View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2012/13

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22

mrman
08/02/2013, 8:02 AM
AA and Corbally are dearer then Limerick,don't know about the rest,it is very expensive at this day and age.money just isint there,I don't think the Academy at Limerick is a bad idea to be honest,if some of them kids come up through the ranks and go on and play u19 and Senior for Limerick then surely that can only be good for football in Limerick,Would love to see a local Senior team and going down this road maybe it will bare fruits,

talking about money, most teams even find it hard to get €5 off players to pay the ref for the game, tbh players just dont have it., what can you do,

hotdog
09/02/2013, 1:59 AM
Anyone able to comment on recently launched book of history of Limerick Junior soccer ?

excellent book and great credit due to pat sheehan for putting it together, for 20 euros its a must read,super turn out on the night of the launch which was well deserved. looking back through it there was some unbelievable sides in limerick over the years and im sure a couple of other clubs ie balla, star and boro just to name a few would have won an fai if it was more than just the one team going out of town back then,

Minesapint
09/02/2013, 6:30 AM
What a stupid post you said on a previous post its out of pikes hands this post says its not make up your mind or think before you post.

hotspur
11/02/2013, 3:37 AM
What a stupid post you said on a previous post its out of pikes hands this post says its not make up your mind or think before you post.

Who said its out of Pikes hands.and he maybe right,Carew draw with Pike,wins all the rest,league over wil fully deserved,but I think there will be a lot of twist n turns this year I think i. .maybe wrong as per usual,I thought boro would win the league last year,but when push comes to shove,we all know who ends up on top.,2 very good teams pushing for everything,and last year people were saying its between Janesboro and pike for the lot,which they did do bar FAI ,boro MJ n TUOHY and Pike LEAGUE AND LAWSON,there will be different names on Trophyd this year and hopefully they'll stay local.,don't all attack me now but I think it's between the 2 of them and rightly so.if I was a gambler I'd say 3 to 1,trophies that is.

js79
11/02/2013, 8:35 AM
Who said its out of Pikes hands.and he maybe
right,Carew draw with Pike,wins all the rest,league over wil fully deserved,but I think there will be a lot of twist n turns this year I think i. .maybe wrong as per usual,I thought boro would win the league last year,but when push comes to shove,we all know who ends up on top.,2 very good teams pushing for everything,and last year people were saying its between Janesboro and pike for the lot,which they did do bar FAI ,boro MJ n TUOHY and Pike LEAGUE AND LAWSON,there will be different names on Trophyd this year and hopefully they'll stay local.,don't all attack me now but I think it's between the 2 of them and rightly so.if I was a gambler I'd say 3 to 1,trophies that is.

Totally agree with you on this Hotspur,while we are on a great run at the moment there will be some twists and turns along the way,while I would love to see carew win the league I think pike will do it,they have been hear before and come out on top,they have the biggest and best squad and have the experience,every game from here on in will be like a cup final,i would not rule out Fairview or Gearldines either,here's looking forward to a good end to the season.

passandmove
17/02/2013, 12:28 PM
Fair view 2 Wembley 2,we threw away 2 points this morning,went 2 up in the 1st half and were very comfortable for the majority of the 2nd half until a crazy last few minutes saw the view score twice to earn a point.Much improved from us but definitely a case of what might have been.Best of luck to view for rest of the season

AlanOB
24/02/2013, 12:45 PM
Pike Rovers 1-1 Janesboro

A poor tactical decision from Declan Considine cost the home side the three points here in what should have been a comfortable victory.

Both sides initially set out in a 4-4-2 shape, with Pike sporting the usual pair of Barry and Moloney upfront. The latter opened the scoring very early on after a goal-line scramble from a corner kick. Pike went on to dominate the play in a poor quality first half without creating any chances of note. Janesboro performed well in defence with Tom Clarke the standout performer, making a large number of successful tackles and headed clearances.

The second half brought a change of shape for the Boro. They went 4-5-1 with striker Lou Quigley dropping into midfield beside Aidan Hurley. Yellow Lyons dropped back to play as the anchorman. This was presumably to allow the away side to compete better in the middle of the park with the extra man. Pike responded quickly with a switch of their own, withdrawing winger Tommy Heffernan and introducing Dave Ryan in his place. This meant a 4-3-3 shape with three strikers. Baffling really from Considine. The move to prevent Boro from gaining an advantage in the centre was a sound one, but to switch to three permanent strikers when 1-0 up in a key game was just ridiculous and smacked of arrogance.

Boro immediately came into the tie and started to threaten down the flanks, particularly down the left with James Hayes staying higher on that side than David Donnan on the right. The away side knew that they had the advantage in wide areas. It was down the left that the key moment that led to the equaliser occured. Aled Harkin, who had an excellent game, broke forward from left full. Dave Ryan, realising that he had no direct marker, chased him down, and fouled him. From the resulting free kick, the ball eventually fell to Shane Waters, unmarked at the far post, who finished well.

Pike then laid siege to the Boro goal. Dave Ryan went close with a header, producing an excellent save from Glasheen, and Conor Moloney missed a headed chance from the resulting corner. But it was Boro who would have the best chance to win the game late on. Tom Clarke's far post header seemed destined for the net but Gary Neville in the Pike goal had other ideas. A great save, from a chance that again resulted from Boro's new found dominance of the wide areas.

Pike then went 3-3-4 by bringing on Doona but it wasn't to be.

Credit Janesboro. Noone gave them a chance today. But they battled manfully, defended well and took advantage of poor management from the home side.

A word about the referee. One of the worst performances that I've seen at this level. Wayne Colbert will be wondering how he escaped today's game without a yellow card. And everyone in attendance will be wondering if the LDMC have decided that a player can be offside from a throw in. Woeful.

js79
24/02/2013, 12:54 PM
Pike Rovers 1-1 JanesBoro

A poor tactical decision from Declan Considine cost the home side the three points here in what should have been a comfortable victory.

Both sides initially set out in a 4-4-2 shape, with Pike sporting the usual pair of Barry and Moloney upfront. The latter opened the scoring very early on after a goal-line scramble from a corner kick. Pike went on to dominate the play in a poor quality first half without creating any chances of note. Janesboro performed well in defence with Tom Clarke the standout performer, making a large number of successful tackles and headed clearances.

The second half brought a change of shape for the Boro. They went 4-5-1 with striker Lou Quigley dropping into midfield beside Aidan Hurley. Yellow Lyons dropped back to play as the anchorman. This was presumably to allow the away side to compete better in the middle of the park with the extra man. Pike responded quickly with a switch of their own, withdrawing winger Tommy Heffernan and introducing Dave Ryan in his place. This meant a 4-3-3 shape with three strikers. Baffling really from Considine. The move to prevent Boro from gaining an advantage in the centre was a sound one, but to switch to three permanent strikers when 1-0 up in a key game was just ridiculous and smacked of arrogance.

Boro immediately came into the tie and started to threaten down the flanks, particularly down the left with James Hayes staying higher on that side than David Donnan on the right. The away side knew that they had the advantage in wide areas. It was down the left that the key moment that led to the equaliser occured. Aled Harkin, who had an excellent game, broke forward from left full. Dave Ryan, realising that he had no direct marker, chased him down, and fouled him. From the resulting free kick, the ball eventually fell to Shane Waters, unmarked at the far post, who finished well.

Pike then laid siege to the Boro goal. Dave Ryan went close with a header, producing an excellent save from Glasheen, and Conor Moloney missed a headed chance from the resulting corner. But it was Boro who would have the best chance to win the game late on. Tom Clarke's far post header seemed destined for the net but Gary Neville in the Pike goal had other ideas. A great save, from a chance that again resulted from Boro's new found dominance of the wide areas.

Credit Janesboro. Noone gave them a chance today. But they battled manfully, defended well and took advantage of poor management from the home side.

A word about the referee. One of the worst performances that I've seen at this level. Wayne Colbert will be wondering how he escaped today's game without a yellow card. And everyone in attendance will be wondering if the LDMC have decided that a player can be offside from a throw in. Woeful.

have not heard from you in awhile Alan,as ever a great match report,was not at the game today but from your report I feel I was,heard pike wet disallowed a perfectly good goal at the end.

Hollywood Hogan
24/02/2013, 1:05 PM
Excellent report Alan, fair play to Boro ... Great result for them and Carew park

hotspur
24/02/2013, 1:23 PM

agree with alot of what u say but also disagree alot with some of the report,referee was an absolute disgrace, wayne colbert was booked for what he was told was persistent foul throws,in the first ten mins alone pike had a blatant pen turned down and then he baffled everyone by disallowing an alan barry goal for what he called offside baffling to say the least,To me then it was game over, The offside from a throw just about summed up his performance but then he waves play on when pike had the ball a foot over the line even glasheen said it was a goal,Boro prob deserved a point they battled hard and if they put in the same effort against regional as they did against pike they would be in a healthier position.Bad result for pike and left a sour taste to see shane clarke dance around the pitch at fulltime he never celebrated as much when he scored a winner.Also some terrible comments from derek braddish about pike fixing their fixtures and choosing who they want to play but boro are a good club so i would never let 1 or 2 bring them down, league is carews to lose now

pearse4t3
24/02/2013, 1:30 PM
Decent report Alan,fair play. Now now Keiran, it's always someone else's fault with you. Both Pike or 'boro could have win it near the end, draw was probably fair. Ps The Pike field looking excellent as always, well done to who's ever looking after it.

AlanOB
24/02/2013, 1:46 PM
Cheers for the kind words lads.

Disappointing to see the sour grapes from hotspur there. I saw no "blatant pen" in the first half, and the offside call in the first half seemed fair enough from where I was standing. No comment on the late "was it over the line?" controversy as I was stood on the halfway line. The fact is, decisions taken on the sideline cost you the three points, not the referee.

Great to see some Pike fans are willing to accept that they made a rod for their own backs today. It's not always someone else's fault. In fact, in football, it usually isn't.

Boroman
24/02/2013, 4:17 PM
Cheers for the kind words lads.

Disappointing to see the sour grapes from hotspur there. I saw no "blatant pen" in the first half, and the offside call in the first half seemed fair enough from where I was standing. No comment on the late "was it over the line?" controversy as I was stood on the halfway line. The fact is, decisions taken on the sideline cost you the three points, not the referee.

Great to see some Pike fans are willing to accept that they made a rod for their own backs today. It's not always someone else's fault. In fact, in football, it usually isn't.
Great match report agree with mostly everything..I thought after 1 nill it could have been curtins but a huge well done to the players they gave everything in the end and got the deserved draw with only the bare 11..for your comment about the ldmc hotspur I personally think they did set the match up but that's my opinion and for Shane he is part of the team and was delighted to see his team mates do so well is that a crime.as for letting the club down youd no all about that..before this game it was in carews hands and fair play to them..

js79
24/02/2013, 4:48 PM
Great match report agree with mostly
everything..I thought after 1 nill it could have been curtins but a huge well done to the players they gave everything in the end and got the deserved draw with only the bare 11..for your comment about the ldmc hotspur I personally think they did set the match up but that's my opinion and for Shane he is part of the team and was delighted to see his team mates do so well is that a crime.as for letting the club down youd no all about that..before this game it was in carews hands and fair play to them..

While its great to be top of the league at the moment,talking about who's league it is to win or lose at the moment is madness,we have never been in this position before and we are just enjoying it,aim at the start of the season was a trophy and good league campaign.I think we have achieved that,anything else is a bonus,I think pike have a better squad of players then we have and that's what will win the league for them,they have been here before and done it all.

faceoff
24/02/2013, 6:00 PM
While its great to be top of the league at the moment,talking about who's league it is to win or lose at the moment is madness,we have never been in this position before and we are just enjoying it,aim at the start of the season was a trophy and good league campaign.I think we have achieved that,anything else is a bonus,I think pike have a better squad of players then we have and that's what will win the league for them,they have been here before and done it all.

I'm surprised your giving yere team no chance there js,ye are unbeaten I think,why do you think it will come crumbling down,basically that's what your saying,do you think the players might not have the stomach for it??id disagree,

HuRya
24/02/2013, 6:19 PM

1. boro played with a 4-4-1-1 from the 1st min to last.
2.lou quigley was playing in front of yellow and hurley , and would be flattered to be considered a striker
3.wayne colbert was booked mid way through the 1st half for slam dunking the ball to the ground in front of the ref when a throw was awarded to the boro over by the clubhouse.
4.the pike player was not given offside for receiving a throw-in . A free out was awarded from where boris touched it as he entered the field of play without the referee's permission

Fairkop
24/02/2013, 6:27 PM
draw a fair result,do not know what the referee was doing,had a shocker.some good performances,but expected alot more from pike couple of their defence not great though mullins was good.ball looked over the line imo from where i was. boro left everything on the pitch and hard to believe clarke only playing his 2nd game?regarding the antics of janesboro personnel after game some people should look closer to home...

AlanOB
24/02/2013, 7:03 PM
1. boro played with a 4-4-1-1 from the 1st min to last.
2.lou quigley was playing in front of yellow and hurley , and would be flattered to be considered a striker
3.wayne colbert was booked mid way through the 1st half for slam dunking the ball to the ground in front of the ref when a throw was awarded to the boro over by the clubhouse.
4.the pike player was not given offside for receiving a throw-in . A free out was awarded from where boris touched it as he entered the field of play without the referee's permission

Thanks for the corrections (3 & 4)! Obviously, standing on the sideline you're going to miss a lot more than those who are actually on the field.

As for 1 & 2 (which basically seem to make the same point), Lou Quigley was certainly playing off Shane Waters, but not deep enough in the first half for the shape to be considered a 4-4-1-1, whatever the coach's intentions were.

As for keeping the same shape for 90 minutes, Lou certainly dropped deeper during the second half, as did Yellow. Now I may have got the order of the formation changes wrong. Pike may have changed their shape first(to 4-3-3), and the configuration of your midfield may have then changed naturally without instruction from the sideline so that Yellow could pick up up Tierney, who was now playing as the highest of three centre midfielders (with Lou and the other guy picking up Hartnett and Boris).

This would make the tactical decision from Pike to go to a three striker system even worse, as it would have been proactive rather than reactive.

Also, would you like to share your thoughts on MOTM with us? ;)

Bonovox
24/02/2013, 9:15 PM
Thanks for the corrections (3 & 4)! Obviously, standing on the sideline you're going to miss a lot more than those who are actually on the field.

As for 1 & 2 (which basically seem to make the same point), Lou Quigley was certainly playing off Shane Waters, but not deep enough in the first half for the shape to be considered a 4-4-1-1, whatever the coach's intentions were.

As for keeping the same shape for 90 minutes, Lou certainly dropped deeper during the second half, as did Yellow. Now I may have got the order of the formation changes wrong. Pike may have changed their shape first(to 4-3-3), and the configuration of your midfield may have then changed naturally without instruction from the sideline so that Yellow could pick up up Tierney, who was now playing as the highest of three centre midfielders (with Lou and the other guy picking up Hartnett and Boris).

This would make the tactical decision from Pike to go to a three striker system even worse, as it would have been proactive rather than reactive.

Playstation comes to mind!

Treaty Gooner
24/02/2013, 9:59 PM
Always enjoy reading your match reports. The nitty gritty of formations and tactics are probable known only to the Pike and Boro managers,and at this level, there's probably a hair's breadth between 4-4-1-1, 4-2-3-1 and 4-3-3. But always good to see someone put their opinion out there so keep em coming.

AlanOB
25/02/2013, 12:25 AM
Well at this level the ability of players to implement instructions on shape or anything else is a bit of a moveable feast so a lot is left open to interpretation by the likes of me.

Pike certainly took a decision to change shape and keep 3 up top in the defensive phase while leading the game.

Boro also changed shape around this time, but we can now assume that wasn't down to managerial instruction and that it probably happened after rather than before.

Either way the first change cost the home side the win and led directly to the equalizer. That's the main point to be taken away.

Aside from that there will always be nits to be picked in anything I write. Particularly by people who don't like to see anyone else attempt to express an opinion.

js79
25/02/2013, 7:06 AM
Well at this level the ability of players to
implement instructions on shape or anything else is a bit of a moveable feast so a lot is left open to interpretation by the likes of me.

Pike certainly took a decision to change shape and keep 3 up top in the defensive phase while leading the game.

Boro also changed shape around this time, but we can now assume that wasn't down to managerial instruction and that it probably happened after rather than before.

Either way the first change cost the home side the win and led directly to the equalizer. That's the main point to be taken away.

Aside from that there will always be nits to be picked in anything I write. Particularly by people who don't like to see anyone else attempt to express an opinion.

What I like most about your reports Alan is the fact they come from a neutrals view,I don't think you are involved with any club which is great because your views are not biased,you will always get people to disagree with you because they see it from a supporters point of view(I disagreed with you before and you put me in my place ha ha) you seem to have a great knowledge of the game and keep up the reporting because I think you do a great job.

hotspur
25/02/2013, 11:24 AM

My god you certainly are wasted watching football games , you sure your not AVB in disguise, fifa 13 seems to have been taken to another level altogether on the xbox,As for motm,john tierney by a country mile for pike , but must give mention to the 2 keepers, neville and glasheen pulled off unbelievable saves from headers late in the game

Sea Bird
25/02/2013, 11:47 AM
Very entertaining reading lads was in ratuard for 60mins on sunday morning watched a very entertaining hour before i went up for the last 20-25 of the boro pike game..saw the dines management take a striker who got a hat trick in the first half and put him left back at halftime i wonder what AlanOB would have made of that one as it let annacotty back into a game they should never have got a sniff of after watching the first half hour..Dines very talented going forward but let their inexperience show at times..aisling battled hard never gave up and on that showing will probly do enough to stay up..

2legged tackle
03/03/2013, 12:17 PM
Hibs 1 - 0 Kilmallock
R Wall pen for Hibs

dirtfree
03/03/2013, 2:00 PM
Well done hibs . Great result for ye

Hibs7772
03/03/2013, 4:38 PM
Hibs 1 - 0 Kilmallock
R Wall pen for Hibs
On the lash for a week now:p First 3 points and they've been a long time coming!

Any other results today?

booster 03
03/03/2013, 6:13 PM
On the lash for a week now:p First 3 points and they've been a long time coming!

Any other results today?
Excellent well done hibs.

historynut
03/03/2013, 6:24 PM
excellent book and great credit due to pat sheehan for putting it together, for 20 euros its a must read,super turn out on the night of the launch which was well deserved. looking back through it there was some unbelievable sides in limerick over the years and im sure a couple of other clubs ie balla, star and boro just to name a few would have won an fai if it was more than just the one team going out of town back then,

Just got my copy in the post.
One of the best formats of a league history published.
Appreciate your comments.

old git
03/03/2013, 7:54 PM

Any other results today?

Premier League
Shannon Hibs 1 Kilmallock 0
Ballynanty Rvs 1 Janesboro 1
Corbally Utd 1 Aisling Annacotty 0

lawman
08/03/2013, 8:34 AM
Was up in Sean Choill past few weeks with the kids and saw the refs training, fair play to them. Wish they trained when I was playing :). Didn't see buttimer there and haven't seen him do a game for a while either. Heard he might have retired. Anybody else hear that? Was always decent whenever I saw him and a bit of a character too.

passandmove
09/03/2013, 10:32 AM
With a bit of luck he's far away very poor ref in my opinion.

js79
09/03/2013, 6:57 PM
With a bit of luck he's far away very poor
ref in my opinion.
one of the best refs I think ever refereed in this town.top class.

deadly man
09/03/2013, 10:53 PM
With a bit of luck he's far away very poor ref in my opinion.
Top class referee IMO,very harsh comments

Hibs7772
10/03/2013, 8:32 PM
Wembley 2-1 Shannon Hibs Andy fitz the scorer for hibs

Any result in the other match that was on today?

old git
10/03/2013, 9:15 PM
Wembley 2-1 Shannon Hibs Andy fitz the scorer for hibs

Any result in the other match that was on today?

Premier League

Fairview Rgs 3 Corbally Utd 3

Wembley Rvs 2 Shannon Hibs 1

Balbec77
11/03/2013, 2:30 PM
Premier League

Fairview Rgs 3 Corbally Utd 3

Wembley Rvs 2 Shannon Hibs 1
whos for the drop lads and who will win league do yee think

passandmove
11/03/2013, 7:52 PM
Wembley 2 Hibs 1,hibs should have got something from this game very poor match overall,only positive for us was the 3 points,and just on the subject of the above mentioned referee I've seen him give decisions in games which beggared belief so my opinion won't be swayed on that!Also well done to the limerick teams yesterday great stuff!

deadly man
11/03/2013, 8:24 PM
whos for the drop lads and who will win league do yee think
Carew for the league and jobs and Kilmallock for the drop lad

nosebleds
11/03/2013, 9:16 PM
Carew for the league and jobs and Kilmallock for the drop lad
plke ''geraldines'with carew a good third.

peterpan
12/03/2013, 2:09 PM
Was up in Sean Choill past few weeks with the kids and saw the refs training, fair play to them. Wish they trained when I was playing :). Didn't see buttimer there and haven't seen him do a game for a while either. Heard he might have retired. Anybody else hear that? Was always decent whenever I saw him and a bit of a character too.
Na he hasn't retired at all, he is back on the league of Ireland panel again this season so ye will probably see less of him in yer games.

OneTwo
14/03/2013, 8:42 AM
Lads where would i be able to find the most up to date league table for the Limerick premier? Havent seen it on here in a while now

booster 03
14/03/2013, 9:22 AM
Lads where would i be able to find the most up to date league table for the Limerick premier? Havent seen it on here in a while now

Www.limericksoccer.com

OneTwo
14/03/2013, 12:38 PM
Www.limericksoccer.com

Thanks booster but that link doesn't seem to be working anymore. Have u tried it yourself?

dirtfree
14/03/2013, 12:57 PM
Try www.limerickjuniorsoccer.com

OneTwo
15/03/2013, 12:01 PM
Try www.limerickjuniorsoccer.com

Thanks very much dirtfree that's great

js79
18/03/2013, 4:02 PM
Carew park 3 4 Boro...
Great game of ball today up in carew,too fully committed teams,,Boro just edged it on the goals count,,I taught myself carew were the better team and only for some sloppy defending we could have won this one,but fair play to the Boro they took there chances,,

deadly man
18/03/2013, 7:17 PM
Any report on the view pike game lads

AlanOB
19/03/2013, 10:01 AM
Carew Park 3-4 Janesboro

Janesboro deservedly took all three points in this encounter yesterday afternoon, delivering Carew's first defeat of the season in the process, and a huge blow to their title hopes.

This was certainly the best performance that I've seen from the Boro this season, with Lyons and Donnan getting the better of the midfield battle in the first half - no mean feat away to Carew. We're used to seeing the home side dominate possession this season, but yesterday they looked disjointed - Cyril Maher had a poor game and the combinations between him and Pa Boyle were few and far between, with the latter's positioning often a bit too high relative to his team-mate. Jonathan Grant was forced to drop very deep on a number of occasions to link the play.

Janesboro on the other hand were looking unusually cohesive. I've argued for a Lynch/Clarke combo here before, and it certainly paid off yesterday. Lynch was typically adept at dropping off and linking the play. Often however, Clarke was doing the same, something he's been guilty of in the recent past. He's a penalty box striker and it was no surprise that when he finally ran the inside right hand channel, it resulted in a penalty (conceded by Mark Slattery) and his first goal.

Carew were looking threatening on the break however. Jamie O'Sullivan was playing a clever game positionally, dropping slightly deeper to tempt Wayne O' Donovan out of position. Wayne mostly stayed put, and on a couple of occasions, the space that Sully was given led to goalscoring opportunites, with striker John Connery combining with him well. Connery's movement was to result in the equaliser, skinning McGarry down the inside right channel before firing a cross/shot across goal, which was palmed out by Glasheen into Grant's path. 1-1.

The second half started perfectly for Carew, when Pa Boyle scored a sensational direct free kick from close to the byline. The first half pattern continued however, with Boro dominating possession of the football, and it was no surprise when they leveled. A ball in from the right was missed by keeper Ronan Power and it fell to unmarked substitute Declan Nash who had just been introduced for the injured Lynch. Recriminations followed in the Carew line-up before the restart - never a good sign. We haven't really seen Carew tested like this psychologically in the league this season and they didn't seem to be passing.

Soon after, it was 2-3. A speculative ball played forward was missed by the onrushing Power, who had come quite a distance off his line. Shane Clarke had the relatively simple task of slotting into an empty net for his second. He then completed his hat-trick with a fine header from a set-piece, and delivered another (now trademark) aggressive celebration. 2-4. Connery got in down the inside left channel shortly afterwards and delivered a shot from an acute angle that was deflected in by Glasheen. 3-4.

Carew by this point had removed Maher and brought on Steven Grant but they still couldn't get a grip on the game from a possession point of view. Boro introduced Adrian Healy in the middle for left winger James Hayes. Nash went left and Donnan went behind Clarke in a 4-2-3-1/4-4-1-1. This was a sensible move and seemed to be quite effective. Carew introduced Somers at left back (bizarrely), shuffling their whole defence in the process (Slattery went to right back, Kett to centre). Working out the logic of that was difficult and it almost gave Boro right winger Waters a couple of opportunities to get in on the break. Eventually Kett was moved back to left full, with Somers going to the left wing, and he delivered a couple of dangerous crosses from that position late on, one of which resulted in a free header for Steven Grant which could easily have levelled matters. Of course Declan Nash also had a chance one-on-one on the break which could have killed it off altogether.

A disastrous result for Carew, especially considering Pike's 7-2 away win against Fairview. Boro on the other hand are hitting form at just the right time and will have confidence going into their Munster Junior quarter final this weekend. They certainly seem to have hit upon a balanced XI, with the Lyons/Donnan and Lynch/Clarke combinations looking far more effective than others I've seen from them this season. It could be argued however, that if he's available, Lee O'Mara might be the better partner for Tom Clarke at the heart of the defence against Clonmel.

Disclaimer: This is written from memory. I don't take any notes. There will be minor errors.

Hollywood Hogan
19/03/2013, 11:29 AM
Brilliant report on a very good game Alan, the difference between the two sides was Clarke. He was outstanding. Thought Connery was excellent for Carew, running the channels, every time he got the ball he was a threat. The league is still in Carew's hands and everybody is waiting to see how they respond. Next weeks relatively easy FAI fixture (no FAI QF easy but best they could have got) should get them back on track.