View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2012/13
Pages :
[
13]
mrman
11/10/2012, 12:33 AM
Spot on nobody in carew Will ever give up but we are realistic aswell about 3yrs or so ago we were fighting to stay in the league we built a team it took time we have improved every season last season we finished 3rd if we finish 3rd again this year great when you look at pike and boro Dec Nash another brilliant player to the boro squad it would be good going.
ah here, if ye feel that way there's no point in ye even turning up to play Pike. ye sound beaten already,
Roadend
11/10/2012, 8:20 AM
ah here, if ye feel that way there's no point in ye even turning up to play Pike. ye sound beaten already,
You sound like a very naiive young man
Roberto
11/10/2012, 2:26 PM
MOD EDIT-I suggest you use the PM facility.
Boroman
19/10/2012, 6:47 AM
is it true connie is moving to america
heard this again this week in town no bull
hotspur
19/10/2012, 7:45 AM
heard this again this week in town no bull
Spot on,he's gone an all sure,flying back weekends for matches,no expense spared,😄doesn't film weekends,
is it true connie is moving to america
Ya it's true,,taking over from Simon Cowell on the x factor,,Louis Walsh is the new manager of pike
19/10/2012, 8:45 PM
Lads,can we keep it football?
Leftside
20/10/2012, 8:57 AM
Hi Guys,I have a quick question that I hope someone can help with. Does anyone know of any players that received long term suspensions from the Limerick Lelasso in recent season. I have a player that has played premier in Limerick that now wishes to join our team. I'm a bit suspicious as he still lives in Limerick and had said he'd travel to Cork City every Tuesday and Thursday for training and at the weekend for games. Hits me as strange that he wants to play 3rd division in Cork and not with a Limerick team. If you know of any please PM. Cheers.
prawnsandwich2
20/10/2012, 11:29 AM
Hi Guys,I have a quick question that I hope someone can help with. Does anyone know of any players that received long term suspensions from the Limerick Lelasso in recent season. I have a player that has played premier in Limerick that now wishes to join our team. I'm a bit suspicious as he still lives in Limerick and had said he'd travel to Cork City every Tuesday and Thursday for training and at the weekend for games. Hits me as strange that he wants to play 3rd division in Cork and not with a Limerick team. If you know of any please PM. Cheers.
your best bet would be to have your secretary contact the LDMC sec. and ask him...
hotspur
20/10/2012, 1:22 PM
MOD EDIT---hotspur,leave out the personal stuff,take that somewhere else..
Hibs7772
22/10/2012, 2:30 AM
Sunday Oct 28th
Premier League
Pike Rvs v Carew Park, 10.30, A Buttimer
Shannon Hibs v Regional Utd, 10.30, J McNamara
Fairview Rgs v Regional Utd, 10.30, R Peiper
Ballynanty Rvs v Kilmallock, Shelbourne Park, 10.30, G Clancy
These are the fixtures down for this Sunday on limerickjuniorsoccer.com, clearly a typo but does anyone know whether its Hibs or Fairview playing Regional??
prawnsandwich2
22/10/2012, 8:54 AM
Sunday Oct 28th
Premier League
Fairview Rgs v Regional Utd, 10.30, R Peiper
These are the fixtures down for this Sunday on limerickjuniorsoccer.com, clearly a typo but does anyone know whether its Hibs or Fairview playing Regional??
not sure about the typo.
big match on sunday between pike and carew..would not like to call it,especially with the form both sides are in
hotspur
22/10/2012, 11:51 AM
not sure about the typo.
big match on sunday between pike and carew..would not like to call it,especially with the form both sides are in
Can't see anything other than a pike win,they're scoring goals for fun now and not conceding like early on in the season,but then again so are Carew,Grant seems to be the only one scoring for Carew at the moment,whereas a lot of the pike players are getting on the scoresheet regularly,should be a very interesting game though with a decent ref,hopefully none of the players on both teams pick up any injuries on wednesday night in OT match.good luck to both teams on the day and I'm sure the best team on the day will win.
thomas72
22/10/2012, 1:18 PM
Can't see
anything other than a pike win,they're scoring goals for fun now and not conceding like early on in the season,but then again so are Carew,Grant seems to be the only one scoring for Carew at the moment,whereas a lot of the pike players are getting on the scoresheet regularly,should be a very interesting game though with a decent ref,hopefully none of the players on both teams pick up any injuries on wednesday night in OT match.good luck to both teams on the day and I'm sure the best team on the day will win.
Brian ahern 3, sully 7, Steven grant 3, pa boyle 6, john boyle 4, Jon sommors 4, Gary griffin 3. Goals shared around not all on granty but with 18 goals already he is doing very well.
Hopefully it Will be a good game we know were up against the best team in town if not the country.
Black and Red
22/10/2012, 1:23 PM
i heard sully wont be playin as his head is not in it at the moment is this true ???
thomas72
22/10/2012, 2:08 PM
i heard sully wont be playin as his head is not in it at the moment is this true ???
lol no that's not true he Will be there Sunday.
hotspur
22/10/2012, 3:06 PM
Brian ahern 3, sully 7, Steven grant 3, pa boyle 6, john boyle 4, Jon sommors 4, Gary griffin 3. Goals shared around not all on granty but with 18 goals already he is doing very well.
Hopefully it Will be a good game we know were up against the best team in town if not the country.
I said at the moment,he seems to be yere main goal threat,
Minesapint
23/10/2012, 3:58 PM
anyone willing to have a bet on sundays match i will take carew park plus the draw pm me if interested.
hotspur
23/10/2012, 4:26 PM
anyone willing to have a bet on sundays match i will take carew park plus the draw pm me if interested.
I'll have a bet with you but draw no bet,After all Carew are top of the league.so if you want it let me know.im sure you'll get better odds on Carew in the bookies anyway,so if your feeling confident you'd be better off going to bookies.but my offer stands anyway.😃
Minesapint
24/10/2012, 8:28 AM
I'll have a bet with you but draw no bet,After all Carew are top of the league.so if you want it let me know.im sure you'll get better odds on Carew in the bookies anyway,so if your feeling confident you'd be better off going to bookies.but my offer stands anyway.
Pike are at home so i will take the draw what are the prices in the bookies
hotspur
24/10/2012, 11:21 AM
Pike are at home so i will take the draw what are the prices in the bookies
Draw no bet,they're not up yet.
abbeyvale
24/10/2012, 10:57 PM
Premier League P W D L F A Pts
Carew Park 9 7 2 0 30 10 23
Pike Rovers 8 7 0 1 22 8 21
Fairview Rgs 9 6 2 1 20 11 20
Janesboro 9 4 2 3 33 20 14
Geraldines 7 4 1 2 16 10 13
Ballynanty Rvs 9 3 3 3 13 13 12
Corbally Utd 9 3 3 3 18 23 12
Regional Utd 8 3 1 4 14 15 10
Wembley Rvs 8 2 1 5 16 22 7
Aisling Ann 9 2 1 6 15 23 7
Kilmallock 9 1 2 6 13 25 5
Shannon Hibs 8 0 0 8 7 37 0
Fixtures
Sat 27/10/12
Aisling Annacotty v Wembley Rvs, 7.00, M Kiely
Sun 28/10/12
Fairview Rgs v Geraldines, 10.30, R Peiper
deadly man
26/10/2012, 1:53 PM
Predictions
Pike 1-1 Carew park
Shannon Hibs 0-3 Regional
Fairview 1-1 Geraldines
Ballynanty 4-0 Kilmallock
dirtfree
26/10/2012, 2:57 PM
Predictions
Pike 1-1 Carew park
Fairview 1-1 Geraldines
Ill go
Pike 0-0 Carew
Hibs 2-1 regional
Fairview 2-1 dines
Balla 2-0 killmallock
passandmove
26/10/2012, 5:36 PM
Aisling Wembley is a big game also Down the bottom of the league,we are missing 4 of the Pallas lads who are playing county final,and another 4 or 5 are out through either work or injuries,getting 11 out is an achievement in itself at the minute,get beaten again tomorrow and I fear for our season.
Ill go
Pike 5-1 Carew
Hibs 0-4 regional
Fairview 4-2 dines
Balla 2-0 killmallock
Hibs7772
26/10/2012, 6:04 PM
Predictions
Pike 1-1 Carew park
Fairview 1-1 Geraldines
Ill go
Pike 0-0 Carew
Hibs 2-1 regional
Fairview 2-1 dines
Balla 2-0 killmallock
Ill go
Pike 5-1 Carew
Hibs 0-4 regional
Fairview 4-2 dines
Balla 2-0 killmallock
Pike 3-1 Carew
Fairview 2-2 dines
Balla 4-1 killmallock
Hollywood Hogan
26/10/2012, 11:43 PM
Pike 2-0 carew
Balla 5-0 kilmallock
View 2-1 dines
Shannon 0-3 regional
Ashling 2-0 wembley
Pike just know how to win big local games, over the last five years they win the big games, like last year when boro only needed a result at home, pike proved too strong. A lot of the local sides are beat before they go out on the pitch. Should be good game and what a start to Super Sunday!!!
oscar
26/10/2012, 11:49 PM
Pike to win by 3
dirtfree
27/10/2012, 6:13 PM
How would the front pitch be unplayable it was perfect last week and weather has been good all week
mrman
27/10/2012, 10:13 PM
Heard it is to be played on the back pitch as the front pitch is unplayable.may not suit pike as it is alot shorter.
there must be a lot of betting on Carew to win, just like the Corbally game a few weeks a go. hint, hint, wink, wink, put your money on Carew Lads if the game is been played on the back pitch.
hotspur
28/10/2012, 12:58 AM
there must be a lot of betting on Carew to win, just like the Corbally game a few weeks a go. hint, hint, wink, wink, put your money on Carew Lads if the game is been played on the back pitch.
Lads ye'd swallow the Shannon Bridge,and that's a fact.Did you win a few bob on the Corbally match mrman,I very much doubt it.
mrman
28/10/2012, 12:14 PM
Lads ye'd swallow the Shannon Bridge,and that's a fact.Did you win a few bob on the Corbally match mrman,I very much doubt it.
looks like losing the Corbally game could come back to haunt ye. ye lost it too early in the season:eek:, won nothing in corbally game or this game, heard you lost €50 and were seen handing it over after the game, great win for Carew, they totally deserved it. great club for the future
thomas72
28/10/2012, 12:26 PM
Pike 1 Carew park 2, Steven grant, mark keane,
brilliant result against a fantastic team we had to work very very hard but we deserved the win it was backs to the wall for the last 10mins but both mark keane and mark sla were outstanding big mention to john boyle brilliant performance good 3pts.
AlanOB
28/10/2012, 12:35 PM
Pike Rovers 1-2 Carew Park
Carew should be making a mould of Pa Boyle's left foot after this one. His Charlie Adam-esque set piece deliveries were the difference between the two sides today.
Carew started slow and seemed to be feeling the occasion. Errors and misplaced passes were rampant, and the flowing possession football that has become their calling card this season was nowhere to be seen. Pike were dominating the midfield area with Grant and Boyle failing to get tight enough to Colbert and Tierney. Yet, it was Carew who took the lead against the run of play after 20 minutes through an inswinging free kick from Pa Boyle, glanced home by right full Gary Griffin.
Pike's dominance in the centre was to translate into goals soon after however, and on 35 minutes, Wayne Colbert had the time and space to play a through pass to Alan Barry, who slotted home after evading his marker Keane with a run to the left of the box. 1-1 at half time.
The second half began by following the same pattern. Pike dominated possession, only to see Carew again go ahead from a set piece. This time it was a Pa Boyle corner, headed home by captain Mark Keane. Then, strangely, Carew had their best spell of the game. Brian Ahern was removed from the right flank (inexplicably, considering how poor Somers was on the left) and replaced by Jamie O'Sullivan, and his arrival contributed to a period of dominance for the away side. Eventually, however, Carew retreated, and the last 15 minutes were played exclusively in their half. Ronan Power made a couple of excellent saves to keep the scoreline in their favour, and substitute Keith Hartnett missed a late free header at the back post to level the scores. But generally Carew defended extremely well and gave up few chances. Mark Slattery was the standout performer in that regard. He saw off Paul Doona and his replacement Dave Ryan. And despite struggling against Barry in the first half (particularly aerially), Mark Keane dominated him in the second.
Pike went 3-1-4-2 for the last few minutes, removing Enright, but they couldn't break down the Carew door, even with the baffling 7 minutes of injury time granted to them by referee Buttimer. There were some positives today for the home side (new signing Colbert in the holding role was sensational) but they are lacking in key areas. Defending from set pieces was atrocious, and the contribution from both the wide players and the strikers was not good enough. Despite dominating the middle, Tierney and Colbert has very little to work with in terms of movement from their teammates. Far too static.
Carew will be delighted. They nicked the lead and defended brilliantly to keep it. Champions elect?
Hibs7772
28/10/2012, 5:18 PM
Shannon Hibs 1-2 Regional...Eddie Dunne with the Hibs goal
neverseenit
28/10/2012, 10:57 PM
Pike Rovers 1-2 Carew Park
Carew should be making a mould of Pa Boyle's left foot after this one. His Charlie Adam-esque set piece deliveries were the difference between the two sides today.
Carew started slow and seemed to be feeling the occasion. Errors and misplaced passes were rampant, and the flowing possession football that has become their calling card this season was nowhere to be seen. Pike were dominating the midfield area with Grant and Boyle failing to get tight enough to Colbert and Tierney. Yet, it was Carew who took the lead against the run of play after 20 minutes through an inswinging free kick from Pa Boyle, glanced home by right full Gary Griffin.
Pike's dominance in the centre was to translate into goals soon after however, and on 35 minutes, Wayne Colbert had the time and space to play a through pass to Alan Barry, who slotted home after evading his marker Keane with a run to the left of the box. 1-1 at half time.
The second half began by following the same pattern. Pike dominated possession, only to see Carew again go ahead from a set piece. This time it was a Pa Boyle corner, headed home by captain Mark Keane. Then, strangely, Carew had their best spell of the game. Brian Ahern was removed from the right flank (inexplicably, considering how poor Somers was on the left) and replaced by Jamie O'Sullivan, and his arrival contributed to a period of dominance for the away side. Eventually, however, Carew retreated, and the last 15 minutes were played exclusively in their half. Ronan Power made a couple of excellent saves to keep the scoreline in their favour, and substitute Keith Hartnett missed a late free header at the back post to level the scores. But generally Carew defended extremely well and gave up few chances. Mark Slattery was the standout performer in that regard. He saw off Paul Doona and his replacement Dave Ryan. And despite struggling against Barry in the first half (particularly aerially), Mark Keane dominated him in the second.
Pike went 3-1-4-2 for the last few minutes, removing Enright, but they couldn't break down the Carew door, even with the baffling 7 minutes of injury time granted to them by referee Buttimer. There were some positives today for the home side (new signing Colbert in the holding role was sensational) but they are lacking in key areas. Defending from set pieces was atrocious, and the contribution from both the wide players and the strikers was not good enough. Despite dominating the middle, Tierney and Colbert has very little to work with in terms of movement from their teammates. Far too static.
Carew will be delighted. They nicked the lead and defended brilliantly to keep it. Champions elect?
Firstly it was an og by pa Mullins for first goal .. Secondly it was a free from Boyle for second goal...not a great report on a great game but I think Keane was motm.. Followed closely by John Boyle..
AlanOB
28/10/2012, 11:21 PM
Yeah, your report was much better.
And Keane wasn't even the best Carew centre half on the field today. He lost Barry for the Pike goal and barely won a header against him in the first half. While he was excellent in the second, Slattery outshone him completely. Barely put a foot wrong.
Man of the match for me, despite being on the losing side, was Colbert. By a distance.
thomas72
29/10/2012, 7:20 AM
Alanob your posts and match reports are normal spot on but as good as Wayne is to say he was motm yesterday your way off mark keane was motm every pike player i was talking to agreed with me he scored the winner and defended outstanding in fact reading your match report Im wondering were your really at the game.
AlanOB
29/10/2012, 9:51 AM
The fact remains that he was at fault for the Pike goal.
Anyway, splitting hairs over man of the match is pretty pointless.
From above, you seem to think it was a "brilliant performance" from your lads when it was far from it. Any actual analysis that differs from that skewed viewpoint is obviously going to be one that you'll have a problem with.
I may have misremembered a couple of minor facts. But at least I attempt to provide an objective view.
hotspur
29/10/2012, 10:53 AM
looks like losing the Corbally game could come back to haunt ye. ye lost it too early in the season:eek:, won nothing in corbally game or this game, heard you lost €50 and were seen handing it over after the game, great win for Carew, they totally deserved it. great club for the future
Seen handing it over??only place I lost it pal was PP,but I'm sure I'll get it back in the future.all your all talk you were offered a bet and wouldn't take it,you'd be up now today wouldn't you?
mrman
29/10/2012, 12:21 PM
Men. I was asked this question yesterday and I couldn't answer it, if the desmond league is for country teams how come the likes of Charleville, Kilmallock, Shannon hibs, Cappamore and so on are playing in the Limerick League and not the Desmond League.
mrman
29/10/2012, 12:22 PM
Seen handing it over??only place I lost it pal was PP,but I'm sure I'll get it back in the future.all your all talk you were offered a bet and wouldn't take it,you'd be up now today wouldn't you?
you never asked me for a bet son
Fairkop
29/10/2012, 1:36 PM
i enjoyed the game but it was by no means a classic and AOB report is not that far off the mark.i didnt think carew played particularly well however they left nothing on the pitch and showed far more hunger than pike did.also the pike team looked imbalanced imo ,the wrong team picked and some strange decisions made on the sideline.good display from pa boyle,would be a better player a stone lighter and excellent performance from keane especially in the 2nd half.thought the crowd would have been bigger.
Hibs7772
29/10/2012, 2:30 PM
Men. I was asked this question yesterday and I couldn't answer it, if the desmond league is for country teams how come the likes of Charleville, Kilmallock, Shannon hibs, Cappamore and so on are playing in the Limerick League and not the Desmond League.
Why would Shannon Hibs be in the Desmond league? We aren't based in county limerick:p Don't understand why Kilmallock, Cappamore and a few others aren't playing Desmond though.
ok how come shannon hibs arent clare league
Hibs7772
29/10/2012, 3:50 PM
ok how come shannon hibs arent clare league
Not a clue to be honest haha.....
neverseenit
29/10/2012, 10:45 PM
The fact remains that he was at fault for the Pike goal.
Anyway, splitting hairs over man of the match is pretty pointless.
From above, you seem to think it was a "brilliant performance" from your lads when it was far from it. Any actual analysis that differs from that skewed viewpoint is obviously going to be one that you'll have a problem with.
I may have misremembered a couple of minor facts. But at least I attempt to provide an objective view.
Yeah a goal scorer is a minor fact alright.. And as for slattery he gave away some silly frees and could have been sent off for diving in on a few occasions...by his stardard not his best game..are you sure you know who was who on the field????
Minesapint
30/10/2012, 7:35 AM
Its my 4th time seen pike play this season and didnt impress, pa boyle and Grant ran the show along with keane at the back is it an end of the road for pike rovers.
the end of the road for pike rovers,not a hope bud,they have lost 2 league games,if they win there game in hand they will be only 2 points behind carew park,they are still in every competition,to suggest it is the end of the road for pike is utter madness,remember last year when Boro beat them in the league,the came back and won 12 games in a row