro/pike games starting teams subs etc??
hotspur
24/08/2012, 1:54 PM
no problem, Ill put €100 on Carew to take points from Pike or Boro give me 10/1 and you have a deal, now hop along and get a good days sleep you have to be up for work for 5 in the morning, get in loads of ot and hand it over Ha!Ha!,Ha!
Why do you want 10/1???you were the one that said Carew would take the points,now put up or shut up,and I've no work by the way,I wish I had a job,and prawn if you think they weren't getting readies you've a lot to learn.
prawnsandwich2
24/08/2012, 2:09 PM
Why do you want 10/1???you were the one that said Carew would take the points,now put up or shut up,and I've no work by the way,I wish I had a job,and prawn if you think they weren't getting readies you've a lot to learn.
were you at the boro pike match.
who scored,teams subs etc
Minesapint
24/08/2012, 3:39 PM
100% genuine question lads and I'm not trying to be smart but, where is the enjoyment for players playing premier the last few years that aren't involved in the top two? Unless you have come up through a club like corbally or killmallock for example and want to play with them as they are your own club what is the appeal of watching pike winning the division year after year? Is it just to be able to say you are playing premier? It must be very disheartening for some players going out and being beaten heavily by the top few.
There seems to be a lot more players getting fed up of fighting relegation or sitting mid table every year and are returning to the clubs where they are from or where they started out.
Same could be said with limerick not including this year or last year but for years limerick where gone out of the title race by christmas.
Minesapint
24/08/2012, 3:44 PM
I think it is derek braddish .
AlanOB
24/08/2012, 3:54 PM
anyone got a match report from the dines/balla and boro/pike games starting teams subs etc??
I'll do my best for you here...
Janesboro (4-4-2): Glasheen, Stanislewski, Colbert (Hurley), O'Mara, O'Donovan (Roche); Waters, McCarthy, Lyons, Hayes; Clarke, Doyle
Pike Rovers (4-4-2): Neville, Fitzgerald, Mullins, Enright, O'Donovan; Hartnett (C. Moloney), Tierney, Deady, Hanrahan; Doona, P. Moloney (D. Ryan)
Pike had a 3rd sub but I don't know either who it was or who he came on for.
10/1 take it or leave after all, Boro, Mjc Champs, Pike, league champs,
hotspur
24/08/2012, 4:43 PM
Janesboro (4-4-2): Glasheen, Stanislewski, Colbert (Hurley), O'Mara, O'Donovan (Roche); Waters, McCarthy, Lyons, Hayes; Clarke, Doyle
Pike Rovers (4-4-2): Neville, Fitzgerald, Mullins, Enright, O'Donovan; Hartnett (C. Moloney), Tierney, Deady, Hanrahan; Doona, P. Moloney (D. Ryan)
Jason Heffernan came on for Hartnett,Davy Ryan for Pa Moloney,Conor Moloney for Paul Doona,Gavin O'Shea the other sub.
Hibs7772
24/08/2012, 5:46 PM
You expect pike and balla to beat teams like that but to use that as an excuse is shocking..Carew are a good team but had 3-4 of there better players on the bench.. 18 goals in 3 games is shocking .. It's going to be a long season for hibs.. Let's just hope players keep trying and don't just pack it in..
If that's true its a big loss to hibs, Davy has the experience of playing in the premier and jay is a great player. Cant understand why lads leave a newly promoted team, would they not want to try and test themselves at the highest division (ken & gav going to Shannon town)?
Dirtfree : I believe I said "no excuses though" we deserved to be beaten on the day the 8-0 scoreline suggests that, I was just saying that having a man sent off after 30 mins and playing one of the better teams in the prem doesn't help!
DSMALL and my-right-boot: Yeah I believe Davy has left us, dunno whether he's gone back to Newmarket though and That's the first I've heard about Jay leaving so I'm not sure about that one. Yeah I don't understand why players would want to leave a newly promoted team either, maybe they were afraid to test themselves against the Best teams in limerick, they are doing well with Shannon town now anyway so best of luck to them.
Hibs7772
24/08/2012, 5:48 PM
Did Garry Higgins not get a game?
Hibs7772
You know if you play this formation, you might keep a clean sheet.. :)
Hibs7772
24/08/2012, 5:58 PM
Hibs7772
You know if you play this formation, you might keep a clean sheet.. :)
Hahahahahaha even then we'd be struggling:p Nah we've alot of work to be done, Big games At home To Wembley Sunday and Away to Killmallock Thursday
Hahahahahaha even then we'd be struggling:p Nah we've alot of work to be done, Big games At home To Wembley Sunday and Away to Killmallock ThursdayAt least you can have a sense of humour about it pal, more than a lot of clown's around here. Best of luck with it, shame a few have jumped ship.
don't panic
24/08/2012, 11:19 PM
"Town" Had same problem 2 years ago. Ego's jumping ship after 2 or 3 games
prawnsandwich2
25/08/2012, 8:41 AM
anyone got something similar from dines/balla
dirtfree
25/08/2012, 1:23 PM
I heard there was a big argument in hibs dressing room last week which led to Davy leaving ... Hope this info is wrong as he would be a massive loss to hibs.. Eddie won't be a big loss to hibs he badly needs to get fit .. Now he will have 3 weeks to train hard
AC Melon
25/08/2012, 3:57 PM
I heard there was a big argument in hibs dressing room last week which led to Davy leaving ... Hope this info is wrong as he would be a massive loss to hibs.. Eddie won't be a big loss to hibs he badly needs to get fit .. Now he will have 3 weeks to train hard
Wasnt a huge argument just a tiff..think davy has left hibs as has 2 U19s players that signed and ken and gavin o donnell from last season, gonna be a tough season..
dirtfree
25/08/2012, 9:21 PM
What 19's left and where they go
25/08/2012, 10:12 PM
Same could be said with limerick not including this year or last year but for years limerick where gone out of the title race by christmas.
But there was never a case of one team will win it all the time and no point in the other teams competing kind of an attitude. Big difference between that and actually being out of a title race half way through as season.
Bayern Munchies
25/08/2012, 10:44 PM
What 19's left and where they go
Alex Cole and Stephen Tuhoy left to go to the bridge under 19's
Hibs7772
26/08/2012, 1:21 AM
Don't know how you can say Eddie Dunne isn't a big loss? he has been keeping Gareth Quirke out of the team at left full, bags of experience
dirtfree
26/08/2012, 7:28 AM
In all fairness while the 2 lads are great lads and good players neither of the two are premier standard anymore ..they were in 2A last year were they not.. Massive jump up fitness wise and from what I've seen of them both need a bit more fitness wise .. But I suppose playing matches will bring that
Hibs7772
26/08/2012, 10:00 AM
In all fairness while the 2 lads are great lads and good players neither of the two are premier standard anymore ..they were in 2A last year were they not.. Massive jump up fitness wise and from what I've seen of them both need a bit more fitness wise .. But I suppose playing matches will bring that
1B but yeah I see your point, still two good players in my view none the less.
Hibs vs Wembley called off because of a bad pitch
AlanOB
26/08/2012, 12:18 PM
Aisling Annacotty 1-2 Geraldines
Missed the first 20 minutes (and the AA goal) due to delays caused by a bloody bike race. Very close game here which Geraldines did not have all their own way by any means. It was an unfortunate own goal from Dara Droog that gave them the equaliser. The second came just on the stroke of half time after a brilliant through pass was lofted over the keeper. That goal alone was worth the entrance fee. AA pushed hard in the second half and had a number of chances to score, the best being a Darren Harrington header that was brilliantly tipped over by McCarthy late on. But a red card for Conor McCullough took the wind out of their sails and prevented a late siege on the Dines goal. He had been booked in the first half and warned about a later challenge so he can have no complaints but a straight red seemed strange. One of the AA coaches had to be sent out of the ground for giving dog's abuse to the ref however, and that's never good to see.
The Dines have had a great start and in the likes of Tier, Flynn and O'Neill have some nice players but they look very open. They played with 3 forwards today in a 4-2-1-3 and often one of the wide forwards wouldn't track back. Might have to revert to two banks of four against the big teams.